SeaGarden Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Great Bang-For-Your-Buck Getaway

    Reviewed by Kapow on Oct 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from a wonderful stay at SeaGarden Beach Resort in Montego Bay. This is a small, 140 room, Jamaican family-owned resort and as such, it doesn't have all of the amenities of the larger chain resorts, However, if you want an authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place to stay. Check in was quick and easy, and being literally 5 minutes from the airport makes the transport time for airport to resort absolutely painless. We arrived at 6:40 pm and were seated at the bar, bags in our rooms, freshened up from travel by 8 pm. The rooms are spacious, beds comfy and overall, very adequate. However, this is an older resort so there's not much sound barrier so you can hear anything going on in the hall, out on the street or sometimes, even from the adjacent rooms. The staff are wonderful, the food delicious but if you expect anything other than Jamaican fare, you're out of luck. The beach area, (or lagoon as we called it), was beautiful, clean and absolutely serene. There is need for some updating in practically every aspect of this resort, (bathrooms, seating at the bars, lounge pads by the beach, flooring), but if you can look past all of that, this is a great bang-for-your-buck spot. My husband and I loved that we could walk down the Hip Street to Margaratiaville, about 20 minutes, safely during the day. Be forewarned that the local vendors are VERY pushy and it can be somewhat annoying but part of the experience too. A special shout-out to our West Jet Vacations Rep, Kevin, who hooked us up with some amazing excursions and for a lot less than through other tour operators. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Would we go back? Probably if it was just the two of us but if we were travelling with our kids, probably not.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay! We will be going back here again one day!

    Reviewed by Jaime on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Short and Sweet, SeaGarden Beach Resort was the best! It is a quiet, clean resort with great staff that caterer to your every need. Small, little beach with a great beach bar and snack grill. The food was amazing. Love jerk chicken and those coconut drop cookies! I can say the food was amazing because I got to taste it. You see, I have Celiac Disease and a lot of tourist places do not realize the severity of my disease. Upon arrival, I met with Head Chef Kernel and Chef David who looked after and catered specially to me making sure I would not be contaminated with gluten. Each night they would take me around the buffet explaining what I could eat and if there was nothing there, they would make me my own plate. Anyone with a food allergy will only understand and appreciate how wonderful this was. I cannot say enough good things about these two men, who took time out of their busy day to make sure I was being looked after. THANK YOU never seems enough. So, anyone with Celiac Disease, this is your place! Every morning we were fortunate to be greeted by Aneicia Smith and Daneake Faulkner. Two of the nicest ladies we had the privilege of meeting. By the end of our stay, they would call us by name and have our table set up especially for us – hot bacon and candied pineapple. Damn that pineapple was delicious! Romaine, who greeted us at the front door nearly every morning with the biggest and brightest smile you will ever see. Trex and Dimitre did an amazing job of entertaining us throughout the day and every night. The energy and charisma these two have is something you will never forget. The nightly entertainment at this resort was awesome! Lastly, venture out and walk down Hip Street. You will meet some wonder people who are trying to sell you their goods. Talk to the friendly ladies outside the shops and get to understand what it truly is like to Jamaican. We will never forget Shelley, Shedean, Dean and Suzette! It was an amazing!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 782 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Avoid

    Reviewed by Julie H() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Don't book an ocean view apartment as you'll be bothered by people calling up to you from the street offering sex and drugs. The selection of food was very limited and some of the staff very unhelpful and rude.

    Needs Updating- friendly staff

    Reviewed by SunSeeker114(New York City, New York) on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    PROS: Close to airport (approx 15mins) Private beach. Friendly staff at bars and entertainment area. Well kept grounds (outside of rooms). Shout out to staff like Linton, Khahari, Jason, Marva, Marvia, Oral and the elderly gentleman that works in the dining room. They all were simply fantastic and if it wasn’t for them I would’ve left this resort!!! Disappointed... CONS: Rooms are outdated and need updating. Received a room with molds on the pillow, dirty shower head which was yellow instead of white. Tub was dirty and needed bleach. Huge black stain on floor. Safe not working. To keep this short, my guest and I were placed in 3 rooms in one day. Got to hotel about 2:30 and finally got final room at 7:38. Disappointed! Food needed seasoning. Desserts needed sugar. The dining room is extremely hot and uncomfortable to dine in. Need to invest in installing ac or at least powerful fans. Waaaaay too many flies buzzing around as well. Dining room staff need to be more approachable and at least smile. No more food available after 10pm other than a little spot near bar with patties. As an all inclusive items should be available throughout. Accommodations- The beach closes at 5:30pm and should be extended as there’s nothing to do at the resort. Extend at least until sundown. Advised property multiple times that 2 birthdays were being celebrated. They noted that cake would be presented and it never was. But everyone around us celebrating were presented with a cake during stay.

    FANTASTIC STAY

    Reviewed by safelivi() on Jun 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My sons booked me a birthday stay at the SeaGarden Beach Resort for 3 nights 7th-10th May. What a great time we had. The rooms were clean and tidy and fully air conditioned. The staff were fantastic, the day entertainment was fun, the evening was even better. The food...wow! what a selection. Staff at hand day and night. The private beach was excellent, clean tidy with food and drink on tap. I would recommend this resort to family friend and foe. Keep up the good work. I was proud to be a guest at your resort and will certainly visit in the future. Mrs P. Bent and family

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Ok hotel for one night

    Reviewed by NNMASSON(London, United Kingdom) on Jun 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The room was stinky The hotel as at the airport literally - very noisy This hotel is not directly on the beach. You will have to cross the road to reach the beach When you cross the road you might be harassed by people trying to sell you things After all Montego Bay is not Jamaica so do not stay here more than 1 night.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Very helpful staff, great food!

    Reviewed by Tina W() on May 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff here aim to please! The beds are hard but you get used to it. Our housekeeper came to put on a mattress cover within 5 mins of just mentioning the bed. We wanted a better view the next day and within minutes was given a different room. The food is delicious and you will have mainly authentic Jamaican food. Kurt helped with our luggage the day we arrived and he was always there’s for us if we needed anything else. Amealia and Tamon at the front desk were awesome in assisting us with whatever we needed. Pooh Bear aka Shane, part of the entertainment staff was so cheerful and friendly. They made ya feel like family here! Absolutely beautiful resort and architecture! Oh, you’ve got to check out the piano bar! The bartender Linton, was awesome and the piano player was as well!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX