whala!bavaro

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    We truly enjoyed our trip and stay at the Whala Bavaro and the WestJet staff are the best

    Reviewed by Jack on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The vacation package was great. The locals were very warm and friendly, Staff looked after us with great respect couldn't ask for any thing more, Check in was quick and easy. We only had one bad experiance " Do Not Order The Lobster Special Dinner It is unacceptable and uneatable

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Wonderful Week at the Whala

    Reviewed by NSJanet on May 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Stayed at Whala the first week of April to celebrate my birthday; we had no issues with the hotel. We stayed in the suite section at the back, no issues with the room. Bar service is hit and miss, coffee is terrible not Dominican coffee but drinkable. Food is basic but good, hotel is only 147 rooms so there is not a big selection but you will not go hungry. Beach is a short stroll down the street. If you are used to 5* treatment and 5* resorts this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a basic hotel with good food, no loud entertainment to annoy you and want a quiet place to relax and meet new friends around the pool this is the location for you. We would return and would recommend the Whala without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    W

    We love the Dominican People but the resort needs some better organisation

    Reviewed by Wolfgang : Halifax N.S. on Apr 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My Wife and I went for 10 days to the Whala Bavaro Resort The customer service Roberto and Jose were very helpful and very efficient ! Our Maid Carmen a very pleasant hard working women and helpful to . In the buffet and in the bar a very happy and helpful waiter is Julius,always on his toes to please the guests. The bad : The coffee was the worst we ever had in any resort in the Dominican Republic and we were 18 times visiting other resorts. Overall it is a small quiet place and the price was not bad. But we would not recommend it to any of my friends. And we would not return to this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    5

    Website misrepresents Hotel - Did not believe bad reviews. Check out travellers pics instead of stars - my new lesson learned.

    Reviewed by 50 in the DR on Mar 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst hotel I have been to in 20 years. My passion is the DR!! Travelled with a family of 6 adults. HAD to change rooms for unsafe or unsanitary reasons 3 times and only on the 4th day after they insisted they had no rooms or wanted funds for an upgrade. Drippings from the ceiling-still don't know if condensation, air conditioner or toilet water. Had no phones in the rooms, so could not contact front desk or people we were travelling with. No entertainment at all-could be my mistake, thought I read there was. I have never met a Dominican that could not look me in the eye...I did this trip. Instead of admitting to the issues and trying to find a work around, they ignored you told you to come back hours later, days, later, then changed shifts...it was a game to them to survive all the complaining. I finally asked for our WestJet rep, who admitted issues with hotel and tried very hard to accommodate...but still 4 days later. We were only there for 7 . False advertising on the website: This hotel charges for their better rums - found out the hard way. 6 shots Anjero Rum 22 USD. Go offsite to BAM and purchase a large bottle for $16USD Bar is only open 10 AM to 11 PM = this is not an all inclusive-nor does their site give the hours. You pay for what you want after 11 pm - which is there disco on the beach. They give towels out only Monday-Wednesday and Friday's. Very low on loungers everywhere. The coffee really is a coffee machine, and there is no real juice's or tomatoe for Red Eye's-SAD. Saw a rat near the buffet tables and pool, yep no lie. Heard of 1 inch thick bodice spiders in other rooms by two different people...but I personally did not see them. Do have salt water showers!! First time for me. Did not have hot water twice - but not an issue for me. Did not have water once - said the pump broke - can happen. Upon leaving they had sewage issues - explained the week Positives: Food is tasty, you won't starve. Only 1 fish one meat selection daily.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 104 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good Value for the price!

    Reviewed by Tee M() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall we had a lovely 6 days at this resort (just home today). For what you pay, it’s very good value. I’ll start with the negatives and move to the positives: Negatives: The resort is scattered and you have to cross a fairly busy street to get to the beach. First night we checked in, we had to change rooms three times. Third room was dated but clean and ac worked so we stayed, but it was overlooking the main pool so everynight there was super loud music and partying until at least midnight... so loud we couldn’t sleep. Lastly, we had water leaking from our bathroom several times and each time we called it took an additional call or two to get someone to come fix it. Twice water was leaking from the light fixture which was so dangerous. Positives: We loved that it was a smaller, less busy resort. We always had lounge chairs and never had to wait at the bar for drinks. Often we had the quiet pool (pool 3) mostly to ourselves. The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful, especially “Madaline“ at the quiet pool bar. She made my daughter and I feel so welcome every day by shouting “hello my friends” whenever she saw us and making us special drinks. Other staff members such as Ernesto at the beach snack bar and others were always smiling and singing. The food was very good but usually luke-warm at best. But it was flavourful and there was a wide variety and I was happy. Mexican night was our favourite! We ate at the Sushi restaurant twice. It was delicious! It isn’t included but certainly worth it. I wish I had known about the upgrade available for the beach rooms. It was never offered to us even though I was asking for better rooms. I should have done my homework better before going, so I blame myself. I would suggest upgrading to the beach rooms or asking for a room by the quiet pool unless you are ok with super loud music until midnight. The shops next door were handy and the two excursions we took (Soana Island and Ziplining/Monkeyland) were amazing! Over all, I would happily return to this resort! Thank you, staff, for treating us so well!

    A nice vacation

    Reviewed by Benbenoitt(Rochester, New York) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I had a really nice vacation here last month for three nights over a long weekend. You are paying for accessibility, weather, beach, food, and all inclusive, and the price does not get better. The rooms are new and kept immaculate. The employees make the experience a very positive and easy going one. I'm rating this hotel an over 4 out of 5 starts, because the hotel is a four star, and it delivers on just that. Great food, overall a super solid choice in Bavaro, and very quiet while we were there.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Poor experience

    Reviewed by Segvra9408() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Water smells like sulfur, can barely wash my teeth with it. Food has a lack of ingredients, my great, great, grandmother seemed to have cooked. Alcohol? Well, I’m not sure the drinks have any alcohol in it. It seems like the hotel has been running for 100 years and has come out afloat. Customer service has no service at all. Charged card three times and spoke to us madly. You would think, well, maybe she just had a bad day. No. Dying to leave this place and try something real. No tourist should try this place and feel like they’ve visited Dominican Republic. 1/5 because we had a bed to sleep in, to be honest.

    Very happy for what we paid for our room!!

    Reviewed by 200Elisa(Vancouver, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Worth booking a sea view room. Spacious and bright and looked recently done. Bed was comfy, walk in shower worked great, big T.V. and loved spending time on the balcony. There are a few different swimming or plunge pools around the property and the nicest one is on the roof. There are really good views up there and if the sunbeds are full there should be space at a table by the bar....same great views! There was a good selection at mealtimes and staff were all nice and helpful when we asked something. Spent most of our time either in the room, poolside or on the beach so didn’t get to explore the area much so would possibly go back in the future.

    Great stay

    Reviewed by erikduijsens(Pembroke Pines, Florida) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Before I get into my review. I see tons of people complaints about service/activities. My friends you are paying $120-$200 a night for this hotel. If you wanted a truly all inclusive experience did a little deeper into your pocket and stay at one of the much larger resorts. To begin we only spent one night here $170( asked for a view of the beach) got what I wanted. Bed was clean. Shower was clean. And so was everything in my room. A/c worked perfectly as well. I’ll admit food was a little mediocre and the sushi place on the roof is decent just has slow service. If you walk maybe 500 ft to the corner of the street you have about 12-20 restaurants to dine in. All of the employees were friendly as well. No complaints there. I see we had a health and food inspector leave a review. Idk if he has ever stayed at a place in Miami. But much worse conditions there haha. I would stay here again if I were to come back. I paid great price for a great view.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX