Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    G

    Great Place. Don't Let the Negative Reviews Deter You.

    Reviewed by Guest2223 on Apr 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I read over quite a few reviews of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum from various sources before deciding to book a vacation there. Here is what I thought of the resort while I was there. Food: Yes, the buffet is pretty standard and only has slight changes per day. That is normal for most of not all resorts. The food was excellent and had no issues during my stay. The A-la-carts are always difficult to book. What I noticed was that a number of people will book and not show. If you don't get the one you want, you can always take a chance and wait for an empty spot at the restaurant. But please, dress appropriately for them. Beaches: Yes, there was some seaweed when we first arrived. It was cleaned up in the morning of the third day we were there. There was no smell and you can easily walk over it to get to the water. It was no big deal. Animals: Yes, there are animals there. You are in the jungle and so there are lizards, birds, etc. most of the areas are open and so yes, the animals can wander in there as well. It is no big deal. Rooms: I was very surprized at how well the rooms were kept. The one we were in did not show it's age at all. Clean and all was functional. Overall, I highly recommend this resort and will definitely be staying there again. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Additionally, tip the staff! They work hard and deserve it. Many of the staff there went out of there way to help with directions, free rides, etc. Amazing how many people did not tip at all. Regardless of whether it is all inclusive or not, you would always tip in your native location. Why not there?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14643 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not as expected

    Reviewed by Q5867HFscottc(Horley, United Kingdom) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Family holiday here for 2 weeks in May Entertainment and the workforce here extremely friendly and always happy The hotel is very repetitive regarding the food and evening entertainment. The villa units as they are here was very dated and not up dated in some years by the looks of things and not the luxury you expect from this chain and location Pools and bars area clean and tidy no faults at all Not worth the amount paid through Thomas Cook for this time of year, not likely to pick this hotel again unless a major overhaul is carried out.

    Relaxing Holiday

    Reviewed by jule0483() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great grand hotel! The rooms are very spacious and clean, comfortable beds, all rooms (that we've seen) had a balcony / terrace. Good location, as some attractions and beaches are near by (10-15 minutes by transfer or taxi). Really amazing selection of food and restaurants. There is defiantly something for everyone. The buffet is often themed (Mexican, Italian, Asian foods etc). Service and food in the restaurant is great, we enjoyed all of them. Top choices however: Brazilian, Italian and Mediterranean restaurants - defiantly try these if you stain at Bahia. All the staff on premises is very friendly and helpful, no one is demanding any tips - I found this great, when people are not demanding anything, you really want to reward their service. We had a balcony door broke, reported to the reception and this was fixed in 20 minutes. It's a great place for families with kids, there is a nice water park over at Akumal (even we liked it :))) A lot of entertaining to suit your needs, there are Spanish lessons, various sports activities, theatre - and a really great entertainment team by the pool. Every evening we had plenty of choices. It was strange that you had to pay for a wifi, but guessing this is a luxury in Mexico. It was $9.00 for the whole stay (15 days), per device, so overall not bad. We really had a great time - Thank you Grand Bahia Principe Tulum for making our holidays stress free.

    Amazing hotel

    Reviewed by valeriebelfast(Belfast, United Kingdom) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back last night from this amazing hotel, this was our second visit and did,nt disappoint. All the staff are awesome and go out of their way to make your holiday special. Fernando and francisco in the tulum buffet special thanks. Rooms are super clean the grounds are beautiful and you ate surrounded by beauty no matter where you go. Seaweed on the beach wasn,t a problem as the men worked hard and cleared it every day and it,s a sargassum which is down to nature. The food at all the resteraunts is great and caters for even the most fussy eaters. We couldn,t fault anything here, would go back in a minute if we could. Thanks to everybody for creating great memories for us see you again x

    Birthday vacation

    Reviewed by xchlowilliams() on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Currently staying here for 2 weeks and so far has been a pleasant experience. Ive been made to feel particularly welcomed at the restaurant yucatan pm by staff Israel pat and Jocabeth. They are so attentive and friendly and are truely hard workers. The grounds are always kept immaculate, the food is great, pools are very large and always kept clean. The wildlife here is fab, you get to see lots! Only concern is the dolphins and how they are kept. I don’t like the fact that they are kept in a swimming pool, the space is far too small

    SERVICE ROOM WAS BAD

    Reviewed by Mariana C() on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Reception service was good and we thought we were going to have great vacations. When we got in the room instead of having a king-size bed they put 2 double beds together which was very uncomfortable. I'm pregnant and the heat in the room was so horrible. AC worked 2 days out of 10 days of our vacations. I did not sleep well the whole time. We did a complain twice for the same problem and when the concierge guy came to repair it twice, he left the door open the whole time so we had to kill all the mosquitos before bed. Also when he came he left a trap of the AC openned and a lot of dirty on the floor that we had to clean after. He came to finalize teverything at 11:30pm and I was so tired!!! When the AC finally worked there was so much condensation and water coming out of the lights and I almost felt and Im pregnant. Sheets were smelling the humidity and they were also wet because AC didnt work. Pool was okay but at the end of the day it gets really dirty. So it's disgusting. Food was okay, the same everyday and some changes for the dinner. BEACH ARE HORRIBLE! It was so disappointing. I could not get in the beach because of the seaweeds and it really stinks so if you want a good beach go to Cancun or Cozumel or Islas Mujeres.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX