The Coral at Atlantis

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    O

    Great vacation thru Westjet!

    Reviewed by OttawanFamily on Mar 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got back from a week stay at the Coral. We loved it and had a great time. The beach is beautiful, the pools are great and this is a very family friendly resort. Lots of families around with kid friendly zero entry pools and all kinds of sea life in the aquarium and various ponds around the property. As you'll see from reviews on tripadvisor, this resort is expensive. However, we were really happy with our westjet package. All of the fees that people complained about were included in our package. So, although it was a pricey vacation upfront we were not shocked with a large bill when we checked out. We had read it was expensive so we were prepared for that. A single drink at the bar can run you about $18 US after tax and (mandatory) tip. We did the gourmet meal plan, which is a LOT of food but again I liked that it was paid for in advance so no trying to seek out cheap food on an expensive resort- much more relaxed this way for us. I think a lot of people would find that the meal plan is too much food (appetizer, entr?e and dessert at a fancy-ish restaurant EVERY night), but it worked out for us. The only drawback of our trip is that we had an awful view from our room. We paid for the "premium" terrace view and ended up with a view of mostly the loading dock for the hotel. If we turned to one side we could see the Royal and tiny bits of the ocean. It was disappointing. I tried to request a better room when we got there but they said they didn't have anything. Lots of other reviewers mention that the higher floors have great views and if you look at a map of the hotel you'll see that only a small number of rooms have the loading dock view, we just got unlucky. The other thing worth mentioning is that all the pools close at 5pm which was a bit of a letdown. This place does have a bit of a Vegas-y feel, and I think they're trying to coerce people to go inside and hit the casino and spend money etc, but it would have been nice if the pools were open a bit longer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2982 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    What an awesome vacation in Paradise Island!

    Reviewed by AnneinGreece(Athens, Greece) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Coral at Atlantis was such a fabulous property. We were so happy to have chosen the coral - as we were so close to the beach and not right in the chaos of the royal towers/water slides. Our room was fantastic and just perfect for a family of four!!!! It was paradise!

    Can’t sleep at night, extremely noisy

    Reviewed by Luisft75(New York City, New York) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Music running on the pool all night and we could here it inside our room really loud. When asking at front desk to turn it off at 3am, after trying hardly to sleep, answer was that they couldn’t get a reply back from the guy responsible to turn it off, due to the time. A hotel this size has only one person that can turn music off? Impossible to believe it.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Great location and water activities but all else fails to meet expectations

    Reviewed by Jim Z(New York City, New York) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Second time to Atlantis and the room and water activities were awesome. Room was newly renovated with a great view. Balance of hotel is dated and needs a better upgrade than just paint. Maybe also change out the carpet on all floors? Food was mixed with a great meal at Olives and Bahamian Club. Extremely disappointed in Cafe D'Angelo. Staff attempts to be friendly but found that they are not well trained and several lacked basic knowledge of the resort. Pool at the Coral is nice but getting a chair is like getting into a fist fight on a daily basis. No organization and poorly managed. POS system at every place to buy something is old and needs updating. Lines were created just by the amount of printing they do of receipts. Surprised with the quality of service with a Marriott property as everywhere I stay is generally great. I had two problems while I stayed and to get resolution was very time consuming and took multiple individuals to resolve. Issue like this with other Marriott properties are resolved in minutes and usually buy one person. We ran into a family we know from back home and asked them if they felt the same way and they agreed. Finally the wifi is from 2010 and needs to be updated.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Don’t Waste Your Money- horrible service, rundown property, and stuff stolen from our locked safe- don’t deserve 1 star

    Reviewed by ctraveler2016(Charlotte, North Carolina) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We have been to Atlantis many times since they opened. We had heard that things had gone downhill for a while but that they were getting better since Marriott had purchased the property. Not true- do not believe the good reviews. Even though the appearance of the property was disappointing on first arrival, I tried to keep my hopes up. Lots of neglected spaces, peeling paint, musty and mildew smelling carpets and curtains, rust stains everywhere, stinky marine habitats, aquariums so dirty you can barely see the fish, I could go on and on. So disappointing since we remember how fantastic this place was when it first opened. When we got to our room, it was obvious the door had been kicked in. The bar lock was dangling by one screw and immediately fell off the door when my husband touched it. The big lock with the hotel key card reader had also been busted through and was basically spackled on- my nine year old could have pushed the locked door open. They switched us to a new room after a couple nights, the lock worked but we had two pairs of Beats headphones stolen from our locked room safe. They told us to keep all valuables in the safe because of theft, but what is the point when the staff just breaks into the safe too?? My husband is currently dealing with the situation and wasting his vacation time because they are basically brushing him off because this is such a common occurrence. Theft is a HUGE problem here- stuff is stolen from chairs at the pool all the time. I’m carrying all of our valuables around with me and can’t get on any slides because I can’t even leave our stuff in our LOCKED SAFE in our LOCKED ROOM without it being stolen!!!! As if they weren’t already robbing you blind with how much they charge for everything here!! Service is horrible- tip is already included so no one even tries to provide decent service. At the cafe/gelato place in the lobby of The Coral, I have been told on three separate occasions now that they were “all out” of something (vanilla or chocolate gelato, plain bagels, etc) so I had to order something else- then they immediately bring out the thing they were just “all out” of from directly under the cabinet where they were standing! The guy behind me asked for something and she said we’re all out so he said are you really all out or do you have more in the back? She said “we might have more in five minutes so if you go back to the back of the line (which he had just waited in for 30 minutes) we might have some when you get back up to the front.” What kind of service is this?? This is how it is everywhere here- they are automatically given a 15% tip so they provide no service at all. All of the food and activities here are ridiculously overpriced. All of the restaurants have no reservations available so you have to take whatever you can get. It’s just my husband and I and our two boys who share a meal and our dinner checks have all been $200-$400 without drinks. Lunch at the “cheap” poolside place was $80 for a wrap, two burgers, a hot dog and fries. A domestic beer is $8-10 and a mixed drink starts at about $15. Then they add gratuity and VAT tax to everything. So you’re basically paying $10,000-12,000 for a week here and you are getting your stuff stolen from your locked safe in your locked room- NOT ACCEPTABLE. My husband and boys did the sea lion experience and the dolphin experience at Dolphin Cay for $150 for each experience for each person- about $1000 for about 10-15 minutes of interaction with the animals (most of which was just “petting time”) and they wouldn’t even let me watch them from the shore unless I paid the $18 fee to stand on the beach!! The lines for the water slides are insane because they let tons of cruise ship passengers buy a day pass to the park for around $160 dollars a day- so even though you are paying a CRAZY amount to stay at this run down hotel and getting charged insane “RESORT FEES”, you can’t even get on any of the slides without waiting an hour!! Pools are dirty and some just had holes on the bottom. Some guy at the Coral pool came out of the water with blood gushing out of his foot. Waterslides- especially River Rapids- are not safe- people getting tossed out of their rafts and left with lots of bleeding gashes and bruises. Saw a lot of heads getting slammed into rocks and busted feet. Do not waste your time or money coming to this place. My husband just came back and said they basically are doing nothing about the staff stealing $700 worth of Beats headphones from our locked safe. Unfortunately I read a lot of reviews that said the same. Go to Baha Mar- it looked much nicer on the drive here. Such a major disappointment.

    Nice and new with great service!

    Reviewed by katieo885(Winston Salem, North Carolina) on Apr 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    You can definitely tell that they have redone the hotel recently. The rooms are nice and newly appointed with clean fixtures in the bathrooms. It isn’t anything fancy... about the same as a Courtyard by Marriott. The people in the lobby and at the Concierge desk are wonderful and friendly. Check in and out was easy and stress free. We had a problem with our air conditioner in our room and called the front desk who said they would send someone to fix it. It was ALL fixed and ice cold by the time we got home from dinner! The best part is the location right by the beach. Easy walk to the sand and surf! The snack bar in the hotel lobby is great and so much less busy than the one at The Royal. The only bad comment I would have is that the pillows on the bed were terrible... I mean really bad!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX