Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3208 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Location

    Reviewed by Rob O() on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed at the Buenaventura the week of Jan 5. It was roughly our 20th trip to Mexico. We had stayed here approx. 10 years ago and liked the location. The hotel is small but well maintained. Our room was very basic but functional and the bed was very comfy. The week we were there, you could go out to the pool or beach at 10:00 a.m. and there would still be lots of chairs to choose from. I would have to say that we had the best consistent beach bar service and restaurant service of any hotel that we have stayed at in Mexico. The breakfast buffet was good. The lunch at the beach restaurant was very good. The dinner buffet had very limited options but the food was ok. There are so many good restaurants along the Malecon we ate out most nights. La Traviatas is an Italian restaurant just 4 blocks up the hill from the hotel with good food and world class views of Puerto Vallarta. It’s on the 5th floor of the hotel Paloma del Mar (take the elevator to the 4th floor and walk up to the 5th floor). It’s about a 5minute walk from the Buenoventura to the Malecon. There are great shops and restaurants all the way from the Bueonventua to old town Puerto Vallarta and the sidewalks are very good. It is very safe to walk the Malecon at night and there is usually some sort of entertainment going on. All in all, a great relaxing stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Stewart Brears

    Reviewed by Stewart B() on Jan 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Amazing staff and great beach bar with swings. The bartender Oscar Chavez really made our trip with laughter and fantastic service. The closeness to the Malicon made this a perfect location. This resort does however need to change there maintenance processes. They had an open man hole next to all day buffet and it wasn’t roped off so as I was looking at buffet I fell into an 8 foot shaft causing multiple injuries mostly to left ankle and needed to go to the hospital. Resort made no apologies but the staff helped me get out of hole. Even with this we had a great vacation. Cheers to a fantastic staff like Oscar Chavez and Eder Agulair.

    Great Experience

    Reviewed by mrhassen(Osoyoos, Canada) on Jan 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first experience with an "All Inclusive". Previously, we have tended to cruise for our vacations. However, we were very pleased with our experience at the Buenaventura Grand and would definitely give serious consideration to returning next year, The property was well appointed and operated. The area was safe and a short walk away from the Malecon. Well worth considering!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Good value

    Reviewed by spaceneil(Reno, Nevada) on Jan 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Love the location, close to downtown, we were able to walk every where from our resort. Food was also very good. Good value and close to downtown. Go to Captain Don's sports bar only a block away. we were able to catch football games here.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    another fun holiday.

    Reviewed by OnAir29704786255() on Jan 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    this was our honeymoon hotel 38 years ago and it just keeps getting better the location is close to downtown, staff is very friendly, most speak English, Always keep coming back to Mexico for our holidays.we will be back again in 2020.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX