Blau Varadero Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    4 star better tan most 5 star resorts, especially the food.

    Reviewed by Lawrence (Larry) on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my fifth trip to the Blau and when entering the lobby was greeted like family. As with the other trips I had no problems with anything. i was gifted with a 7 year old bottle of Havana Club as a thank you for returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    A very relaxing resort with tai chi and a wonderful beach!

    Reviewed by LM on Jun 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this hotel and think its a great value for an adults only!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Third time going back next year.

    Reviewed by Larry on Oct 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Was there in May, and went back. very little hurricane damage. Got 30 feet inside the resort, then staff started coming up and saying "good to see you again". I take a second suitcase full of kids clothes and toilrtries that is no charge for humanitarian reasons. Execllent staff and facilities. Food good for Cuba, ala carte is 5 star.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent resort.

    Reviewed by Larry on Sep 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my second trip to Blau and it was as good as the first time. Actually, even better (went adult only). As A returning guest I was invited to a managers special dine evening. Lots of staff remembered me, something that never happened else where.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Would not recommend it at all to anyone

    Reviewed by Wolly on Aug 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    Sorry for sounding all negative but......out of 7 days stay at this hotel my door key did not work at all and it was a big hassle to switch room's at 3 am..... and don't get me started on aircondition, showers and toilets that you have to flash 5 times to make it work..... the pool area was not to bad it was ok....except lack of drink choices. Beach was the only thing that was some what good.... in other words I would not recommend this resort to anyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7941 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Return visit to lovely Blau

    Reviewed by daphne56(London, United Kingdom) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Lovely hotel which we visited this April. This was a return visit and we were not sure if we would still like the hotel. We did. It was like returning home. Plus Friendly, efficient staff Great customer care Very clean, not just the rooms but the public areas like rest rooms Refurbished rooms are lovely Great, clean beach Food- something for everyone. Efficient, varied and clean/ tidy buffet. Excellent restaurants Good Wi-Fi via 1cuc card so you could keep in touch with home. Minus Smoking! Difficult to please everyone but some areas were too.smoky e.g. main bar area. I could not use due to allergy/ health issue. Not sure if there is a solution for the smoking issue as smoking/non smoking needs are at odds.However as a non smoker I found it hard to escape the smoke eg reception, bars, the beach. The only smoke free area was the restaurants! Dress code- most made an effort but why have rules/guidelines if people wear beach wear e.g. swim.shorts etc to the evening meal. Altogether, we had a lovely holiday and would highly recommend Blau.

    Efficient

    Reviewed by Carrib-luver() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just stayed two weeks at the Blau Varadero. As usual, best beach in the Caribbean! The staff is extremely friendly and courteous; Food is probably the best of the seven clubs we stayed at in Varadero, but both my wife and I both got extremely sick five days in and it took a week to work it’s way through. From talking to repeat guests, this is rare at the Blau; lots of live music with some good musicians. They need to increase their repertoire as some songs became very repetitive; this is very clean resort, in the rooms and the Public washrooms. You have to ask for more soap, t-paper and water for your room; the tennis courts were in pretty good shape. It would be nice if they cleaned them after rain...lots of puddles; international al la cart is the better of the two; all the drinks are mixed with powdered juices...not overly appealing; the pool was ok, but no pool bar. They never vacuumed the sand though. We paid extra for an Oceanview suite, but did not get ocean...just the bay. The suite is right beside 12 Trane air conditioner units, so it was too loud to sit outside. Overall, the place was efficient, but not overly beautiful. Everything seemed to be in close proximity, so not too much walking, other than to the beach.

    Great option for wheelchair accessible travel in Cuba!

    Reviewed by BoardingPass528322(Hamilton, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a very nice and well-organized hotel. It is clean, and has a very nice view, nice environment, clean. All the workers are very friendly and provide great service. This resort is a very good option for people with accessibility needs (wheelchairs, etc.) looking for a Cuban destination. A member of our party is in a wheelchair full-time and very much enjoyed his time. With some minor exceptions (see below), the vast majority of the resort is accessible. They have modified rooms with fully accessible bathrooms and roll-in showers. There are elevators throughout the building, and all floors are accessible. The restaurants and bars all have accessible entrances as well, although the lunch buffet area has some of its seating in an area that is not accessible so this could be an issues if all of the accessible tables are taken. The resort grounds are all wheelchair-accessible as well, including the ramp that leads almost right to the beach. However, there are 3 or 4 steps that lead down to the beach from there and the beach is not accessible at all. Overall, this is a great choice for people with accessibility needs. A few modifications would really help make this resort even better and truly accessible for everyone: - Adding a ramp with a platform (I have seen this at other resorts) to provide at least one accessible spot on the beach - Having at least one beach wheelchair available for the resort would also make a huge difference - The washrooms in the accessible rooms are excellent, but have no shelving, shower caddy, etc. to put anything which can make it difficult, especially for someone in a wheelchair - The balcony in the room has a small ledge at the doorway which makes it difficult for someone in a wheelchair to use the balcony. This could be modified with a simple small ramp or a gap in the ledge. All in all, this is an excellent resort and the staff and management went out of their way to try to help us with any issues that came up throughout our stay. We look forward to going back to Blau and hoping to see it even more accessible next time around!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Did not receive the package from hotel which was purchased

    Reviewed by Christine M() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We were very disappointed. We had paid for the top package, ocean view and spa package. The first room we received was very small, with a very loud humming and vibration. We went out onto the balcony and we were under the neon sign. There was no furniture on the balcony and we were facing the road and we could see the ocean way in the distance. We had no soap or toilet paper. We went down the the desk and asked for a room change. The next day we did get another room, no soap, no toilet paper LOL but we did have furniture on the balcony but again we were facing the road...they had no ocean view for us....with that said...we thought fine we are down at the beach daily. By the second night my husband became extremely ill.....YEP the whole vacation..So I decided ok well I will take advantage of the spa package.. I go to receive my massage (which we paid for in the package) with the intention to upgrade it to a longer session... I come to find out that no that it was not included. I still had my massage and paid for it. When we got home and I spoke to my travel agent, he assured me that yes we were suppose to receive all that I mentioned above. We are still waiting to see if we will be compensated somehow. Anyhow, we will never go back there. This hotel is in dire need of upgrades and need to follow through with what their clients purchase. The staff that work there are all lovely and kind.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Stunning location

    Reviewed by Bam1624() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is our second visit to Cuba, we’ve previously stayed in Cayo Coco with our young sons 10 years ago. First visit to Varadaro and Havana. First impression was as we drove up the drive was oh gosh a tower block and not overly inviting , however once you’re inside you change your mind. Fantastic location, for the best beach and close to Varadaro center. The hotel it’s self very nice and quite modern with glass elevator and plenty of amenities . The staff especially at the main bar and all over the hotel are exceptional and friendly. We had a ground floor room 116 so only overlooked the moat in front of the hotel but was handy after drinking at night you didn’t need to climb stairs or get in a lift. The rooms are big and spacious and in some places a freshen up would do wonders. The large pool is Georgeous and not too cold. The walk to the beach doesn’t take long and it’s beautiful blue sea with pure white soft sand. You can walk for miles. Downside to this nice hotel is the lack of good cocktails. They do them but are quite often pre made especially the pina colada and Blau Varadero. Which means they are very watery and tasteless not in fancy glasses with fruit on top either. The beer is also rather flat too. If you like rum & coke you are a winner. The meals are average to good quality and selection. The ala carte resturants are well presented but the food left a bit to desired. There is lots of entertainment on a night some really good and some average. A must do is the antique Havana trip. It takes all day and night you come home in the early hours. You see all the highlights of old Havana, ride in an old American car and trip to Tropicana. Take some toilet roll and hand sanitizer is a must tho. Also a must is a 2 hour ride around Varadaro in an old American car for 60 CUC well worth it. We loved our holiday would recommend. If the hotel improved certain things such as cocktails etc I’d have given it 5*.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX