Aulani, A Disney Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    w

    AMAZING best of both worlds for kids AND adults. Cannot wait to go back!

    Reviewed by woodlands on Mar 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was the BEST of both worlds for kids and adults to both have a great vacation, I cannot recommend this hotel enough and cannot wait to go back! During our week stay capacity went from 3/4 full down to under half, but at no time did we ever feel crowded or not get to do what we wanted to do. Aunty's beach house AMAZING. It is included in the stay, kids can drop in anytime to play no line up/registration. There are programs that you do need to sign up for which is where the line up is for the free ones. The programs that come at a cost you can sign up for before arrival but we got into all of them no problem once there and they were all outstanding. They are safe and secure- more the enough staff, GPS bands on kids, secure sign in / sign out, and we were fully confident in leaving our severe peanut/tree nut allergy child with them. Beach- always chairs and loungers available, white soft sand and a sheltered lagoon made it perfect for kids. There are toys to borrow and rent. Life jackets are free to borrow each day. Pools- Lifeguards everywhere. Enough loungers for everyone, and they do enforce the 1 hour empty chair rule. The pools are big and you only feel crowded once a day when the characters come out for a dance party. Lazy river and hot tubs were great, water slides and kids water park were nice touches. Beach/pool towels are provided. Rooms- basic and comfortable. fridge and coffee maker only. Food- get what you pay for, very good everywhere but not cheap Included activities- luau, movie nights, characters, something always going on. Rainbow reef- great for kids snorkeling as it is not in the ocean very good value Wifi very strong thru out the entire resort. Staff- WONDERFUL always 'on' Disney style Parking- you do pay per day did not like this, restaurants will validate Location- very nice and secure community, resorts to one side, real ocean beach to the other. About 30 mins from airport and 15 to Walmart and all amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6190 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent resort for all ages

    Reviewed by Culture318456() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We came for Christmas for a family reunion, with ages ranging from 1-65. Honestly, it was absolutely perfect. The rooms, the staff, the grounds were amazing. The food was expensive but we mostly ate in our rooms as we had kitchens. The Luau was wonderful. Kids loved the character breakfast and Auntie's Beach House. Used the Photopass a lot and got some great photos. The beach is really calm and good for snorkelling but not much for the older kids/teens, although everyone loved the pool, slide and lazy river. We did a couple of day trips to other close beaches and hikes to keep the teens busy but other than that just enjoyed the resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    We loved this hotel!

    Reviewed by Leah C(Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. The rooms are beautiful as is the rest of the hotel. The kids had the best time! There are plenty of restaurants to choose from inside the hotel including a take away/ convenience store which you can buy pizzas from if you don’t want to spend too much or eat out. You can also walk across the road and there are a few restaurants and a supermarket which is much cheaper than eating in the resort. The facilities inside the resort are next to none. There is a reef that you can snorkel in, water slides, a lay river that you float around on, a water park for the kids, a toddler pools, spas and more! There are characters roaming around the grounds so you can get photos of them. The kids club is the best kids club I’ve ever seen and the kids didn’t want to leave. Overall the hotel was a great experience and I would definitely go back.

    Good, but short of great

    Reviewed by abeagler(West Lafayette, IN) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a very good visit to Aulani. The staff are incredible, friendly and helpful. We went with a regular room, not a villa, and it still was spacious, with a very nice bathroom and a balcony. Ocean view is a pricey upgrade, but we found it to be worth it. Property felt secure, so I had no problem letting kids wander unattended. Wi-fi was awful in room, useless on balcony, and weak around pool area. Dining options on property are surprisingly limited. There are the two high-end restaurants, but if you don't want to drop $50 for your kid to eat then options are sparse. Ulu is decent for breakfast pastries and pizza, Off the Hook is nice for casual dining. (If you want a character breakfast at Makahiki, book well in advance.) But, if you're staying more than a few days you'll end up wanting more variety. My 9 year old loved Aunty's Beach House, the free kid hangout. That may be the best feature for families, but be sure to book in advance for any of their special events. Dinner is an option for kids here, which nice if adults want to go next door to ‘Ama’Ama. For that you just need to sign up first thing on the day. The luau is a worthwhile splurge, the food there was very good and the entertainment top-notch. The pools are amazing, my boys loved the water slides. But, in March the lazy river closed by 6pm and the other pools closed by 8pm, which was surprising. Maybe they're open later as daylight stretches longer. We were able to get poolside chairs in rear rows up until about 10am, but after that it's crowded. The beach lagoon is pretty and a nice place for young kids. But, there is no area where you can play in the waves. A lagoon with only small waves gets boring after a while, and I didn't see too many kids out in the water, not compared to the waves at Waikiki. (Also, my kid got stung by a jellyfish - it feels protected, but it's still ocean.) Overall, Aulani had a vibe that favored early mornings and felt fairly dead by evenings. In March the sun was down by 7pm, and maybe it's different in summer. My wife enjoyed sunrise yoga and said the fitness center was packed by 7am. Lots of people out and about by 7, pools fairly busy by 9. But, after sunset the few pools open until 8 were only moderately occupied, and the only real sign of life after 8 was the music from the outside lounge area. Much of this may be dictated by this being a family resort that caters to people from other time zones. Everything on the property is expensive, but that was no surprise. There’s a market and a few other restaurants across the street, less than 10 min walk from any room. Their prices are okay, pricey but reasonable for the area. Target is a few miles away, about a $20 cab ride each way if you want to do that. Oddly, it didn't feel all that Disney-ish. We didn't go to character events, and so outside of those we only rarely saw characters at all, never around the pools, and we only heard Hawaiian Disney songs in the elevator. Overall we had lots of fun, and we hope to return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    A fake Hawaii resort in Hawaii but still a quality experience.

    Reviewed by RubberDuckyJJ(Plano, Texas) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We spent 2 days at Aulani as the finale to our week long trip exploring Oahu. And Aulani is a great hotel with amazing service and our DVC villa was top-notch. But I have this weird nagging feeling of regret that I wasted 2 days in Hawaii at a super expensive resort with lots of fake rock, bird sounds from speakers, and a below average beach that is located on the ugliest part of Oahu. Aulani is surprisingly intimate yet has numerous food opportunities that are Disney quality. The kids loved the slides and the many lifeguards meant that they could run wild without much parental supervision. I also enjoyed the tube ride which never had a long wait and had quite a few fun turns. My oldest made many rounds in the lazy river which is themed very well but too shallow and does not have much movement in it. You end up walking in your tube. I hope their pool refurbishment means that they will add some horsepower to that very slow river. On the topic of the pool refurbishment, I don't know what you will do at this resort with a shutdown pool complex. That $50 resort credit on offer will buy you 8 Mickey Ears ice-cream bars or 3 adult drinks per day. The beach at the resort is underwhelming if you have seen any other Hawaiian beach. And the artificial surf break at the entrance to the bay means that no waves make it into the bay. Yes, your little ones can safely play but your preteens and teens will be very bored. During our visit there were plenty of free chairs available to sit which was a very welcome change from our Waikiki experience. In conclusion, there's not much wrong with Aulani except that you are looking at going to a fake Hawaiian resort when you are in Hawaii and the real thing is right there for you to explore.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful family of 4 stay

    Reviewed by williamtwo(Boise, Idaho) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and my kids 6 and 9 had a great stay Feb 23rd - 26th in 2 different rooms, back to back: 1st in rm 1626 (we upgraded to ocean view room and I booked the cheapest garden view room - I booked directly through Disney) and then in the Vacation 1bdrm villa 1571. Flight was canceled and had to find/move to another room - thanks Disney for accommodating us and providing a distressed room rate due to flight cancellation (with proof). NOTE: Aug 13 through Dec 17th, 2019 construction is set to begin! Checkin was a breeze and our room wasnt so we went to lounge and valet held our luggage while we changed and went to get armbands to use pool and lazy river. Chairs were completed impossible to find - we booked a casbella almost every day on the lagoon for $70 and had drink and food service on the beach, but close enough to pools to use. NOTE; there are 4 lagoons in Ko Olina, and Aulani and Four Seasons share one - no big deal and wasnt ever overly crowded. I thought Beach Villa lagoon a short walk away had more fish for snorkeling - try it. Everything is expensive (food, parking, hotel rates, Drinks, beer, etc) but worth it for us: character breakfast was great for kids and we did it twice. Be sure to walk across to MonkeyPod outside the resort - it was one of our favorite dinners and have MaiTai there. There are also 2 shaved ice places one in the resort and one on the beachwalk between Aulani and Four Seasons. Side note - Four Seasons restaurant Mina's was awesome - ate there 3 times - always full make a reservation, but the resort was too tame and quiet for us. TIP: check Costco for Aulani hotel deals. I found this out after I returned. We did the Fia Fia Luau held every Tues at the Marriott Beach Resort (can only book via phone or in person at concierge desk), did not do the Disney one. We all loved the Fia Fia, more then the PCC one we attend on a prior trip. I will return. Staff and service were excellent at Aulani and so family friendly and immaculate grounds.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX