Iberostar Selection Bávaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    This hotel was not worth the 5 star designation, but had nice beach (fine sand, no rocks, but lots of seaweed) and great weather.

    Reviewed by Sandra on Mar 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    First room upon arrival there was water pouring out of ceiling from air conditioning vent. Second room had overwhelming moldy/mildewy stench, no other rooms stated to be available, offered dehumidifier or deodorizer. Opted for dehumidifier which lessened stench. Waited for third room next day which had strong deodorizer smell but was otherwise same layout. Both 2nd and 3rd rooms had brown stained bathtubs and 3rd room fridge did not work so kept room #2. Ants were crawling around bathroom sink. Only bottled water available to drink was that in bar fridge so had to wait a full day for room service to get bottles. Cleaning was minimal, wet towels were taken but not replaced and no clean ones were ever given. Cleaning lady helped herself to Sprite from bar fridge and left half empty bottle on counter. Westjet representative was contacted about state of room #2, said apology gift would be given, still waiting for it. This was not the renovated suite I was expecting as stated on website. Staff at buffet were unfriendly and would yell at you if you sat at wrong table or helped yourself to cutlery and napkins while waiting with full plate to start eating. Most staff were generally unfriendly. Watch out for your teenage girls - my daughter was very uncomfortable with male staff leering at her.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Always love my stay!

    Reviewed by Shirley on Oct 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have travelled the world, but always enjoy a stay at the Iberostar Bavaro. I am returning for my 5th time on Dec.01, 2018. I have learned through the years how to enjoy a vacation. Remember, you are a guest in the country you visit. If their native language is Spanish, you cannot expect them to speak or be fluent in English. Just as you would be if Dominicans visited Canada. They are hard working people, and how you treat them you will be treated in return. I smile, they smile, I remember their names, they remember my name. I'm happy to recognize workers, and they me. I am thankful for the service they give me and I show it. If you have the attitude that they are there to serve you, and you don't give friendliness back, how can that result in a good vacation for all. We are so lucky to have these wonderful experiences, and should be thankful. The Dominicans do not enjoy the lifestyle we have, and they do not respond well to pompous and demanding attittudes from some travellers. Be happy, relax, have fun, and it will come back to you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    The customer service left a lot to be desired

    Reviewed by Aruna on Apr 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We family of 3 had booked this resort through westjet vacations last week 3-7 April . Whilst the location of the resort and the structure is very appealing, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. These r some of my observations: - most staff cannot converse in English - 3 of the staff members including a guard could not give us the name of their inhouse Japanese restaurant and gave wrong directions - when I requested additional coffee creamers at 8 am, they hung up twice. Finally after getting the reception, I was told that room service staff only arrived by 9 am so I could not expect it earlier. I was flabbergasted at this as even inns have better service. - the live cooking staff handlers seemed to be totally impersonal and disinterested in their jobs. - while making dinner reservation for the Italian restaurant, i was told that as the computers were not working ,I could walk in at 8.00 pm. Despite that, I went over at 5 to book but was told that there is no problem. When I finally went at 8, they wanted reservation even though the restaurant was only 30% occupied. It was only when I really got upset that they relented. But by then, I was already put off. - at the restaurants, they take order for entree and desert at the same time, can u believe that they brought the desert even though we had not completed our main course. It was as though they were in a rush to finish. The time was only 9.45 pm. The bright side was the pristine beach and wonderful co travelers. All were mindful of each other's personal space during breakfast and courteous during our stay. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. However, I will not recommend this to anybody especially considering better options.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved everything about this vacation and will be returning!!!!

    Reviewed by Family Vacation on Oct 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The best vacation our family has ever gone on. The staff were so much fun, remembered us where ever we were in the resort from buffet to pool to the evening show. We will be back for sure. Our west jet rep Tanya went above and beyond for us. Everyone from the flights, to the excursions, the hotel staff, were fantastic. Thank you for making this the best 10 day vacation wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11376 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing resort!

    Reviewed by ao13() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We recently returned from a family trip at the Iberostar Selection Bavaro. We have vacationed at this resort many times and have never been disappointed. We travelled with two young children and they also had the time of their life. The food was always delicious, no one in our party of 9 ever felt ill either. The beach was fantastic, the pool and children water park were amazing and the a la carte restaurants were very savoury and accommodating. Kelly from guest services, with the help of Johan, helped us book all our a la carte restaurants. They both went above and beyond to ensure we got to experience most of the restaurants during our stay. Orlando the cook always made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, he was always checking up on us, even finding fruit loops at different buffets for our young children. David from the beach bar was a great bartender. Besides making fantastic drinks, he was also fun to chat with at the bar. Neuris from the beach buffet was outstanding and always had a table reserved for us with our drinks ready when we arrived for lunch. Overall, the resort is clean and beautiful. The staff were outstanding and very accommodating. The food was delicious. The beach was beautiful. The resort is closing for a few months at the end of August for renovations but we are already planning our next trip once the renovations are done!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Vacation

    Reviewed by aphotrax(Hannut, Belgium) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really enjoyed staying in the hotel. Great from the reception to the check out. With the prestige upgrade we could enjoy all restaurants and great extra services. Friendly animation team that gave us a super holiday.

    Great week

    Reviewed by christinej78() on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have returned from my 10th visit to Iberostar Selection. Had a wonderful week and can't wait to return. Many positives: Rosely checked me in at the front desk. Short wait for ready room, but I know to have bathing suit handy. Always enjoyed the buffet, with attentive staff. Special shout out to Carlos and Sophia. Always good to see Delmis at the Mediterranean restaurant, along with enjoying the Italian and Japanese. There is a lot of publicity and concerns about DR travel. This visit, as always, I have felt safe on the resort. Every year I employ Olympus Tours for my transportation. Never had a problem. Looking forward to 2020, and seeing the renovations. Till then, Iberostar, bye.

    Highly disappointed

    Reviewed by AmandaandRainey() on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Upon the arrival to the resort we planned on using our room upgrade credit to upgrade our room. Our original room was at the front of the resort and far from our family so we paid an extra $300 to move closer to the beach and our family. We believed that this room upgrade would be moving up to a family suit, but later discovered it was the same upstairs room just closer to the beach. We were okay with that despite feeling a little mislead. However, after paying $300 we expected our air to work. Our AC in our room didn’t work very well and we reported it to the front desk. They sent someone down who did nothing but mess with the fan switch. The bathroom was in serious need of updating and the shower leaked onto the floor when used creating a big mess. Tuesday, the cleaning lady had been cleaning our room and I walked in and slipped on the wet floor hurting my knee. We reported this and called the insurance company. At this point we asked to be moved to a downstairs room as I could barely walk. We were told “they would get back to us.” We didn’t hear back from anyone and ended up calling the front desk again that night about our AC. No one came. Wednesday, I fell again by the pool and several employees ran to help me. I ended up going to the resort doctor then to the hospital. We again asked for a room downstairs as I was now very injured, but again we were told they would get back to us. That night we called about our AC again and now our fan which had quit working. They sent someone to look at our fan at 11:00 at night. They ended up taking our fan down because they couldn’t repair it. They moved us to another upstairs room to sleep for the night and my husband ended up sleeping on the floor because it was cooler. Thursday, we had been told they would replace our fan in the morning however, when we arrived back to our room at 4 there still wasn’t a fan. We called the front desk and were told they were going to move our room and would be there to pick us up in 10 minutes. An hour and a half later they still hadn’t arrived and my husband ended up walking down to the front and getting a golf cart for me. We finally were moved to a downstairs room with working AC. Unfortunately, we were leaving the next day so it was a little late. We spoke with several “people in charge” about our situation and our experiences however, no one offered any help nor did they seem to care about how things had happened. Upon check out we had asked about our transport to the airport. No one could help us figure out when the transport would arrive. We tried multiple times to call the various numbers on our travel information sheet and the front desk was absolutely no help what so ever. That’s when I emailed you about our transport because we didn’t want to miss our flight. My mother in law finally figured out when it was arriving on her own. We were later told that the resort was being shut down in August to be remodeled. This explains a lot about the lack of AC and the hesitancy to repair it.

    VERY DISAPPOINTED

    Reviewed by Aneta H(Cleveland, Ohio) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Hotel is closing at the end of Aug for 3mos for remodel so I believe they are doing bare bones maintenance until then. I went with my daughter and a group of 56 of us for SENIOR CLASS TRIP we had been looking forward to it all year only yo get there and be extremely disappointed with the hotel. All of the rooms were dirty and everyone in our group had black mold in the bathrooms/ rooms We had to change rooms 3 times before we got a clean room. THERE WERE NO POOL ACTIVITIES LIKE ADVERTISED ( FOAM PARTY , POOL GAMES ) LOTS OF SMALL CHILDREN AT THE POOL BAR TO THE POINT IT WAS HARD TO GET A DRINK. WE MADE THE BEST OF IT AND MADE OUR OWN FUN BUT WOULD NEVER GO BACK IBEROSTAR AGAIN

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX