Starfish Jolly Beach Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Good people make the stay worth it.

    Reviewed by Mitch on Dec 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    No.1 for JB, Great Beach, small waves because it's on the west side of Island. Food was plenty full, got a little repetitive. Staff was very helpful pleasant and friendly. Evening activities were ok, drinks were sometimes strong so no problem getting tipsy. Supersaver room was clean no bed bugs but small, would consider a larger room with fridge and some place to put clothes beside your suitcase. Heard there was a new owner so maybe some upgrades are coming. The beach had vendors selling excursions, they were a pain, except for Lyndon. He will book you for a snorkel trip to reef on south side of island. Others will try to get you to bring them beer and hamburgers from resort. Took a island trip with Nellie, private lady, takes two couples around for $35 US, good deal. Don't rent a vehicle, roads are not good and drivers take risks, lot's of banged up cars. Island Bus service only cost $1.50 US to get to St Johns, taxi will cost $20 US. Would we go again, ya possibly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    The people are so lovely and accomading.

    Reviewed by Barry Musgrave on Apr 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I recently returned from Jolly Beach Resort. It was the third year in a row that we have stayed there and thoroughly loved it. The people are so lovely and accommodating, the food is great and the beach is terrific. We would like to point out how lucky you are to have Laurie Laville as your rep in Antigua. She is so bubbly and enthusiastic about her job. It shows that she loves what she is doing. We would also like to point our Sulaine Philip who works as a hostess in several of the restaurants. She was always so friendly and accommodating. My wife and I can't wait to go back next year. Sooner if we win the lotto. LOL!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5580 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    3 Star Hotel Offers a 5 Star Experience

    Reviewed by Winona67(Dallas, Texas) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here in April 2019. The location was perfect. The beach was beautiful. The hotel and grounds were well maintained. We upgraded to a standard king room and were glad that we did. There was ample room and storage. The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Tortola Unit which was quiet and had a nice view of the ocean. The hotel staff were very helpful. We ate all of our meals at Hemisphere. We signed up a couple of times to eat at Lydia's but cancelled, because we liked the convenience of not having to be on a schedule. In addition Hemisphere offered a variety of food options. We ate at the grill a couple of times in between meals and the food was delicious. We had the lobster dinner on Monday in the cabana overlooking the beach, the food was delicious and the setting was very romantic. Also note the hotel changed the sign up policy for dinner reservations, it can be done between 9am - 5pm at Margarita's. I suggest you go early to sign up to get the time and date you want. The nightly entertainment was great and we looked forward to going to the shows.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful People, Beutiful Sunsets!!

    Reviewed by cubalovervickit(Toronto) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were a family of 4 and stayed at Starfish Jolly Beach from March 30, 2019 - April 6, 2019, we had an early flight out of Toronto with Sunwing and found the airport and customs very easy to navigate and were on our way in a a small approx. 8 person van. Upon our arrival we were served a refreshing drink (I believe it was a vodka/collins) and shown our way to the buffet for lunch, while we waited for our rooms to be ready, they were ready before 3, which was great. I had contacted the resort a couple of weeks before we arrived to request that our 2 rooms be close together, on the 2nd or 3rd floor, 2 beds in each room, at least 1 of them with a refrigerator and 1 of the rooms with internet. We were in St. Martin block on the 3rd floor 3330 & 3331, which were adjoining rooms and everything I had requested was there, but with a price (which I realized going in) the internet was $70. US for the week (unfortunately it did not work in the room, but did work on the balcony) the refrigerator was $50.US and came in handy for frequent trips to the grocery store and safe was $15. US. The one complaint about these extras, is although we really appreciated the resort coming through with our requests (We had tried booking 2 Queen Superior rooms because of larger size and also having refrigerators, but there were none available) so we had to take 2 standard rooms. Including a refrigerator in standard rooms, at an all inclusive price would be something management might consider. As others have said the rooms are basic, but the beds were comfortable, we had plenty of hot water and clean towels, and our cleaning lady "Wendy" did a great job of keeping the room immaculate, she was friendly and so helpful with any requests or questions that we had. Both of our rooms had the old style "tube television" and although they worked OK, just added to the dated appearance of the room. The balcony's were a good size, we had lovely ocean views and best of all the most spectacular sunsets, that I have ever seen. The lobby area is small and the seating that they do have there is often occupied very quickly, but the internet is good. We actually found the buffet to be be very good, the breakfasts were wonderful. If you wanted anything egg related the lady to see is "Jenkins" she is just amazing at multi-tasking, and everything from poached eggs to omelets came out out with expert precision. I can't comment on lunch buffet, as we took advantage of the grill by the beach/pool and they had a great selection of really tasty food food (jerk chicken, burgers, hot dogs, fries and coleslaw) The Dinner buffet had great variety and changed nightly, with a great choice of salads, cooked veggies, potatoes, rice and several choices of protein , as well as a great dessert table. You had a choice of sitting indoors or outside. I met Hazeldeen and she made sure that we were happy with our food and service, I don't remember all the names of the servers, but I can honestly say that we never had a bad service during our stay. We went to the Mexican a la carte and it was delicious, I didn't find the reservation process was the least bit off - putting and got the time I wanted with no problems or long line ups. The bar service and drinks were very good at both bars, and lineups were small to non-existant. The pool felt a little cool but was refreshing, can't comment on the quiet pool, but it certainly did look much quieter and deeper. The beach was just beautiful, the colour is an undescribable turquoise that seems to change with the sun and cloud, along with the mountainous backdrop (just awe inspiring). I am 65 and I found it slightly difficult getting into the water and out, as the waves leave an indentation, so if you are not aware of this you can lose your balance and fall as I did. Some areas are more accessible than others, and also for non-swimmers the water gets deep quickly. My Son's had come prepared to go snorkelling, but unfortunately had no luck seeing anything at this particular beach. Almost every day my Son's went for a short walk to the grocery store, which carries many different items we don't see at home (only a 8 min. walk away) and one day we went and had pizza at the marina "Melinis" it was very good, in a picturesque setting". Every night there was something going on entertainment wise, we particularly enjoyed the karaoke, the singer in the courtyard, movie night on the beach and last but not least "the fire eater/ limbo dancer" all well worth seeing. In conclusion, we had a wonderful time and after after scoping out the many mango trees, are hoping to return again sometime in May.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Incredible beach, everything else blah...

    Reviewed by Shawn W() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was by far the best beach I have been to in the Caribbean. Aside from that the resort is dated but they are trying to keep it up as best they can. The water quit working in our building on one day, then no hot water the following day. The maintenance team is doing their best it is just an older property. The food is edible but not great. My complaint are really the little things. There was no bottled water or any drinks in the fridge in rooms. We had to go off resort and buy bottle water, and this was important to me as I take my parents on vacation every year and they have multiple medications that need to be taken at certain times. I spoke to the concierge about this and was told it is too expensive for them to provide bottled water. I also like to have a bloody mary in the mornings on vacation. This was not possible as no bar is open until 1030. I also mentioned this to the concierge and was told alcohol would not be served before 1030. I tried to explain bloody mary and mamosa were breakfast drinks but was told 1030 is breakfast time. My final thought is this question, would I go back? The answer is no. The Riu resorts in Cancun, DR, and Jamiaca are far superior to Starfish Jolly Beach. But if you only care about the beach and nothing else, this is the place to go.

    Lovely stay

    Reviewed by angie60Kent(Kent) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a very large resort but they cope so well with the amount of people they have to cater for. Food is amazing. Large variety. All cooked to perfection. Large salad bar and a smoothie station at breakfast. Very clean dining areas. There are 3 other restaurants here along with the buffet. An Italian, Mexican and fish restaurant. These are equally as good. Entertainment is also very good and varied. The beach is vast but very pretty. There is a lot of staff here. All locals. Excellent service. Would like to thank Sharon for always finding a table in the shade. The only down side to this hotel is the rooms. They are very tired and dated. They are like caves. The beds must be the original ones, very creaky and the sheet did not fit the bed so woke up on the mattress!! They also need to sort out a room for showering in on the last day if like us flights to UK are late evening. Most places have a rota where you book a slot the day before. We had to shower in the gym. Taken there by a buggy. Not much fun when you have a flight to catch. The clientele here are mainly Canadians, as it is now a Starfish owned. All in all we had a lovely time here and hopefully go back soon.

    Excellent Vacation

    Reviewed by Mike T(Timmins, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Had a great stay at Jolly Beach the food was good. The beach is very nice you can walk it for quite the distance from one end to the other. All the staff were super friendly . I have no complaints about this resort and would go back again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX