Ocean Vista Azul

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    I loved my stay and the bellmen helpped me with my bags from shopping to when I left.

    Reviewed by Donna on Jan 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    I would go back to this hotel the staff was very friendly and very helpful. There were great selection of food and the room was very clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    WILL NOT RETURN!

    Reviewed by Karen C. on Jan 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked a 10 day stay and ended up coming back after 3 days. Although the resort was clean, the food was disgusting (entire cows on a grill-including head, feet, tail), blood pudding sausage balls, awful poached eggs, a "not Italian" Italian restaurant, very limited bar, unreliable restaurant hours, etc. We have traveled extensively and this is NOT a 4 1/2 or 5-star resort. Westjet needs to reconsider this selection.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Not worth the trip. A true disappointment for a Westjet vacation.

    Reviewed by Karen C. on Dec 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were scheduled to stay for 10 days and returned home after 3. We've traveled extensively and never experienced such disgusting food and rude staff (with exception of the room maids). Although we appreciate the fact we were in another country and culture, some things are simply unacceptable. Also, an all-inclusive should have a wide range of alcohol and not require you to be a privilege member to get it. Not a chance we'll go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Stayed for our 40th wedding anniversary, treated to wonderful breakfast in our room with a beautiful cake & wine

    Reviewed by Kurian on Sep 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Staff was wonderful will return

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2922 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Ocean Vista Axum For The Win!!

    Reviewed by JayMacDonald7(Sussex, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    For my grad trip my grad class decided to plan a trip up here for March break and oh boy did we have a blast. The service was outstanding with all of the stuff being super friendly. I met a very nice woman Named Yoalkiss who worked at the lobby bar who was super friendly and amazing at her job. I will always remember my stay.

    Wouldn't Go Back

    Reviewed by samh9194() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort and met my dad and stepmom there. We stayed mid-March 2019 for 8 days. Overall I wouldn't give it a high rating. We arrived very late the first night and weren't greeted nicely whatsoever, they didn't even say hello. We were just asked for a passport and that was the only communication. The staff overall at this resort was not very friendly. We like to think we're extremely friendly and we tip a lot and didn't get any better service. A few staff that stood out among them though were Nestor at the theatre bar, Liz a server at the lobby bar and our maid was amazing. They said the a la carte restaurants didnt need a reservation. They did when we were there as it was busy, you couldn't just walk in and get seated. We tried to make a reservation at the romantic restaurant for the next day and we were told no and given no explanation. The buffet was fine overall, but boring by the end of the week. The stand out of this resort is definitely the infinity pool and the beaches on either side of the resort were both awesome too. We rarely were served drinks or asked if we wanted anything anytime we were in the lobby (no matter how friendly we were or how much we tipped), which was disappointing. The main pool also was packed the entire time and didn't have enough shade (had to get up at 6:30-7 every morning to get a cabana or shaded spot). The beaches and the infinity pool were also always very busy and you'd have to get up very early to get a chair/cabana. Overall was disappointed in this resort and wouldn't go back again.

    March Break Family Vacay

    Reviewed by niki314() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Went to Ocean Vista Azul for a March break vacation with my family. This was my 4th time in Varadero and my second time with kids. Overall I had a great time. The staff made the trip very fun for me and my kids. Mirtha, Lourdes, Yunior, and the rest of Felix' entertainment staff were a blast to hang out with at the pool. Also a special shout-out to Yos, Livia, Univer, Ariel and the other pool bartenders, they were incredibly warm and friendly, as were the cooks at the pool snack bar. The pool was a highlight for me, although it was hard to find a lounger with an umbrella for shade. But I liked that I could go to the swim-up bar for shade when needed. I didn't go to the beaches as much as it is quite a trek and there was not much shade there. That is probably my main complaint about the resort. I did not enjoy the food at the restaurants but I did like the buffet. Mike's coffee shop was great, the ladies that worked there were very nice, making coffees and hot chocolates for us in the morning. The room was really nice overall but the beds were small. My husband ended up sleeping on the cot, which was not very comfortable for him. The washroom had a wooden sliding door that kept jamming and the shower had a glass pane facing the room that was only partly covered, so privacy in the washroom was not great.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Hard Workers!

    Reviewed by heidilou100() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a week at this resort. The food was ok, you won't starve. It's Cuba. The El a carts need to have reservations put in place. The resort was clean, and our room was fine. The people were very friendly. Especially Irachel at the pool, who went above and beyond to please the people and to help out. Unlike Eric who was quick to want a beer and sit in the shade at the small beach. Also looked for a tip first before getting you an umbrella. Yony however was wonderful hard worker who worked endlessly at the small beach to try and make sure everyone had chairs, and was comfortable. Never looked for tips, very kind to the tourists. Hats off to the these to boys who go above and beyond for their resort. Internet is extremely slow so be patient, if your trying to connect with people at home. Also look for long line ups at the airport. It's Cuba, we definately will go back to this resort and look forward to the next vacation. Heidi & Tony

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    The Good, Bad and Ugly

    Reviewed by bail1(ottawa) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This is my fifth time in Cuba so I know what to expect. The Good Check in was fast and 3 of our 4 rooms were ready early. We got rooms in the same building and on the same floor as requested. The majority of the staff (there are a few exceptions) are amazing. They work hard so we tipped well. The infinity pool has a great view. Workers on the beach helped us get set up each morning. Our cleaning lady for most of the trip was great. We changed cleaning ladies our last day but I will talk about that in the ugly. The Bad The beach is not great. It is two separate beaches which we knew going there. One is tiny and impossible to get a spot where you are not on top of other people. The other side is much larger but you still have to be down there by 6:15-6:30 to get a shaded spot. They need more shade. This is also the entertainment beach and they blast music from 10am-2pm each day. We go to the beach to hear the sounds of the beach so that was a disappointment and by the end of the trip, we decided to just hang out at the pools. The pools have a lot of chairs but again, very little shade. We still had to be there by 6:30 to get a shady spot. Mini fridges in our room were supposed to be refilled daily and that didn't happen for 3 straight days. One of our group called down three times and I called as well. When the other member said she would write about it on Trip Advisor, they filled our fridges that day. The Ugly The food was terrible. We had a vegetarian in our group and food was often mislabeled so it made it difficult for him to eat. The food in general is terrible. I know food in Cuba is never fantastic but this was by far the worst in my 5 trips to Cuba. Most of the staff in the buffet were great. Finding us spots so that all 7 of us good eat together. Skip the Italian. It is the same as what you get in the buffet but less friendly staff. The worst part of this experience came on our last day. 3 of us went to Mike's for coffee and one brought a mug from his room. Then we went back to one of ours to enjoy our coffee on our balcony. At 9am, the housekeeper let herself into the room and rudely demanded to know when we were leaving. We said check out is at 12 so we will leave by 12. She immediately started saying we had to leave our towels in our rooms. I explained to her that we don't leave the hotel until 5 and would need the towels with us. She kept arguing that we had to leave it in the room so we ended the conversation. I went down to the front desk to ask them and they told me we could keep the towels for a 15 peso deposit or leave our passport with them. We did not have 105 pesos with us and did not want to change money and we were not comfortable leaving our passports anywhere so we decided that we would drop off towels when we checked out. Since we had already put the towels down by the beach and pool, we decided to just bring them to the front desk when we check out. I went back to my room to be accosted by the same housekeeper outside my door demanding to know when we were leaving. It was now 10 am. I again explained that 12 is checkout and we would be gone by then. She wa very rude. We decided to just go ahead and check out in case it meant the next group coming in could get their rooms early. 3 of our rooms went to check out while one room stayed at the pool to watch our stuff and keep our spots since we had to hand our towels in. We checked out with no problems. The person in the 4th room went to her room to get her belongings to check out and was once again accosted by the same housekeeper who physically blocked her exit from the room demanding the second towel. She wouldn't let her leave until she called the front desk. The front desk said to let her leave and then she said something to her about a missing mug from the room next door. When we went to check out and use the room they have available for changing and showering, they had a note on our luggage that we owed two mugs (all of a sudden there is a second missing mug) and a towel. She also had a different room number from what my friend was originally told as the room with the missing mug. I told her to go ahead and search all of our luggage for the mug and towel but that it was ridiculous to charge us for 2 mugs and a towel that are on the resort somewhere. She told me the housekeeper insisted that they were missing and we had to pay for them. I told her she was accusing us of stealing after we spent more than 500 Canadian tipping the workers there and that it leaves a terrible taste for the whole trip. She kept arguing and saying we had to pay it so we did. I asked for the maids name so I could call the hotel change and lodge a complaint and be sure that the other staff members who worked so hard would not be spoken to and she told me she can't give that information out. I wanted to make sure they new it was the new maid who was just on that one day and not the one who did our rooms every other day of the trip. Meanwhile, we are waiting to get ready to leave the resort. We used up 15 minutes of the 40 minutes we are allowed to have in the room so when she gave us the key and we find out the room is in one of the buildings that is very far from the lobby, I told her we were not bringing all of our belongings to that room for a few minutes and she told me they would get a bus boy to do it. It would take two of their vehicles to bring our luggage there, up two flights of stairs and 10 minutes later to have to call them to come back so we opted to just change in the washroom in the lobby. She told me to wait for the manager to come speak to us. I told her we didn't have time for that. So we took turns going to change and staying with our luggage and the manager never showed up. They lost 7 customers over 2 pesos for mugs and 15 pesos for a towel. I hope it was worth it. I will be telling all of my friends and family to stay away from this resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX