Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    N

    Celiac and Gluten-free accoomodating. A wonderful overall experience that will have us going back to Sandos

    Reviewed by Nykol Kroeker on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first all-inclusive trip following a celiac diagnosis within our family. The food available available at the resort was very accommodating with a specific "gluten-free" section available at the buffet. Whenever asked, the head chef also walked around with my daughter and I to explain what could be consumed at the buffet. The Italian and Mexican a-la-carte restaurants were AMAZING at accommodating all food that was order to be inclusive for my daughter. The resort, pools and beach were also wonderful and we will definitely be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear

    Reviewed by SC on Dec 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear. If you are travelling with adults only, purchase the right class (family blue bands will not give you access to the entire resort only about 1/3). It is really sad what they have done to what sounded like an amazing resort for families pre December 1. Family Section - Section furthest away from the beach/ waterslides. To get to the beach/family section (1.6km), there are carts that can transport you (a bit of a game of chicken with buses travelling the opposite way and pedestrians as it was not built for this) Positives: activities, swim up bar and snacks, Room service available, jetted tubs in rooms Negatives: beach/pool with water slides is 1.6km away from rooms, rooms smell like mold, main buffet is 1.1km away Main Areas: Shows were great, Service was friendly and efficient, Food at the main buffet was the best I have had at a buffet. Tons of choices, sushi, pasta, fresh breads, cheeses, Chinese, salads, fruits, amazing meat, gluten free section, kids food section, great deserts, mimosas for breakfast! Kids club was tons of fun for a 2 year old and 7. They offer free service for 4 and above, for my 2 year old I paid for an extra babysitter in the kids club (20 an hour) Family Beach, waterslides and pool area Positives: Infinity pool, lunch bbq and snacks, beautiful views Negatives: Distance 1.6 km from the rooms, not a lot of shade, Limited seating, no lifeguard stations in the family area (there are 2 in the adults only), bathroom hasn't been built yet, not a ton of waiter service, Waterslides filled to high with water, Adults not allowed on slides - as they are too deep (above your knee) young kids cannot use any of them (including the baby ones), there are stairs to and from ? hasn't been planned for strollers, no pathed area to the pool (lots of exercise pushing a stroller through the sand), Pools are very cold, Construction noise all day long.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Huge, modern hotel with amazing food!

    Reviewed by Marc on Nov 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This massive hotel has some of the best all-inclusive resort food you will ever eat. Thankfully you will get your steps in to burn off some of the huge meals you'll enjoy! The rooms are fine, the bars, restaurants and pools are great and the beach is MASSIVE. All day time staff speaks perfect English, and they will go out of their way for you. Amazing spot, would go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Loves the resort but hated my room, switching rooms seemed to be out of the question even after several complaints.

    Reviewed by Brian on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great beach, food and staff. Very disappointed in our room, balcony door wouldn't look, wrist bands wouldn't open door security had to come six times in the first one and a half days to let us in our room. Valuable lost time waiting 30 + min each time they had to come and then wait for them to finish each time to see if it work. Took them 2 days to finally change the lock mechanism. We were on the 4 floor and the elevator stopped working for the last 3 days of our stay. We were never offered another room or any compensation. Very disappointed in a so called 5 star resort as far as my accommodations. In desperate need of renovations in some parts of the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    z

    not coming back

    Reviewed by zeljka on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    location, food and entertainment was great but room was bad, smell bad look bad, definitely needs renovation and update, bad lighting, useless hair dryer...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Sandos was great! Would recommend!

    Reviewed by ADay on Jan 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I were there for a short vacation of 5 nights in early November. What surprised me was the employees. We have not been to Mexico in years and partly due to being treated much better at other destinations than by the hotel staff in Mexico. This was NOT the case on this trip. Great and FRIENDLY service. Kudos to the hotel industry to improve on this point and so well. Sandos was great! The beach was wonderful! Food, good. Drinks, good. Service, great. Loved hearing the howling monkeys! We had a great time even with it raining 1.5 days. Only two little things that we didn't like so much personal opinion and they are just minor. The first is that we did not book the adults only- we did not think we needed it and wanted to be closer to the beach anyway. However, the adults only have a piece of the beach that is away from the daily activities and you have an unobstructed view of the water. I recommend even just for this, to book the upgrade. The second minor point is that we don't often like to enjoy the evening entertainment, but rather have a drink or two in the lobby bar at hotels after dinner. The lobby was so far away from our room and where we usually ate-and the lobby bar was a bit secluded and uninteresting, so we never went there. Very minor points and certainly did not keep us from enjoying this resort. Would return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Great beach, large rooms, good location.

    Reviewed by Funinsun on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location: located in playa car, on the south end of playa del Carmen. 35 minute walk to playa del carmen ferry, or 5 minute $7 cab ride. Playa car is a gated golf course community with a dozen hotels along the beach. Beach: exceptional, wide, long, no rocks. One side is for families, one side is adults only if you chose the 'select clubs adults only' package. The major hotel chains got into the playa car area for the beach. 5 Riu's, 1 sandos, 2 iberostar's, 2 wyndhams , and a handful of others. We go to the area for proximity to playa del carmen's restaurant 's and shopping and the playa car beaches. Have been to two of the other playa car hotels and they were good, we come back to sandos for the large separate adults only pool, the adults only rooms are also large with a jetted two person tub. If we were a family I'd choose this hotel or any of the other larger hotels in the area. It's the pools and separate adult beach that sell us on it. This is a large hotel 800 or so rooms. Families or those with mobility issues may want to stay in the section right on the beach. Adults section I refer to is a 9 minute walk to the beach, there is a golf cart shuttle that runs from the adult section to the beach area every 7 minutes. Food is good, large buffet, with a couple chefs to fry up fish or meat I'd you want fresh. Entertainment and shows are above average, always an early eve kids show. Evening entertainment setup is very good with the major bar, buffet, and mainstage all centrally located. For 300 less a week I would consider the Riu's or others in playa car if your not going for the adults only. But this hotel is priced about right, it's a 4.5 star with lots of amenities good rooms and service. You get what you pay for there's a $400 more a week riu five star in playa car and a $ 400 less riu 3.5 star also in play car.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16213 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    YOGA with Bebe was amazing.

    Reviewed by Footprints559291() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just vacationed at Sandos Playacar and our stay was so relaxing. The Staff are very friendly, the Resort is beautiful and very clean. The food - well lets just say I gained 6 lbs while I was there..... If you like to do YOGA then you must take one of Bebe`s classes. She is such a talented Instructor, I would go back to this resort just so I could take more of her classes. When we were on the beach our waitress "Sofia" was so nice and friendly. Would definately vacation at this resort again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great time !!

    Reviewed by Thomas D(Windsor, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I recently visited Sandos Playa Car. We are members with the Sandos Resorts and absolutely love this place. We only have one complaint as a royal elite member we’re disappointed to have to walk a long way to the royal elite pool and bar area. Mind you that the facilities new pools and soon to open new hotel area are beautiful. We just felt as a member it should be more convenient for your family to manoeuvre the property. With that being said Teresa from public relations is absolutely wonderful at her job she deserves a shout out, as does our outstanding bar staff at the royal elite pool, Frenanda , and David thanks for making our stay that much better.! I would and will recommend to anyone to visit the resort you want be disappointed! Tom from Windsor On. Canada

    Good food, great service

    Reviewed by OnAir23309666990(Sherwood Park, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had the pleasure of spending 8 nights at this beautiful resort. Although the room might be starting to show it's age, the room was very clean, and my bed was super comfy, and the lush green view out my window was amazing, not like the cold, winter view I left behind in Canada! I was pleased with the buffet offerings, and the ala carte restaraunts have delicious menu items. Very flavorful.

    Great family vacation

    Reviewed by Baseskija(Calgary) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed at Sandos Playacar from March 5 until March 15 and overall hand a great family vacation! I stayed with my parents and overall we had a great stay at Sandos. This was our second stay at Sandos Playacar (the first time was in 2015) and one of the main reasons for our return was because of its amazing beach. Upon our arrival, we found out that the access to the beach and the main pool was now under adults section only. This was a big surprise for us. Our reservation was under family section so we were told that we can use the new beach area instead. The options to obtain adult bracelet were to pay extra or to attend 90 minutes time share presentation. I agreed to attend the presentation. The next day I attended the session and I was not forced or obligated to purchase anything if I chose not to. Everyone was very professional and respectful during the presentation and afterwards were were given adult bracelets. The food and the entertainment was excellent throughout the stay. However the most impressive for me and my parents were the staff at the resort. Everyone is so welcoming, friendly and very hard working. We had breakfast everyday at Gaucho restaurant and the customer service and the food were phenomenal! I especially want to praise Mirna Morales and her hardworking team for their service! Giselle Morales the hostess at Gaucho would always great us with smile and be so welcoming. Maximo Alvarez Gomez and Diego Gomez were excellent waiters and looked after us with great care. Thank you all for such great service!! The lunch at the main buffet restaurant was always fresh with so many choices to choose from. Big praise goes to the hard working ladies: Annel, Giselle, Karen, Eunice, Ana and Deisy Garcia Alvaro who provided amazing customer service at the restaurant. Thank you all! Overall, I would come back to Sandos Playacar again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Tara C() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Sandos is great. Busy. But as we are the royal elite there are plenty of member only assets to keep us out of the busy locations. Loved the service by berna and oliax. They made the day for one little girl and it was fun to hang out with them while I was waiting. Thank you!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX