El Dorado Maroma by Karisma

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    Good for honeymoon

    Reviewed by Samantha on Oct 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very romantic hotel, and day and night entertainment, and the drinks were very good. The beach was nice but the ocean had a horrible smell and the water looked dirty for the a couple meters. Although the rooms have jacuzzis they take forever to fill and no hot water. All the food was mediocre, there was not one meal that I loved. The spa and the gym were great, and the pools were awesome. The wifi worked great and there were good tv channels provided. Since it was our honeymoon we got an candle light beach dinner, breakfast in bed, 2 for 1 spa, and our room decorated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5345 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Continued excellence

    Reviewed by mumanoff(Northern New Jersey) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Have been coming here over the last 12 years. We are Emerald members and used that level for the first time. Our butlers Luis, Liz and Roberto could not have done more for us. We had the opportunity to have an en suite dinner which was an absolutely phenomenal experience. I wholeheartedly recommend El Dorado Maroma.

    Heaven on Earth

    Reviewed by Kelley F() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my first trip to EDM and it did not disappoint. From the moment we stepped foot on the property we felt cared for and pampered. Sparkling wine and scented cool towels were offered at reception where we learned that although our room (upgraded to a Royal Swim up!) was not ready (it was only 11:45) we were invited to have lunch, sit by the pool, walk around the resort. The Room We stayed in room 302 which is a spacious swim up suite with a king bed, indoor and outdoor shower, separate seating area, dining table, and best of all, a furnished terrace with lounge chairs IN the water! We had a view of the beach as it was only steps away. I had emailed front desk supervisor, Jocelyn in advance requesting a ground floor room, centrally located as I have COPD and have difficulty walking long distances. I was stunned to have been given such a luxurious upgrade! Thank you Jocelyn! The Food On our first night at the resort we got a little turned around looking for our restaurant and I got very short of breath. Two employees (from the spa I think) saw this and arranged for assistance. I was really feeling bad by now and needed to go back to the room. A big shout out to William for picking us up in his golf cart and getting a menu from the restaurant so we could order what we wanted and arranged for it to be delivered to our room! All the meals we had were indeed gourmet, especially my lunch one day at Lima Limon. Stuffed french toast from room service was a delicious way to start the day! The Staff Everyone was truly lovely and made us feel at home. My traveling companion played volleyball on the beach and in the pool with the entertainment staff who were wonderful at encouraging participation without being pushy. Omar and Christina were especially friendly and fun. I wish I could remember the name of our amazing beach waitress who kept the drinks coming. Betstada? Anyway she always remembered what we wanted to drink, and was super friendly. We only had turn down service one night but I really enjoyed the scent they spray on the sheets. So much so that before leaving I purchased a set of air freshener sprays from the Naay Spa. It's difficult to explain how special this place is. I can see why they have so many repeat customers. EDM is like no other resort. Small, but never crowded, amazing staff and we made friends with some of our fellow travelers. I can't wait to go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Trip of a Lifetime

    Reviewed by Laura W(House Springs, Missouri) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I'm not sure a can write an accurate review of Eldorado Maroma. Words just can not describe the beauty, tranquility, or absolute joy we found here. First off ket me start off by saying if you are looking for a place that all of your troubles and tired routines fade away this is it! The resort is small which adds to its charm, the staff is amazing. The flora is beautifully kept, they work so hard everyday. They are out at 5 a.m. cleaning the beach of any seaweed that washed up on shore, the beach chairs and cabanas are cleaned every night and made up every day. The ocean is as clear and beautiful as post card. If you look out further you will see some of the most vibrant blues and emerald greens your eyes have ever witnessed. Our butlers name was Ele, pronounced Ellie. He was amazing. Kind, caring, and was excellent at his job. Ele, I hope that this review finds it way to you, Sean and I miss you already! The entertainment staff is also amazing. Omar and Alex, we loved! Omar hosted an array of contests on the beach and off. Alex lead the salsa dance class while we were there. Both men are so engaging. Everyone will stop by your cabana and ask if you want to play whatever sport they are hosting and just talk with you. Not like a staff person but as if you were part of the family. There are not words to describe this resort. If there are any negative reviews ignore them, if you do not enjoy this resort you are just a miserable human.

    Just an absolutely perfect week.

    Reviewed by Matthew C(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had perfect weather for the week and outstanding care by all staff. Beach sand is wonderful in that even at the hottest time of day the sand is comfortable to walk on. The food is truly well presented and very tasty. We opted for Palafitos for our last two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the extra pampering. Well done El Dorado Maroma!!!

    Not our favorite resort

    Reviewed by CPete31(Yorkville, Illinois) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My husband and I traveled to El Dorado Maroma for our first stay this month. We have been to the El Dorado Seaside Suites in the past and wanted to try Maroma for its size and beach. We stayed in the infinity pool suite. First of all, I would like to say the the wait staff, bartenders, and beach butlers were amazing and really what made our stay great; however, there were quite a few hiccups that we could not overlook. Room: Stayed in the infinity pool suite. We had requested a room on a higher floor, closest to the beach, which they accommodated for us. Our view was amazing! The room was a very nice size. On our first day, we realized that the railing on our fourth floor suite was very loose. We informed the concierge the next day and were told it would be fixed; however, when we returned to the room, the railing had been removed completely and rusty nails sat on the side of the ledge for the remainder of our stay. The room was very humid with barely functioning air conditioning. We attempted to use the indoor and outdoor shower on the first evening but no water came out. The handle had to be turned to the on position for at least five minutes before the water came out, and we had very little water pressure for the rest of the stay. Housekeeping kept the room clean; however, we had to contact the front desk for toilet paper because it was never replaced. We also had no turn down service for a few of the nights, despite telling our concierge about that as well. We only received aromatherapy twice during our stay and never received the pillows we requested on the first day of our stay. Beach/Pool/Hotel grounds: The beach is gorgeous and maintained beautifully. Staff works so hard to clear the seaweed and they do a very good job with this. The walkways and gardens are also maintained very well and always clean. The pool was never dirty, beach and pool lounge chairs were very well maintained also. There were not enough chairs for the amount of people staying at this resort. If you don’t have a towel on a beach or pool chair by 8 am, good luck finding one at all! There is also a bad smell that occasionally floats over the beach and ocean but you kind of get used to it a bit. There were also quite a few times, morning and afternoon, that there were no towels available. A nice touch was the sunscreen, after sun lotion, bug spray (which you definitely need), and tired legs lotion available at various spa carts around the resort. Beach butlers Diego and Karen were awesome. Diego definitely brightened our day and went above and beyond with service and great personality! Dining: Italian and Caribbean restaurants exceeded our expectations in cuisine and service. Carlos in the Italian restaurant was our favorite and made wonderful menu suggestions. Juan at the Caribbean Grille was also great. We went to the Molcajete specialty night at the Mexican restaurant and it was good, but not the best. This resort does not do enough with Mexican food and what Mexican food they have was mediocre. Uriel at Lima Limon for breakfast and lunch was awesome. He was by far our favorite waiter for the entire trip. Papitos is pretty terrible - undercooked meat and fish, everything at the buffet was almost always cold. You also cannot eat by the pool or beach, even though they have the occasional taco/fajita cart and ice cream by the pool. Ice cream runs out very fast and they do not refill. Bar: We felt that there was an excellent selection at all bars. Omar and Carlos at the swim up pool bar are great! There are only swim up bars at this resort so if you want an evening cocktail, be prepared to lean over the side of a railing and holler down to a bartender. Activities and Entertainment: Entertainment staff is great and really try to get the guests involved in the daily activities. Alex and Cristina were a lot of fun and Alex even helped us out with some issues with confirming one of our dinner reservations. Nightly entertainment was seriously lacking at this resort. Ricks bar, while set high and has a great view at night, has an awful musty smell and I definitely wouldn’t call bingo and karaoke nightly entertainment. The fire dancers and mariachis were nice on the beach. We wish more of the entertainment was like that. Management: We presented some of our room issues to the manager and he compensated us with a dinner at the Palafitos restaurant. We went to our concierge to confirm the reservation the following day and they had to scramble to figure out what we were talking about and really couldn’t confirm the dinner reservation leaving us feeling that we were going to show up for a reservation that didn’t exist. Not sure why they require a reservation at that restaurant because when there, we sat for 2 hours and only saw 4 other couples eat, with at least 15-20 tables open. The food was very good though. Overall, this is a very relaxing resort with a beautiful beach. Food is ok. We would not return based on the above issues. We also felt that there was a difference in how members were treated vs non-members. For the cost of this resort, I would never return - have received more quality accommodations and better food for much less. We very much appreciate the hospitality we received from the servers and entertainment staff at this resort...truly one of the best. Wish the rest had been as good!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX