Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Huge, modern hotel with amazing food!

    Reviewed by Marc on Nov 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This massive hotel has some of the best all-inclusive resort food you will ever eat. Thankfully you will get your steps in to burn off some of the huge meals you'll enjoy! The rooms are fine, the bars, restaurants and pools are great and the beach is MASSIVE. All day time staff speaks perfect English, and they will go out of their way for you. Amazing spot, would go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Loves the resort but hated my room, switching rooms seemed to be out of the question even after several complaints.

    Reviewed by Brian on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great beach, food and staff. Very disappointed in our room, balcony door wouldn't look, wrist bands wouldn't open door security had to come six times in the first one and a half days to let us in our room. Valuable lost time waiting 30 + min each time they had to come and then wait for them to finish each time to see if it work. Took them 2 days to finally change the lock mechanism. We were on the 4 floor and the elevator stopped working for the last 3 days of our stay. We were never offered another room or any compensation. Very disappointed in a so called 5 star resort as far as my accommodations. In desperate need of renovations in some parts of the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    z

    not coming back

    Reviewed by zeljka on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    location, food and entertainment was great but room was bad, smell bad look bad, definitely needs renovation and update, bad lighting, useless hair dryer...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Sandos was great! Would recommend!

    Reviewed by ADay on Jan 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I were there for a short vacation of 5 nights in early November. What surprised me was the employees. We have not been to Mexico in years and partly due to being treated much better at other destinations than by the hotel staff in Mexico. This was NOT the case on this trip. Great and FRIENDLY service. Kudos to the hotel industry to improve on this point and so well. Sandos was great! The beach was wonderful! Food, good. Drinks, good. Service, great. Loved hearing the howling monkeys! We had a great time even with it raining 1.5 days. Only two little things that we didn't like so much personal opinion and they are just minor. The first is that we did not book the adults only- we did not think we needed it and wanted to be closer to the beach anyway. However, the adults only have a piece of the beach that is away from the daily activities and you have an unobstructed view of the water. I recommend even just for this, to book the upgrade. The second minor point is that we don't often like to enjoy the evening entertainment, but rather have a drink or two in the lobby bar at hotels after dinner. The lobby was so far away from our room and where we usually ate-and the lobby bar was a bit secluded and uninteresting, so we never went there. Very minor points and certainly did not keep us from enjoying this resort. Would return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Great beach, large rooms, good location.

    Reviewed by Funinsun on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location: located in playa car, on the south end of playa del Carmen. 35 minute walk to playa del carmen ferry, or 5 minute $7 cab ride. Playa car is a gated golf course community with a dozen hotels along the beach. Beach: exceptional, wide, long, no rocks. One side is for families, one side is adults only if you chose the 'select clubs adults only' package. The major hotel chains got into the playa car area for the beach. 5 Riu's, 1 sandos, 2 iberostar's, 2 wyndhams , and a handful of others. We go to the area for proximity to playa del carmen's restaurant 's and shopping and the playa car beaches. Have been to two of the other playa car hotels and they were good, we come back to sandos for the large separate adults only pool, the adults only rooms are also large with a jetted two person tub. If we were a family I'd choose this hotel or any of the other larger hotels in the area. It's the pools and separate adult beach that sell us on it. This is a large hotel 800 or so rooms. Families or those with mobility issues may want to stay in the section right on the beach. Adults section I refer to is a 9 minute walk to the beach, there is a golf cart shuttle that runs from the adult section to the beach area every 7 minutes. Food is good, large buffet, with a couple chefs to fry up fish or meat I'd you want fresh. Entertainment and shows are above average, always an early eve kids show. Evening entertainment setup is very good with the major bar, buffet, and mainstage all centrally located. For 300 less a week I would consider the Riu's or others in playa car if your not going for the adults only. But this hotel is priced about right, it's a 4.5 star with lots of amenities good rooms and service. You get what you pay for there's a $400 more a week riu five star in playa car and a $ 400 less riu 3.5 star also in play car.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 15611 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great hotel! would love to come back

    Reviewed by knsdflkdsngropgnmea() on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We liked Sandos Plyacar Beach Resort. it was our first time there and hopefully not the last.Yes, there are some changes happening in the hotel but we believe it is only for good. new family pool and adults pool was open right by the beach,with kids water park. new beach area added. hotel is expanding and building new villas as well as amenities which is great! Everybody are working super hard and going above and beyond for guests that stay there. It is probably great idea to separate adults and family areas.there probably sometime soon be two hotels on one territory maybe one adult only other family friendly (just a guess, like a lot of other hotels do). great animation in both areas, kids love the slides, before there was non as we know. so we consider us lucky to visit Sandos Playacar Beach Resort after changes made and sure there be more positive changes and add ons to it.it looks like management reacting very fast on all concerns and suggestion. Water in the new pools became warmer already, new and more lounge chairs and umbrellas placed in. Also we would like to say special thank you to bartender in new family pool- Gildardo (hope we got spelling correct) for his smile, always great drinks and hardwork.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Huge Resort!

    Reviewed by Luis G(Fort Collins, Colorado) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great resort fore the Family with many options for entertainment and food! Another huge resort, as is customary for PlayaCar. The pool closest to the beach was always packed and the water turned murky very quick with all of the sun-screen lotion! The pool in the middle of the resort was always the best because less people frequented, but we had a beach room so the convenience of the beach pool was to much to pass up.

    Excellent Staff

    Reviewed by FarAway288272() on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were really pleased with the warm reception and the attention to detail ofthe entire staff that went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. Wewe’re really wowed by Jessica who showed great compassion at checking inand found us a room that didn’t require so much walking to the main restaurants.

    We stayed 6 days in Sandos PlayCar with our son and we had an amazing time

    Reviewed by Departure106667() on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Sandos PlayaCar is amazing place for Families. We stayed for 6 days and we want to return. They are great activities for kids on the beach and the shows at night were great. The PlayaCar community area was safe and close to everything. Everyone was very friendly at the hotel and provided great service. I booked a Spa session with Taylor and she was amazing. We loved the hotel grounds and all the animals at the hotel. We only had a few issues with the hotel- the alcoholic drinks were a bit disappointing- I ordered a sangria and i got a weird mix of lemonade and red wine-although it was not biggie for us. We also had a really bad experience with their photo studio.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Not a Family hotel.

    Reviewed by 868anibalf(Pilar, Argentina) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    As many others already pointed out, the hotel is pointing to become a single guess no children resort. 4 pools, only 1 is for families. The other 3 are only adults or Royal members. The games on the pool are ok but not always functioning. We have 1,5 day with no fun at the water games. The only family pool is located next to a construction, so noisy that is impossible to rest hearing all the drilling and sawing. Finding good coffee is all an adventure. Limited time until 11PM sometimes they tell you they have no coffee grinder. Or they turn off the machine before the stipulated hour. Our room has a rare smell like humidity. We had to ask for cleaning twice and insist two or three times for the cleaning. Good food, great desserts only at the restaurants. Desserts at the buffet not recommendable. Great shows. Disney show with the kids participating, and great organized by the Kids Club. We strongly recommend them.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX