Royal Solaris Los Cabos

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Raw chicken, weak drinks, and no coffee!

    Reviewed by Slivers86 on May 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We were served raw chicken, raw fish and a lot of questionable food at the buffets. Clean resort, friendly staff. Aggressive sales pitch on entry. NO TUBS in rooms - this sucks having an infant. No soft serve ice cream either - it's a family resort, why no ice cream? Oh, and no coffee until after 10:00am, unless you want the TERRIBLE drip coffee at the buffet. Also - the safety aspect - fire egress information in room, wasn't even for the floor we were staying on. I'd highly recommend against staying here. Westjet should cut ties with this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay!

    Reviewed by Jane on Nov 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Good location on the high way one, if you want to save money, you can take Mexico bus around.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Great for all guests! The entertainment team was especially fun around the pool, beach and evening shows.

    Reviewed by TonyI on Aug 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Loved our stay at the Royal Solaris; the staff was lovely, including the entertainment team which was great around the pool, beach and evening shows. They helped all quests feel involved, including families with small kids. The facility was clean and inviting. We would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    happyfriendly ,everyday people

    Reviewed by grizz on Apr 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The best all inclusive we as a family have ever been Staff were all above the call of duty and we will be going back to the SAFE warm truly hospitable place our room was overlooking the courtyard and we had a beautiful deck our 4 year old girl was happy as a kid in a toy store with the children's program we were guests for a day at a nearby luxury place where the rich and famous go and realized that every day Canadians who take off their shoes when they visit should all be Happy at the Royal Solaris

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great place for a relaxing vacation...all was fabulous!

    Reviewed by Sue on Mar 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Thoroughly enjoyed everything about this hotel. Within walking distance of the Mega market, as well as downtown old San José del Cabo. Was very impressed with the cleanliness, food, & staff. Have already started recommending the hotel to friends & family, & will probably go back some day!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Pushy, aggressive, disappointing

    Reviewed by Nothing Royal About It on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    From the time we arrived to the time we left we were disappointed! We checked into our room, right beside full on construction, with our patio covered in drywall dust and a ton of noise. We were told we couldn't change rooms u till the next day. Then we we told we either had to pay to upgrade to keep an ocean view or take a city view room. So we paid! We were hassled the whole time we were there to buy the timeshare, which I know is very normal for these resorts but they were aggressive. Each time the staff made us promises for tickets/tours/etc, we were forgotten and then last minute added. We were treated aggressively and even rudely at times by management and the time share company. I cried on my vacation, several times.... totally worth the money! The management staff only wanted to talk to my husband when it came to the business talk, which I found insulting. We would NEVER return to this hotel or to this chain of hotels. The only saving grace of the trip was time spent by the pool and drinking tequilla... could do that anywhere tho and have a better time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    4 stars is overrated

    Reviewed by Dano on Mar 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is nowhere near a 4 star resort. It's a 3 at best, and that's a stretch. The food selection at the buffets are minimal. If you like beef or pork in gravy as a main course every 2nd night then you won't mind it. Trying to get proper service from the staff at meals is also another adventure. It doesn't matter if you tip either. They don't have enough staff to properly serve. If you order wine with a meal you'd be lucky to get it before you're finished eating. This hotel caters to their club members too. The basic guest is alsways givensecondary treatment. They have special events and dinners throughout the week for them, areas roped off etc. The kids area is decent if you have children under 3. They main attraction in the kids area is the water slide but you can only use it during certain hours. 10am-11am, 1pm-2pm, 4pm-5pm. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff serving drinks around the main pool are good. Also, there is a pizza shack that makes stone oven pizza. If you have stayed at 4star resorts before you will be greatly disappointed, if you don't mind 3stars or less and eating the same food for a week then this hotel will be fine.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Had a great time, well worth the money,staff were great..

    Reviewed by Piper on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Overall we had a great time. The was 5 adults in our party and we were all pretty positive on our stay. I have stayed a numerous resorts around Mexico and found this one much the same. They try to make the food appealing to all culture and ethnic groups. Its hard to make a buffet that will please everyone. We really didn't have anything to complain about cause everyone knows what a Mexican minute is.. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    All things considered we had a great time at the Royal Solaris.

    Reviewed by Rick & Kay on Dec 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff at the Royal Solaris was great and never was heard the word no. The entrainment staff worked hard all day with activities at the pool and then at the after dinner show. Beach was beautiful but you can't swim there, that's why the low score If there was a negative it was for us the food. It seemed to us that dinner leftovers were served on the next breakfast buffet every morning. I should be noted in your advertising that this hotel has a two tier system, members and non members time share owners and non owners and they will try to sell you a membership. All things considered we had a great time at the Royal Solaris.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    "Would not go back to this hotel"

    Reviewed by R. Sentell on Dec 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food selection poor. Quality poor. Food not hot. Variety poor. Overall ,would not use this hotel again because of it. Al acarte's, when booking claimed to be full but when observed or attended, rooms were almost empty. And often closed. Number of al acarte's insufficient. Service by staff very good. Some dinner meals were in the large theatre where the table setup was crowded, lighting extremely poor and had entertainment occur during dining time. Had King bed which was as hard as a rock and even after complaining, they simply put a foam pad on which didnt really help. Still had sore back daily. Cleaning staff very efficient.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7256 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wow! Love Pancho’s at Royal Solaris Los Cabos

    Reviewed by ItsCast17() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Servers Carlos and Daniel are absolutely fantastic! Extremely attentive and very friendly. Super impressed with their service, as well as Carlos’s amazing fire coffee show! Food is wonderful as well, easily the best dinner we had at this resort. Highly recommend Pancho’s Rodizio night!!

    The Dinner was Amazing from Beginning to end.

    Reviewed by Christopher B() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Daniel and Caesar were amazing from beginning to end. This was the first time we had done the Churrascio - all the food was great but it was the service that really made the meal. It was a top gourmet experience as they served the meat from the skewers and then AND THEN the piece de resistance was the fire coffee - oh my oh my what presentation- it was like a show at the end of dinner! We will definitely do this again when we come back! And I recommend everyone put this on your list of things to do

    The staff here was great and very friendly.

    Reviewed by BBELLON() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort was clean and well maintained. The staff, especially at the pool were very friendly and accomodating. We had well led activities in the pool throughout. OUr waiters in the buffet were also very attentive and quick to help.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent Customer Service

    Reviewed by Jeri S(Olympia, Washington) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Solaris Los Cobos. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend. The staff assisted with all our arrangements for excursions and made sure that we were satisfied when we returned.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Family Vacation

    Reviewed by Lynne L(Edson, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from a one week vacation at the Royal Solaris Los Cabos. When we first arrived at the resort we were a little disappointed. A bell boy showed us to our room but we were given no information about the resort. We were left to wander around and figure things out for ourselves. The resort is quite small so it did not take long but we had many questions that we could not get answered that first day. This being said it only got better from here...please read on! On day two we went to the lobby and spoke with Concierge Vanessa. Let me clearly say that this is when our vacation began. Vanessa is amazing.She is very pleasant and very knowledgeable about not only the resort but the entire area of San Lucas and San Jose.If she was unable to answer our questions she went and found someone who could. I would highly suggest that when you first arrive you look for her. She will make your stay incredible. FOOD SERVICE: The Breakfast Buffet was fantastic. Lots of different choices but there could have been more fruit. Two omelet stations ensure that the lines are never to long. We went to Lucy's station every day. She was so cheerful and makes the best omelets. Most days we ate lunch at the pool side snack bar. The hamburgers are made from scratch and all the best fixings are there. DELICIOUS! Other choices were hot dogs, fries, nachos, quesadillas, chicken nuggets, and fish as well as a limited selection of fruit.If none of this works for you you can walk across the pool deck and order a made to order stone baked pizza. Many varieties to choose from. There is also a sit down buffet option that we tried one day. It was good enough but we preferred the snack bar so we could eat pool side. Supper buffet was my least favorite part of the resort. I didn't find the selection all that great but always managed to find plenty to eat. I have read in other reviews about the buffet line ups. The only time we encountered a lineup was in the morning between 9:30 and 10:30 and even then the line moved very quickly and we never waited any more than 10 minutes. There are three a la cart restaurants but we only went to Pancho's. We went on Brazilian night and again on the Mexican night. We were very pleased both nights. Food and service were top notch. The most important thing I must share about the food service on the resort is that one member of our group has Celiac (no gluten). The resort went out of their way to be sure she had plenty to eat and checked in often to be sure she was feeling "looked after". We took in both dinner shows (The Carnaval and the Pirate Show) which were also buffet style but she received individual table service to ensure she had a complete gluten free meal including dessert. We were very impressed! KIDS CLUB: We traveled with a seven year old. He LOVED the kids club. Dora made him feel so very welcome each day that he chose to go. She along with her partners Lea and Rayna do a fantastic job. The kids pool area ( Water-slides/water park/playground) is very inviting for kids. I think kids over the age of ten would quickly become bored with it though. It is definitely geared to little ones. the biggest draw back in this area is that there are NO adult washrooms available. If you need one you have to leave the area entirely which could be very difficult if you are traveling with toddlers. MAIN POOL; This pool is very deep! I am 5'8' and the water is up to my shoulders. There is a small wading area for toddlers but for kids that are a little older the pool is very deep!. Our 7 year old is an avid swimmer so it was not to difficult for him, but even he tired of not being able to stand anywhere in the pool.The most concerning part for me is that with a resort that is so very family friendly (MANY MANY kids) and a pool this deep there are NO LIFEGUARDS! After witnessing a young child drown in a pool in P.V. I find this extremely concerning. This is the reason I gave the resort only 4/5. I feel very strongly that this is something the resort needs to reconsider before they have a tragic accident!! POOL BAR: Service was average. No stand outs here. However I must commend ALL the bar staff for keeping the drinking under control. They have a sign warning people that they will cut them off if they become over intoxicated. I can honestly say that the bartenders kept a close watch, which we as people who drink very little, really appreciated! ENTERTAINMENT: Yaye is a star!! I do not know where he gets his energy! Although the whole team works hard at pool side and the evening shows Yaye is a stand out in the group.We enjoyed all the shows we took in and found the staff to be very engaging around the pool. CLEANLINESS: I am always amazed on my trips to Mexico at how hard working the people are. The cleaning staff at the Royal Solaris are no different. The resort is very clean and you can always see people around cleaning / repairing and working on the general up keep of the resort! Great job! Our room maid Adela was such a joy! She did a fantastic job of the cleaning and each day left us a surprise which she had crafted out of towels. Our 7 year old was always excited to go back to the room to see what Adela had left for us that day. Thank you Adela for helping to make our stay fantastic! OFF RESORT TOUR: We chose to hire a driver and guide through the resort travel agency to show us the areas of San Lucas/San Jose. The price was very reasonable and what we learned about the people and the area was nothing short of incredible.Our guide Luis Salgado and his driver Cruz were so very pleasant as well as extremely accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. We spent 5 hours with these two gentlemen and they were among the best hours of the week! Club Membership Sales: We were invited to sit through the sales pitch which we chose to do. We were offered a couple of perks for doing so. I won't mention the perks because throughout the week we heard that the perks that are offered are not always the same. The reason I am mentioning it is that we wanted to thank the resort for being true to their word. They said we would only be 90 minutes and that we would not be pressured to buy if we chose not to purchase a membership.We were done in just over the 90 minutes and did not in anyway feel pressured to purchase the club package. All that were involved were very respectful. For those that may be considering such a purchase these folks are great to talk to. This resort is definitely family friendly. If you do not wish to be around kids and lots of them this may not be the resort for you. There is an adult only pool but it will be the only place you can go to get away from the kids and the noise the naturally goes with them. We personally loved that the kids could just be kids at the Royal Solaris! In closing I can honestly say that we would return to the Royal Solaris again. If you are looking for a great family resort that has something to offer everyone they most certainly are worthy of your time and money. We had a great time!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX