Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6089 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    AMAZING!

    Reviewed by sarahmmmmmmm() on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Such an amazing experience. Every penny well spent because of the quality of the hotel and the amenities it provides for their guests. I do recommend the spa! All the food was so overwhelming in a good was. I will definitely return

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    June family trip

    Reviewed by Habib K() on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent services, beautiful beach, kind bilingual service men/women and costumer satisfying oriented resort. Room clean and you can smell the chlorax / bleach as you enter your bathroom 1st time / 1st day in checking in. That to me is indication of full service cleaning / sterilization from prior guests occupancy which is refreshing coma-red with other resorts where you can see remnant of hair, stains extras. I have been in Cancun / Mexico allegedly 5 stars resorts on multiple occasion and this one by far is the top. I am praying it stay like this .

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great people. Good resort.

    Reviewed by HFreier(New York) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our third trip to the Finest. After two successful family trips, the wife and I decided to give it a go as a couple. We stayed in the first floor imperial suite - 6059. Overall, the experience was as good - if not better - then our prior trip. While the resort is nice and the food good - the magic sauce for this place remains the staff who are all engaged and committed to ensuring that everything is the best it can be. While there are too many people to mention - I would specifically like to call out Victor - the butler for the imperial suite - who never said no, no matter the request. The follow-up and care he expressed relieved so much stress and allowed the trip to be truly care free. Also fantastic is the beach crew - Damian, Alejandro and Carlos. Each is a standout in their own right and combine to create an exceptional experience. Damian, especially, made the beach experience effortless and meaningful (he is a master of sand art).

    5 STAR RELAXATION

    Reviewed by Chase M(Venice, United States) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    For a busy guy like myself, I find it hard to go on vacation and maintain a "vacation mindset." The Finest Resorts took all my work anxieties away and taught me how to relax because all they do is pamper you all day! I never felt so relaxed and rested in my life. Special thanks to the staff (Daniela, Antonio, Fredy, Teresa, Cornelio, and many others) who made my vacation experience one of the few that I would always remember. Definitely coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Laura's and Scott's Wedding

    Reviewed by Jet24481213730(Ellicott City, Maryland) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is the nicest resort I have ever stayed in. From the moment of arrival to departure, I was treated with the utmost respect and courtesy, and I found each and every member of the staff to be friendly and helpful, NO exceptions. You made it easy to relax, to eat and to drink, and to just have a pleasant experience overall. The staff allowed my to practice my rusty Spanish, they suggested menu items, and they cleaned my room, all with the utmost of care. Even my early morning experience in the gym was superb. This is a great place, well run, and extremely family friendly. Dios te bendiga!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX