Starfish Jolly Beach Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Good people make the stay worth it.

    Reviewed by Mitch on Dec 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    No.1 for JB, Great Beach, small waves because it's on the west side of Island. Food was plenty full, got a little repetitive. Staff was very helpful pleasant and friendly. Evening activities were ok, drinks were sometimes strong so no problem getting tipsy. Supersaver room was clean no bed bugs but small, would consider a larger room with fridge and some place to put clothes beside your suitcase. Heard there was a new owner so maybe some upgrades are coming. The beach had vendors selling excursions, they were a pain, except for Lyndon. He will book you for a snorkel trip to reef on south side of island. Others will try to get you to bring them beer and hamburgers from resort. Took a island trip with Nellie, private lady, takes two couples around for $35 US, good deal. Don't rent a vehicle, roads are not good and drivers take risks, lot's of banged up cars. Island Bus service only cost $1.50 US to get to St Johns, taxi will cost $20 US. Would we go again, ya possibly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    The people are so lovely and accomading.

    Reviewed by Barry Musgrave on Apr 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I recently returned from Jolly Beach Resort. It was the third year in a row that we have stayed there and thoroughly loved it. The people are so lovely and accommodating, the food is great and the beach is terrific. We would like to point out how lucky you are to have Laurie Laville as your rep in Antigua. She is so bubbly and enthusiastic about her job. It shows that she loves what she is doing. We would also like to point our Sulaine Philip who works as a hostess in several of the restaurants. She was always so friendly and accommodating. My wife and I can't wait to go back next year. Sooner if we win the lotto. LOL!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5769 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Sailing in the Sun

    Reviewed by DICKOS1(BROMSGROVE) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Thanks Starfish resort our 2 week stay has ended the highs outeeigh the lows... Tops for me are the entertainment crew...Desean and Terry are relentless always prepares to go crazy to keep things moving. For me watersports was great. Hobiecat sailing no.1. If u sail u can go solo Thanks Terry to R Gabon E prince D hill D Jabdon A piggott You guys keep it real. Food and restaurants are adequate without being exceptional. You can eat anytime somewhere on the resort 7am til stupid oclock. The staff are in the main helpful and welcoming... Mexican and italian restaurants are good to try out... Be careful of the trip sellers on the beach. You can negotiate..but check thier rates against the hotels before booking anything ! Trips to reccommend. Barbuda day trip is awsome. Fast boat round the island trip called The extreme tour Swim with stingrays... Rooms Are very basic...no room fridges... Storage space at a premium.. Bed was good...some were complaining of aircon issues. We were. Would I recommend Starfish. I think Yes...but dont expect 5 star.. Its 3 star place areas in need for refurb mainly the accom blocks however with good people around to look after you its a minor issue. Would we return...maybe but its a big world. Would we

    BEST VACATION EVER

    Reviewed by staceywarren(Napa, California) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    YOU MUST BOOK HERE!! Grounds are a tropical paradise, beach is soft, expansive and gorgeous, water crystal clear, warm and calm AND STAFF MADE OUR VACATION. They are extremely well trained to provide phenomenal service, outstanding entertainment and non stop fun. Husband, me, and 2 grown kids, 22 and 25, had best vacation of our lives thanks to Starfish staff. Every department including: Housekeeping , Security, Water Sports , Entertainment/Dancers,, Wait Staff and Bellman, were exceptionally friendly and gracious. Crazy Shawn, Ferlicia and manager Brucilla (we miss you guys!!), ensured our every need was beyond met. We LOVED this place and will return next year with an entourage of friends and family who can’t wait to experience the food, fun, cocktails and staff’. The rooms were mediocre, yes, but adequate size, comfortable, clean, air conditioned, and we slept as little as possible on this vaca; we ate, drank , recreated , were entertained all day and all night, and laughed more than our money’s worth on this trip. We even made lifetime friends - shout out to Selena and Jamir, and Maury. We left our daughter on the island at American University Antigua Medical School with staff assurances that their help, should she ever need it, was only a phone call away: ABSOLUTELY PRICELESS. Don't hesitate to book here. Definitely best vacation ever.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Home Away From Home

    Reviewed by Jacqueline G() on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed for 14 days, my 3rd visit at resort, first since Starfish become its title. Bumpy check in- Management resolved immediately. All staff were Amazing from Dining, JBR dancers, pool and bar staff, and pool side activities love them all. Didn’t even want to partake in Carnival had so much fun at resort had the best stay ever. Not to mention Best Beaches. Can’t wait for next year????

    Relaxing holiday

    Reviewed by holly30dog(surrey) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Negatives first, we stayed in the super saver room which is very small and very dated if you go with this in mind then you won’t be disappointed, the other negative is the swimming pools are not great but hey who needs a pool when you are right on a Caribbean beach. The location of this hotel is beautiful right on jolly beach you can even lay in bed and see the sea.The entertainment staff are excellent especially crazy Sean. The bar staff are also excellent especially zauda Quincy and Alvin. Zauda is the cocktail queen. All staff are very friendly and will go out if their way to help you. The food is good especially the Mexican restaurant. The kayaks and sailing boats are free to use and good fun. The island of Antigua is a very relaxing place there is not a lot to do here so if you are looking for a very relaxing holiday this is the place to go with lots of different beaches to explore. We did travel around by bus which is very cheap and easy to use. A must do is swimming with the stingrays at stingray city they were beautiful and also the catamaran around the island although this was quite expensive at 100 dollars per person. So apart from the room I would highly recommend a stay at starfish jolly beach resort.

    You get what you pay for

    Reviewed by JaneWaugh(West Sussex) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    One of the cheaper Antiguan all inclusives. If you love the Caribbean then Jolly Beach is perfect. If you what to go to a hotel that could be anywhere else in the world, pay more! Staff are fab, food is good, beach is gorgeous, rooms are small and shabby but you only sleep there. Good entertainment from animation team and bar staff.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX