Maui Kaanapali Villas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Maui's Best Kept Secret

    Reviewed by Ann on Feb 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have travelled to Maui 6 times in the past 10 years. It was on our second trip to the island that we stayed at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, and our experience was so fantastic that we continue to come back year after year. The staff is outstanding. The beach is incredible. The grounds are meticulously maintained, and we loved the fact that beach front is lined with palm trees so you can escape the mid-day heat. The views are breathtaking. There are amazing walking/running paths which lead you to the Whaler Village, if you want to shop, find a restaurant, or pick up a few snacks at the ABC Store. We loved the fact that it is on the quieter side of the Black Rock. Snorkelling is just a 3 minute walk from the complex. As far as we are concerned, it is the best kept secret on Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1333 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great stay, nice location!

    Reviewed by FORTIN225(West Kelowna, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just finished our 9 night stay at this location, and really did not have much negative to say. We started our trip out in the tower in a single bedroom with kitchen, and after 2 very loud mornings with the room next to us under construction we requested to be moved. The staff was very good and accommodating to our request and had us moved by the afternoon. This resort is really in a great location because you have a very sandy beach out front if you don't really want to snorkel just stand in the water, then about 200 ft down the beach is more of a coral, rock beach that we spent allot of time at and 9/10 times saw a turtle or two and lots of fish! The trolly that runs I am guessing every 10 minutes is nice if you want to hop from resort to resort for dinner etc. or shopping ! This location has two pools, one is very obvious towards the beach, this one you have buy all drinks from the cafe/restaurant there and is very busy usually... the other pool is too your left on the drive into the resort and is more of a garden pool.. very quiet, warm pool, and we just brought our own drinks here like everyone else. Our only real negatives were both rooms had terrible beds, they were crazy old spring and hurt the backs, and the hand full of cockroaches found in our room was a little bit of a put off. We will be coming back here the price, location, and staff were all very nice to deal with :) Thank you

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Family vacay

    Reviewed by Shar A() on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed in 502 too . The cabinets were old, furniture worn , and no door for the one bedroom advertised??? I was in this unit wiry my senior parents and two teenager daughters. No privacy. Seriously it has no door separating the living room. There is no balcony in this tower so if your from Canada and hoping to sit out side for your meal you can’t. It’s just open windows that are big for light. In the end , The hotel was actually perfect for my family. Location is 100% on board walk , beach best in world, and having a bar for fancy drinks was fun for the moms and kids. It has a trolly that comes by to take you to whalers village and all the other fancy hotels. Again nice that our hotel was included - my kids and parents loved that. It was free but of course kind of you tip the driver. Front end staff very very good at their job - free clean towel every day . They have a bottle of champagne to my folks for celebrating their 59 wedding anniversary - so sweet. The free Mia tais entertainment was nice too ! We will be back just staying in a different room ???? .

    Great location but...

    Reviewed by Ladychecca(London, United Kingdom) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The location is fantastic and also the staff. Unfortunately, we had some cockroaches for 2 nights. The staff called immediately the pest controller, but the problem persisted. I am quite disappointed that when we left no one apologised for this inconvenient and they didn’t ask if we wanted to change the apartment. I can understand we are in a island, but for this reason the organisation should pay more attention and also should take more care of clients.

    Did not stay after seeing property

    Reviewed by jonToronto(Scottsdale, Arizona) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This is a partially unfair review as I never did see my room. I arrived at the hotel after a long flight and when arriving I was deeply disappointed by the state of the property generally. It is old and run down. It is listed as a four star at trip advisor but I see it as a two star. It was somewhat unkept and as I was staying for 8 nights felt it would put a damper on my relaxation. As I said I did not see the room but the property seemed rundown. The staff enforced the two day penalty which I found disappointing as well as if there product does not stand up they should not charge for it. Will not book an Aston property again. I went to the Hyatt which had wonderful staff unlike this hotel

    Great place for a relaxing holiday!

    Reviewed by Cruiser783238() on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The room was excellent - newly renovated and complete with a kitchen and dishwasher. Had great view of the garden and a huge lanai. The beach accessibility was just awesome - just a minute walk from our room which enabled us to view the awesome sunset on all days of our stay. The beach towels were clean and always available. Tea/Coffee available in the morning. I took away one star only because though the property was non smoking there was some guest smoking in some room and whenever we came back to our rooms we could smell the smoke. We did mention this to the front desk but not sure if they could figure out because we experienced this throughout our stay except on the last day. I wish guests abide by the rules of the place that they visit! Otherwise, the place was great and castaway cafe was quite good too. Housekeeping was great!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX