The Westin Golf Resort & Spa Playa Conchal

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    P

    One of our best All Inclusive vacations.

    Reviewed by Pete A. on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Note to WestJet: Your service and flight to and from Liberia was EXCELLENT! However you should talk to Westin about trying to put clients in a room with only a Double Bed when we paid for a King Bed. We did not accept this and Westin did give us the King Bed. We did read previous reviews where they tried this with other travellers, so we were prepared. The Westin Playa Conchal is a beautiful, large & spread out resort so be prepared to walk if you choose or take the many shuttles. Our room was in great shape and worked well for us. The gardens are very nice and well cared for and the pool is large and gets a lot of use due to the crushed shell kind of beach it is. The staff is plentiful and very pleasant to speak to. The food is good and varied throughout the resort and we were able to generally have something that suited our taste. The golf course is scenic in very good shape and challenging. This is a resort that I would return to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5278 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Wildlife on the grounds make this place magical!

    Reviewed by lindafw2016(Southampton, Canada) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is really exceptional from the staff that work there who offer excellent service to all. To the amazing grounds and wildlife including families of Howler Monkeys, Coatis, Parrots, Parakeets, Iguanas, and birds! The flowers and trees are also beautiful. The food is also outstanding everything is fresh, delicious and the drinks are great. Everything is exceptional here, from the quick efficient check in, with the most amazing welcome drink to the wonderful beds, linens, towels and soap. Situated on the amazing Conchal Beach and in the Conchal Reserve makes this resort unique and magical. This is our third stay here, and it will not be our last.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent service

    Reviewed by BrownDog3(Chicago, Illinois) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort is all-inclusive, which makes decision making awesome. The pools are great - several to choose from and we loved the kids pool. The beach is just okay. Water is a bit rough and because it’s seashell-based, a little tough to walk on. The restaurants were good. Not great, but good - better than I expected for all-inclusive. The kid’s menu was available at all restaurants, but beware that it’s not all that kid-friendly. Tuna melt and sushi? No way said my 5 year old. Better to replace with a grilled cheese. There were a couple of friendlier options, but my kid got tired of them quickly after every meal. The person working the kids club is my biggest complaint. She didn’t even seem to like kids. Low energy and complained. A lot. Hardly interacted with the kids and got upset with the kids easily. Major downer, since the kids club is a huge reason we do hotel vs. airbnb. Other than kids club, the service is excellent. I was shocked at how people remembered my name from day to day. Was nice to feel welcome.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Westin Playa conchal

    Reviewed by Matt D() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We Chose westin playa Conchal not only because of the resort but seems it is the best beach in Costa Rica. Waw we are so glad we did!!! We explored about 10 beaches and were always so happy to be back to Conchal. The hotel was amazing, all i would write would just be repetitive. great staff, great food, clean rooms, awesome service. The highlight of our vacation was ConcchalFun and their tours. We booked in advance as we did not want to have to worry about finding availability and we were able to secure our preferred dates for each tour. They have the most reviews on trip advisor and it is clear why: Unmatched customer service, best prices, punctual and exceptional follow up. We recommend contacting Andrei and CONCHALFUN WILL TAKE CARE OF YOUR FAMILY VACATION ACTIVITIES. Thank you westin see you all soon.

    Awesomeness

    Reviewed by NayNay2424(Massachusetts) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wonderful week at the Westin Playa Conchal...one of the best hotels we have visited...Food and drinks were great...We had dinner one night at Manglar it was awesome (try the seafood soup it is delicious)...If you are looking for some fun activities off the resort go see Erik Garcia on the beach...he will hook you up...Costa Rico is soooo beautiful we will surely return.

    "OVERRATED RESORT"

    Reviewed by veggieplace() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I took my whole family to different all inclusive resort like cancun we been there 2 times and it was definitely a great family vacation so we have similar expectation for this westin resort. this first day we arrive at the hotel after checking in there is a ride taking us to the hotel room and after dropping off luggages the same driver waited for us to take us to the lunch buffet which is nice because we were starving spending 5 to 6 hours on the plane and drove another 1 to 2 hour to the westin resort. upon arriving to the buffet restaurant me and my wife walked around the buffet restaurant but the only thing i could manage to get is a small amount of basic pasta noodles and tiny amount of yellow fried rice that looks like it's been sitting there for long time like all the other food that looks just plain and not appetising, my 2 kids are usually very easy teenagers as far as food goes but they both didn't pick up any thing from the buffet trays, just 2 drinks even though they are hungry. later we went back to room and order room service for them because all the other restaurant is not open till 6:00. all the restaurants require reservation and some are not even available the following day, the 4 restaurants that we tried each night the portions are very small and we cannot order another entree according to the wait staff so every night we had to go back to the room and order room service. walking from room to the pool the walkways are filled with empty shelled mangos I guess from the animals looking for food everyday. the walk way seem like worn out dark cement not polished so is not too pleasant to walk on and look at. there are just too many trees with monkeys climbing on it even day light it seem like kind of dark with all the trees covering sunlight. it was good we booked 3 different hotels so we only stayed 3 nights, the other 2 hotel hollywood and hotel riu we have a much better experience. would not go to any westin hotel ever again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX