Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    AMAZING ISLAND AND SIMPLY PARADISE BY FAR SAVING UP TO GO AGAIN ONE DAY SOON

    Reviewed by SYNTAR on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Wedding

    THE BEST VACATION WE HAVE EVERY TAKEN MAUI IS PARADISE BY FAR

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6189 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great beach hotel w lots of atmosphere

    Reviewed by Utravelingmatt(Raton, New Mexico) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    If you are looking for a high end resort hotel this is not it. This is a very nice local color beach hotel. It is older but well maintained and a great value. They have many activities, including a free nightly Hawaiian music show, about the Hawaiian culture that are free or very inexpensive. Stayed at the fancier places for 20 years. Really like this hotel!

    Truly the most Hawaiian of the surrounding hotels

    Reviewed by VSTreadway(Bellingham, Washington) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    On arrival our rooms were not ready, which was a bummer considering traveling with kids was challenging, it was very hot and humid and traffic getting there was slow. Yet the staff was friendly and set our bags aside, allowed us space to change into swimsuits and hit the beach right away! The rooms were a good size, we had a ground level room opening out into the gorgeous and lush courtyard. The rooms were not 4 star, more like a hawaiian surf shack decor (bit dated) but adequately clean and air conditioned. Staff was incredibly friendly and kind. There were so many cultural activities offered for either free or a small materials fee. We learned the hula, the language, native fibers weaving and printing. Our kids had the best time with their "passport" program, having to go around on a scavenger hunt and win prizes. Daily the hotel brought in local artisans who sold their crafts and affordable prices. The Tiki Terrace open air restaurant had delicious food and nightly entertainment. We loved this hotel. It's very true when they say it's the "most Hawaiian hotel" it truly is and gave us a one of a kind Maui experience. Plus you can't beat that it's located right next to Black Rock with which offers great snorkeling and turtle sightings! We will return soon.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Not staying there again

    Reviewed by azblaze() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The rooms were very outdated, had black moldy walls. Also had all the bugs and lizards you would want in a hotel room. We actually had to chase a lizard out of our bed one night before we could sleep, of course I couldn’t sleep after that! The beds were so unbelievably uncomfortable. The only plus side was their location. Their courtyard is also very nice. Tiki Terrace restaurant seems to offer a variety of very bland, tasteless food. Their breakfast menu is same every day with occasional change up of meat if you like pork stew for you breakfast.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Good Honeymoon

    Reviewed by francescamigliori90() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very nice hotel next to the Ocean, the most Hawaiian nearby. Really friendly staff, good service, good facilities, a lot of provided experience. Aloha spirit was part of our journey! Every night we found a sweet message to think about it about life and love. Thank you Aloha

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Where has ALOHA gone?

    Reviewed by LauraDiItaly(United States) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I am feeling really sorry and sad writing this review. Husband and myself have been repeated guest at KBH for many years,it was our “home away from home” on Maui. Starting in July we exchanged emails with KBH Reservations Dep. In order to book iur 45th wedding anniversary on next March. We got a first answer, giving us the LEI ALOHA rates for returning guests; on August 3rd husband wrote again, giving the EXACT dates we wanted to stay at KBH. As we did not get any answer from Reservations Dep. (though they had sent us the “Read receipt”), we sent another email on August 14th, asking PLEASE to answer,as we needed to secure out intercontinental flights asap. Again, all we got is a “read receipt”, no answer, no effort to make contact,no phone calls ,nothing. Where has ALOHA gone? Is THIS the “Most Hawaiian hotel” we used to consider HOME? Bye bye,KBH !! We have just booked our stay with a nearby VERY GOOD HOTEL, willing to have us as “honoured guests”, with special rates and perks. THANK YOU to the staff, which on past years made our stays very pleasant. Perhaps … the Reservations Department is sleeping on office hours ..

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX