Aston at the Maui Banyan Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Across the road from 3 great Kihei beaches, restaurants and food/shopping close by .. You MUST spend the extra for a deluxe room!!

    Reviewed by Doug Blades on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with our 2 teen-age kids (1 bedroom kitchen unit was P407 and attached lock-out unit with 2 double beds for the kids was P407A) The whole unit was very roomy and had a nice balcony with partial ocean view (given as an upgrade though) this particular unit is slightly below my expectations for a standard room. We did ask about the "deluxe" units and they are units that have been more recently renovated and should absolutely be your pick if you want a true 3+ rating. You could definitely see the difference in units when the hall doors were open for the house keeping staff during the day. All the staff were great and did their best to provide you with a great experience. The property itself is truly beautiful and the grounds keeping staff do an awesome job manicuring everything and keeping the pool and BBQ areas perfect. Location across from Kamaole 2 beach is primo! The buildings were built in 1990/91 and the room units we stayed in (P407 & P407A) appears to have had very little done to them renovation wise since 1991. Carpet was dead and needs to be replaced (maybe try tile or lino for sand coming in off the beach ??) Walls look like they were spot re-painted/patched sporadically, a few pictures were actually painted around while they must have been left on the wall. One of the burners on the stove didn't work and shows its 1991 vintage. Bi-fold closet doors were NOT hung with care in P407A. All of the above could be overlooked because the unit was roomy and did the trick. But .. shame on the owner of this unit, as the bed in master bedroom is right sacked. My back was so sore after 2 nights, I slept on the pull out sofa and everyone knows how great a pull out sofa is. On the 3rd night, I asked house keeping if they could swap out the mattress and they graciously put a foam pad unit under the sheets and gave me a thick blanket to sleep on ... this and some Aleve tablets got me thru the rest of the week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 838 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Comfortable condo

    Reviewed by Jocegabe123() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were here for a week, family of 5 (17, 14, and a 10 yr old) we had a 2 bedroom standard. It was upgraded a bit with new counter tops and fridge and stove, no tub, just showers and an older washer/dryer that I used once but it didn't drain the water good enough. The beds were comfortable enough for us and the sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable too. We tried both pools which are identical and we bbq'ed one night as well and my hubby was impressed how clean the bbq's were. It was a beautiful resort with a lot of colorful flowers, and we also rented beach chairs, snorkel equipment and an umbrella from the activities guy who was very friendly as well. Our room was in the T building, facing the parking lot in the very far corner and it was quiet and with the trees In front of the balcony, we had a lot of privacy. The rooms facing the pools didnt have as much privacy I noticed. All in all we liked the condo and if we came back we would think of staying here again. We booked through Westjet Vacations.

    Very comfortable

    Reviewed by lbernad(Balcarce, Argentina) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My friend and I stayed at apartment P205. Although we asked for twin beds there was a king bed that work just fine. The room had a view to the gardens but you could also see the ocean. It had everything for cooking and cleaning so it was fully equipped.

    WORST. PLACE. EVER

    Reviewed by Art1Frank4124() on Mar 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Total crap hole and the people that work there are incredibly rude. Warning do NOT stay here. They charge a $35 resort fee for some unknown reason to boot. The rooms aren't available until 4pm, and they won't let you check baggage.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Nice but could have been better

    Reviewed by 747codyc(Detroit, Michigan) on Mar 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Pros: Close proximity to the beach, restaurants and stores. Pool/Hot Tub areas are great, beautifully landscaped and grilles throughout the property are great for cookouts. Cons: housekeeping is inconsistent, parking is inconvenient and they make you evacuate the pool area at 10PM and are strict about it, which is early. Our unit doesnt have an ice maker and there are no others on the property. We paid extra for an "ocean view" which you can only see by leaning over the deck railing and looking at a 90 degree angle to the right. We also paid for a premium room, but found it to be dated. Friends of ours were here at the same time and paid less but had an upgraded and modern unit.

    Do your research!

    Reviewed by 691garyc(Helena, Montana) on Mar 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our first trip to Maui. We came with our grown children and two other couples. The Aston was picked by our friends. So we chose an "upgraded" room with "ocean view". First of all the condo is very tired and dirty, it is cleaned regularly but years of use dirty is what I mean, I would this condo has never been updated from the carpet, appliances, and furniture all very dated. The air conditioning is awful, old rusty units in the wall, and when you sit on the undersized deck they are right there, so we had to turn them off to talk on the deck. The refrigerator had no ice maker. Our friends had standard rooms that had been updated, and were much better. The ocean view is a joke, from the deck you can see the ocean if you lean over the railing that's about it. The location is great, parking is terrible. We had a great time in Maui, but there much nicer places than this. There should be a requirement for owners of these condos to keep them somewhat updated!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX