Meliá Jardines del Rey

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    C

    What a rip off! I can't believe I wasted my money and my time. By day 4 I wished I was back at work!

    Reviewed by Cullen on Jan 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I don't understand how they stay in business. The service was very slow. At one of the pool bars with 3 bartenders and 2 customers they couldn't bother to refill the empty cup in front of me. It took 30 minutes to get a hot dog once. In the morning with 2000 guests in residence they were down to one working coffee station that I could find. The servers in the lobby and at the grill often tried to avoid eye contact so they didn't have to take my order. I tried going up to the bar but they ignore you too. The food was worse than the service. The heaters to keep the buffet food warm didn't work so the food was cold. They didn't have a serving utensil for every dish so the food was cross contaminated. If the dish you want was next to the fish your food tasted like fish. The food stations to get hot fresh cooked food had a 20-30 minute wait. The al a carte's were better but the first one still took over 50 minutes to bring out our main course. We had no hot water for 4 out of 7 days. I picked a half dozen cigarette butts out of the pool one day. And a few more the next. But the grounds are well kept and there is a nice sandy beach. So if you can stay tipsy from the moment you wake up until you go to bed this place might be ok.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    First time to Cuba! I wasn't disappointed!

    Reviewed by Mone26 on May 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Last minute trip and for the price I payed I was pleased! seems everyone is complaining about the beach but I didn't have a problem with it. If you take a right and walk a 1/4 mile the beach is really nice!!!! My room was very clean! My maid left me enough towels and water... all I had to do was leave a couple dollar tip and whatever I had wrote on the notepad was done! The entertainers at the pool area were fantastic! The grounds were kind of blah (keeping in mind that i've been to Sandals, Grand Princess 5* Resorts). Food wasn't terrible, I always found something to eat, @ lunch time I would go to the little buffet place at the beach and their pizza was delicious!!! always found something to eat (but I'm not fussy). Excursions... kinda pricey but enjoyed the "swimming with the dolphins" and really enjoyed the jeep excursion to Moron! The catamaran was pretty chill..(enjoyed our lunch on the little island). The staff at this resort go above and beyond!!! I would return if I got a good deal like the last time..

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Cuba many times, but never this resort again.

    Reviewed by Marilyn K on Apr 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed for 2 weeks and found the resort and rooms to be well appointed, clean and the food good. The beach was horrible, water so rocky that we went in once and stayed at the pool for the rest of our stay. Go south for the beach! A real problem with towels, both bath and beach, if you turn in your bath towel you get 2 hand towels to replace and then try to get another bath towel. Beach towels, most guest had to wait 2 days before getting one and only if you were there between 1:30-2:00 when clean supplies can in. Restocking coffee and bar fridge was hit and miss, usually miss. Should be restocked daily with anything that was used the previous day, appeared if anything left in fridge nothing gets stocked with exception of water. Reported non working coffee maker to client services 2 days, spoke to tour rep. on day 3 and finally got replacement. Stayed in Cuba many times and never experienced these issues even at lower star rated resorts. Will not be going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Megan on Feb 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Fantastic experience. Extremely clean and well maintained. Had something to offer for everyone. Will return and recommend this resort in a heart beat. Best all inclusive I have been to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Horrible Beach

    Reviewed by Cayo Coco on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wow what a horrible first day in Cayo Coco. We go to Cuba for the beach and this was the worst beach I have ever seen anywhere. There were rocks everywhere, huge rocks on the beach and in the water. This beach is UNSAFE both on the sand and in the water unless you are willing to slice your feet open on rocks or fall on them and break some bones. I have never been so dissapointed with a beach ever. There was no way my family and I were staying at this beach, especially with our Special Needs son. We had no choice but to pay over a thousand extra dollars to be transfered to another resort. I cannot believe Westjet would send families to this resort and Travel Agents can recommend this resort saying how great it is. Such a disapointment. We are now staying at the Melia Cayo Coco and what a difference. We are excited to enjoy the rest of the week. Think twice about going to Meliá Jardines del Rey, especially if you are looking for a nice beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Huge and will be massive resort..time will tell how it can handle 2000+ guests when beach is so narrow and talapas limited.

    Reviewed by Scuba Snorkeller on Apr 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Location: On Cayo Coco, known for its wonderful talcum-like sand, the beach directly in front of this resort has a sandstone/rocky section requiring rubber 'water-shoes' but 200 metres in either direction the rocks are not evident. I flew Westjet nonstop from YYZ super service thank you for a 2 week stay. The resort is huge..and half open with target for full occupancy in May..the half under final construction and landscaping is of no bother to current guests staying in the eastern half. It was like staying in a self contained village which had just been created. The staff were superb, with special mention to the maids, groundskeepers, and cleaning staff of the public buildings and particularly the public washrooms. Best I have experienced in 35 visits to Cuba. Rooms have either two double on one King Bed and either shower only or combo-tub/shower..lots of hot water. Food was best in Cuba so compliments to Melia..buffet steam tables had visible temp. controls with good preparation and variety. A la carte restaurants varied with my top choice being the Bistro...two others, Aquas and 'Italian' were simply the two halves of the beach restaurant. Wine: The included red and white wine one of each was plonk however, a good variety was available at extra charge by the bottle and reasonable cost..recommended. Getting around:...electric carts/drivers available for transport if the walking is an issue...luggage is delivered to rooms on arrival and a phone call has it picked up and delivered to the lobby on check out. Bars...good friendly service..sometime hectic....the malt scotch and Tanquerey gin disappeared early in my stay and were not replaced..Havana Club recommended for rum drinkers...3 years old for cocktails and 7 years for sipping...good variety of cocktails. Pool: Huge . DANGER: Ent. staff set speakers to full AMP!! Hearing damage likely..beware!! Keep well back...this must be addressed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4552 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Friendly resort

    Reviewed by Dianev1234() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I are currently at the Melia and we have to say that we have enjoyed the first week that we’ve been here. Staff is friendly and the front desk has been extremely helpful. We love to spend time at the main lobby and enjoy the ambiance. The drinks are great and have enjoyed the entertainment at night.

    Melia Jardines Del Ray, Cayo Coco, Cuba

    Reviewed by Tina T(Thunder Bay, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    There are serious issues with this hotel. Most days our toilet would not flush without pouring water into the tank. Shower was sometime a trickle - one day it was so hot that it was unbearable and then the water stopped completely while I still had a head full of shampoo. The shower didn’t drain well either and most times you are standing in shower water which threatens to overflow the small lip onto the bathroom floor. The food was absolutely terrible - the same items recycled day after day on the buffets and they actually ran out of gas to cook at some of the a la carte restaurants. None of the food is labelled as to what it is either - so sometimes it was a mystery. The pizza at the pool side restaurant was good but you had to time it exactly right - if you go too early - pizza not ready for ordering - go too late and it’s all gone. The fried chicken could take up to two hours to be delivered to your table if they had it. The beach is quite beautiful though and the lounge chairs are plentiful. If you are lucky enough to get a beach towel, hang on to it because it took us four days to get one They seem to have supply issues - they ran out of beer at the beach regularly and the availability of other spirits like brandy wasn’t reliable at all. The staff are really wonderful for the most part and try very hard despite all the issues. The gym is unbearably hot on the cardio side / the air conditioners don’t work! We were at this resort for 11 days and we tried hard not to complain - the weather and the staff were fantastic but the supply issues with food and beverages was really problematic. The hotel is only 5 years old but it is showing a lot of wear and tear. I have been to Cuba several times and stayed at other resorts without compliant. I would never recommend this hotel to friends or family unfortunately. The music at the pool was also way too loud most times.

    Fantastic Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Tyler L(Winnipeg, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were a bit worried about going to melia after reading all the reviews. I’ve got to say we were pleasantly surprised. We just mentioned it was our honeymoon and gave us a honeymoon package, Yenny had us set up with a beautiful room, breakfast in bed, and another private dinner. The people are so friendly and the beach is one of the best we’ve seen. I think if you come with an open mind and not expect the food to taste the exact same as it does at home, you can still find really delicious things to eat, snack bar burgers, the chicken they cook at the buffet, the pasta bar, and the pizza were all things we enjoyed, plenty others as well. The restaurants were really good as well, book earlier in the evening so they hopefully don’t run out of something’s. Also, we brought two towels then would use those if there weren’t any beach towels one day. People here are giving you everything they have to offer, take time to appreciate it. It’s a great place for a vacation, especially for the price.

    Beautiful resort

    Reviewed by _mknott77(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time again at this hotel. Staff is amazing. Beach bar, Joel, Josely, Omelio, Yosvany and Viven, great service and always a smile. Entertainment : Alexander, William, Vivi and Daliana, such nice people. Hermes is such a hard worker, always organizing everything and making sure all the clients have a great time. Thank you to all of them for their hard work.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent Vacation in Cayo Coco

    Reviewed by Alessio P() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Splendid beach with crystal clear water and a long way for walking. Staff is polite. Dinner is very nice. They have several boats to sail around. Cocktails are quite nice also. The room was clean and good for the standards in Cuba.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX