The Grand at Moon Palace

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. The Grand at Moon Palace
    6. The Grand at Moon Palace review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    We had a great time.

    Reviewed by Sher on Oct 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    My sister and I stayed at the Moon Palace. The location was fabulous. The hotel and grounds were very clean. The staff was amazing.The food was very good with lots of chooses. The activity staff at the pool were so energetic and friendly. The only downside about the resort is the beaches are full of seaweed despite the constant attempts at the hotel to keep the sand clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Would not return

    Reviewed by Daph on Jan 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This hotel was unfortunately a big let down. The water park was mostly functional, but due to construction safety issues, all slides are shut down. It will be a long time before they are operational. The beach is terrible. You can not swim. Bad smells and seaweed everywhere. Lots went wrong on our vacation. It took too long to fix the issues and often the fix did not run smoothly. Some things are really good here, but the problems we encountered swallowed all that up. If you like a bed you sink into, this is the place, but people I spoke to had sore backs from a lack of support. Some pools are heated, which was nice. Some good, some terrible restaurant experiences. Would not return. Resort is too big both as a guest and as a resort they can not seem to keep it all under proper control. The advertise that the offer Chi bath amenities, but once you use your first bottle, they swith you to a generic vrsion of products. Coffee pods, tea never restocked, only one night did we get a proper turn down service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7421 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing time

    Reviewed by MJSCharlotte_NC(Charlotte, NC) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    People at the Grand were so friendly, great experience. Specially Anabel from the Unique Club, she was extremely friendly, very professional. She was amazing! We will be coming back soon. Thank you Anabel!

    An amazing vacation experience

    Reviewed by RoseFarrell(Hot Springs Village, Arkansas) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Paty Du Lu Torre helped my husband and I understand the Palace Resort system and ensured that we obtained the best possible room location and choose the restaurants that would suit our tastes. (there are so many to choose from) She was extremely attentive, professional and fun!! We look forward to seeing her again in 2020! Thank you Paty!! You are the best!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Family Vacation Fun

    Reviewed by mbriblake(Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A great family vacation spot with tons to do for the whole family. Guillermo in the Italian restaurant made dining fun. Ilsce, Yare, Aurora, Ana, Megumi, and Mafer in the kids club were great. Housekeeping was great. Angel gave a tough and fun TRX class. Shuttles were hard to come by, but walking wasn’t too bad. Resort credits were not always useful, due to restrictions. It was nice being able to use amenities at three different properties. The basketball court and water park were fun. It would have been nice to have another water slide for our 8-year-old, but he had tons of fun in the lazy river and wave pool. Our teen enjoyed the teen night club and Wired lounge.

    WHAT A STAY!

    Reviewed by mdarenfrow(Sugar Land, Texas) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a palace! Football fields of hotel rooms, massive swimming pools, beauty as far as the eye can see. The SPA was AMAZING! Go and spend the day. Use your hotel voucher points to do ALL the excursions as well as the spa amenities. The food was AMAZING. Although the sushi restaurant was very busy and slow the food did not disappoint. The kids pool area was incredible and seemed to have everyone entertained. The on-call physician does house calls and you can buy medication you need straight from him/her when sick. I will go back here ANYTIME!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Huge resort and so much to do

    Reviewed by Islandgirl830(New Jersey) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled end of July as a family. We paid pretty good because we booked alittle late. We requested a room and building but we got the total opposite building and room they we want. I was a little upset because I usually and always get what I ask for from a five star resort. I understand it is busy season but I feel they didn’t even read my request or try to help. We wanted a room right next to our parents but they end up like 7 rooms away as well. The room was huge and marble everywhere. Just be careful getting out the tube bc my father slipped and hurt himself. The resort is huge so and I really wanted a swim up. I feel they can add more swim ups since everyone wants one. Getting around took time but my daughter actually like going on the gulf cart. Our fav restaurant was the Grill. Very accommodating waiters and always asking how’s everything’s. Special thanks to Alfredo and Hermenegildo for taking care of us! Food was excellent! A lot of pools to choose from. Water parks was great perk and playrooms was nice to have for the kids. We will detonated come back next year because 6 days was not enough to finish the entire resort!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX