Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11234 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    2019 vacation

    Reviewed by Laura B() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Location and grounds very nice. Tv reception terrible. Food and drink service on beach would have been nice. Offered at St. Martin. Cushions for beach chairs also would have been welcome. Shows every day at pool entertaining but extremely loud. Presentation of food at main dining room nicely presented. Waiters and waitresses very friendly. Coffee delicious.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Occidental Caribe Punta Cana

    Reviewed by Departure32102049322(Plainfield, Indiana) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hotel was nice, clean and had plenty of amenities. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, although making reservations was less then easy at times. Housekeeping kept frig stocked. Nice bartenders. Buffet was average.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Value

    Value-4

    no help

    Reviewed by Go47831699580() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    2hrs to check in, in the room the phone didnt work, iron and shower head fell off, they offer no ride for a tour pick up at front gate they made us run 2miles there. No help at all for nothing, at the end they told to write an email to the manager

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Tourist Trap - Nice Weather, book elsewhere.

    Reviewed by Emile33(Toronto, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The hotel is somewhat dated, but it is on the ocean and the beach is quite nice. The issue is not with the location but rather the staff and management of this hotel. We booked with Marlin travel, with Air Transat as the carrier, operator. We asked for and and paid a premium for an ocean front room that included extras (towels in the room, robes, extra privileges, etc..). Our flight was late and we checked in as normal, but were given an ocean view room; a few hundred meters from the ocean behind the pool on the 3rd floor. The room had 2 twin beds (my wife and i traveling). I called the front desk and was told that there were no ocean front rooms available, but we would be moved the next day (lots of people are leaving tomorrow). Our Air Transat rep said he would take care of everything..., however, after about 5 minutes of discussion by him with the hotel front desk staff he delivered the BAD news; nothing can be done. I asked repeatedly to speak with the general manager of the hotel and after speaking with 3 manager, none of which was the general manager, i was informed that there is no such thing as an ocean front room (we did see several - by the way, nice rooms). We were finally offered an ocean view room with a king bed. It was take it or stay in the room you are in. We accepted the room - our only choice and moved on our second day. This process took about 4 hours. I also asked for and was booked for a la cart restaurants. The hotel has 2 pools, one with a swim up bar. The pools are good and there are plenty of chairs but very little shade. The few umbrellas around the pool were staked out early (before 7:00AM). There is little to do but sit around the pool or beach. The hotel did provide a couple of Volley Balls but the games were initiated by the guests. There is a games room which has 5 tired pool tables with broken equipment and 1 ping pong table. This room was empty all week. The food was tasty, and offered a variety that was tolerable. The service on the other had was deplorable. Getting a coffee with breakfast was an ordeal. I actually saw a restaurant supervisor berate a woman seated near us for attempting to get herself a coffee after waiting for 20 minutes (they were finishing their breakfast, and still no coffee). The supervisor made her sit down, then found a waiter and got him to get their coffee. This group simply left the restaurant. We booked five a la cart restaurants which were from good (the Japanese offered and experience - not up to standards but acceptable) to the french which was awful - onion soup was Lipton packaged and all the food was cold, slow and terrible). I suggest you stay with the buffet. If you need to venture our try the Japanese and the steak house (cannot book, first come first served). There are employees that do try, but they are in the minority. The entertainment was not good. The sound was the same regardless of the entertainer or the instruments (sax, piano), it all had that electronic drum beat. They seemed to believe that volume would make up for the quality... , it does not. The theater performance was not good and always late. There is an old tired casino in the basement. We only say it once on Friday night. The room smelled and the staff outnumbered the patrons 2:1 (less then 10 guests @ 11:00 PM Friday). After reflection on the trip, the major issue (hard to put a finger on it when you're in the middle of it) is that the staff view the guests as an end to their means. They have this attitude that they tolerate guests, and at time its as if we bother them. Tipping, for instance, is not required, and it does not enhance the service. It doesn't matter how much...., its not appreciated. Everything at and around the hotel is designed to get more USDs from you. I have been to many resorts (more that 100) and while I have stayed at worse (the grounds and ocean are beautiful here) I have certainly been to better. Its not the place that makes the vacation, its the people.... Cuba for instance - I have been many time but was reluctant to go at first (its a communist country) however the people there are terrific. The accommodations are sub standard but the staff always make up for it. At this place the opposite is true. The building is OK but I will NOT return, ever. I am not sure if this is true of all of DR (my first time in DR) or not. I will try La Roman next and hope for the best. As a parting thought... , The Punta Can Airport makes you walk through an overpriced Duty free store in order to get to the gates. there is no other option, you have to go through the store... It appears that the fleecing of tourists is systemic here.... just another Tourists Trap.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    You pay for what you get ...

    Reviewed by Trip16198680717() on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Room was gross and stunk of mold ! Bed was absolutely terrible. Female staff very rude to young women. They are only nice to old white guys , ladies watch your husbands ! And food was 2 out of 5 thankfully we ate off resort a lot. Knowing what I know now I would have paid $500 more for a better resort. That’s what I get for trying to save money though so I’m ok with it all. Still had a great time overall just would never stay at that resort again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX