Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Great place to relax, recharge and revive yourself.

    Reviewed by TNT on May 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a fantastic location for that much need rest and relaxation, great food with a wide variety of selection for all your dietary concerns. Staff and management are amazing and make you feel like you're at home. Beaches are very clean and you're not bombarded by outside vendors selling goods all day. Worth every penny and definitely going back I highly recommend this location.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    4

    Paradise with a catch !

    Reviewed by 481sunset on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is located on a great beach in a quiet area, great walking and swimming and okay snorkelling for beginners. We visited over Easter, it was a great price for 10 days PROS excellent service, lovely suite clean and quiet. Bars in evening had music and great service. Food in buffet very good. Al la cartes okay but preferred selection at buffet. Beach was great for relaxing. Short 40 mins from airport check in on bus with beautiful scenery. CONS They added extra rooms to this resort and at this time of year very crowded, not enough chairs and shade on the beach for everyone. Pool very small to accommodate all guests. Quiet pool even smaller. Restaurants , beach and buffet became very crowded as hotel was overbooked.! SUGGESTIONS add another pool expand seating at beach. Would be great if guests would not reserve chairs at 630 am and allow others to use. OPPORTUNITY This hotel overbooked at Easter which gave us the chance to spend 3 days at the Grand Bahia Cayo Levantado ithat hotel was phenomenal at true 5+ star !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6960 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Repeat Guests

    Reviewed by NovaScotiaSeaport(Nova Scotia) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 5th visit to GBP El Portillo since 2014. We have stayed at other resorts in Dominican Republic, Mexico and Cuba. The main thing that brings us back is the location on el Portillo beach where you can walk on beautiful packed sand for kms in either direction. The water is calm as the waves break on the reef, just off shore. There is often a breeze. The resort has expanded in the last few years, however the improvements to infrastructure and service keep the smaller resort feel in place. The food is still above average for the most part. There is lots of shade on the beach and lots of loungers despite people reserving loungers at the beach and pool. One day a couple reserved a lounger before 7 AM and didnt show up until noon, staying less than and hour. Selfishness and perceived entitlement of guests is the biggest problem of this hotel. Smoking on the beach and in the lobby was annoying. There seems to be a lack of manners as folks cut in line at buffet without so much as an excuse me! The staff work hard for the most part. Some are definitely more attentive than others. Guest relations staff were very accomodating. Our room was damp and musty this time, which we didn't realize at first until both of us got sick with sinus issues and cough late in the week. Our clothes and suitcases were musty when we returned home. The air conditioning worked poorly so the humidity in the room was high. A good cleaning of the air ducts would likely help. The room was clean and well stocked daily. We had a massage on the beach next to the resort which was enjoyable. We will likely return!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Was probably nice, now run down hotel

    Reviewed by laganina(Montreal, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I am presently here at this hotel. Staying in block 19. The first night, we wanted to use the blanket for our bed and unwrapped it from its plastic bag. I realized that there was at least 4 long black hair on it. I called the front desk to have it changed and they responded quickly. However, when they brought one back, this (new?) blanket still had some long hair on it. I called again the desk and when they brought another one back, this time it was clean. This experience was not the best to say the least! The room: has not been renovated and it shows. The small fridge barely works and is leaking; we did mention it and they wiped the spill, but it is still barely working. The shower does not work well and water has barely any pressure. And water is too hot, too cold, to hot, too cold and so on. Taking a shower is a challenge and unpleasant. What else... we ran out of electricity twice yesterday. First time they seemed to have fixed it but it happened again later. We realized that once we opened the sliding door to go outside, we lost electricity. The second time it happened it seemed they fixed it for good. We’ll see... At least the staff is nice and this helps. We are only on our second day. Hope the rest of the week goes well...

    Another spectacular vacation at this wonderful resort

    Reviewed by edgwareroad() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was out third year in a row at this resort . We have been all over the Caribbean and this location just draws us back again and again in a way 6that no other has . We stay for three weeks . The property is beautifully set out, extremely well maintained inside and out. The staff are happy, and smiling and warm . The do all they can do make guests feel welcome and comfortable ( including dealing with my inadequate but enthusiastic attempt to only speak Spanish ) . The food is excellent . Breakfast include items such as smoked salmon and capers, fresh made omelettes and eggs cooled to order, plus dozens of other choices. This year the resort was serving freshly made Paella and seafood pasta at poolside, with tiger shrimp, lobster, mussels and other seafood. Fresh cocoanuts were opened to make exotic drinks poolside, and local craftsmen and vendors set up mini market displays . The animation team put on Dominican dances . All new and welcome additions. Edgar and the animation team are tireless and funny and engaging . The Club 54 disco nights were unbelievable fun with everyone dancing their feet off to fabulous disco music . Our special thanks go out to Sabrina , in guest services, who is an amazing asset to this property, Helpful, friendly and all about being the perfect person for a position which has her dealing with guests who aren't always as nice or polite as they should be . She is a joy to speak to and dedicated to providing he every best service no matter what the issue . She assisted us in a room selection issue and followed up over the three weeks we were there to make sure that everything was perfect, which it was . Lienin in the Beach restaurant make the best omelettes and I was amazed that he remembered us from pervious visits . George at the pool bar is a gem . and Nicholas, the lifeguard at the main pool manages to oversee the deck and water and still have time for a smile . If there was any issue at all with this resort, it would be the problem with babies I diapers who caused the pool to be closed because of contaminating the water with you know what. Perhaps very young children, those in diapers should be asked to play in the designated children's pool . There were guests there for a week who lost two days because the pool had to be treated after accidents with babies. The staff were vigilant and dealt with these events instantly . Also, some of the guests need lessons in what international travel means. Don't stand in the restaurant complaining that " the bagels aren't Montreal bagels "and wondering whether eating a local bagel was ok . If you insist on Montreal bagels, stay in Montreal . As they say when in Rome,.... . There is no lack of choice at any meal, and the food is fresh and well prepared . If you cant find something to eat at the buffet restaurants, then you should leave Canada . The Valentines day diner in the main restaurant was spectacular, the room was like a wedding venue . Gorgeous to say the least . It was breathtaking and the staff must have worked at triple speed to get it all ready between lunch and dinner. The dining room staff are fun and add so much to the atmosphere . W are already planning our visit for Feb 2020, this time for a month . Our heartfelt thanks to all of the cleaning staff who keep the public areas so lovely, the bathrooms spotless clean and the landscaping so perfect . And to Sabrina , Gracias por todo mi amiga . Eres Maravilloso and I promise I will be speaking better Spanish when we see you next year .

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    What a beautiful place !

    Reviewed by Montrealchick_12(Laval, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I travelled to El Portillo January 4th with my parents, brother and his wife and my niece and nephew (5 & 2). The drive from the airport to the hotel was approximately 45 minutes and a very lovely drive with the mountains on the right and the ocean on the left. The hotel is small but oh so inviting ! There were tons of places to hang out for a drink or to play cards in the evening. There were games for the kids and teens (pool tables and air hockey and basketball machines - all at $1 US). Rooms were plain but very spacious. Buffet was fantastic always with a large selection of quality foods - we ate very well all week ! We tried the Italian and the seafood restaurants which were good. There could be more à la carte restaurants but keep in mind the resort is small. The beach was wonderful ! Soft sand and the ocean was as calm as a lake - perfect to wade out far and still touch the bottom. The best part is that you are the only Hôtel on that beach and can walk for miles in either direction - Tons of beautiful private homes and beach front to explore ! There is only 1 pool but we didn’t hang out there as the beach was so nice :). Ping pong tables are available around the pool area too. Not too much going on for entertainment so very quiet. The evening shows are kind of late and far from the lobby therefore we only went once, and it was the Michael Jackson show which was good. I highly recommend this hotel and rate it a 4.5. Enjoy !!!

    Wonderful vacation

    Reviewed by vtbubbie(Hardwick, Vermont) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My two school age grandchildren and I visited this resort from Feb 24 - Mar 2. We had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful with immaculate rooms and grounds. The staff were friendly and helpful and while we have limited Spanish, we had no problem communicating. The entertainment staff were excellent. The food ranged from good to very good and there is something for even the pickiest eaters. The beach is gorgeous and goes on as far as the eye can see. It never felt crowded and we were always able to find chairs in the shade on the beach and by the pool. Easy snorkeling a few feet offshore -- my granddaughter announced that she saw baby swordfish (a good description of needlefish). There's plenty to do - or not do and the time passed too quickly. We were in building 26 which is a few minutes walk from the beach and a very short walk home from the evening entertainment. The room was spacious with a view of the jungle and mountains with a frequently replenished mini fridge and a coffee maker that made a nice cup of coffee in the morning. The jacuzzi tub makes up for the unheated jacuzzi near the pool. If you visit between January and March, I highly recommend the whale watching with Kim Bedall (just take dramamine and they supply sea bands). If you're looking for a beautiful beach, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable accommodations, good food and a relaxed atmosphere, this is a great place to visit. I hope to be back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX