Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11968 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    VACATION HORROR! PLEASE DON'T HERE!!

    Reviewed by Pinkie H() on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We made the best of our vacation. The pools and beach were really nice. We have been to DR before and the Occidental Caribe All Inclusive is the worst place we have every stayed. There is no way they are maintaining 798 rooms well. Our furniture was falling apart. The sheets were stained, the robes were not NEW or in plastic bags. They were being washed and re-used....TERRIBLE. AND IF YOU NEED TOWELS BE PREPARED TO WAIT AT LEAST 40 MINUTES. THE FOOD AT THE BUFFET WAS JUST AWFUL. NOT SURE WHAT MORE THAT HALF THE ITEMS WERE. All we ate was chicken, fries, burgers, fruit, and omelets. THEY NEED A SERIOUS PROFESSIONAL CHEF AND FAST. Even the table cloths had stains and were wrinkled. YOU WON'T ENJOY ANY OF THE BAR DRINKS. EVERYTHING IS SOOOOOOO WATERED DOWN!!! NO REAL ORANGE JUICE OR CRANBERRY JUICE. The French and Japanese restaurants were the best. AND ABSOLUTELY NO FREE WIFI! YES, THAT'S RIGHT if you don't have a Premium Room no WIFI for you. WE HAVE NEVER STAYED AT ANY RESORT THAT DIDN'T OFFER FREE WIFI. THEY COULD AT LEAST MAKE IT AVAILABLE IN THE LOBBY AND GIVE THE GUESTS THE PASSWORD. We couldn't even text message our families to let them know we arrived safely. THIS RESORT IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST!! We will NEVER RECOMMENDED the Occidental Caribe All Inclusive. I think it needs to be closed and remodeled. Please don't stay here!

    Beautiful Family Vacation

    Reviewed by amandamG9234WM(Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Occidental Caribe from 6/8 to 6/13. Check In was a breeze (but we did check in at 11:00 PM) Started out in a family room which was outdated and did smell musty. Had an issue with a leak in the bathroom. Once we spoke with the manager I believe his name was Juan he was quick to move us to adjoining rooms which were much more updated. Food was good in all the restaurants we tried. If you can’t find something you like then you must be super picky. Pools were clean and comfortable. Resort is large enough to feel not crowded anywhere. Staff was always kind especially the waiters in the Pizzeria. We speak very little to no Spanish and never had an issues with communication. We will definitely be back! Thanks for the awesome vacation!

    Don’t go here..

    Reviewed by mariaaC3588EG(Streamwood, Illinois) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and Pacific and this is by far the worst place I have ever been to... The staff is not welcoming at all, they are rude and very disrespectful. One member asked me my nationality, then started to mock me - Not cool. My husband had to tell him to stop being disrespectful. Housekeeping very slow, rooms get half clean and don’t re-stock the fridge unless you call multiple times. Food is blah... very mediocre I will never go back...

    DONT STAY HERE!!

    Reviewed by Adventure25085744137() on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This place sucks!!! Let's start with the service which is the main component when traveling to punta cana, there's no good service at all, people are very rude! specifically at the buffets if you dont get up a million times to grab something to drink for your family and your self then you wont drink anything, to top it off the drinks are awful including the alcohol drinks also the food is the same thing every night dont expect to eat something new i recommend if you do stay drink bottle water only my family and i got aick the second day of being there. Now let's jump to the room, WOW! nasty and filthy, AC dosen't work, bathroom's are dirty and all clogged the door was not secure since it had holes and was covered with bandages ?? YES I SAID BANDAGES. I don't recommend this hotel for your stay at allll if you see good reviews here is because they buy the customers offering them free wifi. FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO HAVE A GREAT TIME BECAUSE THEY BARELY ACTIVITIES. I will never every stay at Occidental caribe or any of their establishments since we travel to the other Occidental locations looking to change hotels but the other one was even worse.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Won’t be back

    Reviewed by Felisha007(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    PROS The scenery The beach The pool The ammenities Japanese and Italian restaurants are the best on site Minibar CONS The food I survived on bread all week The entertainment The drinks There is nothing to do here but go swimming in the pool or the beach The layout is very confusing I seen roaches Nobody speaks English luckily I know Spanish a little Flies everywhere Birds flying over your food and will take your food Pools close early Drinks are so weak that at this point I would HAVE PAID for a real drink anywhere

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX