Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    We loved our first stay so much we call this amazing place paradise

    Reviewed by Lauriemac on Mar 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We first went to this resort in 2010.... We loved this resort and the staff so much we are returning to our paradise this May for our 13th visit. There is lots to do here and very kid friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Interesting trip! We would return

    Reviewed by Lisa & Pete on Jan 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had an interesting stay at this hotel. We loved the hotel amenities. The grounds were awesome. It is a very very large resort. Lots of places to walk. Having four different lobbies was very nice, as they were each different. Some very quiet and some with lots of action. So whatever your mood was you could find a place to escape. We would take our crib board over the the Colonial Lobby at night and listen to music and play card. The food was good. You were able to go to all the restaurants, which was nice as I do not like buffets for dinner. They had an adult only restaurant each night! The spa and gym were amazing! They had yoga, Pilates, and zumba... running groups, personal trainer. The beach is beautiful. Very long... Bring water shoes, as there is a reef. The pools are nice. There is smoking on the grounds. Only in room, restaurants and lobby is where you cannot smoke. The rooms are large and open. We had an issue with the building fire alarm. It went off three nights in a row, so not very restful. We tried to speak to management on 2nd night but were turned away. On third night we were able to speak to management at 8am in the morning and they upgraded our room and moved buildings. We would return to this resort as the grounds were beautiful and people nice. Make sure you go to the gym and spa!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    F

    It was an excellent office getaway for a week. Great value.

    Reviewed by From Edmonton on May 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great getaway. Rooms were a bit dated but value, service and food where excellent. Use their adult pools if you want a bit more privacy or less kids. All in all, well worth the stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3477 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great week vacation

    Reviewed by sirenis_girl(Lindsay, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Travelled through my families travel club - gold membership from Feb 4 to Feb 11 As travel club members we get private check in and private airport transportation so I can’t comment on the normal check in but ours was great and professional. This resort is huge and has several sections and the maps are a bit confusing to read. We stayed in the white sands section in building 58. This was an awesome room location. Walkway to the beach we right beside our complex and the pools were short walk away. Beach: there was a huge seaweed problem when we were there which is Mother Nature and no fault of the resort its self. You could see it floating out in the middle of the ocean. They did try to clean it up, although more than 2 people working on it would of seen more effective results. By our second last day at the resort it had cleared up significantly and we were a label to swim in the ocean. Beach is long. Some spots are very rocky but we found a really nice sandy spot. Pool: nice and big. Over 5ft deep which I found to be nice but unusual for a resort pool. Seemed clean and had no real complaints. Room: nice and clean. We had a jr suite with a king size bed and sofa. Beds were comfortable and clean. Always received fresh towels. AC worked. Fridge in room was supposed to be stocked daily but ours wasn’t. Complained to front desk and got it stocked. Food: breakfast buffet was by far the groups favourite meal of the day. If you like omelettes , definitely visit the omelet station. Lunch: we tried eating at the beach buffet one and to be honest food was horrible. Moved to the one by the pool and food was significantly better and one day we tried the main buffet for food which doesn’t start till 1pm and it was the best lunch at the resort. Dinner: Dinner buffet was good. Great selection of meats, salads, veggies and potatoes. We booked the steakhouse, Brazilian. Italian, members Mexican night and BBQ buffet. Loved the steakhouse, Brazilian and BBQ but the rest to me were just ok and I think I would of preferred the buffet for dinner. Our package included room service which we took advantage of and everything we tried was excellent. Also ordered food from the sports bar menu which was also great. Entertainment: can’t comment on this because we didn’t participate in any of the shows or entertainment. If the entertainment was earlier than 10 pm we might of tried watching the shows but to be honest after full day of sun we were tired. We didn’t see any bugs - never used the bug spray I had brought just in case. Had a great time and hope to return in the near future.

    Great get away, beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Brian D() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort was recommended by a friend that has been there several times and I can see why he keeps going back! An all inclusive resort with a LONG stretch of beautiful white sand private beach. Amazing pools, 6 of them, and snorkelling right off the beach, there is even a pool open to the ocean where you can swim, I saw conch, cuttlefish and several other colorful fish in this pool. Great for kids or beginner snorkelers. Food was plentiful and very tasty, there are 9 ala carte restaurants and the buffets were amazing. A bonus is if you stay at the Grand Palladium White sands you can enjoy all the facilities of the Grand Palladium Colonial and the Grand Palladium Kantenah. Stay at one resort and enjoy all three.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great resort

    Reviewed by Chrislea1() on Feb 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed at the Grand Palladium White Sands resort in February 2019 to get some winter sunshine. There are three hotels in one with guests having access to the facilities at the three. The main entertainment hub is in the Colonial hotel where they have nightly shows and other entertainment. The choice of restaurants was the main factor in us booking the hotel along with a recommendation from our Daughter and partner. The quality of the food was excellent and much better than any previous experience of all inclusive. On two separate occasions we had steaks and they of good quality. We made a mistake on our first night when we were offered a wine list to choose from. We tried to explain that we were all inclusive but the waiter did us that option so we bought a bottle. The following day we discussed it with the TUI representative and she explained that you just have to send the wine list away and ask for your choice of all inclusive wine. It may just be a first night naivety thing but as the slogan goes, Just say no! The resort was fairly quiet while we were there but there were plenty of sun beds and great service from the staff around the pool. The beach has an ongoing issue with seaweed which they try to keep on top off but that means trucks collecting from the beach and transporting it off site. We enjoyed experiencing the wild life and one particularly clever and cute raccoon stole my wife’s bread roll from the table at the Poseidon Restaurant. It did very deftly and precisely. We loved it. The quality of the drinks was also excellent and although we never take full advantage of the all inclusive offering it was good to have premium brands. Our room (5436) was also excellent. We had plenty of space including a sofa and two chairs and a balcony overlooking the trees. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days stay and would recommend the hotel for a beach holiday. We personally didn’t do any of the trips, which we felt were expensive, but that was mainly because we were only there for the sun.

    Love This Resort - Some Unwelcome Changes and Decline Though

    Reviewed by SJReed(Vancouver, Canada) on Feb 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 5th trip down to this resort since 2012. They are always receptive to our request to stay in our original room with a quick email and have never failed us! We love the resort for so many reasons; the food, the staff, the decor, the jungle feel everywhere you go, the beautiful beach, the airy lobby, the proximity of everything once you learn the paths. This year we brought our children ( 2-1/2 year old & 10 year old ) for our second family trip to the resort. The kids love the place, feel comfortable making their own way to the bars for a drink and find something or someone to play with everywhere they go ( yes even the 2 year old ). We haven't made use of the kids club so I can't comment on this area except they did have these little push cars that were a saving grace for our little one, he loved them which made it easy to take him anywhere. We stay at the White Sands as it's very obviously a level above the other resorts Colonial and Kantenah. Our room ( suite ) is well decorated and fairly well taken care of. We had two minor repairs which were completed very quickly. The main pool at white sands is much quieter than the other main pool which is a big bonus. Now to get to the nitty and gritty. There are some positive as well as negative observations below and I'd like to add the disclaimer that although I've reported negative, we still love the resort and most likely will return. The Staff: Without a doubt A+, as always the staff are super friendly and very accommodating. They smile everywhere you go and are very receptive to greetings. It shows that inside they are truly beautiful and hard-working people. The food: There is a distinct difference in the quality of food between the White Sands and the Colonial/Kantenah buffets and pool buffet. The quality is much better in white sands and you will see people migrate from the other side when they notice this. The La Hacienda Buffet in White Sands was recently cut in half to help create the TRS Yucutan which has resulted in line-ups forming fairly quickly at the height of breakfast and lunches so get there early to avoid. The al a carte restaurants never dissapoint and are always serving gourmet meals with friendly staff. The Grounds: This is one of the areas we have definitely noticed a difference over the years. It used to be pretty well perfect everywhere you went and that has gradually declined to now seeing garbage in bushes, garbage in in the lagoon, garbage here and there. It was quite dissapointing to see, especially in the lagoon which is a major feature of the resort, almost anywhere along the edges you can see wrappers, cups, and other random trash, unfortunate that people would put it there in the first place but also as unfortunate that it isn't being cleaned up. The flora is well maintained as usual and a pleasure to see. The Room: As said before it's the same room we've stayed in each time, it doesn't dissapoint and is a pleasure to return to. The overall cleaning is going downhill, the floor felt gritty on our arrival and never seemed to be cleaned to the standard that it used to. There used to be consistent towel displays and turn-down service with chocolates which has slowly dissapeared over the years with no turn-down and only rarely a little towel animal regardless of any tips being given. Any repairs are done quickly though. The Bars: Again the staff at the bars are super friendly, even the really busy ones. They are accomodating and can whip up good drinks in a hurry. A couple things which have changed for the negative; the barmen used to have an inter-resort competition of making displays of coloured liquids and liquors with flowers and displaying them on the bars all over the resort. That is gone, just another little thing which has changed. A big one for us was having little kids, we were forced to retreat to our room fairly early in the evening when we used to be able to relax in the lobby or at a late show. It is nearly impossible now to get a bottle of even house wine to take to our room without paying extra unless you take a thermos to the bar and ask them kindly to fill it up. This shouldn't be considering that we are stuck in the room with the children, it should be easier to get a bottle of wine or champagne to go. TRS: The TRS Yucutan is Palladium's newest brand of hotel and is adults only. I applaud them on the creation and hope that we can travel without our children and stay here one day soon. Unfortunately I feel that the energy that was put into the TRS may be why the rest of the resort has sufferred slightly. One thing that we really upset about which we didn't see in any information before-hand was the transition of the salt-water pool to the TRS adults only area. We loved the salt-water pool and it was a great way to get our oldest child into snorkeling. It was always a little more relaxed with a beautiful ocean view. This was a major dissapointment finding out we couldn't use it. I understand the draw it probably made in advertising the TRS but maybe it should have been done in a different format i.e. Mondays / Wednesdays / Saturdays is adults only and the other days is family or something like that. We communicated our displeasure about it there. That's my review of our recent visit. Again I'd like to say that we love the resort and comparing to others we've stayed at, the White Sands still ranks right up there. We will be back. I'm hoping that the resort management picks it up a notch and returns it to the quality it was in the past, and the salt-water pool returns to kid friendly.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Shauna R(Vancouver, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I were here for 10 days for a wedding. This resort is massive! It has 5 different hotels on the one resort which are all connected by a tram system. As we were in a different hotel (we stayed at the adults only) and our family was at White Sands, my senior mother had a hard time with the amount of walking and waiting for trams as well as riding them all the time. However there are endless things to do. The adults evening show was amazing! The pools are all great and the beach was also perfect.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX