Gran Muthu Imperial

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 91 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Never again

    Reviewed by Daze2(Peterborough, Canada) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I was there 9 days and a week before March break ... it’s sister resort beside it was a family resort.. but we wanted adults only which on their website said 18 plus... sounded awesome quiet time also payed extra for ocean view ..first 5 days where good no complaints but what we noticed was they kept sending people over from their sister resort because they had over booked ... all week this was happening but we didn’t care because they where adults coming over but by the end of week one and start of March break.. well they basically sent over 50 kids 16 plus so we went up to complain but they had printed a paper and posted it and said no it was 16 plus here .. ummm not on website.. so the resort again over booked and sent them over it was the worst experience... these kids where puking in halls in gardens .. walking along the infinity pools .. disrespectful to adults ... I felt sooo bad about the older adults that had to be around this ... we had to move 3 times and in one of our moves had clothes taken from my room from a cleaning person ??..I have been going to Cuba for many many years always has been my go place so what bothers me the most is they lied to us about the 18 plus to accommodate them at that time ... I got home and called my travel agency and wrote a letter to air transat which took 2 mths to get a response... when I did hear back air transat got ahold of the resort and they even lied then and said all the kids that where there where 18 plus .. they checked all their passports they said ..so air transat said they couldn’t do anything.... we talked to parents that where there with the kids and a lot where 16 .. some never drank before so u can image... this hotel never stood behind their written policy ... it’s too bad because I would have gone back ... $1690 nite mare ... I’m not even sure Cuba will be my go place anymore it left a bad taste ??

    Far from being a 5 stars hotel.

    Reviewed by PierreD1567() on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    As a start, we are going oftenly to Cuba but up to now this is the worst hotel that we went. On their web site they advertised 5 restaurants including the buffet like italian, mexican, sea food and asiatic but in fact you not gonna find those five choices every day it's by rotation one a day. At the buffet we had the feeling that the left over from the day before was kept and served the next day. The beach, where is the beach, they had boat fill with sand and they dropped it on rocks that they are present all along the hotel. The front of the hotel is still on the rocks, it's just a small part that they covered with sand and there is a jump of around 2 feets to get to the water it's dangerous. A brand new hotel with nice glass shower but when you take a shower there is water all over the floor in the bathroom because the did't make a silicon joint at the base of the shower, the TV is installed wrong way not on level from one side to the other and there's no way to fix it. The hotel open too fast last march 2019 and they did't inspected everything. If you are looking for a 5 stars hotel stay away from that one go to Memories Beach resort in Cayo Coco, it's a 4 stars hotel but with an incredible beach like you will see in Pillar Beach and the food is excellent every day. The buffet is close at lunch time and you have to go to the beach restaurant. The pool floor where very slippery and there was a lot of greasy stuff flooting on top of the water near the steps it's a lack of good filtration system. We were like 50 or 60 person in the hotel from June 8th to June 15th 2019. On Thursday night we were only two persons in the buffet between 19H30 and 20H00.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Not a 5 stars more like 3

    Reviewed by Catherine D() on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The food was terrible. They didn't have half of what they are supposed to serve you. (no beef, no hot dog, no tomatoes...) They say they have 4 restaurants but in reality it's 3 restaurants in the same room and 1 restaurant in the other resort which we were not allowed to reserve. The beach is really not done yet. I chose this hotel because it was adult only but I ended up going to the other hotel beach because the gran muthu imperial beach is full of rock and garbage. The employees are pretty lost they have no coordination between them so you never get the same answer. 1/3 of them were really nice, 1/3 were doing the minimum and 1/3 really didn't want to be there. I will never go back to this hotel

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Disappointed but hopeful... honest review from a 4-6 time a year traveller to Cuba ????

    Reviewed by Mistercuba() on Jun 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a week long boys trip! I will list pros and cons of our week there ... Pros Place is brand new and beautiful, the lobby bar amazing and the check in was fast ! I was upgraded to a ocean view room . My other buddies could all see the ocean from patio. 1 faced the pool and the other 2 faced the kiddie pool from resort next door. All of us in building 9 ... right next to the 24 hour snack bar. Snack bar was hit and miss , but for a couple days they had wings! I can’t remember getting chicken wings in Cuba before ??. You could get a breakfast sandwich there or head to the beach buffet for omelettes. Beach bar usually had something grilling for lunch . The rooms are the best I’ve ever been in , truly a 5 star ... rain shower head and brand new mattresses, flat screen tv, patio etc.... they are so nice , you almost hope for a rain day! Staff and management are always helpful in Anyway possible. The grounds , infinitely pool and lounge chairs would bring a smile to the fussiest visitor! Sports bar amazing and the bartender can make anything... he definitely has 5star resort background. Now for the cons!! The biggest problem was that you had to sneak next door to get a decent dinner. The main buffet was closed down and everyone at the resort was heading next door! Problem was ... we weren’t allowed there even though same chain Gran Muthu Cayo Guillermo (4.5 star ) not adults only. Some fellow travellers were kicked out and then our hotel set up a security guard... This is supposed to be the 5 star and that upset almost everybody on resort. I don’t go to Cuba for the food, but if you want to be a 5 star C’MON... PERSONALLY what ruined an almost perfect trip , was listening to everybody complaining about it !! The beach.... it is not completed yet , so bring water shoes . It is still beautiful there ! The colour of the water , different shades of blue as far as your eyes can see. Only complaint is the beach service, we are all big tippers 3-5 Cuc to the server every time they bring drinks to us ! Place was at 20 % occupancy.... WTF are they going to do when busy? The only people getting drinks at the beach are employees LOL Definitely needs to be addressed , this is a 5 star ... service makes a 5 star! Overall I was originally going to give the place a 3 star that’s what my buddies would have gave the place, but it kept improving daily and I’m sure that management can get all the glitches sorted out... definitely has 5 star potential.... I’m planning to return July 5th or 12th with my wife and will write about my return trip! Thanks Mark If you want any info about other resorts or places to visit in Cuba send me an email ... been all over ...

    Not a 5 star

    Reviewed by jasminimsirovic(Toronto, Canada) on Jun 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Lets start this review ! Resort checkin: upon arrival we were dropped off to front lobby and right away can see the amazing scenery, ocean from lobby , greeted with the friendliest staff and had our room ready within minutes . Room : our room was 9205 which was the upgraded ocean view ! The room was absolutely gorgeous , beds were extremely comfortable , rooms were spacious and clean , the view was outstanding and gorgeous . The only negative comment I have is , the maid took forever to clean our rooms . Our rooms were never stocked with coke / water and sometimes weren’t cleaned till 430-5PM. If you want a afternoon nap/ shower , good luck as you won’t have clean towels or anything . We had to beg the front desk to stock our fridges with what we want , also were forced to go to snack bar a lot late at night to fill up if thirsty ... how sad .Also our room had no soap all week ! They gave us a bath bomb and assumed its soap and we’d wash our hands with this all week . Food: the food at the resort comes close to a 1 star ! The main buffet was closed , forcing majority of our guests to go and eat at grand muthu next door ... that’s kind of sad !!! We know it’s slow session , but come on .... you could at least have the a la cartes open and feed us every evening in there ... especially for a 5 star !!!! Also they had no fries at one point and were feeding us hash browns ! Food was always cold and undercooked ... Drinks were phenomenal if made by Joan at the sports bar that’s the only positive aspect that came close to 5 star ... majority of the a la cartes were closed , everyone was forced to eat from a small menu at snack bar and live off that all week.. Pool: the infinity pool was filthy and dirty and had residue floating in it majority of the time . When we spoke to staff they stated it was people’s drinks spilled .. I believe it’s dirt / sun lotion build up and other filth . Entertainment : everything closes at 11:00PM and the resort has no nightlife what so ever . The shows are at 9:30 and end at 10:00 forcing majority of people to head to bed early. The resort also has no DJ / music and nightlife or dancing either . They expected us to pay 5cuc each and every time we wanted enjoyment which was either a pool party / club few Kms away from bus . Would I return ? Absolutely yes because the staff make your experience outstanding . I can’t thank Joan , Joan Ramon , Rogervis, llamy at snack bar and everyone for making the trip excellent . The grounds are breathtaking and well kept and feel highly luxurious . Management needs to take a control on their food and negative comments as everyone was starving and upset . That’s all ! Also be aware the chairs on balcony will break

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX