Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma
    6. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Snorkeling right off the beach in this smaller 150 room hotel which is max 50ft from the beach! No golf carts necessary... Great for kids!

    Reviewed by KyBosh on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    50ft from the beach... small 150 room resort where you actually get to know the staff and many of the other guests. Great for kids... and great entertainment every night culminating with the fantastic bbq seafood dinner with latin dancers and fantastic music. Pelicans diving for fish right in front of us on the beach and snorkeling right on the same beach. They have a shark net which also keeps away the pesky seaweed which is seasonal in these parts... Food was better than the other bigger hotels AND they didn't try to HARD SELL us on the time share like at the massive hotels. They do ask if you are interested but as soon as you say no thanks, they don't keep trying to sell you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Of all the resorts and vacations in my lifetime (100+), this resort was the best!

    Reviewed by Nancy Polleis on Feb 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The whole vacation was flawless from start to finish. I have to say that whoever manages this resort is someone pretty special because everything was as promised PLUS - right down to the finer details. The two of us felt completely at home because the staff was so friendly, humorous, accomodating, fun, energetic and playful. The activities were non stop and very well organized. The front desk management was extremely professional (especially Oscar!). The beach, bar and restaurant staff were SO much fun treating us like family all the time (especially Raul, Avolino, Enrica, Noel, Eduardo, Manuel, & all staff at Blue & Grill). The beach activities were lots of fun and well organized. The long walks on the beach were amazing. Snorkelling was wonderful. Spa was great. Food outstanding. Cleanliness abosolutely perfect. I can't think of a negative thing to say (and normally I'm pretty judgemental). So, my friend and I plan to come here 2-3 times a year now. There's no reason to search elsewhere. Everything we needed was right here. Thanks Azul for a great sunny happy vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Best ever and loved it.

    Reviewed by Senior Gary and Mama on Jan 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    BEST EVER, Food awesome, service you could not ask for better, personal service, warm, friendly and safe. We started going 1 time a year now going 2 times a year and do not want to go anywhere else. We highly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4544 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Couples Vacation

    Reviewed by rcomst1217() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great property....food was outstanding. Cesar and his staff were top notch. Amazing service. They took great care of the whole party, made sure everything was perfect at all times and accommodated us when we needed something.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Re-entry back to reality is VERY HARD after Azul!

    Reviewed by jaquespepin(Boston, Ma) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a beautiful, extremely family-friendly resort. Everyone at Azul was so warm and gracious. We really loved our recent stay there. Was there with extended family that included two 10-year olds and a 12-year old. All had a great time, though most of the kids activities seemed geared towards younger kids (e.g. pinata, Nickelodeon "Slime" games, Spongebob & Ninja Turtle themed stuff.) Our kids did enjoy volleyball on the beach and an SUP rodeo in the pool. We ended up going to Xplor for one day which I highly recommend. While we didn't use babysitting services, we met other families who reported that the babysitting was excellent. The food at Azul is wonderful. Portions are small, which we liked, since it enabled us to try a lot of different dishes. There was never a wait at any of the restaurants. Food is so fresh and a few meals during the week were great BBQs out on the beach. They re-stocked our fridge in the room every day. The fitness room could use some updated equipment. (I would have loved a Peloton bike to be there!) But the spa was phenomenal, and we used them a lot. (Hydrotherapy followed by massage on the beach was heavenly. Pedicures were terrific.) One thing that was a little bit intrusive was the upselling that some staff did to sell spa and photography services. They were all lovely people, but we just don't like being interrupted with a request to spend more money and then find ourselves negotiating prices. We made a choice to pre-pay for an all-inclusive vacation so that we wouldn't have to do that. Upon registration, there was a one time time-share pitch that was done without pressure and they were very careful to not pitch again during our stay once we told them we were not interested. I would have preferred they present all their services that way, or wait for us to approach them for spa services, etc. (Alternatively reaching out to us to book spa services prior to the start of our trip would be even better.) That is the only reason I didn't give Azul 5-stars. The swimming pools and the beach were terrific. There are no lifeguards at the pools, but there is a great beach lifeguard. Kids enjoyed snorkeling nearby. We loved the cabanas, though there aren't enough for all guests to have one every day, and you have to reserve them early. We had a family suite overlooking a pool, which we enjoyed. We didn't opt for the swim-up room, though those looked great too. Since a lot of guests have small children, the poolside rooms can be loud at times. We found our area to be mostly quieter because it was set back from the beachfront. Still at times it was so loud we couldn't read on our balcony. There is no "night swimming" allowed in the pools, which was disappointing to our son, but also ensured quiet evenings! Finally, the staff at Azul are phenomenal people-- super smart, interesting and all around cool people. We would highly recommend this resort to families with small children.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Great holiday

    Reviewed by raymond1812(winchester) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just back from a 10 day holiday at Azul Beach and we had an excellent time. What was good about it? The resort is big enough not to feel crowded, but small enough that you could be anywhere in a couple of minutes. We have used other resorts in the area, and faced a 10 minute walk from our room to the facilities. Our swim out room (1106) was in a great location, next door to the Bubbles swim up bar and with hammocks and lounge chairs just outside our door. All of the employees were fantastic, generally we've had great service in Mexico but this was a notch up in how friendly and responsive the staff were. The food was great, we used all of the restaurants at least a couple of times, Roma and Latino were our favourites, but all were good and we liked the fact there was both buffet and a la carte for breakfast at Blue. The service in the restaurants was easily the best we have encountered in the area, our glasses were literally never empty. We only had to wait for a table once in the 10 days. Entertainment was pretty good for a smaller hotel. We were never bothered (not once) by prestige/membership sales - compare this to Dreams where we were literally hounded during our holiday. We were offered the wine list and/or special menus a couple of times but there was no pressure at all. There were staff selling spa treatments who were active every day.. they were polite and courteous and accepted a no thank you. As happens with the beach on this part of the coast, there was a little seaweed. There were only a couple of days where this was noticeable amounts (when the wind was up) and the crew worked hard all day clearing this away. WiFi connectivity and speed was excellent across the resort. What would we improve? Although our swim out room was lovely, it was unique in that the outside balcony connected to a paved area near the bubbles bar. This was both a benefit, in that we could go direct from our room to the bar without dropping into the pool, but also a curse in that everyday we had kids using our room/ladder as an access point to the pool, or walking across and climbing over the barrier to the adjacent walkway. It will be better for the hotel to put something there to prevent this. The cabanas on the beach are great but you need to queue every Mon, Wed or Fri to book one for the next couple of days (on Monday, you can book one for Tue or Wed.. and so on). There was nothing in our room to confirm the arrangements and it took us a few days to figure out the system. There were a few days where there seemed to be a shortage of pool towels, we always found some but had to hunt around a little. Overall a great holiday, highly recommended.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    EXCELLENTE!

    Reviewed by 11ellsin() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Azul beach resort is a very family friendly resort, there is something for everybody. The day and evening entertainment during our stay has been fantastic the acrobatic shows are just incredible. We also really enjoy the spanish lessons, even though they weren’t very frequent (but definitely should be!) A big thanks goes to Saul and Aldo for their wonderful teaching (muchos gracias!) Although if I had to say one thing that would be that perhaps the evening entertainment could involve the audience more, such as quizzes or game shows. Furthermore the food has been exceptional we have above all enjoyed the sushi restaurant Tainan, we were even given the opportunity to make some sushi. We would like to say a big thanks to Armando and (unfortunately didn’t catch his name however) the leading sushi chef as they taught us the art of sushi making. We also want to say a big thank you to the staff working in this restaurant too who have been very attentive to us during our stay. I am sad to say that we are coming towards the end of our stay here at Azul beach resort after having spent a wonderful 2 weeks in paradise! We have really enjoyed our stay here! Thank you!

    Back Again

    Reviewed by annekileygray(Goleta, California) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and daughter’s Family came to Azul Beach Riviera Maya and it was every bit as as charming as before. 13/14 perfect days of sun, great food, and excellent service and hospitality by the staff. Fabulous family vacation!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX