Fairmont Southampton

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    As pretty as the pictures! We would gladly return next September!

    Reviewed by Covells on Oct 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    A beautiful property, staff are knowledgeable, friendly, and prompt. The rooms are spacious and clean, and upscale. There's an amazing breakfast served in an elegant dining area called "Windows"; good value for great food. The beach area is picturesque and private. Perhaps the only things missing is this: when guests enter lobby it would be welcoming and refreshing to have lemon water/ice available, self-serve, somewhere in that large entry. We were there end of September and it was actually very hot and humid .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4958 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    You cannot charge these prices for this outdated hotel in desperate need of repair!!

    Reviewed by prod4(New York City, New York) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    If this hotel was advertised as a 3-star accommodation with maybe a $350 price tag (including the fees!!) then I'd say, OK, great! I got what I paid for. However, you are currently being charged LUXURY $$$ for a NON-LUXURY experience. A few (small) examples that will illustrate what I'm talking about: Down where you get the ferry, the outdoor lounge chairs had cigarette burn holes, stains and rips- I would not sit there. The hotel pool had a broken underwater light just floating in the water, attached by the wire (sounds hazardous). Broken chairs in the breakfast room, dirty, fingerprint covered doors in the main lobby, etc, etc. No luxury in sight. Please stop charging these exorbitant prices for something you DO NOT deliver. * I do want to add that my husband and I enjoyed incredible meals at Medittera!!! Now, that was worth every dollar.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    great location but felt a little nickle and dimed the whole trip

    Reviewed by aj14318(Arlington, Virginia) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We booked the Fairmont since it seemed to be "where everyone stays" and if you plan on doing one visit to Hamilton and one to Dockyard like we did, it makes you right in the middle of both. Option to take the Ferry to Hamilton (it only runs a couple of times a day though.) - Location to horseshoe beach and the beach next door, East Whale Bay beach, is unbeatable. It looks like you could walk it on a map, but with how hot it is and the road is windy, you're best off waiting for their shuttle, which we never had to wait more than a few minutes for (they run all day.) Towel service at the beach is provided, and although other posters said "chairs filled up" we never had a problem getting a spot. East Whale beach is only for the hotel, and although it does get busy, it never got nearly as busy as Horseshoe bay did when one of the cruise ships delivered all the passengers on tour there. The bay is a little more enclosed as well, so doesn't have as big waves as Horseshoe bay. -if you want to do scuba with Dive Bermuda, this spot is really unbeatable, as they go right out of East Whale Bay Beach so you just shuttle down (you can also bill your scuba right to the room if you left your wallet at home to stay dry) -you can also walk to the Gibbs light house easily -hotel pool is very small and I never saw any open seats -gym is decent but can be very crowded -if you have tons of kids this hotel seems like a good fit, as there is plenty of space on the beach and we always saw lots of them running around the lobby. If you want a little more peace and quiet...you might want to steer clear. THAT being said though, our room was very quiet at night, so besides once switching our beach chairs away from a family arguing (the dad even apologized,) it wasn't much of an issue for us, but if you get annoyed easily, it might be. -Similar to other what other holiday-goers said, you do feel a little "stranded"; we didn't rent scooters or the new electric cars swizzles, so depended on taxis to get around, so your dining options are limited to the ten or so very expensive restaurants on the hotel grounds unless you want to taxi further away. Jasmine is the one right by the lobby, and our food was decent but we waited an eternity (the waiter even seemed embarrassed and apologized several times) just to get two fish sandwiches. -Hotel staff was always friendly and accommodating; we were able to have them hold our bags for two hours prior check in so we could change and go to the beach, then on checkout, we were allowed to check out an hour late so it was right before our shuttle pickup. -As mentioned in the title, we felt a little "nickle and dimed" the whole trip. There is an "included " continental breakfast, but I have never seen this done before in my travels: there is an "upgraded " breakfast put out adjacent to the continental buffet (like one big buffet room,) so if you happen to grab a waffle or bacon, you are immediately fined the $14 (and believe me, they watch you like a hawk!) Our first day my husband went down at 7 am and some of the staff actually didn't even think breakfast was open yet; he was seated, then when the staff came around and told him his scrambled eggs were $14 extra, we thought he was joking. They kindly didn't upcharge us the first day, but we felt kind of like we were cheapskates all the subsequent days when asked if we were just having the continental breakfast (I just said it was because we were about to scuba.) However, I kind of feel that we already were paying thousands of dollars to stay for this trip...just tack on an extra couple hundred and just give everyone the waffles! Additionally, you'll have to ask for an extra food fridge (which I've heard sometimes doesn't arrive) at risk of putting something in their fridge and getting the auto-charge from it. Last thing I felt like I was being cheap - going over the check out bill there is a $22 a day charge for "housekeeping staff and bellhops" and I'm sure there are rules that they can't just add this into the main fees prior your visit...but it just kind of surprised us as we thought we'd prepaid, and I wish I had known because I definitely wouldn't have turned away housekeeping half the trip. -Overall we had a nice visit and I'm glad we stayed there, but I think if we returned, now that I know the island I would try and do airbnb, especially if you can cook in a kitchen to save some money (for an idea, our cheapest meal was $50 for two of us).

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    So-so

    Reviewed by Pocmts(PA) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Experienced a mix of many previous reviews. Hotel is aging and in dire need of some maintenance. Had two rooms, one smelled terribly musty one was alright. Check in was ok, but was promised a refrigerator and it never showed up in the 5 days we were there. Housekeeping is inconsistent. Some days everything was perfect, some days no towels even though old ones were taken. Coffee not replaced in room and one day room was not cleaned til almost 5pm even though we were gone all day. Restaurants are over priced even for Bermuda. Try some local ones for better cheaper menu items. HenryVII is great. Believe it or not room service had the most options and best prices. Funny some items on room service menu go up in price at 11pm vs ordering same item earlier in the day. Beach is dirty. I am not talking seaweed but cups, straws etc. found under chaises. Tractor rakes seaweed away but not one worker seen picking up trash. Shuttle bus is convenient but ferry is only twice a day and not very convenient for those wanting dinner in Hamilton. Had a good time because what we made of it but will probably look elsewhere next year.

    Busy Hotel

    Reviewed by TravelQ6492QE(Florida) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Came for golf. Teaming with families and kids. majestic and large. Lots of smiles. Shopping on second floor. Food, games, kiddie areas on lower level. Liked the ducks walking around and the bee hives. Sheep working. Not a quiet place.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Vacation in an OK hotel

    Reviewed by angelahw516(Port Washington, New York) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I've stayed at many Fairmont hotels before and by far, Fairmont Southampton is not on par with the usual Fairmont standard. Having said that, I do love Bermuda and we did have a wonderful short family long weekend trip overall. Here's what Fairmont Southampton need to improve on: 1. Decor is dated. 2. Walk way to the pool area is like walking though the back of some back entrances of warehouses. Terrible experience. 3. Our room was never cleaned on the 2nd day we're there. We had to call twice and go down to the lobby to have our room cleaned/serviced, but by then it was evening/night, so house keeping really didn't clean our room at all, but just gave us towels and did their usual night time turndown service. In addition to the poor house keeping service of missing rooms for daily clean-up all together, even upon arrival, our bathroom wasn't really that clean. Corners of floors/bathtub had gathered dust and hairs in the tub. 4. Rundown rooms -- such as (again) bathroom / bathtub can do with a renovation to clean mold up from edges and a general update on the style of bathroom to make it look more modern and up to date. 5. Balcony -- our lounger and our little table/chairs were broken. Lounger was missing cushions. Just refreshing these things so they're not old or broken will help a lot. 6. At the beach -- Almost all the umbrellas were tattered and all the lawn chairs had some tears or were broken in some way. Time to get new beach furniture! 7. Waiting area for the hotel trolley by the dock was really dirty, flies and mosquitoes were gathering. These semi-enclosed spaces need a fan and need clean up regularly. 8. Waiting area for the hotel trolley by the front lobby also can do with a canopy to help shield from sun/rain during the wait. 9. Activities -- we booked and paid for "Slime Time" for our niece and though the activity is supposed to be for 1 1/2 hours, her slime making time was only 1/2 hour. The options for the kids for slime making is so bare minimum (no sparkles, no way to make multi colors); it was so not worth it. The person running the activity didn't really "play" with the kids or encourage any kind of playing. Basically just lay stuff out for the kids to make a very basic tiny cup of slime and then left them alone to play on with the tiny indoor jungle gym. What a waste of time and money! Totally not worth it. 10. Pool is too small. We also booked 2 pool side orbitals online for 9 AM way in advance. When we arrived at the pool at a little after 9:30, there were no pool attendants to talk to. I had to run around all over the hotel; first being told by the Wicket's waiter that I needed to go to the front desk to get my orbital. Then the front desk sent me to Concierge who then called the pool area manager who supposedly just arrived at 10 AM. By the time I got back down to the pool, I see that someone else had already taken one of the only 2 orbitals by the pool area, so though I booked 2, I was only able to get 1. So the pre-booking on line meant nothing, essentially. 11. Beach towel attendants were very rude! We arrived and asked for 2 towels each stating that we had 5 people and gave our 2 room numbers. The attendant, because he didn't want to be bothered to put down 2 room numbers and 2 last names, gave us only 5 towels for 5 people i/o of the 2 towels each person (clearly stated on the signage behind the attendants) and essentially waved his hand at us and told us to "GO", when we asked about our 2nd towels each; semi refusing to give it to us and started to talk to the next group behind us. What kind of service is that!? Sadly, I'll definitely be returning to Bermuda. I'll not be recommending Fairmont Southampton and I will not be returning to this hotel again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX