Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4650 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Read everyone’s review before booking.

    Reviewed by christineQue(Kirkfield, Ontario) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I will not return. Upgraded our room and the only thing we did get was the wifi, nothing else. If you are booking here, but wifi separately, you’ll save yourself the money. Our room was not upgraded. No sofa, nothing to place our luggage on, one facecloth and three days with no facecloth. Second day there and all the restaurants were booked up, so we never got to experience any of them. Best experience was the beach and ocean. Bring bug spray for the sand fleas!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Wouldn't go again

    Reviewed by Relax24508315732() on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Issues with reservations for restaurants so never got to eat at them. Issue with not having room that was booked at the beginning. Told.to come back at time a then told to come back again at time.b. wasting and entire day.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Awful Experience at Occidental. Avoid travel to this resort in May.

    Reviewed by Compass15986583037(Toronto, Canada) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The service and choices at this resort are awful. We have travelled to Punta Cana over 4 times in the past 5 years, with reservations at different resorts. This resort has to be the worst 4+ star hotel we have ever been to. The front desk staff is very rude. They provide preferential treatment to guests who speak Spanish, providing them with free upgrades and passes. We were part of a wedding party, and the front desk staff did not even give us wifi while all other guests in our group got it. The room service staff do not stock your fridge every day. Their interpretation of fully stocked bar is 2 mini cans of Coors Light. The room cleaners do not provide fresh towels every day. They provide it at their discretion. Beer is diluted, and getting the attention of the bartenders is very difficult. The only way to get their attention is to show dollars. The only good thing about the resort is that it is located on the best beach in Punta Cana. But I would recommend choosing another resort as Occidental does not care about its guests. You will not get the resort experience here as to what you would expect at other similarly priced resorts. This resort needs to see honest reviews to make the improvements required to warrant the price they charge.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Not as good

    Reviewed by jen0187(Iowa) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just returned from our second stay at this resort with our last stay being exactly 1 year ago. We chose to return because we had such a wonderful experience last year, but this year it was not the same. Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. They were even able to accommodate our request to be away from the main pool to avoid noise. Check out was not as smooth. There was only 1 person assisting and she was frequently needed by other employees making the process slower. When we arrived at our room the A/C wasn't working. Our building concierge called and notified them of the issue. We had to call 3 additional times before maintenance showed up at 8:30 pm. It ended up that they couldn't fix the a/c and the maintenance man disappeared. We waited 30 minutes after he left and then I called the front desk demanding a new room. There had been no communication that the a/c could not be fixed. We eventually got a new room and they sent someone to assist us in moving. The room was better. The rooms are spacious and updated, but could be better maintained. Our room darkening curtains fell down and after maintenance fixed them they wouldn't close all the way. The freezer in the room refrigerator was over flowing with ice build up. It took more than 5 minutes for the shower water to get warm enough to use for bathing. We tried to make reservations at 10 am the second day of our stay and all of them were full except Oriental and American until after our check out day. Last year we were able to go to all 5. When we went to the 2 available restaurants they were far from full. They need to hire more help to allow more visitors to enjoy the restaurants. The food in the Oriental restaurant was great, but the American restaurant food was awful and the service fair. The food was far from American. My husband could only tolerate 3-4 bites of his hamburger. The biggest negative about this resort is the CONSTANT harassment to attend the "presentation" for the vacation club. You can't go 5 feet without someone harassing you. Our building "concierge" was the worst. He told us to lie when we got to the presentation and say we were interested and that we had not attended the "presentation" last year (which we had and it definitely was not for us).He was only interested in getting his commission, He sat outside the vacation club office like a vulture waiting to see if we stayed. We did not stay and had to get gruff with him about it when we left. not a fun time. They need to find a better way to handle this. The beach was nice and they did what they could to keep the sea grass cleaned up. Lots of shade under the palms. There was a good security presence at the beach to keep the vendors away. The food in the buffet was good. Lots of pork and fish, but prepared well. Staff in the dining room were friendly, but often slow to get drinks and refills. There often were dirty tables or tables with no silverware and getting a napkin was hit or miss. I saw them change a table setting and they only removed the utensils they thought were used...ewww. The beach side buffet and bar had awful service. We never got our drinks and had to retrieve eating utensils from the prep area. There was always a huge wait at the beach side bar as they only had 1 bartender serving drinks to beach goers and getting drinks ready for the dining room, They need more help here as well. The grounds were nice, but not as maintained as last year. The pond as you round the corner from the entertainment venue was pure green. Last year they were cleaning it. The poor turtles were covered in green slime. The pool's were nice and there were plenty of them on the property.They closed at dusk which kept the noise down. After this trip I would not recommend this resort. I'm not sure we will try it again to see if they were just having a bad week or if this was their new normal.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Occidental Review

    Reviewed by Roam43164707092(Los Angeles, California) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel was nice for the price. Restaurants were only available if u had a reservation and it was super difficult to get a reservation. Food at the snack bar was cheeseburgers, hot dogs and chicken tenders we did not travel so far to eat cheap american food. Would have preferred to taste authentic food instead.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX