Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful beach, great room, wonderful housekeeping and waitstaff but nightmare with customer service regarding an offered upgrade.

    Reviewed by KM on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Our room was clean, cool, and well maintained. The outdoor shower was wonderful, and the room quiet! The food on the night of our arrival was amazing but we were a bit disappointed to find that the food was not like this every night. The food was okay at the buffets for the rest of our stay but repetitive and the same at all the restaurants. The a la carte restaurants are the real stars! The food was great and we found the waitstaff to be wonderful! We also used room service, which was included. It was fast and tasted good. The beach was clean, with fine, white sand, and the water was clear. The exclusives at the hotel for members of the TravelClub and the TRS resort are not clearly marked. There were areas on the opposite end of the resort from the TRS that were exclusive only for them but had no signs. There are also exclusive shuttles that would completely ignore you and drive off empty. Shuttles for non-club members were few and far between. We were also offered an upgrade by a letter left at our door. When we went to reception before noon the next day like the letter said, we were told it was first come, first serve and that we were out of luck. When we tried to plead our case, we were offered a cheap, free beach bag and a tour of the areas that we would not be allowed to use without the upgrade. No where did it say that it is first come, first serve or we would have gone to reception when we received the letter. The customer service was appalling considering that they offered us an upgrade and did not carry through, then did nothing to compensate. The attitude of the people we spoke to at reception and with the Travel Club was very dismissive and we felt that our concerns and frustrations were brushed off. As a 5 star resort, they should have customer service to reflect that rating. Had our experience with customer service been more positive, we would have no problems returning to the resort in the future

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    not the best

    Reviewed by michels on Apr 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is our 3rd all inclusive resort. I would not give it 5 stars. We were a group of ten and every morning at 0800 went to line up to make reservations for restaurant dinners. We were always told that it was fully booked or you could have dinner at 1030 pm! We asked multiple times and received no answers as to why there was always empty tables in all of these places when we walked in to try and get in. We also were told to use the APP but it worked very seldom. Then we were told to leave a message on line for reservations which ended up with 2 different times chatting with 2 different people. The WIFI only works in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms so it was hard to find our group and make plans about excursions etc. Everytime we had a question about anything the staff all had different answers. We were told the shuttle between hotels was closed as it was late night so we walked only to find out the next day that is always running and we had been given the wrong info again! It kind of started to be a joke for us! The buffets were all pretty much the same and the food was always lukewarm. We did get to 4 of the restaurants and 3 were good. The bartenders , waiters, dining staff, and housekeeping were all very good and worked hard. I feel that the resort is so big that you dont get that 5 star feeling because there are so many guests. The beach and pools are beautiful but the open smoking everywhere was an annoyance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6962 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing resort! Mind blowing!

    Reviewed by Fish_corner(Mexico City, Mexico) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I arrived in the night at the complex, the rooms are ok, I did not think too much of it at first sight. But then the sun came up and we went to look for some breakfast in one of the 21(!!!!) restaurants/bars on site. I was literally perplex on this resort. The food was amazing, the staff increíble, the size of the resort; mind blowing! Electric karts that move you between the 4 lobbies! The kart drivers, have to say, are so amazingly service driven, never ever seen that in any hotel in my life!!! Always prepared to help out. I could not count the swimming pools on site...too much! The resort is built within a jungle and this is completely respected, with animals living in the wild, amazing! There is a running track of 5km available!! That is unique! Large beach area, in May 2019, it was hardly possible to enter the sea because of a mega seaweed problem. The WiFi is interrupted a lot, but ok. The restaurants are great. Service is great! It may be this was all because it was out of season, but still, I completely recommend trying out this place. Find out for yourself how great this is. Getting there is somehow complicated. I rented a car with Hertz in Cancun airport, but don’t go there!!! Worst experience ever. I think I would have taken an Uber next time. Which is not cheap, but better than Hertz! And cheaper as well. You can also take a line bus (ADO) to Playa del Carmen and then a taxi or Uber.

    Fantastic stay!!!!

    Reviewed by François B(Montreal, Canada) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything was perfect! Food, drinks, services. I would recommand this resort anytime. The personnel is always smiling and very kind. They always want that you enjoy your stay.Everywhere you go, it is always clean.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by adlopez415(Sachse, Texas) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a family vacation at Grand Palladium Kantenah. Overall it is a mixed review. My wife and I typically stay at all-adults, but with this being a family vacation we needed a family resort. We did upgrade to the adult buildings-Romance/Mayan villa (3508) and it was well worth it. The room was beach front with a slight ocean view (The seaweed problem is still an issue-This is an issue all over the Riviera Maya). The AC didn't seem to work well and it was warm trying to sleep. The beach is nice and there are plenty of beach chairs. There are many dining options, with breakfast and lunch being buffet only. For dinner you have the option of a la carte or buffet. The steakhouse was my favorite dinner restaurant. The main pool is very large and too warm (Felt heated, like bath water). Their is also a kids pool with slides and a teen club with video games. Be prepared to walk, the resort is very spread out and we averaged 16,000 steps/day. My wife and I like walking so it was fine for us, but if you have small children it may be an issue. Overall this is a very good all-inclusive family resort. If you are staying here without kids, I recommend upgrading. - Special shout out to Evelyn (I think) on the egg/omelet station. She was awesome. Nadia on the entertainment team. She was always helpful and fun. Last, Diego and Wendy in the lobby bar were great (Ask Diego to make you a Carajillo, it's an espresso alcohol drink, very good after dinner).

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Large complex

    Reviewed by mckinnk() on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Four different places to stay at this resort. Maps and signage needs improved but after 2 days able to find way around. Nice Pools and amenities. Large selection food in Buffets. Steak / beef was a bit to be desired but I am from upper Midwest and great Beef here, spoiled by my local beef. large selection of types of restaurants. Was there attending Son's Wedding, great accommodations for this and Staff was excellent for this occasion. .If I go back it would be in Jan or Feb, personally too hot and humid for me during summer months.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Dream46425496592(Brandon, South Dakota) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall the resort was very nice for the whole family. Service of all staff was excellent. Many people talk about how good the food is but I would say that was the part I was most disappointed in. All the buffet style places had a lot of options but much of the food was not kept warm very well. The specialty restaurants were just OK. Best food was from the sports bar and the hot dog stand. Pools were very clean and relaxing. Beach was nice however it was to windy so was not able to take anything into the water. They tried to keep beaches clean from seaweed but it looked like a losing battle. Over was a good trip and I would recommend it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX