Aston Kaanapali Shores Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Nice Resort...but the beach is Gone!

    Reviewed by Deegan Pope on Jun 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    The only issue is there is NO BEACH anymore. You can't even go in the water. It's all jagged lava rock. Where the beach used to be there is now a wall that the water breaks onto and when the tide is low it is all rocks. Apparently there was a storm and the big rollers dug out all the sand in late 2014. Disappointed as the main thing we specified with westjet was we wanted direct beach access and they suggested this place. Otherwise, the staff was excellent. We booked 3 Condos all of which were really nice. Ours had some nice turtles tiled into the flooring. Our kids loved the pool which had lit up water spouts at night and a mini volcano and a water fall. We pretty much spent all our time in the pool when we were at the hotel. The hotel had lots of free things like Free Movie/PS3 rental machines, great tennis courts and equipement, free scuba lessons and hula lessons. Generally the staff and management are top notch.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Had an amazing time in Maui and enjoyed our stay at thIs resort!

    Reviewed by Jadetrix on Mar 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from our second trip to Maui, first trip in 2011 and the first time we stayed at Aston Kaanapali Shores. Overall, my husband and I were very happy with the resort. I will agree with the other comments on the annoying $18/day resort fee and $9/day parking fee. The location is super convenient to a shopping area across the street, including groceries, fast food, clothing and breakfast and coffee shop. Kaanapali is a great area to be on Maui. Close to many amazing beaches!! The staff at Aston Kaanapali Shores were top notch! We requested a top floor suite which was available the second day of our trip. The move was worth it The new suite had a beautiful garden/pool and ocean view! Our studio kitchen was stocked with the basics. It pretty had much everything for utensils and cooking/eating. One thing we were surprised to find it lacking was salt and pepper. The resort did supply soap for the hand washing dishes and for the dishwasher. Everyday we got fresh bathroom and kitchen towels as well. The room was kept nice and clean and had modern updates. The resort itself has beautiful gardens and two pools and two hot tubs. The pools were great, the one hot tub in the garden area was in need of a cleaning, but the other hot tub by the beach pool was sparkling clean. The grounds were well maintained. The resort also has a two convenience stores with sundries. The pool/beach restaurant has great service and the food was good. Nothing exceptional and on the pricey side. Just an FYI in general nothing to do with this resort , on this trip we found the traffic from the airport to Northwest Maui to be painfully slow. We had to slow down to a turtles pace of 20-30 miles, even stopping completely a few times. The worst times to travel seem to be around 2:30pm-6pm daily. Overall, we would stay at Aston Kaanapali Shores again and I would recommend it for anyone thinking about staying at this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2842 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Location, Service - OK rooms

    Reviewed by LilAznSushi(Burnaby, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for 4 nights. Got upgraded to a two bedroom garden view room. The view from the room was amazing. Birds chirp at night and in the morning. The hotel is minutes away from Lahaina and some really good restaurants and beaches around. Onsite there really is no beach to do anything. Their hot tub temperature is subpar and the cleanest of their rooms were a little old and faded. But their customer service is amazing. They have great activities to do everyday such as lei making and ukulele lessons. The price matched what we got for a 3.5 star hotel. So I thought the value is fair.

    Very nice

    Reviewed by P2205DCkellyd(Melbourne, Australia) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed one night here. The room was very comfortable with all the great amenities. Washing machine, dryer and DVD hire, great for family holidays. Very close to the shops and very easy to get buses around the Island. The reception staff were 50%excellent and 50% really didn’t want to be there. Overall, a very comfortable stay and worth it’s fees.

    Not worth your money - Ocean view upgrade not worth it either

    Reviewed by rebadottcom(Dallas, Texas) on Mar 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Aston Kaanapali was a surprisingly disappointing and expensive stay based on our experience. The pictures in the website do not show the true state of this hotel. As seen in the photos, the room was understandably old, but they are maintained pretty clean. This was expected. We did upgrade to have an Ocean View room and honestly did not think it was worth the extra $$$$. What was surprising was to see (1) basically no sand beach access from the hotel, (2) a dirty hot tub with visible bubbles laden with sunblock from previous guests, (3) a "resort" pool with missing tiles on the floor deeming it hazardous for unsuspecting feet, (4) a horrific gym stuck in the 80s and falling apart, and (5) a daily fee per guest to even use that horrendous gym. The staff were nice and let us do a late check-out without additional fees. But sadly... our last moment with Aston Kanaapali Shores will be of one of the bell boys ruining a recently purchased poster (that I tried so hard to keep flat) by loading up our luggage on TOP of that poster (who knows why). The resort rates and EXTRA fees (daily parking fee, daily resort fee, daily gym per person) are enormous for the things that you get. Though the booking process with costco travel was great, the product it delivered was not.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Kannapali Shores Resort: What You Need to Know!

    Reviewed by BlocB(Edmonton, Canada) on Mar 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We decided to take a break from Puerto Vallarta and instead spend February in Maui. First of all, if you have not figured it out as yet, Maui is about twice as expensive as a similar long term stay in Mexico. Everything is more expense than home (Edmonton, Alberta) except for gasoline and wine. The resort is clean and well-maintained except it needs a complete make-over: the suites and hallways are rather ‘drab’. The resort contains many ocean view suites. And the views are stunning. Having said that, the former beach in front of the resort has washed out. It is somewhat exposed at low tide. To access a ‘real’ beach, you can either walk or drive to a public beach either north or south of the Resort. Note that public beach parking is limited. Difficult to obtain on weekends with the locals taking advantage of them. Despite no immediate beach access, we liked the resort’s location adjacent to a community just north of Kannapali Beach. We had easy walking access to all amenities in the marketplace across the street. Our biggest surprise was the resort and parking fees, especially since we were not advised of them. They added an additional $1,000US to our stay cost. Having said that, the service is friendly, efficient and competent. The resort restaurant is adequate and compares well to similar in the area. In our opinion, it is not a ‘go to’ restaurant for a special night out. You should also know that we suspect my wife’s credit card was stolen from our suite. We are pretty certain we left it on the night table forgetting to lock it in the safe: a lesson learned that we will not forget! Would we stay at the Kannapali Shores again: Quite possible. Now that we know the area, we would investigate other long term accommodation to determine whether similar or better might be available at a lower price. Having said that, we are already booked to return to Puerto Vallarta next February.

    Liked this resort so much we have stayed there 3 years in a row

    Reviewed by Ambre H(Three Hills, Canada) on Feb 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have stayed here with our 2 teenage children three years running because we love the feeling at this resort, it has a wonderful vibe. Met a lot of friendly people there and the staff is wonderful. The restaurant is amazing with great views of the ocean while you dine on some pretty great, well priced food. The grounds are beautiful, yes (after reading some reviews) the birds that come to roost at night are loud, but only briefly and it's nature!!!! Are there some bugs, yes it's the tropics. Everything is kept clean by the hard working staff. The rooms are everything you need with a nice kitchen and washer and dryer. My only criticism is the beds could use some updating especially the pull out couch and some extra blankets would be nice. Mahalo to all the staff there for making us feel right at home. Counting the days until we can go back

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX