Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
    6. Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Loved every single detail of our holiday! Perfect getaway to the sun!

    Reviewed by M on Jan 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Would go back to this hotel in an instant! It wasn't your typical all-inclusive, but was much better and exactly what we were looking for. Our room and hotel were incredibly clean, we enjoyed the traditional Mexican food, and never felt like there wasn't something we couldn't eat. The shuttle to the beach club was constant so the longest we ever had to wait was 10 min. We loved being right in the town, and would walk around every night. There weren't many other Canadians staying here, which didn't bother us at all, but loved how the staff were constantly trying to make us feel at home. The beach is beautiful and we loved swimming here every day. Its not the greatest for walking, but its not that busy and we always had an umbrella and beach chairs. Bernice was our WestJet rep/contact at the hotel and she was so helpful and lovely. Alex was our guide while out on our snorkelling/sailing excursion and he was also so fantastic. It is a smaller hotel but has everything you need....Best winter escape we have ever been on!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Good location, awful food, same thing for 14 days. Only book the room. Not the all inclusive option.

    Reviewed by Grace of God on Dec 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Very basic room. Beach and pool area nice. Food awful. We had the same thing every day for breakfast, same thing every day for lunch. Pretty much the same for supper, with a few adjustments, but the food was not good. I would only book the room, not the all inclusive option. Talked to several people across at the the Holiday Inn. They said their food was fantastic and different every day.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    We loved our vacation and the staff are truly incredible!!

    Reviewed by Kelly & Ken on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel is a little dated but extremely clean. Very Mexican. The staff are better than 5 star! Can always find something to eat. The only negative review would be the beach chairs. They need to be upgraded. Excellent value for the $.

    What to expect (based on 542 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Value and Service

    Reviewed by 28Pierre238(Toronto, Canada) on Dec 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are greeted nicely when we arrive, with welcoming drinks and chocolate strawberries. Staff are very nice and helpful.The restaurant, both at the hotel and beach club are always there to help and meet your needs. Room is well kept and clean though it might need some maintenance work. Have a room facing the street but not too much traffic noise during the night. It is nice to have a walkout terrace but cigarette smoke from either side is a nuisance. The beach club is very nice and the life guard is always around to help. The water is a bit rough to swim though we are told that there are other bays that have calmer water. The staff is excellent. The food at the restaurant and beach club is average and bordering boring. Same boiled vegetable at dinner every night. Same salad and soup at lunch everyday. They make an effort to have a different theme for dinner every night. Wish they have fresh fruits (sometimes) and different cooked vegetables at dinner. Hot coffee and tea available at the hotel bar during the day might not be a bad idea. The live music at the lobby during evening is great, providing some entertainment. Easy walk to La Crucecita downtown to do some shopping,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    GREAT HOTEL WITH A MEXICAN FLAIR

    Reviewed by brucetrail2(Kitchener) on Dec 06, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay here very much. Decided very last-minute because the weather in Ontario was very dull and dreary. When we arrived we had a room overlooking the street. Next morning we were moved to a lovely room overlooking the pool and garden with a huge balcony where we could sit out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was OK - lots of variety - could always find something you liked. Could also order from a limited a'la'carte menu at the hotel or the beach club. Beach club was very nice with palapas, loungers and a nice pool. Water was a little rough but beautiful view and you could walk about 15 min. on the beach one way. Many people we met come back here year after year - can see why. A little too hot and humid for me this time of year but would come back in January and February when it is a little cooler. Huatulco is very eco-friendly and clean - lots of recycling bins everywhere. The location of the hotel is very good. Lots of places to walk - not out in the middle of nowhere.

    Service makes this hotel

    Reviewed by 256190(Saskatoon, Canada) on Dec 03, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We truly enjoyed our visit primarily because of the staff. Everyone was very happy and willing to do whatever they could to please. This would not be a resort for many travellers from Canada or U.S. We enjoy feeling that we are in Mexico and having foods which are local as opposed to the big fancy resorts that offer bland north american meals laid out on fancy buffets. The buffet is small here but flavours are good. I would however choose to leave the resort on the oriental night and the Italian night. Morning coffee is good and we enjoy ours strong which the server went out of his way to get for us. The fresh orange juice is excellant and horchata good. We would of preferred the juices to be colder but on Mexican time the machines have only just been turned on. You can order food from a menu( basic ) at the beach club during the afternoon and I believe this menu is also at the hotel during the afternoon. Buffet is served for breakfast and dinner daily at the hotel. For lunch the buffet is at the beach club. Oaxacan night is the most outstanding food ( Tuesday). Excellant black mole. Even though the dining is buffet you will still receive excellant service. The rooms are where you realize this is a lower end property. Lighting is very poor, not adequate to read in bed. The beds are hard and pillows lumpy covered by only a sheet and thin spread be prepared to turn off the air conditioning while you sleep. The air conditioner does however work well and will keep the temperature very cool. The shower has plenty of pressure and lots of hot water but even with the curtain well closed will end up with vast quantities of water all over the floor. A lovely fresh flower arrangement and fruit plate was in our room on arrival ( nice touch). The room maid very efficiently had our room in good order daily and seemed to manage this at a good time of day for us. Front desk was friendly and efficient fir check in and check out. All the workers were smiling and friendly. The acoustics of the dining area were similar to a school gymnasium so eating outside by the pool we found preferable. We had a wonderful week at castillo and would definately return if we are able.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    A True Mexican hotel

    Reviewed by Richard S(Kitchener, Canada) on Nov 24, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All the employees at this hotel go out of their way to make your visit one you never forget. It is a real pleasure to visit a country and feel you are in another land. Meals at the hotel and its beach club are 5 star. This hotel is a real gem.

    Our Favourite Hotel!

    Reviewed by SuzVic(Victoria, Canada) on Oct 22, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We look forward to our 9th visit to the Hotel Castillo Huatulco in January 2019, when we will stay for a month. As you can tell with many other reviews, the staff, many of whom have been there for a number of years, are truly outstanding both in their service, kindness and overall welcoming attitudes. Keep in mind, when tipping the staff – they are unable to change coins either CAD or USD at the banks. The hotel is well run and the rooms clean. The food is good Mexican fare and the breakfasts can be made to order in the restaurant The Beach club is unrivalled, with lunch and snacks available all afternoon. In addition, there is food/drinks service if you prefer to sit under a Palapa right on the beach. Walking the beach from one end to the other is a delight. The ocean, however, can be quite rough, with big waves, so not the best for children, however, the pool at the restaurant is perfect for all ages. A special Beach Club highlight is the evening buffet dinner and dancing, where it seems almost everyone participates on the dance floor! We always meet new friends, both Mexican and N. Americans and look forward to our yearly visit during the depths of our Canadian winter!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX