BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    C

    We enjoyed our time and most of the staff went above and beyond!

    Reviewed by Cassie on Mar 23, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Front desk staff majority of them were very rude and not friendly. All other staff were amazing!! Especially Ivan at the swing bar. Lots of seaweed at the beach but down further there was none even though staff were cleaning it up everyday. Someone also broke into our safe but luckily we didn?t keep our money in it. Coffee and cream were awful. We enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We loved how big it was and that we had to walk. We also enjoyed the greenery and the animals!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    No 5 star - more like a 2

    Reviewed by SJ on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The service is terrible - no waiters at pool or bar, they wash there cups in a tub of dirty water and give to you, wifi barely works and you have to pay for more than one device, bldg 8 - warm water and no water pressure, tourism fee charged at time of arrival even though it was not mentioned when you pay all inclusive, my room has only been cleaned once in 7 days and that?s only because I made him come in when I saw him in hallway, only restaurant that is good is the oriental one. We ate at the Mexican one last night and all got diarrhea. A couple of us have sore throats probably from them not cleaning cups properly. Now I know why I see people drinking out of there own cups. Some of the waiters in restaurants and bars look like they hate there jobs and are not very friendly. Even tipping big doesn?t get you good service. Only 2 channels in English on tv. No plugins barely in the double bed garden view room... only one to plug in 2 cells phones at same time and of course across from the beds. Beds are not the greatest and overall feel of room is not that clean. You have to get up by 7:00am to put towels down at pool or you will not have a spot all day. Would definitely not recommend this resort and the beach is covered in seaweed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    It was not a nightmare but for the dolar we paid i guess we could get more elsewhere

    Reviewed by Kudamundi on Feb 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Resort Staff is the only good thing about this resort. First room we got was not even close what we paid for, but the second one was somehow decent. There is few stores inside the resorts but dont even think shoping there, just way too expensive. Playa del Carmen is close to the resort and you can find good deals if you are willing to negotiate. The way these guys are dealing with mosquitos is just beyond imagination. Second day in resort we tought our building is on fire, there was smoke everywhere, when we asked what's going on they said this is how they r killin them...Definitely going back to Playa del Carmen, but not likely to the Blue Bay, unless attracted with some crazy price package

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    2.5 star at best.....would not recommend. Food & service just ok, harassed to buy timeshare right in the resort is unacceptable.

    Reviewed by Carol on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    As we stepped out of the shuttle from the airport we were met & welcomed by Enrique which we thought as great but we quickly realized he was really trying to sell us what we think was a timeshare although still not exactly sure what he was selling. We know he was selling something because he invited us to a VIP breakfast the next morning and kept telling us to be sure to bring the credit card we used to book our trip with us. We said we would think about attending but when we didn?t attend the breakfast presentation, they called our room numerous times and even sent someone to our room to get us to attend. This kind of harassment is totally unacceptable and shouldn?t be allowed in the resort. We were in building 3, our room smelled like mold/mildew, it was dark and wasn't very clean. The toilet plugged & overflowed but when I called they were fairly quick to come and fix & clean up. Had one day that it rained most of the day and the there was lots of flooding on the main floor where our room was, even had flooding in our room. They tried to manage flooding by laying towels everywhere trying to stop the water but it wasn?t very effective. We had to use our towels to keep from slipping just getting from the bed to the bathroom as the tile floors were extremely slippery. Food was mediocre, only good ala cartes were Italian, French, oriental & steak although the second time we went there the steak was awful. Service in the restaurants was just ok. The beach looked ok but there was a lot of seaweed and the water looked pretty dirty so we didn?t swim or hang out on the beach but that?s not the fault of the resort. We spent most of our time around the pool and enjoyed the sun which is why we took a winter vacation. At best this is a 2.5 star resort not a 4.5 as advertised. Wouldn?t recommend this resort to anyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    w

    Worse resprt I have ever stayed at.

    Reviewed by wookie on Oct 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This place was a total night mare. When we arrived we found out that the main pool had been shut down for repairs. As well as the snack bar was being renovated as well and there were only two A La Cart restaurents open each night. Constraction ran from 7AM to 6PM everyday. As well the remaing pools also have tons of broken tiles and people cutting there feet on them as they are sharp as a knife. So needless to say for health reasons no pool was usable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    Y

    Best food, customer service and nightlife I?ve experienced in this region! Going back yearly!

    Reviewed by Yvette on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Hands down the best all-inclusive resort I?ve experienced in this area; and I?ve been to a lot! The staff are over the top amazing, the food is beyond delicious - fresh and an abundance of variety. The Black and White lounge is open 24 hours as well, they have a nightly beach party with full bar and DJ down at the beach from 11 pm -1 am every night.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Spend a little more money and go elsewhere.

    Reviewed by KM on Apr 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    My friend and I booked a 5 night stay and although most of the staff were very friendly and polite, I would not go back to this resort. It is advertised as a 4* - it is NOT. Arrived in the evening, tired, hungry and eager to start our vacation. Mr Roberto needlessly kept us at the desk in order to pressure us into going to a "free breakfast" orientation. FREE breakfast?! when we had paid for all inclusive!! This man would not take no for an answer. He made such a pest of himself we dreaded going anywhere close to the lobby and chance running into him. I speak spanish, there was no chance for misunderstanding we were not interested in their vacation packages (same thing as timeshares). Although Mr Roberto was adamant it is completely different and got offended I would mention "timeshares". Like I said we were there for 5 nights, we wanted to enjoy every minute of this vacation, not be pressured into buying future vacations that may or may not happen. The beach is horrible. Pools are ok. The service at the beach was inconsistent. The food was alright (I am not a picky eater), especially the steakhouse. There is a bikini shop, a general store, a jewelry store and a soap store. The prices are outrageous ($9us for a bag of chips - no, not kidding). There is a travelling market that goes around the various resorts, wait for that instead. They come around every 2 wks and you can bargain with them. Prices on Playa del Carmen's 5th Ave are not much better. Don't book tours through the hotel, too expensive. Perfecto (yes that is his real name) with alltournative is fantastic. We did the Coba tour with him and he went above and beyond to make it enjoyable for us. I was very diappointed in this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    L

    they did indeed do their very best to accommodate us.

    Reviewed by Lolly on Apr 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food was excellent ,staff was friendly and resort was very clean ,definitely going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    An aging resort in desperate need of a little TLC. Better choices out there.

    Reviewed by JM2018 on Feb 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Our group of nine stayed in Building #7 Feb 9-23, 2018 and all have a similar opinion this is a 3-3.5 star resort. The general infrastructure appears dated, neglected, and forgettable. The standard rooms are smaller in size with simple decor and smaller TV?s with few English channels. The shower is nice though could have used additional cleaning. The building design amplifies sound and a regular conversation from neighboring rooms is easily heard. From cleaning carts and ice machines to late night arrivers, the rooms are the loudest we?ve experienced anywhere. The A/C worked, the thermostat did not. A common issue with all three rooms. The butchered vehicle they use as a tram is convienent for beach and restaurant access and travels at twice walking speed. Often, the golf carts used as service and concierge vehicles were noticed travelling too fast considering all roads used are shared with guests and staff who are walking. This was a concern of ours with younger children and the inconvenience to stop and step off the narrow roads making room for the frequent traffic. Service is hit/miss in the restaurants and pool/beach area. The same with the food; expect decent food choices and flavours. The Valentines fillet and shrimp special at the Mexican restaurant was absolutely great and exeeded all expectations, but is not a regular item. We will not be return guests to the Blue Bay. Unless a discounted price is too tempting, keep looking.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    B

    Limit the Black & White Club to a 2 am closing, & give more consideration to the non-smokers coming to the resort, for a 4.5 star rating.

    Reviewed by B&B on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort in our eyes could become a 4 1/2 star, but needs work. The food at the seaside snack bar, main buffet, Italian, French, & Sea Food a la cartes, were great. The food at the quiet pool snack bar was always cold & we would not recommend the Asian a la carte. House keeping was excellent, including keeping a well stocked fridge (beer, pop, water). The staff was friendly throughout the resort. Watch out for the Time Share people, we were approached way too often. It was very noisy, in the hotel, (Black & White Club is opened 24 hrs./day with loud inconsiderate people coming in at midnight, 2 & 4am). We had to phone security several times during out stay. Very smokey at poolside & throughout resort (smoking benches provided rarely used). A Cenote is a 10 minute walk, left off the beach front, of the resort & was very refreshing. The beach front itself needs work & it's a 30 minute walk before you will see the blue ocean you expect, (will take awhile for Mother Nature to fix). The quiet pool requires more attention, way too often we had to remove plastic glasses & straws, was not chlorinated enough and water level kept decreasing, (they used water from pool to clean sidewalks). Poolside requires more shaded areas. Men's bathroom, quiet pool area, wood toilet partition requires repair/replacement. Ladies bathroom, seaside pool area, a toilet was missing a toilet seat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11561 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beach is good, shore (entrance to the water) is terrible: big rocks - impossible to get in...a lot of seaweed...

    Reviewed by Olga K(Vancouver, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed from march 27 to April 03, 2019. 3 families with children. Room was quite big, clean, bathroom has a very big shower - really good. Problem is with the size of the resort - we had to walk to the beach for 15 min. They have carts, but intervals is not too good and suitable: sometimes there were more people waiting than the cart could accommodate... The beach is good - sand and bars and pool, shadowed spaces where provided, etc are good. The shore (entrance to the water) is terrible: big rocks - impossible to get in, small part of the beach on one side is ok, but water is only knee-high. So, had to go to the next resort to swim for another 10-15 minutes, not too convenient. Also, a lot of seaweed, even it is constantly being cleaned, it can't be cleaned fast enough, so in the afternoon to get into the water you just have to go through seaweed 2 meters or so. Food is good. People are friendly and helpful, at least most of the time. The area has a lot of Coati - Mexican racoons , they are really cute and friendly, iguanas and deer, pelicans... really amazing impression! Entertainment team is very good, but an ambient is really bad - inside, quite narrow space, no windows or openings, just ventilators and air conditioner; sound is terrible - very loud. impossible to understand the speech. During the check-out one family of our group had a big problem: the room had a chipped toilet seat that was holding together with the tape. When they checked in, they took a photo and reported to the cleaning lady and a building supervisor, he promised that it would be replaced. It never occurred. During the check out their suitcases where "arrested" and they where demanded $50US , after heated conversation, they had to pay $25US to be cleared of charges. They where told that they had to demand the replacement of the seat in the first place. So, if anyone encounters any damage or discovered any not working device, should report it immediately and demand replacement right away.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Great Stay, amazing staff!

    Reviewed by Martin L() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I recommend this resort if you are looking to get away from the stress for a week in the sun! Food was excellent, drinks ok (frozen concoctions :-) ) but they will make you whatever you ask so feel free to point towards the bottle you want. The staff on that property was amazing! Top notch service everywhere. We had some minor issues with our rooms (locks not working properly) and it was fixed within minutes...also one night the A/C stopped working, they quickly gave us another room to sleep in and fixed our room first thing in the morning. Thanks to the maintenance staff and to Mr. Noé Path who made sure everything was up to standard. I can named them all but Augustin at the beach snack bar provided us with an exceptional service! He always remembered us and always had coffee and Mimosas ready for us! Great location, Great resort, Great people! I recommend building #4, main floor.

    Do mot expect any hospitality

    Reviewed by tomase0() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Spacious rooms which are getting s bit old and need an upgrade. Very good food quality and meal selection in the restaurants. Do not expect any warm service or personal touch. Whatever you ask the front desk, the reply is no. As long as it is not in the manual, you do not get it. Even a very small requests are declined. It is all just poor business with no added value. You are expeced to give tips if you want a kind of attention from the staff. Drinks at bars are the main weakness - this is where hotel saves money. Wine is ugly, coctails and drink very bad.

    Great one week in the resort

    Reviewed by Evrope() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We did stay in resort from April 4 for 7 days and enjoy sunshine, walks on the beach and relax time. Our stay was very nice and we did enjoy every day in building #5 thanks to Jose (so thank you again)! Buffet food is very good and if some people are complaining they must be very spoiled. Our favorite restaurant and dinner was in French restaurant, we went there twice just because was great and also mention our waiter name Francisco! He was not only very friendly he also know everything on the menu and help us with choices. I hope he will be recognize in his professional life? Seaweed is the problem but global warming is not helping, people are doing everything they can to clean beaches every day. So well done and all people in the resort and we will miss sunshine for very long time. Thank you and take care Lenka

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Middling resort on its way to worse

    Reviewed by Renée D(Edmonton) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    2 adults stayed 9 days and 8 nights. This is an older resort that is feeling its age. Some of the buildings are extremely old and it's clear BlueBay is putting their refurb money elsewhere--namely, the newly-built timeshare/"luxury resort" nearby, which was being advertised aggressively during our stay. I booked online & contacted guest services at the hotel ahead of time to tell them we were on our honeymoon. They booked us into a "double" suite with 2 double beds on the 4th floor of one of their "out" buildings--far from the beach and big pool. The smaller pool was near our building with a restaurant poolside, which offered the worst food (not to mention dining experience, since smokers at the pool were allowed free rein to smoke next to the dining area with only a mesh partition between). Our room also featured chunks of missing floor tile, non-functioning outlets (the hairdryer in the bathroom had no plug; it was wired into the electrical IN THE WALL), footprints/dirt smudges on walls, & disintegrating patio chairs. After a few days, I went to concierge and they moved us into a King suite on the ground floor of a building pool- and beach-side the next day. We had 3 blissful nights in an updated, modern, CLEAN room with hot water in the shower. If I were to come back to this resort, I would spring for a premium room but honestly, enjoying a mid-price room at a nicer resort would probably be money better spent.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX