Iberostar Selection Varadero

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    Reviewed by Susan Finlay on Jan 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    All I can say is that it was perfect and I would love to come back. If only we could put in an order for ideal weather. However, on days we could not enjoy the beach we signed on for excursion trips that were excellent. I worked in the hospitality industry in Canada for 26 years and wish all our staff were as completely accommodating as the staff we encountered at Iberostar Varadero. The food was varied and delicious and the grounds immaculate with almost no indication of damage from hurricane Irma.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    Reviewed by Nina R. on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    While travelling throughout Cuba last month, I stayed at a hotel two doors down and it was not as nice. We ended up going to the Iberostar Varadero by fluke when our previous accommodation arrangements fell through. What a lucky break! This hotel was so much better in terms of the hotel itself: very clean and very nice and more updated. The beds were softer, there were more pillows; squishy nice huggable pillows. The staff were amazing and they were super attentive unlike the first hotel we ended up at where I felt I almost had to go behind the scenes and get a glass of water or a cup of coffee myself . Some people say that the food at Cuban hotels is not good... MYTH BUSTER: It's not the Cuban food, it's YOUR HOTEL'S FOOD. The Iberostar Varadero had a selection of fresh, colourful fruits and and salads, more international dishes to choose from and the food looked good and fresh not like it had been sitting there for a couple of hours . THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD!!!! The beach was one of the best beaches I have ever visited and I come from a country in the Caribbean so that's saying something! . The pool was nice, didn't try the hot tub though. In terms of Amenities, they were good. They have a pharmacy onsite as well as medical attention should you need it during your stay. There is also a nice store on the premises as well as a separate unit where you can purchase tobacco and liquour. You can also buy books in various languages should you run out of literature. THE KIDS AREA!!!! I didn't bring my kids with me on this trip since they wouldn't have survived the 12-plus hour days of roadtripping but the kids' area at this hotel is beautiful! I know they are gonna love it. I am definitely coming back with my family next year!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

    Reviewed by Sonia on Mar 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay, were very satisfied with our room and the food was great. Very good selection in buffet and staff were very good. Grounds are well kept. Pool was very clean and a pleasure to swim in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    I'll be back for sure

    Reviewed by Riss on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2014

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Loved this. So much fun.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8141 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fantastic hotel!

    Reviewed by Chloe P(England) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here in Oct 2018 for 1 week. The hotel was faultless, the sun was shining and the location was great. Close to the beach and plenty to do at the hotel which meant you did not need to travel any further afield. The food was delicious with restaurants you could book into if you fancied a change from the generic buffet style. Havana rum is really cheap to buy here, however there is a limit as to how much you can take back through customs. The hotel itself is spread out and the rooms are well equipped. Men could wear smart tailored shorts of an evening, long trousers didnâ??t seem to be required for the evenings. I would return to this hotel.

    Wonderful Week

    Reviewed by 05JEM89(Cape Breton Island, Canada) on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from an amazing week at Iberostar Selection Varadero. This was our fourth trip to Varadero and our first at this resort. We picked this resort based on the reviews and we were not disappointed! If you're looking for the most beautiful beach, and amazing, friendly service, look no further. To start, the staff are wonderful, friendly, and the service they provide is excellent. A few stand out, and I wish I could remember all of their names: the bar tenders at the beach and in the lobby, Susan and the animation team, the wonderful servers in the lobby, the waiters & waitresses in the a la carte restaurants, and Judy, the lady who cleaned our room. Another thing that sets this resort apart is the quality of the room and bed. The King size bed was very comfortable and the room wasn't a bit damp. This was the first time I can remember not having a damp room! The food is good with a wide variety. The meal we had at the Gourmet a la carte was my favourite and would rival any fine restaurant. We will definitely visit this resort again and would recommend it to anyone looking to relax and enjoy the exceptional Cuban hospitality!

    the good and bad of Iberostar Selection Varadero

    Reviewed by fmojena() on Jun 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The good: The hotel is beautiful with a night show comprised of very professional performers and an amazing band. The hosts speak at least 3 languages which evidences the level of professionalism of the staff. The beach unparalleled, miles and miles of white sand and crystal clear water. Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful including the cleaning lady Yaneisy, the A/C tech Fleitas and the Iberostar rep Liz. Thanks to the equipment the beach boys had, I was able to get my mother, who is unable to walk, into the beach and she had the best time ever. The bad I had to change rooms 3 times before I got a decent one. Twice, the boy who assisted me said the room was on the second floor when it was actually in the third floor (no elevators and I was with a baby). The A/C in the rooms has a low limit of 21 Celsius degrees (70 F) and it seems that is impossible to lower it down. I spent the first night requesting to decrease the temperature in my room and every time I got a "I'll take care of it now". It wasn't until next morning that the A/C tech named Fleitas clearly explained the issue to me. The internet service is the worst in the world. You need to pay 1 CUC (about 1.20 dollars) for an hour of WI-FI which is only available in the lobby. The restaurant reservations seemed cumbersome. The first person who assisted us told us that we had rights to only one restaurant, of the four in the hotel. Thanks to Liz, the Ibersotar representative, who explained to us that reservations are guaranteed based on the number of nights you reserved, but guests have rights to all four. Another thing that really upset me was that I needed a navigation permit in order to ride one of the boat tours they had because I was born in Cuba. When I asked about guests from other countries the answer was that they already had a navigation permit. This of course is just an excuse and it bothers me that Cubans have less rights than foreigners. Other than that, we all had a very good time.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    lovely and accommodating

    Reviewed by Traveller0010157() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    please keep in mind when reading other reviews Cuba is more than 10 year behind the US and UK this hotel is a fantastic clean and well laid out with great customer service good food and well stocked bars tip the waiter and they soon remember your face and return no matter how complicated your drink order the rooms are very specious and clean however the resort is well space which is both a pro however for those whom struggle with walking may want to request a room closer to the lobby as some such as ours are quite the walk from the pool dining room and lobby spot on food especially for those who enjoy fish but dont worry they have a wide range of options for all times of day including midnight snacks as theres a little area where food is available all night the hotel is located straight on the beach with both a beach bar and snack bar available white sand calm seas absolutely stunning the hotel excels in alot of areas but its night shows area very impressive as they clearly take pride in their performances on for 8-12 then live music and a night club out front till 3am the shows are well worth going to see all in all if i were to go back to cuba again i wouldnt stay anywhere else

    Gracias

    Reviewed by nausica08() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    From the welcoming everything was very good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The beach and the ocean is great. There is enough places for everybody. The rooms are clean and has all the amenities that you would need. The food is also good. You may find the food that suits your taste easily. Highly recommended. Muchos gracias.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX