Disney's Art of Animation Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    This Hotel is perfect for the kids!

    Reviewed by Josh on Nov 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wonderful all the magic of Disney and it's movies all in one place! Also very easy to get from one park to the next!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8050 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great choice for families!

    Reviewed by Lucrown(Chillicothe, Texas) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was visiting Disney World with my daughter, my 18 year old granddaughter and two of her friends. The Lion King suite was perfect for us. It had one bedroom and a living/dining area with a comfy couch bed and a Murphy bed. There were two bathrooms, which was perfect. There was even enough room for my EVC scooter parking in the room! The resort is well themed and has a great food court. Also had a good selection of merchandise in the small gift shop. The main pool, which was the only one I actually saw, was beautiful and well-themed. However it was always crowded and pretty noisy. We did not notice the noise from our room as we were not directly off the pool. I would highly recommend this resort for families or parties of up to 6 people. Very convenient transportation to parks. Super nice concierge cast members. I have nothing negative to say about anything other than the noisy pool...which only means the swimmers were having a great time!

    Great for Kids, not as much for Adults

    Reviewed by ROCKintheUSA2(New Jersey) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Giving three over four because as an adult you may not like it here. Clearly it’s more for kids, but the amazing theming really makes it special. We stayed in a Cars room and although the room really felt like a Motel 6 with a Cars theme, the life sized Cars statues outside really are great. The food court was fine, although the food was pretty bland but there’s a good selection. The main pool was nice but for the people who came down early, left their towels and then leave for the day. Someone who worked there told me they are not allowed to remove towels. Not great, also the Internet signal is horrendous in the rooms and spotty at the resort so makes it difficult to use the Disney app or do much of anything. The other resorts we stayed at on the trip had much better reception (both deludes). Another awful thing is that Art of Animation literally gets the last bus depot at Magic Kingdom and the second to last at Hollywood Studios. Makes it especially difficult to get out of those parks. Strange because even the cheaper value resorts get depots closer to the park entrances. Cars family suites are 350+ a night. All in, it’ great for large families but do not expect any special treatment or luxury here and expect bad Internet reception and long bus waits to and from.

    First time at a Disney Resort!

    Reviewed by 1mama2kids3passports(Atlanta, Georgia) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Disney service is unbeatable!!!! Top notch service! The room was clean and offered enough space for 2 children and 2 adults. This was our families first Disney Resort Experience, we stayed in the Cars Suite which my 11 and 8 year old loved...we also had a view of the beautiful lake and a pool right outside our suites. Extremely beautiful and fun resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great for a Value Resort

    Reviewed by hwooda(Athens, Georgia) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is the first time my family has stayed at a value resort. (My husband and I have stayed at a value before as a couple, but not with our kids up until now.) To be fair, I am a travel agent and get discounts on resorts, therefore, we have only been able to afford deluxe resorts in the past because of my occupation. This visit, we were originally booked at the Yacht Club standard room, but we backed down our resort category to a value to save money. Also, my oldest is now a tween and we needed the space a suite can offer along with two bathrooms. Because this was our first time at a value, it was my first time trying to wrangle my family with only the bus as an option for Disney transportation. Before, we had either a boat or the monorail to choose from along with the bus line option. I have to be honest and say that having only one method of transportation is very stressful. If you are going to extra magic hours in the mornings, it is a nightmare with everyone trying to hit the same bus line at the same time. For instance, the Magic Kingdom had EMH on our last day, and the line was outrageous. We wound up calling an Uber to drop us off at MK for $11. That was money well spent. We also used an Uber at night to bring us back to the resort. The pros: The resort itself is nice, the theming is great. We stayed in a Cars suite which is my favorite area. The rooms are spacious and clean. The food court has plenty of options, and the food is reasonably priced for Disney, especially if you get a whole pizza. Our favorite QS food was the giant meat ball with polenta. We walked around and saw the construction for the new sky gondola system, which should help with transportation to Epcot. The cons: One complaint we have is that for some reason the pools were closing at 8pm the second week in March. Our first two nights it was 10, and I really don't know why they changed it. There were a lot of disappointed kids and parents. I have never had bad service at Disney, and I have been going for 39 years, however, I have to say that the check-out people at the food court were some of the most unfriendly bunch I have ever seen. I realize there is a lot of frustration with the dining plan and visitors not always understanding their plan and options, but the cashiers were flat out rude, especially the closer it gets to midnight, which is when the food court is closing. Look, I realize you are tired, but so are the families who spent the entire day in the parks with their kids. Most parents are probably on their last nerve, so give us a break and be kind please. Your shift may not have been a picnic, but spending the day with children at Disney isn't always magical. Overall, I would stay at AoA again if I am on a budget or need a suite. However, I would be sure to include Uber/Lyft into my budget just in case.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    So well theamed

    Reviewed by disneyaddictweymouth(Weymouth, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in a Little Mermaid room for up to 4 people, just 2 of us so plenty of space. It may be a little snug for 4. Comfortable beds and small safe. No coffee maker as they encourage you to buy a resort refillable mug. we didn't go in the pools but we did have a walk round all the areas, Little Mermaid, Lion King, Finding Nemo and Cars. All were superbly themed with enormous statues, very clean and well maintained. We used the laundry room, I got in early and used 2 machines, pay by credit card. 2 of the 6 machines were not working and when I came back there was people waiting for a washing machine. The quick service dining location was busy and noisy, the food was generally good, the staff were efficient and friendly. We have stayed at Port Orleans French Quarter and Riverside in the past and the resort and rooms compares favourably. We would stay again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX