Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Fantastic Resort and staff... highly recommended.

    Reviewed by JTG on Apr 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Simply an excellent establishment. True 5 star. The only items that may not hit top notch would be: beach - excellent sand but lots of eel grass and seaweed. Lounger - cushions were just ok, extra towels helped a lot Entertainment - evening shows were pretty hit and miss. Overall, any shortcomings were way overpowered by outstanding staff, good food and excellent rooms. Very quiet adult resort without any wildness.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    O

    Best mexico Vacay

    Reviewed by Ogopogie on Jan 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Best staff, best food, best vacay ever! Clean, fun, safe, immaculate. A+ on everything!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    l

    Can't Wait to Go Back!

    Reviewed by lyric on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We are a Canadian couple, in late our 60's. Our room was a beautifully appointed suite with a roof-top plunge pool. Everything about the place was 5 star and aside from a reserved part of the beach, from our perspective, we couldn't see any advantage to the Excellence Club class. The food was fantastic, with top notch service throughout by friendly, willing staff. The choice of restaurants was wonderful, and there were special events and entertainment each night. The beach was nice, but the pools are fantastic. If you want excitement, the swim up bar pool was rocking, but for peace and quiet, the spa pool area was serene... and for handicapped folks, there was a heated, accessible pool area. We loved the availability of lounge beds around the pools. The hotel offered a free shuttle bus into the small village of Puerto Morales where we were able to buy a few souvenirs. We have lived in Europe and travelled extensively all over the world as well as doing at least 10 cruises. By comparison, this stay was the best value, ever...so much so that we plan on going back for a longer stay this winter! There were no negatives from our perspective and we would highly recommend this hotel! Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    The best trip ever, so far! This resort is the epitome of luxury and relaxation with the greatest staff!

    Reviewed by Karen ... Canada on Jan 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Best!!!!! Herman, Xavier, Erikka- @ the tour desk and our girl Erikka on the floor, along with Louise an amazing greeter and Bell! The entire hotel staff was simply amazing and accommodating. Wonderful selection of restaurants and snack bars, room service, and a great coffee bar along with an amazing Martini Bar! And so much more! I loved the ice cream station, crepe afternoons and frozen fruit cart and the Mexican Bingo with the wonderfully amusing sorry girl...I've forgotten your name...loved you too! Just a sample of what this beautiful resort has to offer. Extremely clean. Fabulous entertainment every evening and...Soooooo many interesting activities Daily! Good luck trying to fit them all in. The lazy river pool is one of the best! This hotel is prepared for every scenario and make good on every reservation. These fine folks go above and beyond ... truly, a luxury experience. It was the greatest resort Experience! Kudos to all! Loved the Excellence! ...BTW...the wee town of Puerto Morelos is well worth checking out...great folks, arts and crafts and festivities! Check in with your concierge when you arrive, it's worth it. Also recommend a side excursion to Coba Ruins...fascinating and affordable and one of the last Mayan ruins you can ascend. Everything was 5*****s!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We loved every minute of our stay at Excellence - I want to go back immediately!

    Reviewed by Sunlovers on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellence was exactly what we wanted - quiet, adults only, terrific food, magnificent service and nice rooms. Pros: - Gorgeous pools. They were very quiet and peaceful but the main pool near the swim up bar was lively in the afternoon. There were tons of pool chairs available. If you are staying in a swim up suite, you have your own private pool bed. Think of a king sized comfy bed out in the sun. If not, you could grab one of the few that were poolside or in a shaded hut. - Restaurants had amazing food. I had very low expectations and didn't believe the positive reviews that I read but the food was great. The breakfast buffet at the Barcelona was huge and offered omelettes to order, waffles... The a la carte dinners were very good too. We were not huge fans of the Mexican restaurant but the Italian and Asian restaurants were tasty. We only had to wait for the Asian restaurant but were seated immediately at the others. - Mini bar stocked with drinks and you had a full bottle of vodka, tequila, wine and rum in your room - All couples honeymooners or 30/40 somethings . Cons: - Do not go if you are a beach person. It is not the hotel's fault but tons of seaweed was constantly washing up on shore. They had to use a big tractor to scoop it up and then rake it by hand. It's kind of gross but it's a huge problem everywhere, not just here. We didn't care because the pools were to die for but if you love the beach, look elsewhere. - Westjet's hotel transfer from the airport was horrible. We had to wait on the sidewalk in the hot Mexican sun for over an hour. 90 minutes after we had landed, they said that they were waiting for two other couples from our flight but they must have taken private transportation so they made us wait for a large group that came on a different flight. It was not how I wanted to begin my vacation. : We loved everything at the hotel, especially the pool and terrific service. We can't wait to go back!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 17367 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Our Wonderful Honeymoon

    Reviewed by vantethomas1992vt92(Hartford, Wisconsin) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved this place!! Thanks to all the staff members that works in this hotel for making our stay great. This will definitely be a place to visit again. And also tell other family members and friends about.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Awesome Experience

    Reviewed by canela323() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I went on a get away/birthday trip with other couples and had the best time ever. I really enjoyed the food, entertainment and the service from all the staff members. One thing that makes me want to return is that my husband left some cash in the safe deposit box in the room and realized it after we were gone. We called the hotel and was able to get the money sent straight to his account with no problems. They were very honest and helpful and made us want to return after such great customer service. Overall everything was very pleasant and fun and I would return again.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Nearly paradise

    Reviewed by stephen g(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just a couple of things that stop the excellence hotel being perfect. A few guests did not adhere to the dress code and were allowed to get away with it. A few bar staff talking to each other when guests waiting to be served. This is really being picky but it could be the thin end of a wedge if not addressed.. Don't let these few things stop you going it really is a fantastic hotel and staff like Alberto Jimenez,Santiago and Marissa go the extra mile to make your stay as perfect as it can be. The restaurants are fantastic and entertainment first class. They had a seaweed problem but you can't blame the hotel for nature. The beach is like talc and white. Will definitely return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Value

    Value-5

    This resort is Excellente!

    Reviewed by InternationalJefe(Los Angeles, California) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have 450 reasons to give this resort an amazing review! I stayed here with friends on a couples getaway vacation Aug 1-6, 2019. Everything and I mean everything was top-notch from the food, entertainment to our swim-up suite. This luxurious resort is amazing! Now for the specifics... I left $450 USD in my safe deposit box inside the room upon my departure! I know, I know, how could one be so negligent? Trust me, I beat myself up about it numerous times! However, I called the resort and informed them of what happened. Luckily, they were able to retrieve my money from the room, and made arrangements to send it back to me directly to my bank account at no charge to me! I couldn't believe the professionalism, honesty, and compassion I received from the staff here at ERC. I'd like to personally thank and recognize Eric at the front desk, the security personnel on site, and Karina at the host department for taking care of this for me, your patience and professionalism is greatly appreciated. They deserve a raise and promotion, and I hope ERC management reads this. For that experience alone, I would recommend ERC to anybody traveling to Cancun, and I will most certainly return there and give them my business each time I travel there! The piece of mind that comes with traveling to a resort that you can trust to take care of you is priceless! Again, thanks staff for welcoming me "home" to ERC and my stay here was Excellente!!!

    Excellence WAS BETTER than expected

    Reviewed by Jody P(Lexington Park, Maryland) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my eighth trip to Cancun. I wanted a great experience and received that from Excellence! Yes, there was seaweed in the water and at the water’s edge but not enough to keep me out of the ocean. I will definitely return to this resort. It was quiet, people were nice, entertainment was FANTASTIC, food was better than other resorts, pools were not crowded, housekeeping staff was amazing, activities were great. Visitors, please do all you can as far as water activities, cocktail tasting and butterfly release. I’ll return. ??

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX