Secrets Cap Cana Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    a

    Would love to return again someday!

    Reviewed by amy on Jun 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This Resort blew me away! So clean and beautiful. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing and so many choices. Really gave the full "vacation" feel. Just simply beautiful!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Escape from Reality Here

    Reviewed by JR on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    If there is a heaven, I think it must be like this place. This is the best of the best in Punta Cana. The resort itself has a Zen like atmosphere, but not at all boring. There is plenty to see and do here if you want, but you can also just lie back and relax. Now let?s talk food. Secrets Cap Cana has the most incredible buffet I have ever had. The presentation was stunning and the variety and taste of the food was 5 star gourmet. You can tell they must have hired the very best chefs available. I would go back here just for the food. I had this Passion fruit mousse that tasted to me what I imagine Ambrosia must taste like. The rooms have an almost lush deserted island feel with quality furnishings and exceptional attention to detail. The spa was serenity itself and the staff was incredible and well trained. This year they have a slight problem with seaweed due to higher than average humidity and they are looking for solutions. But their pools are fantastic so you can enjoy yourself and not even miss the beach. As soon as you walk in through the main lobby, you know you are about to be spoiled and the view is breathtaking. I cannot wait to come back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    A relaxing and inviting resort at it's finest...

    Reviewed by The sunset seeker on Jun 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort was beautiful, and everything about this resort was inviting and relaxing. From the gourmet display to the delicious treats served at the coffee bar this resort was exquisite! The staff was friendly and the resort is beautifully designed and maintained. I definitely will be coming back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful spot!!!

    Reviewed by Marie on Jun 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel is gorgeous. In a remote location surrounded by "jungle". It gives a great feel of actually getting away from it all. On top of that, the food is fabulous!!! I've never seen a buffet so elegant. The spa is also great. Very relaxing and serene. This hotel is a great spot for relaxation. The staff were courteous and attentive and trying to help whenever possible.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3811 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Annual mother/daughter trip took us to Secrets in the DR.

    Reviewed by Donna K() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a treasure! Everything you've read about this resort is spot-on. Cleanliness is outstanding, hospitality is outstanding, beaches and water were gorgeous, food was delicious and drinks were plentiful. The beach was cleaned daily of seaweed or whatever shells there were. Fresh coconuts on the beach as well as daily lunch was awesome. Extra special amenities if sitting near the pool where wait staff served snacks. Recommend they extend those offerings to the beach-goers as well since the snacks that were served were really good. (wings, icecream, crepes and more!) The only complaint I have is that the wait for certain restaurants was long. They provide a beeper while you wait, but i'd rather have the option of eating somewhere else if one restaurant was fully occupied. They should consider having the Market Café open every night as an alternative to restaurant seating. Huge shout out to our butler, Mesca. He waited on us from morning to night, and if he wasn't available he'd make sure we still received what we asked for. He was awesome! Mini-me (entertainment staff) was hysterical and always made sure we were laughing. And lastly Omar (wait staff). We saw him the 1st day at the beach buffet and remarkably remembered my drink order the next day! Also saw him in Portofino and again he remembered it! These folks go above and beyond to make sure our stay was fantastic... and it was!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful beach and infinity pool

    Reviewed by kathleen4kids(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The beach is gorgeous and large. Lots of chairs. The infinity pool is gorgeous. Excellent service from the moment of our arrival to the moment we left. Many thanks to our personal concierge, Luisa, who resolved an issue even as we were leaving the resort. Restaurant staff were great. We enjoyed the Feench resaurant and Seaside Grill. Great poolside help from Leonardo and Abraham. Esther's warm smile greeted us in the café. We had a room near the construction, no negative impact on our stay. We would definitely return.

    Not my favorite, But still great

    Reviewed by stacey f(Houston, Texas) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Secrets Cap Cana is the newest Secrets Resort we have been to. We have been to 4 others in Playa Del Carmen, Jamaica and Punta Cana. Secrets does a good job of keeping these resorts in excellent condition, because I could not even tell that this resort was newer than the others. We initially were not pleased with our room. I had emailed the resort ahead of time and asked not to be placed near the construction zone. When we arrived they said they were booked and that we could upgrade if we chose. I was disappointed that the "we're booked" seemed to be a ploy to upsell their ocean view rooms. That afternoon as we walked around, the resort seemed no where near full. Also at dinner there was no wait which is somewhat unusual, again seeming that they were not "booked". In addition to looking at the construction from our balcony, the AC in our room did not work. It was humid and warm. And there was not hot water in the jacuzzi. That night we went to the concierge to check in for our transfer back to the airport later in the week. We mentioned our room and the issues with it and the girl said she would see what she could do. She ended up being able to get us a 2 Queen bed room (ours was a king) after 2 nights. So the remainder of our trip improved. Overall the trip was good and comparable to the others we have been to. The food was good as usual. (Don't miss the BBQ on the beach everyday at 12:30!!) The service was superb. Drinks were good. Rooms and bathrooms were awesome as usual. Make sure someone gets up and goes to get you a seat near the pool early in the morning. The good ones are gone by probably 9am. Plenty of space is available on the beach. However, people gather by the pool. For me, I like the pool because it is not so windy. There was quite a bit of seaweed during the second half of our stay. Things like this are random. You never know if it will happen. There is not a certain time when it happens. Some things about this resort that I did not like in comparison to other Secrets I have stayed at: The footprint of the resort was a bit tight. I think there was like 10 buildings that went as high as 5 stories each. The pool area was nice and big but the green spaces of the resort were small. For example at other resorts as you are walking to the pool you feel like you are walking through a garden, its lush and has lots of flowers etc. You feel pretty secluded. At Cap Cana that was not the case, there wasn't a real wow factor, other than the lobby. Maybe the vegetation needs a couple more years to mature. Another thing I missed is the daily schedule. At other resorts at night we received a piece of paper in our room with the next day's activities. They do not do that here. You have to rely on the app which was almost never up to date AND it never had the information for evening entertainment. We missed shows etc because we just didn't know about it. Also at other resorts, a couple nights a week they have special theme dinner and entertainment near the pool or on the beach. None of that happened the 5 nights we were there. The bottom line is that this was our least favorite Secret's Resort. Although, after talking to several other people about other brands of all inclusive resorts, this one was the best they had been to. So we will continue to try other Secrets locations.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Secrets Cap Cana - Wedding

    Reviewed by MWilliamson20140123() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at Secrets Cap Cana for a wedding in February. The grounds were very clean, the staff were all very welcoming and attentive. The food was wonderful, my favorite was the lunch on the beach everyday. We read a lot of reviews before traveling to the resort about seaweed invading the beach...there was no invasion in February. The beaches were clean and inviting. We also read reviews about the construction being done next door which we ended up with a room where the balcony faced the construction. We were offered a different room if we wanted upon our walk thru of the room by our concierge Oliver. We waited 2 days to decide against a different room, the noise wasn't bad at all and we were out and about most of the time...besides if we moved we may no longer have Oliver as our concierge which we did not want to risk. Oliver was truly the best concierge, super attentive, checked in with us every morning, walked around the resort to greet us and check in during the day and if he saw us in the evening...same thing, Oliver was wonderful. If you are traveling to Secrets, you will be lucky to have Oliver as your concierge. We were with a group of 50 other guests so we were a bit more of a party group then a relaxing quiet group, they handled us well :) The pool staff were great everyday bringing drinks, we were greeted daily by Alba who had a great personality and great service. The wedding was wonderful (of course I enjoyed it), the coordinator did a great job making sure all the guests were pleased. The activity coordinator figured out within 2 days that our groups would be staying by the pool all day but he still came by everyday and talked with us, Mini Me was his name, brought us a good laugh everyday! This resort is more of a relaxation destination and we were a bit more rowdy then the norm there...still we had no complaints, the resort was beautiful with great staff. We would go back for a relaxing vacation!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Birthday vacation!

    Reviewed by Wander541652() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is amazing! We loved our room and the tub on the balcony was great... water got very hot! The shower is great as well!! The pool is fantastic and lots of places to get drinks. Only downside is a lot of chairs get taken early morning by people wanting a spot. The beach is beautiful plenty of chairs! Husband and I enjoyed the paddle board one day! The grill on the beach is good and has fresh coconuts. Staff like everyone said is amazing and make you want to come back. We had Felix taking care of us and he made birthday extra special! Something I will never forget! Food is good we liked the options. Overall would highly recommend.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX