Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    a

    The P.K. has always done 100% to keep their customer's happy.

    Reviewed by aasharun@shaw.ca on Mar 12, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    I love the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani. You will never find a friendlier hotel with everyone willing to please you. Also, I'd say the location is the best in the city.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4108 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    I'd give a 0 star if tripadvisor will let me

    Reviewed by ashman4827() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Just checked in to this hotel today from a Courtyard Marriott. Expected the service and rooms to be a notch or 2 higher. I was so WRONG! 1) Room - extremely dated, AC hardly working and much more smaller than Courtyard! 2) Elevator - Sardined pack, occasionally you'll have to wait in line to hitch a ride in an antique elevator 3) Resort Charge - Outrage fees with a bunch of BS items such as beach service which you have no idea how to use, GoPro can only rent free for 1 day eventhough I'm staying 2, oh and if you have 2 rooms book, tough luck, you can only rent one, what a RIPOFF! Many more ridiculous items but I'll save it for another day. 4) Service - This is the icing on the cake! fyi, I'm a so-called Bonvoy Platinum Elite, but they did a good job making me feel like a Bonvoy Nobody. Way to go, Bonvoy. Check in person was rude, one of my room was only going to be ready 15 minutes later and I requested for them to send the key up to my room when it's ready, he rolled his eyes and said no sir, they don't do that. I asked for a late check out at 2pm, normally as a Platinum Elite, I get 4pm easily, the lady at the front desk insisted that they can do nothing for me. My advise STAY AWAY! I come here expecting a decent vacation, felt ripped off, belittled and for the value is not worth the price you're paying. Can't wait to check out of this hell hole...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Just back

    Reviewed by JET1708(Caernarfon, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a lovely time at this hotel from Aug 6th - 12th. We had stayed here on our honeymoon 21 years ago and always said we'd like to go back (with our 17 year old son this time). We weren't disappointed. The location is perfect. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. We were in the tower with a balcony and a beautiful ocean view. We ate at the restaurant one night only as we were out and about but the food was great. We loved the pool area. Checking in and out was quick and efficient. We personally can't fault it. It's unlikely that we'll be back again due to how far Hawaii is from the UK but I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Guy at the concierge desk was also great and very helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay!

    Lovely resort in a great location.

    Reviewed by MrMrsTR() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great resort in a perfect location. The Pool area was lovely and inviting, plenty of lounges available, I love the Hawaiian music they had playing. An added bonus was the lockable surfboard storage they provided free of charge near the pool. Although the room we stayed in was below average, if you get allocated room 811 don’t take it! The room was clean but backed onto the maintenance/ cleaners room, it was very noisy and I could hear the sound of the elevator going up and down all night. The bed was also tiny with no balcony. We asked for an upgrade and was told NO. The resort fee is charged daily and they will hold it pending on your credit card even after you check out and finalised the bill. It’s been over a week since we’ve been back and they are still holding our money. I would definitely stay here again but next time insist in getting a balcony room and king bed.

    Third stay over 28 years - a good location

    Reviewed by GeoRoadWarriors(Greater Toronto) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for sentimental reasons and because it is still a great location, but wow the extra costs like parking add up. We were only here three nights so took a deep breath and enjoyed ourselves. Liked being able to drive up to parking in our own tower (you could skip the lobby trek). We had a room with partial ocean view, but it really was a full view out over the beach and was part of what made the added expense worth it. The other bonus was really special. We arrived from Ontario on July 3 and were still fighting jetlag on the 4th. We wanted to see the fireworks, but as evening approached and they were calling for 10s of thousands of people, our interest was diminishing. Earlier in the day, I had noticed daylight at the end of the hall through the fire doors. Would you believe, each floor had an open air balcony and from the 20 something floor, we looked out over the beach and fireworks like a front row seat and we were back in our room 30 seconds after it was over. One of those unexpected surprises that again, made the hotel well worth it. We did not eat any meals on site. We were out and about, but it looked busy. We also did not use the pool. We went to the beach. We had a small issue with the hotel safe and something else and our room attendant had it dealt with immediately. Check in was fast and friendly. Not sure we would return a fourth time, but we would recommend for the location.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Credit Card error

    Reviewed by Stoocho(Sydney, Australia) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked in showed our prepaid voucher and was asked for a credit card normal procedure. We ask that card be only used to cover the resort fee. 2 days later I checked my card it had been debited with $3,650 so I went to the service counter to complain was informed by the operator who served me it was a back office error and the debits were being reversed. I asked to speak to the manager was apologised to and he reinforced the service person answer he offered me a complimentary breakfast which I didn’t except. Called Marriott they took the call took details and hung up. Went back to manager he offered me a refund of the first weeks resort fee. This is on going I need that money released but this could take a week. Princess Kaiulani hang your head in shame why did I come back still no resolution.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX