St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Would stay elsewhere next time

    Reviewed by Sarah on Feb 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed the island but would stay elsewhere next time. Our flights to and from Antigua had very friendly crews. We left late from Antigua but they were able to make up the time in the air. Pick-ups to and from the airport were on time. I would highly recommend bringing Gravol with you to Antigua as the roads are quite windy and the drivers are very aggressive. Our problems first arose at check-in. We were expecting the King bed we booked. We walked into our room to find two double beds. Upon questioning this, the staff feigned ignorance and stated WestJet never communicated the information. We were told we would be placed on a wait list to get a King bed as they had run out. The following day we were asked to email them a copy of our itinerary from WestJet that stated our room arrangements. We did that but we still never got transferred to a room with a King bed. Rather disappointing. The room itself was also not up to the standard you would expect in Canada. It required some maintenance. The food at the resort was good which was a nice find as some reviews stated the opposite. It does take some effort to discover which restaurants are best for which meal. The staff at Coco's are by far the most pleasant and friendly. The water sports available at the resort were great. The staff were fantastic and always willing to teach you how to use the equipment. The two beaches were also well kept and gave you two nice options: one always having a cool breeze and the other having a great swimming area. We took two catamaran day trips: one to Barbuda and one around Antigua. They were great. Our other disappointment was that on the last full day at the resort my suitcase was went through. A pair of pants were taken but all our valuables were in the safe. The disappointing part was that security did not seem to care and brushed me off. After that incident, we would never stay at an Elite resort again. Antigua was nice but we would stay elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Very friendly staff

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff here are wonderful, they make the place warm and inviting and run smoothly. The main pool is close to everything and has a bar. The room was a nice size with a large bathroom. There is a number of activities to do at the beach. I would go back to this hotel again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    I enjoyed this property and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Enjoyed my stay. Property located on a well maintained 110 acre site. Rooms are bright and clean. Staff members are great and very helpfull. No bracelets to identify guests, use room numbers. Lots of activities to choose from. Many options for dining. Really enjoyed the Italian restaurant even though there is a surcharge that applies. Pool areas are great. Unfortunately the beach is a little disappointing I would recommend this property for families with young children and or teens as they do have a children and teens club. Couples would enjoy this property as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff!

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the St James club. The staff is always willing to assist when needed, The rooms are quite spacious. The views from the rooms is great. They had live music playing in the evening on some of the nights. Right from check in to check out they make sure your stay is welcoming and enjoyable. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay!

    Reviewed by KR on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The St Jame's Club is a wonderful gem surrounded by the Atlanitic Ocean on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other.The staff are very genuine and engaging. Good dining options particularly the Piccolo speciality restaurant. There is a $35UD supplement but well worth the experience. The food and service were excellent! The property is farily large, requiring lots of walking. unless your room was close to the main lobby. The Caribbean beach was much nicer with calmer water than the windy Atlantic beach. This is a solid 4* resort. It would be an excellent option for couples, familiies and friends. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Lovely Resort on Antigua!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is a lovely resort on the island of Antigua. The rooms are spacious with large balconies. Loved that they had 2 sinks in the bathroom! The pool was very large with lots of seating. It was close to the restaurant so you didn't have to walk very far. The beaches were very nice and the Italian restaurant was amazing! I would highly recommend it. The downfall to this area is there are lots of stairs or hills to walk up. It does not have an elevator but if you wanted to stay around the pool and restaurant area, it is easily accessible. It was a clean hotel and the staff were friendly. I would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Everything was fantastic at this hotel!! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality. This goes from our driver John Henry who we absolutely loved to all the hotel staff we met. The pools were good and the beach was great too, they did have a lot of seaweed on one of the beaches but the workers who removed the seaweed worked relentlessly from early in the morning until mid afternoon. We were impressed with their hard work We were fortunate enough to go to Shirley Heights where we listened to live incredible Caribbean music and danced!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great value for the money

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Overall a great experience at this property. Staff was amazing, food was good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Quiet and relaxing

    Reviewed by Small group trip on Jun 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    No wrist bands! Nice property, comfortable beds, large rooms. A rather quiet property. Great for a restful and relaxing holiday. I don't consider it to be luxurious but it is simple and clean. Staff were very friendly for the most part. The sand on their 2 beaches is nice but the water wasn't very clear. Lots of seaweed on Coco Beach which was cleaned when necessary. They told us this is seasonal and does not occur all the time. They had a great selection of non motorized water sports and I enjoyed kayaking in the Mamora bay side where the water is nice and calm. The main pool is nice but not huge and just a simple rectangle. No swim up bar. We went to the Managers cocktail party which is a great place to meet people. Seems like a lot of people spend time away from the resort exploring the island and doing excursions during the day. The food and drinks are good and the service in the restaurants and bars was always great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    love the stay there no complains

    Reviewed by chickoo on Jun 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    beautiful property good servce great staff good internet coonection just the beach have seaweed but overall complete satisfaction its quaint and definaltely worth to go again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3899 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Relaxed atmosphere, great staff

    Reviewed by MWSurrey(Surrey) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first time to Antigua as a family of four with adult children. The resort is fairly sprawling with beaches to two sides of a small peninsula with a collection of villas and blocks of rooms and suites. We stayed in the Hibiscus block in double rooms with balconies overlooking the beach. The views were great, the beds huge but the rooms generally felt like they needed updating, especially the bathrooms. We were well located for the restaurants, main pool and reception. The main restaurant is Rainbow where breakfast and lunch is served in buffet style and then several nights a week there are a la carte themed nights. The buffet actually worked better, There is also Dockside restaurant open for themed nights using buffet style format which was probably the best quality food. 11-11 is away from the main areas so is nice for a change and does burgers, pizzas, panini type food. Service can be a bit slow. The new coffee shop is a great addition and open all the time. We also went to Piccolo Mondo which is the resort’s fine dining restaurant where you have to pay a supplement. The restaurant itself is nice and service was excellent but the food did not fully measure up. The seafood and vegetable paellas were far too salty although the calamari was very good and the T-bone steak well cooked but thin. Surprisingly, spirits were all branded and often more expensive than you usually see in all inclusive resorts, measures were generous too. Would have been nice to have a drinks menu ;the staff were happy to make cocktails. We had a vegan and a gluten free intolerant person in our group. This proved quite difficult as staff are not familiar with the concept and we had some issues. You can pre-order meals at guest services 24 hours in advance which we did several times. Even margarine for our vegan needed a form as they did not have any in the resort. Staff are great, really friendly and helpful. It does feel like there could be more management presence, maybe a few photos up, as there is no sense of an overall organisation behind the staff you meet. We used the gym, including classes and the tennis facilities. All were of a high standard. Tennis was more popular than we expected so you do need to book at guest services. In general, the resort did not feel particularly busy so there were no problems with sun beds or using facilities in the most part. It feels relaxed and chilled. If you are looking for nightlife, this isn’t the place for you. The bar can get busy but everything finishes at midnight. It also isn’t very near any other resorts or towns. English harbour is not far but you need a cab or to hire a car, the roads are not great so you need to be a confident driver! We found excursions surprisingly expensive so only did one trip which was a Jeep tour if the island, which was worth doing as took in all the main sights with a well informed guide. There was a big sell to go to Shirley Heights on Sunday but this seems a bit of a tourist trap. St John’s, the capital, is not really worth a special trip either but we did like English Harbour. The hotel does not have an atm or exchange facilities so if you need cash, such as for the taxis, the nearest place is English Harbour. US dollars are widely accepted.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by JoshCuggy(Swansea, United Kingdom) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Bus ride from the airport took around 30 minutes, so the arrival drink and paperwork was a nice chill out for us. The porters brought our bags to the room which was also a great help. Rooms was part ocean view, spacious, well air conditioned and the bed was comfortable, double sinks in bathroom and sufficient bath/shower. Food options at all times of the day were satisfactory, with food to cater for all, even with the 'Docksider grill' open for snack and drinks, very handy to have at this hotel. Watersports, we didn't use, but non motorised kayaks, catamarans etc.. were free for all inclusive guests. Mamora bay is where you will find this, and it was very pleasant there, much less windy than the beach and less seaweed (they worked very hard keeping the seaweed clear for guests, bravo!). The gym was satisfactory, with good equipment and kept clean and cool, tennis courts were very good also. easy to access rackets from guest services. We had a great time visiting Shirley Heights, organised by the hotel. The only issue we had was where we decided to visit Stingray city, which we booked via the guest trips in the lobby area. We decided to take the 0815 pick up which another couple were booked on, to save on the $60 taxi fare. On arriving, the couple we should've shared the taxi with were ushered in to the waiting taxi and shot off. We were then called a separate taxi to take us to the same venue, which all four of us agreed shouldn't have happened. upon challenging this with the hotel, we were told that they could see that we had book the same time (for an obvious reason), but then said there was nothing they could do, and we needlessly paid an extra $30 for a mistake on the hotels behalf. Dining at the eleven-eleven restaurant one evening, we found that it simply wasn't for us. We felt the they were understaffed on this particular evening, with one young man running around helplessly trying to tend to everyone's requests. Food eventually came out around 50 minutes after ordering, and was no more than a small lump of steak, with 4 strips of vegetables and a couple of potatoes. Fairly annoyed, we shot off to the ever reliable '24hr coffee shop'. The coffee shop is a great addition, especially being open 24hr. The cakes are good and the slush drinks are grand. Something that can't be controlled are the mosquitoes. We took out 'Jungle formula' with DEET, but this actually did little. We were recommended by someone to instead fill a small spray bottle with Listerine (other options are available), so there's a tip for those of you mosquito magnets! We visited the on site massage therapists, and what a brilliant idea that was! We requested to be outside on the table which they kindly obliged, and also explained that they cant control the sound of any construction work, people talking or birds tweeting (absolutely fine with us), it was so good, I fell asleep. Brilliant and I would recommend to anyone to visit here. Overall, our stay was brilliant, we we're very happy and looked after by staff. BUT We did find, on occasions, the Americans got served before us, purely from 'tipping'. Obviously, this isn't in British culture, so it never crossed our mind. We did tip staff who we felt had done us well throughout the holiday though, especially the cleaners who did a fantastic job!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    St James Club

    Reviewed by myasinax() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a fantastic resort! Very friendly staff attending to your every need with a good choice of dining, water sports and site seeing. The visitors are made up predominantly of British and American tourists all after the relaxing environment, clean apartments and sunshine. Temperatures at this time of year remained in the 25-30 degree Celsius range with an occasional shower that brings a welcome coolness with it, but never lasts longer than 20 mins before the sun reappears. The resort is relatively quiet in June, so a perfect time for couples looking for a more quiet, romantic holiday. The apartment style rooms are well laid out and never far from a pool or the beach and the friendly staff will even run you around the resort in their little ‘golf carts’ should you not want to enjoy the walks. Evenings though are beautiful when the sun begins to set and beach parties and bars are available for those wanting to stay up into the early hours. There is even a 24 hour coffee shop with cakes and deserts if the urge to snack on something should be in order. The resort is primarily for couples and families with areas for just adults available should couples want a quieter place to relax from children and families. I went on the all inclusive package and stayed in the Royal suites which were worth the upgrade. The all inclusive was all I needed to be honest and rarely did I spend anything additional (site seeing and a swim with sting-rays!). There is an amazing shopping centre that is part of the group that can take care of any of the comforts you need from home should it be required. All in all a very relaxing slice of paradise!

    A Little bit of Paradise

    Reviewed by tangogal8(United Kingdom) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed for a week in July. Check-in was pleasant, with a complimentary welcome drink. We didn't have to wait long to be seen but the process was a little lengthy, however, we were upgraded to a beach front room, which was lovely. The room was really spacious with high ceilings, a ceiling fan, air con and a very big bathroom The view from the large balcony was lovely. The property has 2 beaches, one is directly on the ocean, so it has a sea breeze, and small waves. The other beach is on mamora bay which is so calm its like a lake, perfect for kids and all the water sports are here. I was super impressed with the water sports, they have catamarans, SUPs,kayaks and pedal boats. We were there in the off season so there was never any qs or waits to use the equipment. Shaqueal at the water sports centre was really pleasant and helpful. All of this was included in the the All-inculsive package, which was great! We also decided to go scuba diving. The dive center is fantastic. My partner had dived before but I had not, so they took us on an intro to scuba course, which was amazing. Tion was our instructor and he was so so patient with me as a beginner, he relaxed me and put my mind at ease. Linda manages the dive centre and she was also very lovely and helpful. They have a great set up and cater for experienced and first time divers. I couldn't have asked for a better first dive experience, we so saw many amazing things including a turtle!!! Thanks Tion and Linda! The beaches are kept very clean well cared for and you're never far a away from a drink or a snack. Whoever reviewed here and said there are not enough beach /pool bars clearly didn't look very hard. There are 2 bars on Mamora beach(one at each end) and if you're too relaxed to walk the 3/4 mins to either of those bars the amazing Alfred services both beaches in his golf cart turned mobile beach bar!! He's so friendly and brings the drinks to you, by the last day we didn't even get up off our sun loungers, Alfred brought the drinks directly to us... heavenly!!! Thank you Alfred!! So down to the food, there is plenty of it and while not every restaurant was open every night when we were there ( it was low season) there was always 3 restaurants to choose from for dinner and lunch. The grill on Mamora beach was handy if you didn't want to walk back to the main resort for Lunch, they served drinks and plenty of snacks, we loved the fresh Mahi Mahi fish sandwhich. 11/11 was a great location over looking Coco beach, and with a lovely breeze blowing through the restaurant. We had lunch here a couple of times and dinner once, food was tasty and the staff as always were pleasant! Breakfast was always delicious with plenty of choice. Again the staff were pleasant, particularly Troy and Shawnella on the Omelet station, she always had a smile!! The food is not Michelin star, but if you've gone on an all-inclusive holiday before you will know that. I wouldn't describe the food as the best I've ever had but honestly it was tasty and there was plenty of it, so I really can't complain. There is a fine dining Italian restaurant, which is an extra supplement to the all-inclusive. We went on our last night and it was ok, the experience was special and felt exclusive, and there was a good wine list, so in that way was worth the supplement but the food was average, not really any better or worse than the other restaurants. The onsite gym had brilliant equipment, can say without a doubt its the best hotel/resort gym I've ever been to! The staff at the beach/pool bars were lovely, Delicia and Creisida were always pleasant and there are other's whose names I can't remember. The unsung heros are the staff who constantly cleaned CoCo beach of seaweed. There is an issue a the moment with Sargassum sea weed(not the resort's problem, its widespread in the Caribbean and gulf of mexico), however every single morning and throughout the day, they ensured they removed as much seaweed as possible from the beach, they really went the extra mile. All in all this is a great resort and I highly recommend it.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Almost excellent

    Reviewed by 281chrisw(Culpeper, Virginia) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife, teenage son and I recently visited for ten days and were very pleased with the overall experience. We stayed in one of the villas and were happy to have a full kitchen and grill as there were a few nights we weren't in the mood for the food at the resort. The view is excellent and the weather amazing (though the resort has no control over that). The water sports were great as our son captained a catamaran every day for as long as he liked. They also offer fishing, snorkeling and a party cruise as well. There is a dive shop on premises (great staff) and the diving is very good as you will likely see some bucket list items (spotted eagle ray, shark(S), turtle(S) and others. Overall, the food is fine but not great. Be sure to attend "steak night" as it was clearly the best experience followed by "seafood night". Service at 11/11 restaurant seemed to switch from sweet to surly on a nighly basis but the view and breeze is great from the restaurant. The resort is not near any other resort which makes it all the more "exclusive". A few pro tips: The "fish sandwich" at Mamora Grill is fresh Mahi Mahi (grilled). Buy the fish, pitch the bun... If you have a pitcher in your villa, go to Mamora Grill and they will fill it for you with beer to take back to the room at the end of a long day at the beach. You can take a taxi to a local grocery if needed at a reasonable price. The dive shop is excellent. Check out the 24 hour coffee shop. Personally I'm not a coffee drinker but they have plenty of teas, lemonade and smoothies. Their pastries are excellent as well and we often stopped by for dessert. The ocean side of the resort has an artificial reef you can snorkel on. They don't really advertise it but it's there. If you read other reviews that complain about not being able to find a bar/drink (they didn't look very hard) or there was too much wildlife in the area please take it with a HUGE grain of salt as some people appear to be able to find problems anywhere. If the food were better (it's mostly average) this would be a 5 start resort. We (including surly teenager) all agreed we would visit again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX