Hotel Xcaret Mexico

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5816 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great staff & service.Went opening day after COVID 19 lift 7-1-20 some changes in place but expected due to re opening,

    Reviewed by travelwcarter(Spencer, Virginia) on Jul 07, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I am about to tell you some tips I wish I had of known / learned before arrival. I researched the property at least for 3 weeks before our trip so I was quite familiar with most of the things. It is an hour ride with traffic on the shuttle bus from the Cancun airport. Upon arrival the check in line is long and takes a while to get to counter and to get checked in. We booked a "River room" and realized later that although the pics show a swim up room that is not the swim up room you literally need to book the "river swim up suite" so, when we got there it wasn't a swim up room that we paid for, but also they told us that all the river rooms was full. So, he offered us another suite in the cove which had a nice view over the beach and their river some pools and palms so we was okay with that and huge tub in bedroom. MAKE SURE the kind of mom you want is the kind you book and the kind that they put you in. Id call ahead to make sure. The clear pool and roof top pool are for adults only but are only for guests that book a fuego room! I thought adult only meant we could visit and hang out there, but no, you have to specifically book that room and then they have an exclusive restaurant as well. For the all inclusive restaurants: You DO have to book a reservation for a few of them, so if you want to eat there I strongly suggest you make reservations AHEAD of time! Then re check before coming to resort to double check. If not, go make your reservations for dinner AND the parks AS SOON AS you finish with check in !!! The concierge may try to sell you a time share by offering free breakfast with an hour showing of property don't do it based on reviews they got stuck hours .. we declined ! BOOK your dinner RESERVATIONS ahead of time for the restaurants that require them !! All are inclusive except for HA Restaurant. But, 3 require reservations. The Parks REQUIRE RESERVATIONS and at first I didn't know why, but now I think that its for safety.. so they know where you are scheduled to be at such as this: my boyfriend said he was only going to do one zipline.. they told him that he could do just one if he wanted to then get off and walk down.. I don't do heights so I said I'd meet him at the bathroom / our locker area in around 20 min.. 40 mins passed he still hadn't come so I went to the people at desk section of customer help and they got our helmet numbers and found his photos I was relieved to see each section he had completed and they put together a timeline for me. he ended up having to do the WHOLE thing they wouldn't let him walk down to stop mid course etc.. so I got worried about him ,but they found him quickly on photo to assure me he had just finished they have a lot of technology there. Don't count on that tho. Keep up with your family. My phone got ruined by water so I couldn't call we had no service and some parks no wifi access ability so I strongly suggest sticking together. If you are going to enjoy the all inclusive parks know that you will need a whole day for EACH. Personally, I wish I had of booked XCARET for a week instead of 4 days.. It wasn't enough time to enjoy all the activities (parks) and the resort too. We were able to do two parks and I never got to swim at the resort. Plan ahead! Know ahead of time what each park has to offer and put together in order the things you are going to do first to last based off of the maps that are online.. We spent our first day walking back and forth crossing same landmark all day going on different excursions because although we knew what park we were going to, we didn't plan the events in order to move on to the next closet thing. Day 2 at a different park we done this beforehand (planned) the night before and it was much better as there is a whole lot of walking paths to and from each section of the parks. The bus will take you to the parks which aren't far at all via bus, but you do have to wait in line for the buses they do come every 20 minutes to the park however, but its always a line waiting on next one usually and they do have to use sanitary protocols in place due to COVID so takes little more time to board. The ruins were closed due to covid and so was feugo and xavage... we didn't know that ahead of time, but turns out we wouldn't have had enough time to do them all no ways. Again, you have to reserve the parks what day etc and only certain parks were open / available for certain days don't know if that was due to COVID too. Just plan for that. I wanted to go to see the ruins ! SERVICE and FOOD: Trip was for my Birthday we came in the room one night back from a show and they had a small carrot cake on the table. The next night they had cut out decorations confetti and balloons with a card awaiting me when I came back from dinner which was very nice and sweet of them. Every time we left the room during the day time whatever we ate or drank from the mini fridge was replenished to the T every time and the room was always cleaned back up! They even put our slippers for us on each side of the bed wow!! Their service was undeniable it was like little secret ninjas that would sneak in the room quickly like magic elves and re fix everything without ever being seen. They even take you down to your room and have your luggage delivered for you. We never had to load ours on to the bus or take off. They have such attention to detail in EVERY thing that they do !!! and its the little small things and their effort that makes them stand out. The staff EVERYONE there is so friendly and helpful and want you to feel comfort and appreciated. Yes, I do think its worth the money every penny you just have to know the ins and outs like I mentioned above as to how things flow so that things will be available for you and that you aren't stuck eating buffet etc like others mentioned. Mercado de la mercad is a buffet we ate there for breakfast twice and it was delicious and fresh and hot.. its so much variety from a small american food variety like pancakes eggs bacon to an omelet station and mexican food such things to make fajitas, tacos soups etc all with fresh ingredients. They even have a pastry section, fruit bar, smoothie bar and juice bar. I don't know what the dinner is like. I wanted to steer clear of Chibali because said kids go there with families bc kid pool is right beside it, but one morning before we went to the jungle gym we stopped by early for a quick bite way less crowded and quicker than mercado but like I said, we went early food was delicious at both hot at both and fresh at both, but if you want quick food on that side of the resort and its before 9/10 its great to avoid crowds there. Cantina Los Faroles wow ! Features a beautiful light show at the end of the night and have live music performances nightly. Go upstairs to bar until 2 am for adults only. We had steak there it was awesome presentation was nice just a few vegetables tho and comes with bone marrow thing. But the steak was very good. I ordered lobster tacos as appetizer before meal and they were so good had sort of like bang bang sauce on them. The atmosphere was live colorful and cultured. Great service EXCELLENT drinks yummy try the passionfruit mojito. Or Mexican punch. Xin-Gao required reservations we went to dinner there one night. Everyone was dressed up. It was different to say the least, but tasteful. More chinese like than asian in my opinion... The dishes come out with chef plate presentation not huge portions for apps and other things besides main course. Worth it for the experience and variety to try thats included. Fancy service fancy dishes. Nice. Las Cuevas omg ! This was so beautiful ! Dinner inside a cave Reservations required book early. Is similar to brazillian steakhouse you have appetizer or salad pick one side and then they block on the table you flip red to stop meat green to keep it going. They have meats like picana, top, cow tongue, bbq ribs, shrimp, chicken, lamb, pork etc. Gauchos come around and cut the meat off you get slice with tongs. Very good. The alcohol is included with meal except for wines! By the way, start walking towards 15 minutes prior to you scheduled time. They usually have a buffett of appetizers salad stuff etc but due to COVID none of that was available and the cook smoked the meat away from tables which was fine bc of sanitary reasoning. They came including the owner and introduced himself and also sang me Happy Birthday along with bringing shots and a beautiful dessert with a chocolate plaque and happy birthday written on it. Waiter was so nice and lively to make my Birthday special. They accommodated above and beyond here at this resort making it a trip I will not forget. La Trajinera the pool side restaurant had two stations outside the front one made daquaries the other those beers with clamato and tajun with a lime. The food there is good too the ceviche you build and they make right there offer hot dishes as well as cold. Nice place to sit and soak in the oven the endless pool the atmosphere good drinks friendly staff other side has hamburger station hotdogs etc.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Really bad follow up experience

    Reviewed by BetoPA(Mexico City, Mexico) on Jul 07, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I had a really nice experience in Xcaret Hotel. However, thing twice in giving them your phone number. Xcaret sales team has called me every single day in working hours to sell me promotions. It doesn’t matter if you tell them that you are not interested, THEY KEEP CALLING EVERY DAY! One time I asked to be removed from the data base and the answer was: “Thanks for the feedback, but I’m not able to remove you from the data base so we are going to keep calling you” Again, go, it is a great place, but by no reason provide your regular cell phone number or you are going to have a terrible experience with their sales force calls

    (COVID related) Food service issues hurt overall great experience

    Reviewed by christopherbF5642MT() on Jul 04, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We are staying here right now until Tuesday. So far this would be a 4-star review (overall 5 stars but not the best value for the price), but food service knocks it down a notch. The facilities are beautiful—great views everywhere and mostly open. Sanitation is very good and frequent, including temperature checks before getting in the van at the airport and upon arrival at the hotel. The sanitation process at the vans was very thorough. All luggage was sprayed, the vans were disinfected before arrival, the steps were sprayed before boarding, and even your shoes were sprayed before boarding. Masks and sanitizer were given to all people before boarding, and all passengers were asked to wear them due to the air circulation. My only issue was that vans were definitely over 50% capacity, which we had been told would be the maximum. Check in was a little slow. It appeared they weren’t operating all the stations, to provide spacing, and they were spraying everything to disinfect between guests, so I can’t fault them at all for that, but be prepared for a wait of 30+ minutes to check in. Once checked in, rooms were great and clean. Our plugs didn’t work in our room the first night, and the toilet wouldn’t flush, and they sent someone to check. We were switching to a nicer room the next day anyway so it wasn’t a huge issue. We had a user-error issue with the jacuzzi in the room and they sent someone to help as well. All the pools are open, the river is open, and all the beach areas, including the one on the sea, are open (though the sea one has a red flag flying at all times). The main pool can get a little crowded in the afternoons but other than that there is plenty of space around the property to sunbathe in a socially-distant atmosphere. Masks are “recommended,” but not required. All staff are wearing masks. About 90% of guests are not. I understand not wearing a mask in the pool or while sunbathing or while actively eating or drinking, but it would be safer if the hotel required all guests to wear masks in indoor spaces, including when waiting to be seated for meals or when waiting in line in a buffet. Park transport is running normally, though some are on reduced schedules (3-4 days per week), and Xplor Fuego and Xavage are closed. You have to make reservations for Xel-Ha and Xoximilco, but that is normal. The reason we’re not giving a 4/5-star review is the food service. Simply put: it’s insufficient. Not all restaurants are operating, and many are operating at reduced capacity. The only area that appears to be open for breakfast is Mercado de la Merced buffet, as well as a smaller buffet in the Xin-Gao space next door (it is not Asian food). I am not sure if they are operating at reduced capacity, because the Xin-Gao space does not seem like it is only 30% capacity, but you have to wait an unacceptable amount of time to get a table (20+ minutes). Additionally, the breakfast service is understaffed. Buffets are not self-serve, but are served by staff. This would be a great healthy change, except most stations have only one person there. Therefore you have to wait while one person goes down the entire line, so lines get long. Additionally, if the staffer is helping change plates or cutting fruit or something, there is no service at all. Having to stand in a line amongst people that are not wearing masks while waiting for someone to serve me at a buffet is not very healthy. I would suggest the hotel have multiple staff at buffet lines if this practice continues. Lunch seems to have the most options, though they are still limited. Trajinera is operating as a buffet, and it is similar issues with long lines in the afternoon heat and not enough staff serving. It also does not appear to be at 30% capacity, though we have not had any issues getting a table there. Las Playas is also open for a la carte lunch, and is very good. We were told Chibali is also open but that it is focused on kids. The dinner service is probably the biggest issue. The main option is Mercado de la Merced. This is OK but unremarkable Mexican food, which gets repetitive after a couple of days. I believe Cantina los Faroles is also open and serving Mexican food, and Las Playas is open as well, again serving Mexican food. Aside from that, there is no other option to eat dinner that doesn’t require a reservation. We were told on arrival that there was no availability for the entire week for Xin-Gao and for Las Cuevas, because they were operating at reduced capacity. It is unacceptable that we were not told in advance of the need to make a reservation before arrival. The hotel has several spaces that are closed, including Bio and Teatro del Rio. I would recommend they reopen these spaces and use them for dinner service (even if it is not the same concept as before) immediately to better serve their guests. Another suggestion would be to offer Ha’ as part of the package or to use that space for meals included in the service. Simply put, the meal service is absolutely below expectations for a hotel that is over $500 a night. If the hotel is unable to offer a proper all-inclusive package at this time, it is understandable, but then rates should be reduced and the package changed to accommodation only. At the rate we are paying, the fact that we are having the same mediocre Mexican buffet every night is extremely disappointing. One final suggestion would be that some rooms at Fuego should have multiple beds. We are a mother and son and would like to have (and would have paid to have) been able to swim in the Fuego pool and eat at the Fuego restaurant, but because all rooms had only one bed we didn’t do that. Not all adults are couples. Overall, this was a great experience, but the poor quality of food service prevents it from being excellent. I hope the facility improves this service in the near future for future guests, or else potential guests would do well to wait until things are more back to normal.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    We Had The Best Time

    Reviewed by Troy W() on Jul 03, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Late review, we spent two weeks at the Hotel Xcaret is Feb/March 2020. Due to everything going on at the time I didn't get around to writing a review when we got back, but since I just got off the phone with my travel agent booking another two weeks at the Hotel Xcaret for Feb/March 2021 I felt it was a good time to sit down and write this. So what can I say that already hasn't been said before about this amazing hotel? Yes the hotel is the most amazing and beautiful hotels we've ever stayed at and the price in comparison to other hotels is definitely worth it in my opinion, to be honest I feel for what you get the price is outstanding! The hotel, staff, food, free admission to all the parks, the free excursions definitely made this trip 5/5! We went to the Xcaret Park almost everyday since it's a quick and scenic boat ride away, or a bus if you prefer, seeing the jaguars, making Mayan chocolate, watching baby sea turtles being released, Sea Trek, and of course the night show, fantastic! But don't miss out on adventuring around the hotel itself, we spent hours just swimming around all the waterways at the hotel, water sliding and kayaking... some days it was hard to decide whether to just stay at the hotel and adventure or head out for free admission to all the parks. Also don't miss out on the free excursions! We did the Coba, Xel-ha day trip and I have to say riding a BMX through the jungle to get to the pyramid at Coba and then the view from the top of the pyramid was definitely a top highlight of the trip for me. Don't forget to bring a waterproof camera, we sure made use of ours and got hundreds of amazing shots, especially during the river swims at the Park, wow! I was even pleasantly surprised by how amazing Xenses was, it was kind of at the low end of our to do list but it far exceeded our expectations! The Xensatorium felt like a spiritual experience. I could really just go on and on about all the great days we had there, even two weeks didn't feel like it was enough time... so we are booked again for next year! If all goes well we will be greeting Francisco the ferryman soon enough, catching a ride to the park and having a blast!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    One of a kind resort, no kidding!

    Reviewed by sakfive5(Miami, Florida) on Jul 03, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Here are the good things we experienced and our recommendations during our 2020 summer stay. The good The resort emphasizes the Mexican culture through: - Architecture: Simply breathtaking, the colors used such as rosa mexicano (dark pink), the singular lattices, the Mexican art you can see everywhere created by Mexican hands, the pleasant scent across all venues give a great touch and uniqueness to this resort, also, the wide spaces and corridors provide good air flow so hot spots are almost null, and although we visited this resort during Covid19 times (<50% capacity) we’re confident that the site plan keeps guests scattered so you don’t feel the place overcrowded. - Guest service: Our experience was beyond compare, the hosts, servers and bartenders were wonderful and attentive who we tipped unconditionally; special thanks to Penelope and Ernesto (our butlers) who were constantly checking on us through text messages and helping us with our questions and requirements. - Gastronomy: What can we say? Born and raised in Mexico City, we can tell you, this place has the best Mexican cuisine we’ve tasted; and don’t get us started with the fusions we got from Casa Fuego restaurant, simply amazing, not to mention the Pulpo with Verdolagas at Los Faroles. At Mercado la Merced, we loved the quesadillas and the Panadero who brought us a smile on our lips. At Trajinera and Las Playas we loved the “garnachas” (pork/fish/chicken on tacos, sopes, and tostadas). - Cocktail drinks: This is a very sensitive topic in all-inclusive resorts; but finally… we found a resort where every drink is enjoyable and first-class, specially Pina Coladas at the Lobby Bar, tequila cocktails at Los Faroles, and a whisky/coffee digestif at Las Playas. - Activities: Since our visit was about relaxation, we enjoyed our long promenades in the resort after each meal, the adults-only and exclusive-to-Casa-Fuego-guests rooftop pool was the cherry on top where we read our best-seller books with an spectacular view and a nice breeze from the beach; now, this doesn’t mean the resort is “boring”, you also have plenty of other pools where people are much more dynamic, plus the caletas have kayaks and paddleboards which we also did, and one of the best perks is that you have unlimited access to any of the Grupo Xcaret parks (Xplor, Xcaret, Xel Ha, Xense, etc) with frequent transfers in case you are in the mood for something strenuous or different. - Music: Continuing with the Mexican experience, music is Mexican (pop, ranchera, baladas, etc). At some venues we could listen to English music but was sort of lounge music. We liked the fact that this is not a get-drunk and party-all-day resort, for that, people have plenty of cheaper choices in Cancun. - Sustainability: Even though any man-made structure is not 100% “green”, we loved that the resort avoids the depletion of natural resources and maintains an ecological balance. It was amazing seeing wildlife in the resort such as monkeys on trees, fish in the caletas, coatis in the corridors, colorful birds, and pacific iguanas. - Order: On our last evening at Casa Fuego, we saw new guests who thought they could do a big party at the pool by putting their music super loud, behaving somewhat vulgar, and making lots of noise, since Fuego restaurant terrace is by this pool, even some guests having dinner decided to move inside. We later saw a staff member inviting these people to chill. Unfortunately, the hotel will continue having these type of guests, but we thank the staff by doing the difficult task to keep order so everyone enjoys their vacation. - Cleanliness: During Covid19, we couldn’t feel safer. It starts before boarding the shuttle at the airport to the resort, they give your a welcome kit with sanitizer, they take your temperature, disinfect all your bags, and even your shoes, and the same process again when you arrive. We constantly saw cleaning staff disinfecting all areas. Everyone from security, cooks, hosts, butlers, bartenders, servers to housekeepers were wearing masks at all times. Our suite was pristine every day. Recommendations: - Check-in: this process took longer than expected, and even during Covid19 times and resort at <50% capacity, it felt slow; either I wish Casa Fuego (adults only) had a dedicated check-in desk/line or better yet, invest in a good mobile app to do check-ins so guests arrive, get the band, and go. - A good mobile app helps the resort shrink check-in/check-out times as guests would enter all their info and credit card (of course resort can validate vs. a passport or official ID upon arrival), can push notifications as to what suite # and when it’s ready (for guests with butler, guests can schedule time to meet at certain location to have the suite intro), also, guests can see ahead of time restaurant table availability and menus, SPA services, transfer times (airport or other parks) and book them, get reminders about these bookings 30 or 15 mins in advance, and the best part, resort can push deals about up-selling a suite prior arrival, or SPA/shops/future booking specials to increase revenue. - Since we are not fans of memberships or timeshares, have a “Future stay desk” where only current guests can put a deposit towards a future booking and get some perks such as SPA credit or special rate/upgrade. Tip: non-refundable deposits with good perks/rates have been a success on cruises. - Music: We think lounge genre music would’ve been great at the Casa Fuego rooftop and main pools. During our visit we didn’t hear anything. - Drinks at Casa Fuego Rooftop Bar may get some inspiration from other bars such as Lobby Bar Overall: If you want to indulge in a true Mexican experience with great attention to detail where sustainability does not compromise comfort, Hotel Xcaret is the answer. Will we come back? Definitely yes, as a matter of fact, we’re done trying different hotels in Riviera Maya, this is from now on our resort of choice, and since some venues were closed due to Covid19, this is a good excuse to visit very soon when they fully open. Suggestion for future guests: While it’s not required, we highly recommend bringing at least US$30/day/family in singles, so you can tip your servers, bartenders, housekeepers, butlers, etc; these people really go above and beyond.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5