Ocean Riviera Paradise

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    New resort has to work out the kinks but, great for first attempt.

    Reviewed by Sherry on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Food was great. Most enjoyed the outdoor entertainment in the courtyard at night. Bowling was fun. Some suggestions would be that they needed more servers on the beach and at the pool. Did not like that at 5 pm all bars at the beach and pool shut down. No where to get a drink except for the lobby. They should also add a smaller breakfast restaurant. Some people don't want the banging and clashing of the buffet and simply want a smaller selection of food, a coffee, and to hear the birds and the ocean in the morning. Also, it could just be that this resort is brand new but, if you are disabled or have problems walking, do not go to this resort. They have trolleys but, are not consistent with the timing. Sometimes, there were two or three going at once and other times, not one in sight and after waiting fifteen minutes, still no trolley. My husband has joint issues and walking the walk from the Eden building to the buffet or lobby was very hard on him. For that reason, we would not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Very good restaurants and food but overall not a relaxing resort - better for the younger set

    Reviewed by John and Christine on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food selection and quality were excellent as were the a-la-carte options available. The resort was however very noisy with loud music and general disturbances from activities being heard across the resort from the pool areas. The "Adults Only" El Beso accommodations were the most noisy and disruptive in the whole resort and we were forced to move to the Daisy Childrens' or the Privilege pools to find at least some level of peace and quiet. We would recommend that the "Adults Only" designation be renamed or otherwise described by the hotel and by WestJet. In addition, we would not recommend this resort for "Seniors". The front desk staff were poorly trained and clearly not comfortable dealing with customers - accordingly, they were very inflexible and not at all accommodating. Securing a change of room because of problems with allocated rooms is virtually impossible. We had to enlist the help of the local BD Travel and WestJet reps in order to secure a move away from a pool front room in El Beso at which the balcony was within meters of the pool DJ's, sound system and loud drunken activities! We must thank Katja Grimmig BD Travel and Jason Hawes WestJet for their tireless and effective help and support with our "hotel" problems.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great resort, awesome experience for our first family vacation to Mexico.

    Reviewed by Swanny68 on Feb 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We were a little worried going in after reading the reviews on their Facebook page. Once there we were glad we came, everything was great. Our family really enjoyed our time there, food was great, pool and beach we totally enjoyed. We would go back there no problem, same with the others we were traveling with. The resort had lots to offer for what we expected and were looking for. The only hiccup was the almost 3 hour delay leaving Calgary, but things happen and we did get there and totally enjoyed our week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8424 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful resort

    Reviewed by kelly g() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Ocean riviera is a great resort if you wanna get fun, the guys from the animation staff are a blast, specially Claudio, he is crazy, we did the aqua gym, crazy games and bingo with him and he’s so funny. The food and drinks are great, the room is comfortable, the beach is very nice also the pools. My family is happy with this place, they wanna come back!!

    amazing hotel

    Reviewed by reillygrist() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Claudio!! Loved this hotel! !! Great service and super people to spend a wonderful vacation with!! Claudio was the best! food was great! will definitely come back! Great weather and super clean rooms and amenities ????

    Great time but inconsistent

    Reviewed by Alicia M(Highlands Ranch, Colorado) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Ill start by saying that before getting to the resort I read hundreds of reviews and looked through most pictures. So I knew of some issues or things going into the trip. This is an honest review of the resort and I was not persuaded at all by the hotel to leave a review. I traveled with my husband and another couple to ORP from March 20-24th for a 4 night stay. Back in February my husband and I decided to upgrade to the Privilege building. I emailed the resort multiple times and had a difficult time with the language barrier. However, after a few attempts of emailing and calling, I was finally able to upgrade and pay for it. If you do this... PRINT YOUR CONFIRMATION and bring it with you. When we got to the resort, they had no record of our upgrade. Luckily I had the proof that I did indeed upgrade and it was no problem from there. Javier who checked us in at the privilege desk was very nice and even got us a beer and shot of tequila while we were checking in. Nice touch. The resort is big but its not too big as others were saying. It is about a 10 minute walk from the lobby to the beach and we loved being able to get our steps in without much thinking. If thats not your thing, there is a tram that you can take that was always available. We could not access our room until 3pm (we got there around 1) which was no big deal for us. We had packed swim suits in our back packs and quickly changed and met our friends at the pool. So if your flight gets in before 3, make sure you pack your swimsuits somewhere easily accessible. When we did get our keys we found that we had been upgraded to a swim out room which was nice but we found we would have actually preferred to be a few stories up as it is more private. Personal choice though. We were never hounded by the timeshare people but our friends were required to sit through it in order to get their room keys. So.. inconsistent there. We are thinking it may have been due to us checking in at an off time? Not sure. The room itself was fantastic. One of the best we have had in Mexico. We had a big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom as well as on the balcony.The shower was awesome and we always had hot water. This was not the resorts fault, but on the first day I ended up slipping and falling because of the wet floors and them being tile. So keep that in mind with wet bathing suits etc.. get some extra towels and put them down on the floor to avoid slipping. The food at ORP is hands down the best I have ever had at a Mexican All Inclusive and I have been to many both on the gulf side and pacific side. It was so nice to not have to think about going to the same restaurant twice or having repeated meals in a different way. The service was good in all the restaurants we went to as well. Our favorites were Blue Moon and Sakura. We also ate at La Loconda and the buffet. The buffet was impressively good for buffet food. We were highly impressed. The only negative there was that it seemed like the staff was stretched thin a bit. We had to ask for water and coffee several times. The pools were great, nice and big and never felt over crowded. We were always able to find chairs and I never felt like it was too busy. We hung out mostly at the Privilege pool as it is quieter. The pools are cold though, so if there was any cloud cover I got pretty cold. But that wasnt a deal breaker. The beach is great. Privilege has their own area and it was never crowded and we always found chairs. Liliana who was the waiter on that side was fantastic and deserves a huge shout out. She made sure our drinks were full and we had everything we needed. The beach is a bit rocky like others have said, but if you go down to the right a bit it is easier access. Or right off of the privilege area it is pretty good too, or bring water shoes. If you like to snorkel, walk to the right of the resort and go in at the pier. There are schools of fish and some cool rocks to see. Entertainment was the area lacking for us. We are in our early 30's and the resort doesnt seem to have much that caters to our age. We tried going to the foam party and the pink party and while it was fun, we felt a bit over age to be there. LOTS of 18 year olds and very much the spring break vibe, which is understandable considering we were there over spring break lol. But it would have been nice to have some music playing and the privilege pool or some more trivia games etc for those of us who dont want to get hugley rowdy. Seemed like there was a ton to do for kids, teens, and drunk 18 year olds or the older folk. But not too much for those of us in the middle. We still had a wonderful time at the privilege pool most days and Leonardo was our favorite bar tender. He always knew what to make us and was so friendly. We never met the famous Claudio. Although I did notice that more of his good reviews were from young kids and it seemed very forced. So I would not count those reviews as true, just fyi. Now.... what stopped me from giving 5 stars instead of 4. Privilege is DEFINITELY worth it. We loved having a quiet lounge to go to in the evening, the private lounge for breakfast and other meals etc. BUT... the butler service was very inconsistent. Our friends had an amazing butler Eduardo. He brought them bottles of wine when asked, checked on them and had a book of notes on all their requests and needs. Meanwhile, we never even saw our butler once. In fact when our friends left one day before us, we asked Eduardo if he would adopt us for the rest of our stay. He said it was no problem and he ended up bringing us whatever we wanted. He was FANTASTIC and deserves a raise. He checked in on us, brought us alcohol, extra towels etc and made us feel at home. However, if it weren't for our friends having him first, we never would have gotten to enjoy that aspect of the vacation. My suggestion is that if you are going to advertise a butler service, make sure there are standards and all guests get the same level of treatment. Overall, ORP is a beautiful resort. It is well maintained and is very clean. Would I stay here again? I would say yes, however I would not stay here without upgrading to privilege. I think that is what helped our experience. We are definitely thinking about bringing our whole family back some time as I do think they would like it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Family Trip!

    Reviewed by griffinwhite1(Columbus, Ohio) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is great! I had so much fun, the pools are nice and workers are excellent. The restaurants are great and the food is so good. The foam party was my favorite. Claudio is a great entertainer and never failed to make my day! Can’t wait to come back!

    great trip

    Reviewed by Payton C() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is great! The pools are amazing and the workers are excellent! The restaurants and food is so delicious and can not wait to come back! Claudio is such a great entertainer and I recommend meeting him! He made my trip so much better! I love it!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX