Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    In love with Maui!

    Reviewed by KMyers2014 on May 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    We stayed in room 816 for our honeymoon. The view was wonderful; we enjoyed watching the humpback whales perform in the distance even though it was the end of the season there were a few remaining in the area , watched beautiful sunsets, watched turtles swim near the shore and even take a rest on the beach. The beach was quiet, which we liked as most of the others had 100's of people on them, but not this beach - maybe 5 people; very private. The view from the beach was amazing; could see Lanai and Molokai. This hotel is not far from amenities and has a fun pub near by called Dollies. Cab rides into Lanaia are reasonable. The only downside was that our hotel room was not ready for when we checked in and had to wait a few hours, which was exhausting considering we had been up since 4AM. Staff were friendly and the concierge were helpful, sometimes they worked a little too fast at booking you in on excursions, without letting you ask many questions, but in the end they were helpful. Would highly recommend this place. In Maui you must rent a vehicle; there are so many natural wonders to see of this island.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1198 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    $228 MANDATORY CLEANING FEE

    Reviewed by reesep26(Honolulu, Hawaii) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Booked through Costco. Thought we were getting a good deal. In very small fine print below where you confirm your payment it states a cleaning fee will be added.THIS IS VERY EASY TO MISS. It does not state this in grand total and is a hidden fee. This is not fair. We are from Oahu and came here for our anniversary. We stayed only 2 nights but it doesn't matter if you stay one night or 10 nights you will be charged. Right when you check in you pay for the fee. Started our vacation off disappointing and frustrated. Would not have stayed here if we saw this in grand total. I'm sticking with airbnbs from now on.

    Great accomodation for the price

    Reviewed by Suzanne A() on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Although you will have to get in your car and drive to everything, this is a great room for the price. The rooms and facility were clean, the desk staff were friendly and there are ocean views from most rooms.. Everything was well maintained- the common areas, pool and grills were cleaned daily.and maintained throughout the day. Sadly, the vista was marred by the need for sandbags to protect the eroding beach. But the pool was lovely.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Views far from everything

    Reviewed by DB605(Rochester, New York) on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel was very nice and every room seems to have an ocean view. This resort was far from everything, very little was within walking distance. Rooms could use some updating as some of the flooring is looking a little old.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Royal Kahana June 2019

    Reviewed by Gainesville57(Gainesville, Georgia) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The staff upon check in was not very friendly or warm at all. Once in the room it was well outfitted with a full kitchen including refrigerator, toaster, oven, plenty of cookware but no blender. The room overall was outfitted nicely with granite counter tops and functioning ice maker. The bed was comfortable but the sheets did not fit the bed properly so I was constantly having the refit the sheets onto the mattress while in the bed. The elevators worked well ad we never waited for a lift for very long. The shower and bathroom was nicely outfitted with granite counter tops as well and the shower was also tiled with plenty of hot water. There was no exhaust fan but only windows to open to allow humidity out during showering. The room was secure with an in room safe that we used throughout the week with no issues. The room became uncomfortable so I checked my room info folder that is provided and it stated not to turn the AC fan up above "low". Unfortunately the room was stuffy at best at a temperature of 75 degrees with the AC fan on low and we did everything to try and assist with cooling the room such as place a towel on the floor beneath the door sweep as well as close the bathroom door as the windows are not well insulated and need to be opened while showering to reduce humidity. Unfortunately none of this worked so I turned the AC fan on HI and ran it on HI for the remainder of the trip and the room cooled down to no lower than 72 degrees. The room sounded as if you were in a wind tunnel with all the doors closed. We attempted to reduce the sound by opening the sliding doors onto the balcony but this introduced humidity into the room so we closed it and dealt with the sound. The exterior property was nicely outfitted with gas grills but they were hard to use as the wind blows directly past the grill area. The pool area was also nice but the perimeter was outfitted with a 4 foot 2x4 and plywood makeshift wall. This made this area appear cheap and shoddy There was a area behind the grills that was not utilized and was just dirt which was unappealing and seemed to be poor use of the space. We never had a problem with parking and there was a hose to use to rinse off a vehicle.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Yep. Downhill fast.

    Reviewed by proandon() on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My wife and I have been staying here since 2006. Those were better days.....for sure! We have seen things go down hill over the past few years. Used to be peaceful and beautiful. Well.....they've lost their beach. Pool is less than attractive, unless you like plastic and painted plywood. Landscaping used to be immaculate, now looks like a cheap hotel in Kihei. Tennis courts have been replaced with parking. And noise, noise, noise. I mean, REALLY??!!. Forget a nap after lunch. Honestly, the municipal dump is quieter. Folks at the counter are a little less than motivated to be helpful, because the units are separately owned, so they usually can't do much. Rooms do take forever to cool down, and are all outdated. Sewer odors and bugs may be OK for a Tijuana vacation, but should not be expected here. On the good side......the owner was nice enough to let us check in an entire 1 hour early, and they've got a McDonalds within walking distance.....Haha. Believe most everything you read in these reviews. Much more to choose from on Maui. Bye, bye, RK. Good luck on your road to recovery.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX