Iberostar Dominicana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    WE loved this resort

    Reviewed by Brian K on Nov 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were at this resort from October 31 to November 7 and we enjoyed it very much. This resort is very clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food at beach and main buffet is very with good service. Pools are clean also the pool area is well kept. The beach is great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8752 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    So many disappointments!!

    Reviewed by Molly S(New York) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I am at the resort right now as I type this. Second full day and I have never had to talk to reception or complain so much on a trip as I have in these last two days. Our room is SO LOUD. We are right across from the theater, the fire alarm has gone off 5 times and our room is right next to the cleaning closet. I asked to see if we could be moved at all and they said the rooms that are available are way more expensive and I would have to be charged. This resort is not full. There are two pools on this resort and they are great - but we just learned that one whole pool is being closed down. This is not going to go well for the rest of the trip. Restaurants - the reservation system is terrible. We requested our dinner reservations on day one for only two restaurants that we really wanted to get into....one of them we can’t get into at all during our whole stay. How is that even possible?? Out of seven days we can’t get reservations? The other restaurant we were given a 9pm reservation for tonight which is way too late as we are traveling with kids but we sucked it up and waited to go. We get there and our reservation was moved to tomorrow at 7pm....and nobody told us. I hate complaining...I really do. But for the amount of money we spent to take our family on this trip - I just expected better. The resort itself is beautiful. The pools are great. Beach is beautiful. We have only been able to have buffet food so far...and it looks like we will having that the rest of the time here. The staff is lacking. I never see too many around. Not enough bar or wait staff honestly.

    great resort

    Reviewed by Danny T(Halifax, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is an awesome resort. we are experienced travelers and this is likely the best we have ever been too. They do things right at the Iberostar. We will come back. A very well managed resort.You wont be disappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    FIRST AND LAST TIME I’LL EVER STAY AT AN IBEROSTAR

    Reviewed by Patty S() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    When I booked the hotel through vacation express, I was unable to request a handicapped room. My bf recently had surgery and we needed a first floor room or an elevator. We had arrived at 1:30 and when I requested to the front desk check in clerk the need for no steps, I was told that would not be possible. For the first THREE DAYS all they did was hound us to listen to the sales pitch for the Iberostar loyalty program. Finally, we had to pull a manager over to explain our level of complete frustration with everything gone wrong up to that point. The pool bar is wayyyyy too small to handle the full house needs. It’s ran completely inefficiently. Why would you have the frozen drink machines in the back room, when 70% of the ppl want them...? Dumb for the flow of business. As far as the food..... 7 days of basically eating pizza and pineapple every day. The same food on the buffets EVERY DAY. The reservation restaurants is an absolute joke. With the exception of the steakhouse. The only meal of the week that I would give a “thumbs up.” The staff was pleasant. But going forward, we’re sticking with Riu or Sandals.

    Honest Review

    Reviewed by MajaTravel(Kitchener, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Concierge: Name was Angel. We arrived late the first night and he got us situated and was very pleasant. He would not book our a la carte reservations until our meeting the following day at 12pm. He also told us to book our excursions with our air canada rep the following day at 1230pm and that he (angel) wanted us to come to a meeting with him and he would give us a $100 resort credit if we did. That resort credit apparently could be used towards the excursions. I addition, we were also expecting to receive a $500 resort credit as a part of our pacakage which Angel took from us and told us he would give it to us at our meeting tomorrow. Following Day: We had a lovely breakfast at the buffet. Lots of selection. Terrible coffee. Breakfast opened at 7am. Staff didn't speek english well. We then wandered around the resort and went to one of the vendors at the resort that was selling excursion pacakages. We were going to book our excursions with her (Diamondista) because she gave us a deal for 280 usd for 3 excursions: one day was a catamaran party boat to saona island. Snorkeling in a shallow area of the ocean. Lobster lunch at the island and catamaran boat back. We specifically talked about not taking a spead boat to/from the island and having drinks and snacks on the catamaran. Another day was a doon buggy tour and third day was swimming with the dolphins. We didnt meet with Diamantista yet because Angel advised us to book with our air canada rep, so we waited to talk to him first. After that, We met with Angel. He gave us our $500 in resort credits. Basically they were credits that we could use if we spent more money at the resot. We never ended up using them so they were useless to us. After we met Angel, we met our air Canada rep, Juan. We told Juan what we talked about with Diamantista and were very specific about the details. With the exception of the lobster lunch, Juan said he could get us the exact same package and charge us 250 for it. we Thought that was fair and booked with him. We had to pay up front so we couldn't apply any credit per Angels recommendation. Excursions: the next day we went on a half day doon buggy tour very near by. The tour was great. We got to see a local village, how coffee was made, how they're local drink, mamahuana, was made, how cigars are made and we went to a local natural water cave that we got to swim in which was really cool. The doon buggies were realky run down and ofter wouldn't brake unless the tour guides put a 4ock under the tires. The tour guides were friendly and great. Excursion day two was our full day catamaran tour to the island. We got on a nice bus at around 7am to get to the port which was about 45 minutes away. The bus ended up stopping on the side of the highway 10 minutes in. The tour guide didn't communicate as to why. We sat on the bus for about 45 minutes wondering what was going on until another bus came with a few people on it. After that we were instructed to get on the new bus because it was bigger and could accomodate more people. The new bus was run down and not as nice. It took us 45 minutes or so to get to the port. After that we waited about an hour for the boat at the port. There were a lot of vendors pushing their merch at the port but for the most part left us alone when we told them we weren't interested. When our boat finally came, it was a speed boat!!! We specifically asked for a catamaran! we got life jackets that were super smelly and disgusting. The speed boat stopped in a shallow area of the ocean where we could get out and swim. No snorkelling. No snacks. They did offer mamahuana while we were swimming. They had a photographer take pictures of us. When we got back on to see the pictures, we didnt want all of them and asked if we could only buy one (all the photos were $200 usd) and the answer was no. It was all or nothing. We then went to the island where beer and lunch was included. We sat on the beach, had some drinks, had lunch. That was nice. When it was time to go back to the port, we got on a beat up catamaran where we were offered mamahuana and pop. When we got back to the port, it seemed like mass chaos. We were attacked by the vendors to buy their goods before the end of the day was out and they literally would not let us pass. When we finally got to our bus, we waited another hour for everyone to get on the bus. Then we were taken back to our hotel by a bus driver who drove like a maniac, cut people off, flailed his arms at other drivers and even gave another Driver the finger. Twelve hours later, we were back at our resort. This was a horribly organized and unprofessional trip. We were gone for 12 hours of the day and were starving by the time it was lunch. The communication from the staff was aweful! I would never recommend this tour company to anyone! It was hola tours that we used. When we got back to the resort, i was so mad and angel came to us asking how our day was, so I offloaded on him and told him how pissed I was that he pushed us to book our excursions through air canada vacations, we did and this was the result. He then tried to rectify it for us by getting us into one of the a la carte restaurants and said he'd make sure to get us something in our room which he never did. We also told him that after wasting so much time on the excusion today that we were not going to go to his meeting in the morning. That is when Angel's attitude changed. He pushed us so hard to go to the meeting that at one point i had to tell him to back off or I would complain to his manager. He then became so unprofessional and said that he shouldn't be blamed for someone else's errors. So instead of respectfully saying okay, he instead sulked like a little boy and got mad. Previous to this Angel was super chatty with me and my husband. After this, he didn't even want to look us in the eye. Yet another very unprofessional experience. We then wanted to talk to the manager to submit a formal complaint. We did and told them we wanted to hear back before we left two days later. We did not receive a response. We then saw the air canada rep, Juan, again and submitted a formal complaint to him. He said he would be in touch with us buy email as we would be leaving to go home that same day. He never did. We paid 80 usd each for this this tour and were very dissatisfied with the service, the way it was managed and the lack of follow up. Stay away from air canada vacations on dominican and hola tours!!! Our final trip was the dolphin trip. Great experience. Great seal show. The only thing that sucked us that we could not being our cameras to take pictures and there was a profeasional photographer taking pictures that they later wanted $400 USD for.after we told them to forget it, they offered the same photos for $100. I'd say that was the most unprofessional part of this experience. There is no5hing governing how much these people charge. They just want to rip you off. Beach: amazingly taken care of. No complains. Great water, lots of chairs. Pool: amazingly taken care of. Clean and great temperature. This is where we spent most of our time but noticed that by 6am most of the good chairs were already reserved. There was noone monitoring this. It qas just allowed. Entertainment: the shows were lame. On the punta cana side of the resort they had live local artists singing which was very nice. Grounds: well kept and taken care of. The groundskeepers were fantastic and very pleasant. Entertainment staff: very nice, good energy. Facilities: always clean and very well kept. Food: Lots of selection amd very good at buffets. Steak a la carte was terrible. Our concierge told us this reataurant was fully booked and we couldn't get a reservation, so my husband and i walked passed it and saw many empty tables and asked if they could accommodate us. They did no problem. We only got into maybe 3 of the 7 a la cartes as we were relying on Angel to book us in and he said there was no space at any of the other ones. Not sure how much of this was true considering we went to him the fat after we arrived to do this. To be honest, the buffets were better than the a la cartes anyways. Rooms: Clean and well kept. A little dated though. Wait Staff: most of them could barely speak or understand english. 20% of the staff were helpful. $80 seemed miserable. Front desk staff: i called the front desk two tines with questions. Both timesi got a person why could barely understand what i wanted. Golf course: great course. My husband really enjoyed it. He paid one day for upgrades and the clubs were just basic clubs. Next day he didn't pay for upgrades and the clubs were better. Golf course staff also could not speak english well. Overall: good food, service mediocre, great grounds and facilities. We likely would not return here. The concierge left a bad taste in our mouth.

    Tamper Your Expectations

    Reviewed by Len A(North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The reviews of this resort are varied but most nail it. I give it 3 stars only because I should have known the issues before we visited based on most of the reviews. First, understand you get what you pay for. Here are the positives: Gym is amazing Pool and beach are nice Desserts were amazing Seafood restaurant was better than expected Now the not so good: Concierge was clueless-We were assigned a young lady at check in. Each time we had an issue her response was that there must be a miscommunication or she didn't understand English. Voucher coupons a joke-We were to get up to $300 in resort vouchers but in reality we got several $20-$45 off at various spots on the resort but only after you spent $100+ at that locale. Can’t control room temp. It got hot but you had to run the fan all day and night if you like it cool Beach is public and salesman hitting you up all the time. Even at the resort they are constantly trying to sell you something. We were sleeping on the beach at one point and were woken up by a salesman. Food just ok-you get what you pay for You can’t make reservations for dinner every night. Depending on how many might you stay determines how many you can make at a speciality restaurant. We didn't know this until we got to the resort. The water was not clean. Lots of Seaweed in the water-on the Atlantic and not the Caribbean. So no, you are not at a Caribbean resort. Not as advertised. Family room no sweets. No mini bar alcohol no PlayStation or welcome package

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX