Iberostar Selection Playa Mita

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    Pick another resort

    Reviewed by Louie on Feb 14, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    WestJet should seriously consider reviewing this resort and dropping it from their offerings. Definitely not a 5 star. Worst resort we have booked through WestJet over 14 years.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Never again.

    Reviewed by Thomas on Dec 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Watch out. They will try to upgrade your room at check in. Do not accept as the upgrade prices are outrageous. We got sucked in and regreted it. They give no other amenities with the upgrade at all. We paid over $3000.00 to be be upgrade to the Presidential Suite and all we got was a larger room. although it was very nice. Even the miniibar did not come with liquor as promised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We love it here. This is our second time and it won?t be our last!

    Reviewed by Julie on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We absolutely love this hotel. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one. The food is amazing. The hotel and grounds are perfectly maintained. The pool is lovely. Rooms are immaculately cleaned daily and the turn down service is such a nice touch. I really cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating all the staff are and I recommend the resort without hesitation. We will be back for a third stay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Amazing experience! Nothing bad to say.

    Reviewed by Nicole on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    The staff were amazing, all amenities included - the cafe was amazing for coffee every morning. Cool billiards room to escape the heat every now and then. All restaurants had great food. Room service was fast. Amazing - planning our next vacation here already.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    First class all the way

    Reviewed by Angela on Dec 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    WOW!!! What A great place to stay..Everything N everyone was first class..

    A

    Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Andrea W on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I loved this resort. I feel like we got an amzing deal through Westjet. The flights and transfers were flawless. The resort is secluded and scenic.I was able to walk the beach for hours and see just a handful of people. The rooms are nicely furnished. Well stocked and very clean. We had fun everyday at the resort and felt no need to leave. The alcohol is "top shelf" and the food was fantastic. Even for vegetarians like me. If this resort is in your budget, do not hesitate to book! You will not regret it. I have to mention that the staff is amazing. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful.They will go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great place for all ages and totally worth the drive from PVR.

    Reviewed by Andrew on Apr 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This is one of the few resorts we've stayed at where the hotel is better in person than it looks in the photos. The resort is large enough to have lots to do and lots of space, but small enough that it didn't feel like we were constantly walking a few miles to get anywhere. We travelled Thursday to Thursday. On the Sunday of our stay, apparently that was the start of a big Spring Break week in the US according to another guest from Chicago yet our hotel wasn't overrun with spring breakers, likely on account of the higher price and the distance from the airport. This resort is perfect for families of all ages. We had our two kids 5 & 3 with us and they had a blast at the splash park and kids club, and in the pool. It was a very good mix of people: families with kids, couples without kids, young, old. It was nice to have lots for our kids to do but the place wasn't completely dominated by families with screaming kids. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4028 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Family Vacation

    Reviewed by Julie T() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We travelled to this all-inclusive resort end of April until May 6, 2019 as a family with our 14, 17, 18 & 20 year olds. We thouroughly enjoyed ourselves! Here is just our opinion on some of our experiences: Activity & Entertainment: staff were exceptional with a shout out to *Marco, *Marcello, Giovani, Johnny, Daniel, Charlie & Marina...We took part in everything from archery, beach volleyball, pingpong, darts, salsa lessons, yoga & water basketball (our fav). All a lot of fun! Free scuba diving to try in the pool by friendly and inviting instructor (sorry forget his name - but excellent) We went to all evening shows at 9:30..extremely talented performers - Wow. We enjoyed early dinners followed by amazing sunsets on the beach (Incredible), then off for a couple games of pool and then the evening show. Food: Buffet was great with a good variety of healthy & "treat" foods. Shout out to Teresa our favourite waitress. We did have other great ones but unfortunately didn't get their names. We enjoyed the a la carte dinners. Couldn't get in a couple nights but ended up getting in on cancellations or no shows (15 minute grace then they give your reservation away) or just went to the buffet for dinner. Japanese chefs were great - especially Eric - very entertaining. Steak in the steak house was disappointing but being from Alberta we are spoiled. French restaurant was excellent and great ambiance. Mexican was good as well. Coffee bar - delicious coffees also some desserts and snacks. Tania was wonderful. Poolside bar - bartenders were always running. Jesus always had great drink suggestions for us. Never had to wait long. On holidays - what's the rush anyway? Often ordered 2 drinks at a time - so delish! The Mexican restaurant beside the pool was conveniently open during the day if you need a snack or ice cream cone (so good!). Poolside staff was very quick to remove plates or empty glasses to keep things tidy. Down by the ocean another bar and you could grab a burger or bacon wrapped hotdog, fries, chips salsa & guacamole, etc. Rooms: clean and some nights and days would come back to fancy towel art. Cool temp, fans are nice, fridges always full. No complaints - maybe just make sure tile flors swept daily. Beds super comfy and sheets so soft. Gym/Spa: We didn't go to the spa but were at the gym every day. Couple times it was busy but cleared out before too long. 3-4 ellipticals, 3 treadmills , 2 bikes and numerous machines and free weights. (overlooks adjacent golf course) Delicious cucumber or orange water and a bowl of fruit for post workout. Always lots of clean towels available. Beach: Sand was great waves were great with sandy bottom in ocean - no shoes necessary for us besides hot sand - which just means hot weather! yay! Could wade out quite a long way without it being too deep. Could walk a long distance on beach. Workers worked hard to have beach chairs and umbrellas out early and always a place to sit. Some peddlers but no big deal. (Beautiful silver rings ladies!) Cons/suggestions: ***A lot of smokers everywhere. Wish there were designated smoking areas.*** We were looking forward to Coronas on the beach or at poolside but only once that we are aware of did a higher end beer cart come around with Coronas. Adding a lime to the regular beer helped but they were still a little tough. No straws which is great - but what do they do with the plastic water bottles?? I believe Recycle bins placed throughout for the amount of water bottles used, would be greatly utilized. Water bottles were in garbages everywhere. Pool tables were fun but need a little TLC. One table didn't have a full set of balls (simple fix) and both had broken sides & pockets. Another suggestion is to have more music playing around the pool area? Happy Mexican music...just a thought... All in all a fantastic family vacation! Thank you to all who made our vacation wonderful.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great vacation!

    Reviewed by KOranges3() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Like many have mentioned, this resort is on the Pacific side of Mexico and the water is not crystal clear Caribbean water obviously. This beach is still a lot of fun for swimmers, and the beach is clean and wide for walks. We really enjoyed our time at Iberostar Playa Mita. Our room was clean, check in was easy and the staff were great. The buffet is large with many options, and the theme nights offer variety. The resort itself is very beautiful and well maintained, and the rooftop bar offers sunset views. We had a perfect vacation, except for slow room service wait times.

    We loved this resort.

    Reviewed by Debbie G() on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent resort. Everything was great. Very friendly, fun staff. Food in all restaurants delicious and buffet was great. Pool was nice and grounds were beautiful. The entertainment staff were fantastic. They did so much during the day to entertain people and the shows at night were awesome. The band in the bar in evenings was really good too. Room was really nice too. Would definitely go back

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Top notch resort

    Reviewed by hot289(Kitchener, Canada) on May 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went with 6 people total. Overall a top notch resort. Really great visit, we had so much fun! I would definitely go back. Cons: wavy water in the ocean, par the course for Mexican beaches, I guess? Only 2 types of beer. I’m okay with it. But I guess some people might not like that? Construction near by. Again, it didn’t bother me, but it might annoy some. Pool bar was understaffed. But Rodjelo worked really hard and was very efficient Not enough staff serving drinks around pool and beach Pros: Buffets were quite good. Generally new items each day. Always fresh. A la carte we’re very good also. Steak restaurant wasn’t all that great. But we weren’t expecting anything amazing. The French restaurant was amazing. Duck was amazing and so was the beef. It was ironically better than the steak restaurant. We had a waiter (Anthony) there that was super professional and nice. I’d rank them: French Japanese Mexican Steak house Lots of activities from active (water basketball) to no calories burned (bingo) Staff were super friendly and nice: Marco, Marcelo, Chris. All very helpful with anything you need. Beach was wavy, but they had lots of seating and they helped sight he shade umbrellas Resort was a nice size, not too big Rooms were clean, AC worked well Night entertainment was on another level, indoor and great shows A couple things that stood out: The resort had a bottle of champagne in our room for my wife’s birthday. Didn’t request it. I guess they just realized. The air isn’t as stale as on the other side of Mexico. Don’t know if it was a timing or location thing? But there was always a nice breeze THERE WERE NO MOSQUITOES?! It was really nice not needing to put on bug spray at night. I really liked that there wasn’t the typical staff there trying to sell a timeshare. Possible it was there? But I didn’t notice.

    Nice hotel, excellent friendly staff

    Reviewed by KH_London_UK(London, UK) on May 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Only stayed a couple of days as part of a two centre trip and enjoyed our brief stay. Hotel has great amenities (four a la carte restaurants, gym, spa, pools, shops, coffee shop, bars etc) and everything is clean and well maintained. The all inclusive is very good with branded spirits, nice beer, average wine and food is plentiful and good quality and variety. The breakfast selection is great, lunch likewise and the steak restaurant was very good. Ironically only the Mexican was slightly disappointing but still ok. The beach is nice (we had a beach front room) and pool area is very large with a swim up bar, albeit with quite a few loud Americans about. We saw one show (Boogie Nights - honouring disco music) and the singing, dancing and stage show was excellent. I’d recommend going if you stay here as it was good fun. The staff are a credit to the hotel as all are friendly and very helpful. All in all I’d recommend staying if you’re in the area.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX