Óleo Cancún Playa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Boutique Hotel

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a smaller boutique hotel with great attention from all staff. Customer service and enjoyment is their number one priority. The food is wonderful. You have to try Hakka, the Asian/Japanese restaurant. The food is incredible!!! Pool is small but right on the ocean with great views. The rooms are big and comfortable but do need a little bit of upkeep. We were there during heavy rain and out patio door leaked and rattle a great deal. Minor fixes required. Overall, a great hotel and amazing staff!.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Would recommend this to friends.

    Reviewed by M on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Oleo Cancun is a delight full gem that has been greatly upgraded with its recent renovations. The service is very high and the management and staff work very hard to make sure you feel at home and are pampered. The gym is very suitable for a workout while on vacation. The restaurants are great and I would highly recommend that Japanses Restaurant. A very foodie experience. I enjoyed the laid back nature of this boutique style, bohemian resort. The location is great in the hotle zone. It would be great for people wanting a quiet, small resort with extra care from the staff. The views are all amaxing from this ocenafront property. I would recommned this property to friends.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Very nice resort.

    Reviewed by Marla on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great spot. Nice stretch of beach. Lovely staff. Friendly and helpful. And the kitchen crew outdid themselves!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Great boutique style hotel!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location. Close to the airport. Smaller, boutique style hotel. Rooms are huge! Because it is a smaller hotel, there aren't a lot of activities offered on property, however you can organize excursions or go further into Cancun proper for some shopping or to experience Dance clubs. By vehicle it is all accessible. I very much enjoyed my stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with some amazing staff.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jun 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a boutique-style resort with a modern and chic decor. Everything is centered around the ocean views; whether you're in the lobby, the restaurants, the spa or the poolbar...you can always enjoy some amazing ocean views. The sand on this stretch of the beach is powdery soft. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    The food in the Japanese restaurant was impeccable!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This boutique hotel is ideal for location and your budget traveller. The staff were very attentive at the restuarants and the quality of food was amazing. If you want to explore Cancun this hotel is great location. No room key required as it is programmed to your wrist band. It is geared towards adults primarily as there are limited activities for children on site.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    H

    A wonderful surprise

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel has had a full renovation from top to bottom and it is beautiful! It is a smaller property with a boutique-style feel, with fantastic staff who are all,about customer service. The restaurants serve very high quality food and are more than happy to make accommodations for guests with various dietary needs (ex. Vegetarian). The pools are on the smaller side but located oceanfront with spectacular views of the entire hotel zone. You can walk forever down the long wide beach that feels like flour. The rooms are immaculate and have great wifi & room service. No room cards needed for entry as everything is programmed in

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 960 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Rubenz is amazing

    Reviewed by Elisabeth H() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Super klasse. Everything was amazing the Sports Team is the best Part of the Hotel. I Took some lessons with Rubenz he is a Real Professional. I would like to Come back just for His Team. Rubens The Jefe Carlos Israel Juanito y Jana. Thanks guys

    Worst vacation - Thanks Oleo!

    Reviewed by antek(Aventura, Florida) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We traveled to Oleo with our 10 months daughter and my wife, I’m not sure where all the good reviews came, but this isn’t a resort, it’s a hotel with a small pool - if you decide to book your stay here just keep that in mind, it’s tiny and not at all what they advertise it to be. They also push membership of their other property Inspiria. We came here with an open mind to have a family vacation and despite of all the obstacles that kept happening we kept saying we’re going to make the best of it, until they left me and my family at another resort far from where our room was and refused to help bring us back like they were suppose to because we weren’t interested in signing up for their membership, resulting in us finding our own taxi and paying for it to drive 40 min back to our room. Anyway, it’s a bit lengthy, but for those who do their research I assure you - this is probably the most blunt and unbiased review, read on. First, when we arrived, we had to wait 2 hours after a long flight in the lobby because the rooms weren’t available, the property is small like I mentioned so there was nowhere else to go and with a 10 month old baby that’s not a good situation to be in. They put us up on 9th floor, elevators fit 3 people and are very slow and one of them workers use while everyone else can use both. When they finally did give us a room, besides it being on the side where construction is literally next door, our room was opposite of the elevator and next to a closet, so the whole day and night you’d hear people roaming the hallway getting out of the elevator and workers slamming the closet door and clanging room service plates so loud we thought it was all happening inside our room. As you can imagine neither of us got too much sleep, and if you’re traveling with a child, get ready to have them wake up often because of all the noise. The bedsheets had holes in them, I travel frequently and this is the first time I saw giant holes in the bedsheets. It’s ironic that this is an all inclusive resort, but given the fact that there aren’t many amenities (actually nothing on property besides restaurants and a gift shop and a very tiny gym with 2 treadmills), the sauna and steam room is in a spa which you have to pay additional $15 a day to use. The property has 3 restaurants, to say the food was bland would be an understatement - to give you an idea, the main restaurant’s only entree one night was tacos, the following night it was one entree again and it was fajitas, and every day it was the same vegetables and salads, that looked like they were prepared for a week and served the leftovers every day. The other 2 restaurants don’t fall too far behind in terms of the menu. We had no choice but eat outside of this “all-inclusive” resort with terrible food. The restaurant down the street Navios was where we went to eat, great seafood and steak. The pool is so small, with very few reclining chairs around, we never even got to use the pool because they were always taken and pool was packed. We ended up laying out on the beach most of the time. When we got there we said that we wanted to go to a water park, one of the employees that worked at the lobby Illana started talking us out of it and said we shouldn’t go there and we should go to their other resort they are associated with for a day pass. What they don’t mention is that after a 40 min drive there you have to do a 3 hour orientation while you get quizzed by 3 different people before they stop hassling you and let you enjoy whatever left of the day you have, wasting your morning. For those 3 hours they try to sell you a membership - the straw that broke the camel’s back for me, and prompted me to write this review was when they drove us to this other location and LEFT MY FAMILY THERE! Once I said that I’m not interested in memberships and just simply came to enjoy a day with my family on one of the last few days of our vacation - Ilana, the representative that took us there, left us at the resort and canceled our shuttle back that was suppose to be picking us up at 4pm to go back to our room, leaving me and my family at another resort without a room, forced to pay for our own taxi back. After telling all of this to the the manager and then paying for the taxi, his response was “what do you want me to do?” as he shrugged and walked away. Neither Oleo or the other property they took us too helped salvage what was left of our unfortunate vacation. The only highlight of our trip was the restaurant across the street we went to (Navios) to get away from Oleo. This is the only bad review I’ve ever left, and if you browse through other reviews they address some of the issues we’ve had, maybe not the the extent like we experienced. Worst vacation I’ve ever had - if you’re looking for a good property, go to Grand Palladium, skip this mess.

    Amazing Everything

    Reviewed by lisamichaels25() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned last night from our 5 day trip at the Oleo. It was fabulous. The service was outstanding. Buffet was good, but the restaurants, especially, Hakka, was beyond! Every one of the 6 courses was delicious! We went twice. Restaurant staff was top notch. Alejandro, at the bar was the BEST. We got to know him on our first day and he basically had our drinks ready for us by the time we sat down, whether at the pool bar or the inside bar. But, I have to say, all of our service was really really great. We went deep sea fishing (my boyfriend's pick) and caught lots of tuna. The chef prepared a 4 course dinner using the fish we caught. The spa was great too. We had a couples massage and it was comparable to the massages I've had at the Ritz Carlton. We will definitely be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best team. Rubenz is the best

    Reviewed by eleea2013(Vancouver, Canada) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    No seaweed!! The beach is perfect. Rubenz is amazing. We had such a good time taking part in the pool activities. The night is good but they really need more shows Sunday. The sports team is the best part of the hotel those guys rocks

    AMAZING!!!

    Reviewed by Carolina S() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Such an amazing trip! The food and drinks were amazing! The staff and service was excellent in particular Alexander and Julia at the front desk. However, nothing compared to the service from Job at the beach. He always greeted us with a smile. He was on top of making sure we had everything we needed, whether it was drinks, food, and even towels. I would give anything to spend one more day with his service at the beach! Definitely plan on coming back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX