Hotel Playa Coco

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Vacation was extremely stressful and disappointing

    Reviewed by Laura Mussat on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel is in significant dispar needs a lot or repairs, Mold on walls and ceiling Broken glass, pottery doors etc Side walks with man hole 3-4 ft deep and cracks and holes throughout resort Quality of food for Cuba extremely poor and limited Ran out of breads, sauces and ketchup 3 days into vacation Bugs and ants in room terrible Linens always wet No hot water No lighting at night through the resort causing a bad fall and injury at seafood restaurant Beer house and pizza place closed 2 days into vacation WestJet Rep hardly at hotel when scheduled Public areas poorly cleaned specially restrooms No assistance at airport in Toronto to start with Picture to follow in email as to large to fit here

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    We love it love it love it

    Reviewed by Carmen on Oct 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Hi, We stay for two weeks . From August 29 until September 14.The hotel rooms are ok , I won't say 4 start hotel, but is Cuba need repair and they don't change your bed sheets very often, Or clean. Every day you are going to bed there's sand in the bed. I recommend to bring you own beach towel and lots of mosquitos spray. Also soap for clean your clothes in case you need to wash yours . The staff are incredible nicely, very friendly. The food was really good..but not enough , for example: big lineup for a delicious seafood but after 5 people they didn't have anymore. I did not enjoy the Italian restaurant and neither the Japanese. The normal big every day buffet is the best ... Also the seafood restaurant located at the beach , really good too , but same problem with the seafood, not enough. The entertainment people ? Amazing, amazing, amazing. Great people , lots of talented women and men ...my kids love it ... They stay in the pool playing game with the entertainment guys and girls. My husband and I we stay at the beach knowing that the kids are having a blast and very very safe. we are definitely coming back to playa coco , also great service with the west jet . There is something wrong with the rating think at the top this review I can't mark properly...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2525 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    DO NOT GO TO THE BEACH PARTY

    Reviewed by sciranni() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My husband and I made friends from Toronto...we all decided to go to the 'Beach Party' that the entertainment staff was advertising for that night. It was 10 Pesos a person for the bus and the entry into the party. It left at 11pm and was supposed to come back at 1am. We arrived to this DISGUSTING resort that was clearly for locals....we did not see a tourist in sight...dead cockroaches on the couches in the lobby....and nobody was inside that hotel. Absolutely dead. We walked to the back where the beach was and quickly noticed what type of party this was. It was a party filled with mosquitoes, tainted alcohol, drugs, and music that was not even danceable. The organizer (Jonathan) was clearly high on something and was drunk beyond belief. We stayed 1 hour on the beach hoping that it would change...but it didn't. It then started to rain (THANKFULLY) and we decided to wait inside the lobby for the bus since it was coming back at 1am. That was fine...it was only an hour left to wait. THE BUS DRIVER DID NOT SHOW UP!!!!!!! HE WAS DRUNK AND SLEEPING INSIDE THE BUS IN A PARKING LOT AT THE END OF THE ROAD! How can you do something like this to 50 tourists????? We were basically all stranded in the middle of Cayo Coco Cuba with no bus...eaten alive by mosquitoes, bothered by locals, and had no access to water, or bathrooms. All 50 tourists were STRANDED outside. The organizer Jonathan finally showed his face and he basically said he didn't know where the driver was. Needless to say, Jonathan couldn't even stand upright on two feet for how high and drunk he was. After all of the commotion that we were making, another bus driver was kind enough to bring all of us back to our CRAPPY resort at 3am. 10 Pesos spent for NOTHING. Jonathan did not show his face for the next 2 days....when he came back he came up to our group and tried to explain the situation from the other night...and was telling us that we shouldn't be mad at him. Really? You're responsible for 50 tourists in CUBA and that is how you show organization and responsibility? Please....do me a favour, buddy.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Diapers to Dentures - 12 people ages 8 months to 80 years.

    Reviewed by Ashley C() on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Epic Vacation! This trip was a once in a lifetime vacation. We spoke with the hotel prior to going to make sure we had as smooth a trip as possible with a large group. Overall - it was amazing! The food was good. The a la carte Japanese was a fun experience. The 24 hour snack bar had amazing burgers & fries. The pizza restaurant near the beach was sooooo good - ok too good. The lobby bar had wonderful drink choices and great service. The pool was excellent with a great area that was shallow for the babies to play in. The kids LOVED the blow up Sinking Ship slide and the bouncy maze was a hit too. There was an ice cream bar open during the day to get a cold treat. The night entertainment was fun - the kids loved the preshow for kids to sing & dance. The adult shows were great - the water one in the pool was truly amazing. The guys really enjoyed the variety of sport & drink bars (gin bar particularly). The beach is to die for - white sand... ocean tealy-blue crystal clear water... The rooms were perfect. The layout of the resort was accessible for walkers and strollers. The staff everywhere were great. Honestly there is not much to complain about - mosquitoes happen... rainy days are impossible to predict... a bit of off season construction but nothing to ruin the trip. The last day at the resort after we checked out, our flight got delayed due to weather in Canada... we learned that there was a massive snow storm in Toronto and we were unable to fly home. The resort and Sunwing got us back in rooms for the night and accomodated us for the extra night. It all makes a great story. We would absolutely consider doing a return trip next year!!!

    I keep going back because of the staff, the sun, the beach and the relaxation. You aren't a number at this resort

    Reviewed by Nora M(Dartmouth, Canada) on Jul 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The #1 reason I continue to come to my "Cuba" home is because of the staff at the resort. I have made many friendships with many of them over the last 5 years. I have been there 16 times in the last 5 years. They are the #1 reason why. You can always go to a resort and enjoy it, but you aren't a number at the Playa. The beach, one of the most beautiful I have been to in the Caribbean. And of course Pilar Beach is one of the top 10 in the world. The Playa is small, about 305 rooms, which means you are never a number there. The resort is small which I enjoy as it is a 5-10 minute walk from one end to the other. I've been at resorts where you are looking for golf carts to take you from one end to the other. There is no need of that at the Playa. Guest Service staff - work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay and to ensure you are happy during your stay. If you take a problem to them, they resolve it very quickly. They are the staff members on the right side at the desk with the computer (not the reception staff). The staff members include Yenny, Ariana, Alandro. Staff - amazing people. They are the most genuine I have met. 99% of them are the most honest people and that one 1%, well no worry, we have them in every country so koodoos to the staff that are amazing. Food - this is always a big thing with many people who go to Cuba. Resort food from one resort to the other; whether a 3.5 star or a 5 star don't seem to change much from one to the other. For us, we don't go to Cuba looking for anything other then the basic. We do bring our own ketchup and salad dressing. However, they do have catsup and oil/vinegar dressing. That is our one vice food wise. The thing is you can always get fresh as well, the cooks are there for each meal at the buffets and can make you what you want at their stations. There is always something that you have to eat, we aren't picky (except I'm from Nova Scotia and do not eat fish - if you like fish there is always loads of choice). Rooms - our rooms have always been clean. You do, depending on the weather, might have mildew smells. This is only because the rooms are closed up and moisture in the air as it is the tropics. Open up the balcony doors and it will air out very fast. Entertainers - day/evening. The entertainers when we were there, were off as it was low season. Only so many remain during low season, but most are back at the resort once fall arrives in Canada. Entertainment - these folks are very dedicated and hard working. The staff have had some issues with their employer (the dancers etc are not Playa staff, they are staff through another company). But when we were there they were all back to work and having shows. Ice Cream Parlour - yes there is one and the ice cream is amazing. Bugs - I was there on June 8th to 15th. I got 2 mosquito bites. That was it. However, I a few other guests had a bit more, but they didn't seem ferocious during our stay. One good piece of advice is Do not take your beach towels to the beach. The reason for that is noseeums. They are a microscopic bug that acts like a mosquito and if you have them on your towel, they go to the room with you. Excursions - we went to the Zoo in Ciego de Avila. We didn't even know there was one there. It's certainly not the Ritz but we loved it. They have a Hippo and a Giraffe. Anyone from Toronto and Montreal may not be impressed because you guys have those in your zoos, but Nova Scotia doesn't and we really enjoyed it. As well, you can feed them without anyone yelling at you. The giraffe was as sweet as anything and loved bananas. The hippo enjoyed crackers. You can't touch him, but he is within the 2nd fencing and loves to open his mouth for some treats. :) Enjoy your stay when you are there, remember if you have an issue - it should be taken to the staff at Guest Services. The staff at the reception only take any info if after 11 pm to 7 am. If you have left any info at the reception, just follow up with GS the next morning. Enjoy your trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Cuba all inclusive

    Reviewed by nickfreke(Worthing, United Kingdom) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Hotel was clean and all staff were superb - from the maids to the waiters. The pool and surrounding areas were more than adequate and enough sunbeds for the amount of people in residence. There were two types of accommodation. Blocks of 4 and 6 rooms within the grounds and the more expensive rooms overlooking the lagoon. We had the room in the blocks and had a large king size bed, tv, kettle and small patio area. These rooms were more than adequate although the curtains didn't fit properly and the bathroom was grubby but clean. The food was good but became a little repetitive and the soup was made up of the food left from the previous day. There was enough sunbeds on the beautiful beach but the first 40 or so were reserved with towels every morning by 07.30. Couldn't blame the Germans this time!!! The biggest disappointment was the evening entertainment in the bar. At best a goodish jazz band, at worst a poor karaoke singer banging out English songs in broken English!! Most residence ended up with upset stomachs and a lot of the conversation revolved around the number of gnat bites people received. On the whole, this was good value for money and a lot of people have been many times but quite a few would not return!

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by jstach() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I'm sure it's great in high season, but in the low season there is barely anyone there, there's no notice if they move lunch/dinner from the main buffet hall to the snack bar, you just have to wander around looking. The nightly show was often entertaining, but not very serious about start time. would count down "5 more minutes!" but would actually be 20min later it would start. sometimes started at 10, sometimes 10:30, sometimes we got tired of waiting. no mint for mojitos, times of business for stuff like stores and ice cream shops were not regular and often not open when it was supposed to be, rarely anyone working the swim up bar in the pool. the ocean is warmer than evening showers, the staff was amazing though and is the only highlight of the resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX