Aston Shores at Waikoloa Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Not what we expected! Not what we paid for!!

    Reviewed by MsPickles on Dec 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The Shores at Wailokoa was an easy, 20 minute drive from the airport. The resort was close to many golf courses, a very nice beach/park and the King and Queen shopping centres . The grounds were more than beautiful and we felt very safe both day and night, there was an amazing pool and spa area - that could use a few more chairs , staff were friendly and were great at contacting us about late night check in. The buildings could use more lighting, it was difficult to read the building names at night. Where our disappointment arose is when we walked into the condo. I had booked and paid extra for a "Deluxe" one bedroom suite - we were given a two-bedroom ground floor unit. It was okay, not deluxe by a long shot. As the days progressed we noticed more and more to dislike, the layers of dust on the a/c unit, which we ended up cleaning the layers of dust on the CD/VCR players, layers of dust on the wall nic-nacs. The ants in the bathroom, the cockroach in the kitchen, no a/c in that second bedroom. The living room furniture was "Costco" patio furniture and after a short sit, it was very uncomfortable. We "checked in" the morning after we arrived and inquired about our suite - while polite, the young lady at the front desk was dismissive and, said "that is what you were booked". We were not there to sit in the suite and just thought, let it go. We had concerns with the NO HOUSEKEEPING policy - that was buried in the fine print - mixed into different language paragraphs. I think the frustration with housekeeping, the unit we were given, the uncleanliness of the place changed the feel of our holiday. While we LOVED the island, beaches,sightseeing, shopping, snorkling etc we had to return to THAT condo every day...We like to think we travel a lot, we stay at 'nice' hotels. In fact we just stayed at a Hilton after this trip. It was a 10+..so maybe we will stay at the Hilton from now on... See Trip Advisor for full review.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 267 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Aston Staff Are Superb & The Grounds Are Wonderful

    Reviewed by yes2travel(Atlanta, GA) on Nov 26, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I must begin by giving high marks to the Aston desk staff. Jenny Tolentino knows her business and how to make customers happy. I spoke with her before and during my stay and she went over the top to make things wonderful. If you stay here through an Aston booking don't hesitate to ask for her assistance if needed. You will not be disappointed. Our unit was a 2BR Garden View. The unit size was terrific and the balcony out of this world wonderful. The unit itself is privately owned and was very dated. There were patch marks on the walls, worn out cabinets and a general "1970's" type furnishings, sinks etc. The kitchen appliances and furnishings definitely need replacing and from something more upscale than Wal-Mart. Regardless of the shabby room disappointment we had a lovely time and will definitely return to the resort in the future. (Albeit requesting a different room.) The pool and grounds are fantastic. The tennis courts very well maintained. It is lushly landscaped and very quiet. Access to Waikoloa restaurants is easy and the nearby hiking trails wonderful. Wish I was there right now!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful, gated community that felt like home

    Reviewed by Janie4359(Round Rock, Texas) on Sep 26, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a lovely, gated community and the Aston management property employees were extremely friendly and helpful. Hailey was very nice and helpful with our check-in process. There's even a free movie rental box in their office to take some movies to your unit. We got lucky and were placed in a Villa (#18). Villas are grouped 4 together; 2 upstairs units and 2 main level. We scored an upstairs villa that had nice furnishings. Since these are privately owned properties, each unit will be different. The villas have a carport for one car for each villa. 2 separate carports for the building of 4 villas. If you can be lucky enough to get placed in a villa, you will have an ocean view overlooking the golf course. The lanai was very large with a table for 6, a couch and even had access from the Master bedroom as well as the 2nd bedroom. Each night we were treated to a beautiful sunset. This was a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath condo. The extra 1/2 bath came in real handy with 4 of us getting ready. Both bathrooms were large with the master having a large, 2 headed shower and the other bathroom having a garden tub and lovely shower. Both bathrooms were double vanities. There's a safe in the master closet. You are close the the Kings Shops and Queens Marketplace as well as the Blue Hawaiian Helicopters. The only minor issue was some pesky sugar ants which the management company were quick to come and spray. Central air so it was very comfortable. We will definitely return here on our next visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Redoak1977

    Reviewed by Redoak1977(Jamestown, Pennsylvania) on Sep 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent a week at the Shores. It was clean, roomy, and comfortable. A wonderful condo with beautiful grounds. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. If you are going to be on the Big Island, I highly recommend staying at the Shores.

    Great home away from home

    Reviewed by vegewalk(Santee, California) on Jul 22, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our two bedroom condo was overlooking the golf course. It was way bigger than I imagined. We booked through Costco and feel like we really got our money's worth. Having a washer and dryer in unit saved us from bring more luggage. It was clean, service was great for check-in and check-out. We chose not to get daily maid service. We used the condo as a launching pad for most of our adventures driving around to other places, so we didn't do much on property. When we needed to stay in and relax the condo definitely suited our needs.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Units are good; location is touristy

    Reviewed by John H(Fullerton, California) on Jul 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The units are very nice, AC is good, and lanai is very nice. Units are spacious. The pool is very nice, clean, and has a range of depth from 3-5, but not much 3 feet. Little kids will need floaties. Hot tub is nice although the jets are not very strong. In July the place felt deserted; might be due to weather (90), volcano, etc. The area is very touristy and pricey. It's about 0.5 miles to rocky shore and 1 mile to sandier A-bay. The grounds feel safe and are green, but everything is spaced out (ie, need a car to get around comfortably), and it feels 100% tourists. If you want to mingle with locals, this is most definitely not the place.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX