Óleo Cancún Playa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Boutique Hotel

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a smaller boutique hotel with great attention from all staff. Customer service and enjoyment is their number one priority. The food is wonderful. You have to try Hakka, the Asian/Japanese restaurant. The food is incredible!!! Pool is small but right on the ocean with great views. The rooms are big and comfortable but do need a little bit of upkeep. We were there during heavy rain and out patio door leaked and rattle a great deal. Minor fixes required. Overall, a great hotel and amazing staff!.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Would recommend this to friends.

    Reviewed by M on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Oleo Cancun is a delight full gem that has been greatly upgraded with its recent renovations. The service is very high and the management and staff work very hard to make sure you feel at home and are pampered. The gym is very suitable for a workout while on vacation. The restaurants are great and I would highly recommend that Japanses Restaurant. A very foodie experience. I enjoyed the laid back nature of this boutique style, bohemian resort. The location is great in the hotle zone. It would be great for people wanting a quiet, small resort with extra care from the staff. The views are all amaxing from this ocenafront property. I would recommned this property to friends.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Very nice resort.

    Reviewed by Marla on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great spot. Nice stretch of beach. Lovely staff. Friendly and helpful. And the kitchen crew outdid themselves!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Great boutique style hotel!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location. Close to the airport. Smaller, boutique style hotel. Rooms are huge! Because it is a smaller hotel, there aren't a lot of activities offered on property, however you can organize excursions or go further into Cancun proper for some shopping or to experience Dance clubs. By vehicle it is all accessible. I very much enjoyed my stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with some amazing staff.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jun 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a boutique-style resort with a modern and chic decor. Everything is centered around the ocean views; whether you're in the lobby, the restaurants, the spa or the poolbar...you can always enjoy some amazing ocean views. The sand on this stretch of the beach is powdery soft. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    The food in the Japanese restaurant was impeccable!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This boutique hotel is ideal for location and your budget traveller. The staff were very attentive at the restuarants and the quality of food was amazing. If you want to explore Cancun this hotel is great location. No room key required as it is programmed to your wrist band. It is geared towards adults primarily as there are limited activities for children on site.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    H

    A wonderful surprise

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel has had a full renovation from top to bottom and it is beautiful! It is a smaller property with a boutique-style feel, with fantastic staff who are all,about customer service. The restaurants serve very high quality food and are more than happy to make accommodations for guests with various dietary needs (ex. Vegetarian). The pools are on the smaller side but located oceanfront with spectacular views of the entire hotel zone. You can walk forever down the long wide beach that feels like flour. The rooms are immaculate and have great wifi & room service. No room cards needed for entry as everything is programmed in

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 947 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Do not come here!!! It is dangerous!!

    Reviewed by Janesnuffyy() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I stayed here and on a night out at the hotel strip when I returned the management said I did not stay there although I was wearing a bracelet, they tried to get me kicked out, and I am 100% sure they wanted me to leave the hotel so something could happen to me in the street. I asked for help from tourist in the lobby and they convinced them (or they tried to appear convinced out of fear) that I was crazy and owed the taxi a ton of money when in all reality I had my cards stolen and my spare money was in the room to which I needed an atm for, they refused to let me go to my room, I had to call the US embassy, and my boyfriend heard the entire thing on the phone. Please if you love your daughters or wife or anyone with you, do not take them here!!!!

    Do not stay here!!! It is very dangerous!!!

    Reviewed by Janesnuffy() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I stayed here and on a night out at the hotel strip when I returned the management said I did not stay there although I was wearing a bracelet, they tried to get me kicked out, and I am 100% sure they wanted me to leave the hotel so something could happen to me in the street. I asked for help from tourist in the lobby and they convinced them (or they tried to appear convinced out of fear) that I was crazy and owed the taxi a ton of money when in all reality I had my cards stolen and my spare money was in the room to which I needed an atm for, they refused to let me go to my room, I had to call the US embassy, and my boyfriend heard the entire thing on the phone. Please if you love your daughter’s or wife’s or anyone with you, do not take them here!!!!

    OK apart from the pop music. Very clean and comfortable room.

    Reviewed by Road64116439739() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I spent one week in Oleo hotel, Cancun. The room was lovely, very big and cool and a comfortable bed. I found the food in the Azul restaurant was not to my taste, too spicy. My main problem was the very loud pop music pumped out all day every day. It was fifficult to get away from it. I asked about things to do, but the pool was either being used for volleyball or it was full of small children, so I didn't use the pool. I didn't know what else to do, so I stayed in my room and read or watched TV..The loud music made it difficult to leave my room. I read that there was an art class on Saturdays but it was the day I went to snorkel with the whale sharks. In the Azul restaurtant, the best staff were Blass and Yesilli. They were very kind as I was alone. I very much enjoyed seeing the turtles come up the beach each night, to lay their eggs. And I like helping to take the baby hatchlings down to the sea and letting them go. My week was OK apart from the awful loud pop music.

    PHENOMENAL Staff!!!

    Reviewed by qtd_nguyen16() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    PROS: This resort was splendid. I traveled with my husband and 17 year old daughter, and it surpassed our expectations. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted with warm welcomes, wet hand towels, and limeades (very refreshing after a long flight and shuttle ride). The front desk staff was very helpful in explaining everything about our stay and the amenities of the resort. Our room was also lovely. It had a modern feel to it and was very clean and spacious. It was also adequately equipped with common necessities. The bathroom had a variety nice toiletries. The pool, though significantly smaller than other resorts we've been to, was clean and had a nice swim up bar. The margaritas and pina coladas were tasty. The food was good. Nothing too memorable, but not inedible either. There are two restaurants, one buffet, two bars, a small sushi bar, and one snack bar. Hakka and Almar were great a la carte dining experiences, but food from Azul (buffet) seemed to be the best, due to the many options. The snack bar by the pool was delicious though. We loved the pork tacos. Also, none of us acquired any illness or viruses either, which seems to be a common fear. Water is always served from bottles. However, despite all of these nice features, what made our stay truly amazing was the staff. The service was OUTSTANDING. Everything was well-cleaned, and everyone was so kind and welcoming. They made every minute of our stay perfect. Special shout out to Iliana and Manuel, who work in Azul. Manuel went out of his way to serve us freshly juiced guava, something that isn't typically served. Iliana always made our day by warmly welcoming us to breakfast every morning with her bright and lovely smile, checking up on us and making conversation, and waving at us whenever we passed by. Though I can't recall their names, every other staff member was amazing as well; they'd always warmly greet us no matter what time of day and made us feel special. The pool bartenders were so kind and made great drinks. The snackbar waiters were also amazing. They'd deliver the food to you, no matter where you sat. Waiters in Almar and Hakka were very professional but friendly. Housekeepers always greeted you and did a great job cleaning the room. The pool cleanup team worked hard and did an amazing job at keeping the pavement and outdoor dining tables clean every night. In general, everybody did a SPECTACULAR job at making our stay as perfect as possible, and we couldn't have been any more grateful. They honestly all deserve a better pay (on average they make $10/day) considering all of the hard work they put into make our stay as comfortable as possible. I wish we brought more tip money (even though tip is already "included" in the bill), for we ran out towards the end of our stay, and it is quite difficult to break a bill here in Mexico. So, be sure to bring enough to tip your waiters and housekeepers (and anyone who you feel is doing a great job)!!! -- it'll be a great way to express your gratitude and reward them for their hard work. I'll truly miss all of the staff because they made us feel like family. They're what made our stay memorable, and if any of you are reading this, thanks for everything guys! We genuinely appreciated all of your efforts. CONS: Our stay was amazing, but here's a few suggestions for improvement: - We always found ourself short of towels in the bathroom, for we tend to shower twice a day (because of swimming in the beach). So, maybe add a couple extra towels in the closets. - The elevator was very slow, so we ended up just using the stairs (we lived on the 3rd floor, so it wasn't that bad of a walk, and we didn't mind, as we enjoyed the extra bit of exercise (: ). - Because this is a relatively small resort ("boutique"), there isn't much to do during the day besides swim, eat, or go to the spa, so it can get a bit boring if you're not looking forward to simply relaxing. There are music performances every night, but it's nothing major. The entertainment is definitely lacking. However, this is definitely the place to go if relaxation and peacefulness is your intention. Partying/adventuring, not so much. The BIGGEST con, however, is that upon arrival, we were misled into attending a "vacation club" presentation, which ended up lasting 3 hours and wasting the majority of our day. Initially, we were told by the front desk that we'd get a one day excursion to tour and use the new resort (Atelier), but the majority of the time, we were being talked into joining the Inspira vacation club. The salespeople, like any Timeshare salesperson, were very aggressive and wouldn't accept "no" as an answer. They insisted they were not like Timeshare, which is true, but their deal seemed too good to be true, as many other vacation clubs are. They expected us to make a decision on the spot, which was a surefire sign of a scam (don't fall for it!!! Scams like these are very common in Mexico. Look it up if you don't believe me). Simply reject this offer, and spend your time at Oleo or explore the local culture further down the street instead. Other than that, our stay was very pleasant, and we quickly forgot about that unfortunate incident. During our entire stay there, we felt like royalty (again, because of the amazing staff). Do come here if you seek ultimate relaxation and isolation in what seems like paradise.

    Rubenz the best at the pool

    Reviewed by Alejandra M() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Rueben’s was so energetic and he was so fun to be around the pool! He provided such great energy! It was so fun and great at pool gym! I will definitely recommend the entertainment team here at Oleo hotel :)

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX