Tesoro Ixtapa

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    T

    Will never go back

    Reviewed by Terry on Jan 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Would not go back ever, hotel is kept clean but the facility cannot handle the amount of Mexican family's that come in from up north every two days, there is no place to sit in the lobby not enough chairs around the pool or beach, always lines ups to eat because of the constant influx of large Mexican family's coming in the food is the same day after day for breakfast lunch and supper, the shows and any pool entertainment is only in spanish

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 957 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very impressed with Tesoro 3.5 star

    Reviewed by lovetotravel7112014(Saskatoon, Canada) on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a 12 day stay here. We have only ever stayed at the Krystal beside the Tesoro so can't compare to many other hotels here. First off, out check in was quick and pleasant. The service is beyond good. The rooms are very clean. The resort in its entirety is kept very clean, there is always someone washing the floors, painting and cleaning up. Yes this resort is filled with locals on weekends, but that did not affect us at all. We stayed on the 1st floor and had a view of the condo/vilas and the room was large and clean with a mini fridge which had 3 bottles of water as well as pop. There are no coffee makers in the rooms but there is a large urn downstairs by the buffet with to-go cups to fill and take where you wish. Pool is a decent size and never seemed to be packed or too cold. Food is okay and we never had a problem trying to find something to fill our plates. The alacarte was not that good, but that's okay, we just didn't go back and went to the buffet instead. The snack bar is in a beautiful room just off the pool. This is nice to see as the birds are not continuously hovering around while you are trying to eat. The food here is quite good, and there are always burgers, fries, some sort of fish dish, rice, and chicken nuggets as well as chips, cheese and salsa. There is drink service here as well.

    Another return to Tesoro Ixtapa!

    Reviewed by jklphillips(wisconsin) on Mar 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I must thank the staff at Tesoro Ixtapa and Senor Rueben for another fantastic vacation! The resort is exceptional as far as cleanliness, welcoming, good food, staff, activities, and location. This was my 12th year in a row returning to Tesoro and will be back next year as well. Thank-you everyone!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Another Wonderful Vacation

    Reviewed by oldbartho(Wisconsin Rapids, WI) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife, her sister and I have found that the Tesoro Ixtapa resort that makes us want to return every year. This year's trip was our 11th in a row! Upon arrival we found that general manager Senor Ruben Rodriguez has again implemented several significant changes that continue to improve the resort. Food is no longer served adjacent to the lovely swimming pool. Rather it is now served in the lower level of the hotel in an air conditioned completely new snack area adjacent to the pool. Very good food such as hamburgers, bacon wrapped hot dogs, chicken nuggets, salads, etc. are available in clean comfort. Also located in the lower level of the hotel are completely rebuilt sanitarias for men and women which are bright and clean and have replaced to old banos. Senor Ruben informed me that he plans to make additional improvement to the hotel in the coming year. I compliment him on great vision and leadership! The resort area is kept very clean with regular washing and painting. The staff is very friendly and tries to do everything asked to make ones stay enjoyable. The one negative change noticed by us and several Canadian friends was that the food served in the buffet area and even at times in the special restaurant was not up to the standards that have been available in the past. The variety of food was limited and somewhat repetitive from day to day. Some dishes were not completely heated when put into the serving area. We one time found rice that was undercooked. The Canadians mentioned that they preferred meats that were not served in a sauce such as cordon bleu and individual chicken pieces. Those were not available as in years past. Most food was tasty but there were several dishes that were quite bland and tasteless. However nobody went hungry because of the lovely fresh fruits and salad makings and generally tasty offerings. I'm sure Senor Ruben will be able to make improvements in this area too. . The resort's location is wonderful with great beach walking areas that extent for about 1 mile in each direction. It is also within several blocks of good shopping and other restaurants that offer a great selection of meals! We plan to visit Tesoro again next year. I'm sure we'll find it just as enjoyable.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    food

    Reviewed by Wendy M(Moose Jaw, Canada) on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel is smaller and has only 1 buffet, which is awful, one beach bar which is always lined up, one snack bar which was in the basement and so loud with mechanical pipes you couldn't hear across the table and the food the was cold. The pool was to 5 feet off the step, But on the positive, the rooms were clean, some times the face cloths and hand towels were a little short. Beautiful view off the balcony but the noise from the hotel next door's air conditioning was so loud that it wasn't quiet or peaceful out there. It is really nicely located and the wait staff were pretty awesome,,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous vacation

    Reviewed by janandang(New Westminster, Canada) on Feb 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just come back from a month at the Tesoro Hotel. The staff were amazing they couldn’t do enough for you, right from Marco and Jamie at the front deck who gave me a Spanish lesson each day, or the wait staff in the buffet like Rosie who greeted you every morning with a big beautiful smile and the waiters like a Jorge, Carlos and so many others. The entertainment staff work tirelessly each day to make our stay memorable. The hotel is well located on the beach and just a short walk into Ixtapa. Great bus service as well. We felt very safe walking around and even hired a taxi to show as the sights one day and he showed as a great day. We bused into Zihuatanejo every other day and played pickle ball with a great group of Canadians, Americans and Mexicans for a 50 peso cost and 14 pesos for the bus. Great restaurants in Ixtapa as well and very reasonable. We are already planning our return trip for 2 or 3 months next year. Thank you Ruben Rodriguez your dedication to your customers is second to none and the respect you show your team shows in the way they treat their staff. See you next year

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX