Royal Decameron Los Cabos

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    R

    Good hotel for the amount charged.

    Reviewed by RPearce on Nov 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I traveled to this hotel at the beginning of November, it was nice but was small. It was good for one week but any longer would have been too much. The adult only was very nice and the price was right and because the hotel is small it does give you a chance to meet others. We went with the all inclusive plus and I am glad we did, the breakfast at Luna was nice the view was great and the service by Bruno was excellent. We also ate lunch at Luna the menu was limited like most meals but the nachos and the quesaburro were awesome. The Plus also gave us the option of eating at Luna for dinner without having to make reservations which was good. The menu was again limited but the food was good. We did also try the buffet on the night of BBQ, as it is suppose to be one of the better nights for food. The food was good and there was lots of things to choose from but on the other nights we went to check to see what was being served it all looked very similar to the BBQ night. The other bonus of the Plus was you had access to the upper pool area and another bar with what they call premium alcohol. The alcohol was a step up from the lower pool but I don't consider Smirinoff or Don Julio premium. They also didn't have any Crown Royal or Gibsons and for the number of Canadians there they really should have a better whiskey. Luis was our server at the upper bar and although he was very busy at times he always had a smile and was a great entertainer. He kept things lively laid back. As far as rooms go we were in room 156 which is great to be able to walk out your room and be right at the pool it also made trips to the bathroom very easy. The room was nice with a huge king size bed and the cleaning service was great the room was clean and the mini-bar was restocked every day. The only downside to this room was the carts being pushed past at 5am. Not sure what they were moving or if this happens on every floor but every morning they woke us up. Overall the experience at

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1347 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My holiday

    Reviewed by Relax16289640688() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the the two young people who did the exercises, the a la carte restaurant during the day and night, and Altoro who helped with my bands.

    Interesting Place - still has old atmosphere

    Reviewed by zeked(manitoulin) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort has only 2 restaurants, one is the main buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch and supper. The food is very good at the buffet, alcohol is good. The Luna, you get served in an ice old mug with beer. In the early morning, around 630 am, there is coffee served by the Luna bar you can serve yourself, which is a nice touch.

    Good..not great

    Reviewed by AshleyH016(Fort Frances, Canada) on Feb 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2weeks from the end of Jan to beginning of feb. which was way too long to be in this resort, I would recommend a week and no longer. Place is 90% Canadians. Check in was good and always had great recommendations when we asked questions to the men at the front door! We had a standard king room. The Buffett was almost the same everyday, it was damn near impossible to actually get juice if you ordered it, we found out it was better to just go get it your self. so many days we ordered it before eating and left still without receiving it! Coffee no matter where you go in this resort is crap. Only on our first day would they give us coffee to make in our room (which wasn’t any better). Across the street was a Starbucks we literally used every single morning instead, (and I’m no coffee snob,im a regular coffee drinker who just likes the good plain Folgers or whatnot). The Luna was open for breakfast for plus members only. It was open for “snacks” at lunch..which was actually a full sit down meal consisting of a salad, chicken burger (do not get it) and wings. Never found the lunch to be anything special. It was very good for suppers though!! My boyfriend loved the tuna, salmon and other plates were always good too. Room and hotel was always clean. Pool area was noisy and often had party people. The entertainment at the pool during the day was so constant that it was never actually relaxing at the pool. There might be a waitress that comes around the pool and beach area, but if you see her twice in the day you’re lucky. The bathroom didn’t have ventilation so it was always very damp and musty smelling. We spent 80% of our days in the 2weeks out of the resort because we got sick of it so fast there. You MUST go to CaboSanLucas, definitely go see the arch and go to the Marina!! We will stay there next time instead, there was endless things to do and places to go! Absolutely loved it there! You can take a cab, or public bus which is good(not sketch)during the day and inexpensive. We also went to the grocery store across the street and bought beer and waters then walked down the beach towards the bridge and and spend lots of quiet time swimming, tanning and whale watching in the evening around 4. It’s safer to swim over that way as long as you don’t swim out far. You gotta go to Mama Mia restaurant right on the beach for happy hour! So many great restaurants right around the resort all in short walking distance. Across the street is great wings and burgers at Chiltepinos, go to La Oysteria, right beside that the taco restaurant,KaheSushi, or the ice cream/crepe place in the mini mall. If you need to take out U.S. money go across the street behind the Chiltepinos restaurant there is a bank called HSBC(safe place). We went down the beach and learned to surf and it was good, fun and safe. We had to pay for wifi which should honestly be part of the all-inclusive, as well as the safe! Ugh if you ever get a “L.B”signal on your safe go buy batteries. It was one of our very first days there and the safe locked us out so we couldn’t get to our wallets, ID, money or anything. We lost an entire day in our room fighting with front desk and maintenance to get them to help us and actually get our stuff out!! It took the entire day for them to finally decide to cut it open after hours and hours of us fighting. We had plans that day which were totally screwed, all we received back was a “sorry” and a different safe(which we were paying for still). Omg the night entertainment was obnoxious every single night. It couldn’t possibly be louder, you heard it as if they were yelling in your ear. The service was good and the place was clean... not much else. Nothing great besides the surrounding area outside of the resort. Honestly for the money we spent going out to eat because of how fast we were sick of these 2”restaurants” and the little ads ons we had to pay for...just go pay the little extra and stay next door at the Hyatt where you have a real all inclusive resort with tons of options, or go stay at CaboSanLucas!

    New friends in mexico!

    Reviewed by Sammy S() on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Maryjo and rodolfo were amazing and our new friends at the resort. They were very knowledgeable and friendly as well as knew how to bring everyone together. Would 100% recommend and will come back for sure!!

    The miles of sandy beach never gets old....but the one buffet and a lacarte does!

    Reviewed by hansdonna(maple ridge b.c.) on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed for two weeks Jan 2019. We did book the all inclusive plus...I'm not sure what they are trying to accomplish with this...our ocean view room was a far stretch! My husband did find premium tequila but there is no such thing as premium wine. On the good side...we did have fresh towels, hot shower, clean room etc. we didn't have to book into any restaurant or worry about getting a spot at the pool. On the downside....the worst, undrinkable wine we have ever had at an all inclusive. The location is fabulous, the staff was very nice. They leave half the restaurant empty for the all inclusive plus...I saw them turn people away. I think they got a buy one picture get 25 free...the endless booby pics have to go! At the end of the day, we made the best of it and enjoyed our time, met lots of wonderful people.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX