Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
    6. Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great hotel would definitely return

    Reviewed by Marylka on Jan 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We came for 4 weeks with friends. It was wonderful. Our room was clean just too close to the elevator. so we are seniors and go to bed early but we?re woken frequently with people coming back to room after partying. Food in buffet was excellent. Restaurants had a few dishes great but not all dishes. We went to the buffet the most. The service is excellent where ever you go. Everyone tries their best to make your stay enjoyable. You can walk on the beach for miles. We would definitely come back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent food!! The best I've had in Mexico so far.

    Reviewed by Louise on Nov 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Definately going back. Made a lot of new friends. The entertainment was AMAZING. Kudos to whomever is in charge of entertainment. When do these people sleep. Laura, Super Mario, Irving, Norbert, Cassandra. I probably missed someone but they were ALL excellent. The the bar staff - Martin especially and Rosie, they kept the drinks coming with a smile.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Lovely Vactaion with some concerns.

    Reviewed by Fran Eigenbrood on Nov 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at the Yucatan Princess Oct 26- Nov 5, 2016 . We had a Platinum Deluxe Room . The Room was very comfortable with the best bed we have ever had on holidays.The grounds are very nice ,neat and clean. We did encounter some issues , although the staff were very helpful . In the Platinum Deluxe package some of the services are not done on a regular basis ,and we were never explained as to what it all involved. The premium bar they offer in room is only 2 beer a day in room . Upon arrival we were left a 200 ml bottle of Rum, Vodka and Tequila. We drank the Rum up by the 2nd day and when asked for more were told NO, that we would have to purchase , and if we wanted more then the 2 beer left a day we would have to purchase. The turn down service happened only 3 of the 10 nights we were there. We had to ask for towels and wash cloths on more then one occasion.I also remember seeing somewhere although not now when I look that there was a private beach with butler service , which there is not. The beach is very small in front of hotel and very crowded has lots of bush and a drop off that is giving away .We also encountered on the first 5 days a terrible smell of sewer , so bad we could hardly get to our room and shut the door . We complained and were told it was the jungle , but after we complained the smell went away the next day to never return. The Buffet staff are great and the food a normal all inclusive buffet, we travelled next door to the Riviera a few times to there buffet which was some what larger and had more selection. The restaurant's on the Resort were good although not all open nightly , but the food was good in the Rodeo and the La Bruschetta. We also found all the chairs in the lounges to be most uncomfortable , and to view the entertainment was a bit tough the way there are set out . All in all we did have a great relaxing vacation , but if I was to pick again this would not be top of my list. West Jet and Best Day staff were Awesome! Thank You.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Great vacation! The staff was friendly and welcoming!

    Reviewed by Holly on Nov 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I stayed at the platinum Yucatán Princess all suites resort from October 20 to October 27. We had reserved a deluxe swim out room which was amazing. The room was huge with separate powder room shower and toilet. Our room was stocked with premium liquors such as vodka rum and tequila and our bar was stocked with beer soda and water daily the maid service kept our room extremely clean and they were all very helpful. We had stayed in the 3000 block at the Yucatán, this area had plenty of entertainment and a swim up bar. Our room had a gorgeous Terrace that lead out into the pool. Entertainment was from 10 AM to 6 PM. If you are looking for quiet, do not book a room in the 3000 block. I would suggest calling the hotel ahead of time and booking a room that better suits you. Food was also amazing throughout the whole hotel. Rodeos restaurant was one of my husbands and my favorite. This restaurant was also a 24 hour snack bar which was really convenient or you could order room service which was 24 hours as well. My husband and I are beach people we love to spend our time on the beach and swim for hours in the ocean. The beach at the platinum Yucatán was amazing but the ocean was questionable, Which was a big disappointment for my husband and I. Overall my husband and I had a fabulous time at the platinum Yucatán Princess all suites resort and we would return there in the future. A huge thanks goes out to all of the platinum Yucatán Princess staff you guys are amazing. Jose, Humbarto & Miguel thank you for making our vacation so memorable all of you are wonderful people great hosts and amazing bartenders. Thank you to Geovanni from rodeos restaurant for taking care of my husband and I every time we came to see you for an amazing dinner, cannot wait to see you next time we visit the platinum Yucatán. Also from the Yucatán restaurant a big thanks to George for making our mornings delightful and also Marcoe from la Breshutta.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    5 Star Hotel at 4 Star Pricing

    Reviewed by Need a Vacation on Mar 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Lovely new hotel. Opened since September 2014. Modern styling. Large clean rooms. Double showers. Comfortable bed. Large balconies. 5 buildings. Choose the building you would like to stay in depending on your style of holiday. If you like the party pool scene then select rooms in buildings 2 to 4. If you like quiet rooms with lots of sun to heat the swim up pools then select building 1. Building 5 are the upgraded platinum rooms and are closest to the main dining area and the beach. Rooms in building five facing the dining area may not be as private. Rooms on the opposite side of building 5 are the most private but may receive the least amount of sun. Wi-fi throughout hotel except the beach, but a bit sluggish. Food very good at the themed restaurants and buffet. Need to be at restaurants at 6 pm if you want the first seating. Otherwise, if the hotel is busy, you may have to wait till 8 or 9 pm for the next seating. Aroma, the international menu was excellent. Portions are small so order lots of appetizers. The Japanese Teppanyaki grill part of the restaurant was very popular. But you can go to the sushi bar without waiting. The sushi is not on par with Vancouver's standard of sushi. Buffet was very good with large selection of fresh fruit, pasta bar, desserts, salad bar and a themed night each evening. Beach is rocky so bring water shoes. If you walk to the left towards the Grand Velas beach they have a large area of water that is sheltered by a rock breakwater. The water is waist deep, warm and fairly sandy. If you want towards the right of the beach, towards two piers in the distance, there is a beach in front of the Azul Five hotel that is also rock free. They offer massages in a palapa beach hut on the beach for 50% off. You can book an appointment when they come by in the morning. 1500 pesos at 50% off for a 50 minute complete massage. Very relaxing with the sound of the waves in the background.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6623 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not impressed

    Reviewed by laurahS8889LW(Kitchener, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We just came back from a weeks vacation here and I was less than impressed! We have stayed at Grand Riviera Platinum twice and it by far is way better than Yucatan! We paid a little extra to stay at Yucatan because the website says that you have access to all the beaches and facilities of the other Princess resorts that share the same property. Don’t believe it because you don’t!! The Yucatan beach is horrible and so rocky that you can’t even walk into the water. So our next beach day we went to the other platinum beach. We as well as many others from Yucatan were told to leave! But we were told we had all access! They tell you that to try to hook you in to going there. Twice through the week we didn’t even get our room cleaned. The first time, we were flat out told it wouldn’t get done! The second time we went through the concierge and flat out told him that it was unacceptable and it better be done when we returned after dinner. We left a tip on the bed every morning and the second time it wasn’t clean, they took the tip and left without doing anything to the room! Point is, we shouldn’t have had to resort to that. We never had any problem at the Grand Platinum. One of the best things about paying the extra for better service is those cute little towel animals they do for you but don’t expect that at the Yucatan!! They don’t care about any personal touches AT ALL!! I gave this resort a 1 but it wasn’t even worth that much! I would not recommend this resort to anyone I know! We actually spent most of our time at Grand Riviera. It is a way better place to spend your vacation!

    Beautiful resort but 4 star at most

    Reviewed by 1984angieb() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I stayed here with a group of 8 and we had a good trip overall. Upon arrival I was told that out jr swim out suite had A/C issues so we were upgraded to the platinum suites. I felt we were taken care of by the front desk staff from start to finish. They remembered us by name and always asked if everything was going well. The hotel is clean and beautiful and the staff were always very pleasant. The beach has washed away a lot and has lots of sea weed. No fault of the resort. However if you walk just a few short minutes to the beach and the Princess Riviera and princess Sunset the beach is great over there and you will find a dj, beach activities, food stands and a bar. Very lovely atmosphere. Chairs are limited, get there early to reserve yours with a towel. I mean 6 or 7 am early! We always found chairs in the back row but in full sun. The atmosphere at Yucatan was very quiet and the resort was not very busy. We found ourselves going to the Riviera to use the pools and they have a dj and pool games. If you are looking for a party resort the yucatan is not it. Very quiet. The buffet was the same mostly every day and the food was average at best. But not terrible. Aroma:lovely atmosphere and the food was great. Small portions though. I had the hot duck apetizer and the baby chicken with fries . Both were great. Rodeo: In my opion the best a la carte at the resort. I had the rib eye steak both times and it was fantastic. Left very full. Our waiter Miguel was the best waiter we had our whole stay. He was attentive, my glass was never empty and he was pretty funny cracking jokes with us. Brushetta: My least favorite a la carte. The restaurant was only half full and we waited 20 minutes just to have our order taken. Probably another 20 minutes before our food came out. I ordered eggplant parm and chicken parm. Portions were small but the food was tasty. We waited so long for our desert that we ended up just leaving. So overall food was good but service terrible. Tao: tapenyaki grill.Great atmosphere. We couldn't be seated until the end of the night. A little too late for dinner. Our cook seemed tired from performing for others all evening and didn't put in much of a show for us. Other tables seem to be having a much better time then us. The wait time for our dessert was much too long and again we left. Food from the grill was tasty other than the rice. The soup and sushi were average in my opinion. Drinks were hit or miss. I would order the same drinks and it would never taste the same. Overall I had a good trip but wouldn't return to the Yucatan. I would however stay at the Princess Riviera or sunset. Atmosphere and night life are better over there.they have a sports bar and casino and lots of shops. Oh I shold also mention there is an ice cream shop in the kids section at the Riviera. A must try. Shout out to Franciso at the front desk. He will take care of all your needs during your stay.

    Wonderful Resort.

    Reviewed by bowva(Calgary, Canada) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Booked a last minute trip with husband. After reading reviews, we were expecting an "ok" resort. Room was huge and modern. Very clean. Not sure why people complain about musty smell. This is Mexico. It's extremely humid. Ate all all restaurants. Only had dinner in buffet on lobster night. All meals were very good, which was a pleasant surprise. The drinks were also very good. Spent most of our time at the "quiet" pool. Bar service was excellent there, at the "party" pool and the big bar by the buffet restaurant. Service in restaurants were also excellent. One word of advice would be to make sure you get the room you want when you are checking in. I assumed we would get a king bed, and when we got to our room it was two doubles. Changed rooms the next day, which was a bit painful having to keep going back to the front-desk to be told to come back in an hour. This happened several times throughout the day so it took several hours. My fault.....I should have confirmed upon check-in. Due to this being a last minute booking, we weren't asked what bed we wanted. Anyway........would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best resort ever!

    Reviewed by I6776OSmikes(Saskatoon, Canada) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a week stay at this wonderful resort. I can’t begin to describe how the staff go out they’re way to make you feel welcome here. We had a swim out room that swam out in to the main pool which was amazing. The entertainment and shows at this resort are top shelf, our favourite was the grease musical at the main theatre. The beach is gorgeous with no shortage of drinks and places to sit. There is also a bbq attached to the beach bar with awesome burgers, dogs, chicken... etc. We tried the Japanese place which was great. The buffet was very very good. There is a 24 hour bar that also has a very tasty cappuccino. The adjoining properties offer many more shops, beaches and restaurants as well. Thank you so much for making our vacation so wonderful. We can’t wait to get back next year.

    Great location but food was average at best

    Reviewed by David K() on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Room was beautiful and location was great. Food was average at best. Very little quality for lunch and breakfast buffet. Mostly fried or greasy options. Dinner options were average but customer service was poor. Was turned away several times for dinner saying it was a 30 to 45 min wait with open tables everywhere. 2 main reasons for going all inclusive are food quality and service and both need improvement.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX