The Westin Golf Resort & Spa Playa Conchal

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    P

    One of our best All Inclusive vacations.

    Reviewed by Pete A. on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Note to WestJet: Your service and flight to and from Liberia was EXCELLENT! However you should talk to Westin about trying to put clients in a room with only a Double Bed when we paid for a King Bed. We did not accept this and Westin did give us the King Bed. We did read previous reviews where they tried this with other travellers, so we were prepared. The Westin Playa Conchal is a beautiful, large & spread out resort so be prepared to walk if you choose or take the many shuttles. Our room was in great shape and worked well for us. The gardens are very nice and well cared for and the pool is large and gets a lot of use due to the crushed shell kind of beach it is. The staff is plentiful and very pleasant to speak to. The food is good and varied throughout the resort and we were able to generally have something that suited our taste. The golf course is scenic in very good shape and challenging. This is a resort that I would return to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5023 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Family Vacation

    Reviewed by mntrvlrs(Cottage Grove, Minnesota) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family stayed at the Westin Playa Conchal March 8-15. Our bungalow was located in the family club area. As family club guests we had access to a separate seating in the pool area and could always access seating. Staff in the family club pre-booked reservations for our dinners prior to our arrival so we assured reservation dining. Upon booking excursions we had to change a couple of reservation times and were accommodated completely. I do not understand reviews that complain about lack of shuttles, there were constantly shuttles available. The food is quite different from other all inclusive resorts, there was an abundance of healthy, freshly sourced options. There were large corporate events, however they did not impact the service we received. We will definitely return.

    Avoid Like Plague

    Reviewed by 749buck(Miami Beach, Florida) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I’m writing this is as we are here cause I don’t want anyone spending money here. We paid over $10000 for a week stay. First - these are not queen beds - they are full beds. Second, our room key would stop working - 4 days in a row. Finally, I asked for a second room - not an upgrade mind you. So the manager dictated what time I had to clear my room though we had activities planned for the morning. Her mannerisms were beyond anything I have ever seen - u would think she was doing me a huge favor. I asked her if she intended to rent the room out to someone else in light of the key problem and it was her intent to do so. I asked her if there could be some glitch as the key card worked for a few hours and then stopped working. They acted as if it was either my imagination or I didn’t know how to use a key card. I walked to the front lobby one night - over 3/4 mile to get a new key card as the local “family” lobby closes as 6. If you don’t drink - which we don’t - total waste. I thought about ordering 20 drinks a day and pouring them out. Also getting reservations with a family (just four of us) is tough as all restaurants book up between 630 and 8. By the way, I’m not writing this to get an upgrade - we already are at the top of the grades - I stayed at Cancun last year - less money and for the cost, you get your own butler. Gereeations Rivera Maya in Cancun. I will not come back here.

    We were a group of 25 and people are still talking about the trip and hotel in March

    Reviewed by m_b_c14(London, United Kingdom) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to the Westin Conchal but it was slightly more special than our visit in 2018 because we celebrated our wedding here. We had a week alone followed by a week with family and friends. The first thing you will notice is that the grounds are absolutely immaculate. Straight from reception you are surrounded by stunning surroundings. We loved just walking around, especially on the way to breakfast and at night when you never know which animal you will come across. When we visited in May 2018, the Westin’s Executive Chef had just changed. His arrival was clearly visible in the food when we returned in January. The restaurants we didn’t quite love turned it around by our second visit and we honestly couldn’t fault any of the food. Of course, there are things you like better than others but there is absolutely nothing to complain about with the dining. Manglar, the Mediterranean restaurant was one of out favourites. The starters are all excellent, the Tuna main and steaks are definitely worth ordering. La Sabana, the rodizio is really good but try not to fill up on the sides. I never thought I could eat pizza every day but by the end of the second week, I think I was fairly close. The pizza at lunch is really a standout! If I had one criticism, it is that some of the restaurant decor could do with an update. Some restaurants are definitely better than others in this department. Remember to check when the restaurants are open as they are not all open daily. The only negative comment I have and this was shared by a number of our party, was that the reception / concierge didn’t seem to pick up the phone when you called. That being said, we never had anything that urgent. It was more an annoyance. Our wedding was simply incredible. Heidy the Wedding Planner made it all seem so easy and she organised every detail to perfection. All of the employees are highly professional and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I must make a special mention of NORMAN, one of the restaurant staff. He is incredibly friendly and chatty and really looked after us in every restaurant. His manner is something you unfortunately can’t teach. Whilst we relayed this personally, we hope he gets some further well deserved recognition.

    Awesome resort best tours with conchafun #1

    Reviewed by Terra F() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We absolutely loved the westin it is one of our favorite resorts we have visited over the years. The Costa Rica people are so friendly and welcoming, you can feel the authenticity of everyone. The food was great and the property is beautiful. Now the real best part of our trip were the activities we pre booked with Conchalfun. we found them on trip advisor they are #1 it's for a good reason. The booking was so easy and talking with Andrie on the phone really helped us select what was best for us. We wanted to book with a reputable company as we do not trust our family vacation, safety with just anyone on the beach just because there are repetitive reviews about it. We booked a private sail boat witch really was the highlight of all tour we ever did in any country. The price was better then any other option (we looked around) and the service was top notch. Food far exceeded our expectations and the coast line is breathtaking. We also did a combo at Rincon de la Vieja and Esteban our guide was so caring and knew everything about the area. We wanted to take him home with us. We will never forget this trip and we already decided to come back next year. 100% we will use Conchalfun and Andrei again we recommend to anyone with kids for tours in Costa Rica. Email or call their toll free number for quick reply Thank you Westin see you next year.

    Great time

    Reviewed by sep08(new york) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Westin from March 4th to the 11th in the Royal Tower 1. We worth the extra money. We had a great time Jairo and Javier were great they could not do enough for you. The room was nice and clean .We had problem with the air conditioner for 3 days room 1209..They tried to fix it but could not get it to blow cold air. They changed our room and that room was good. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile for you . We found Erik on the beach right outside the gate. He is a honest and knowledgeable guy. We booked two tours with him and loved them both. Our guides Brian and Christian they were great. If you want great tours see him. Book your dinner reservations early they fill up quick . We enjoyed Mangler,Las Candelas La Sabana , and Cauri. My husband enjoyed La Sabana lots of meat the chicken is the best. The beach was beautiful but having no chairs was not great. There also were snakes on the beach. They came from the water that was a little scary. The pool is beautiful . The massage on the beach was great go see Lyra sounds like( lady ) Garcia . Walk to the left outside the gate and she is a couple of yards on the right under a green tent. Go early because the police chase them after 11 or 12. Very relaxing and for 20 dollars a steal. Try the Dirty Monkey it was my favorite drink!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX