SeaGarden Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Great Bang-For-Your-Buck Getaway

    Reviewed by Kapow on Oct 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from a wonderful stay at SeaGarden Beach Resort in Montego Bay. This is a small, 140 room, Jamaican family-owned resort and as such, it doesn't have all of the amenities of the larger chain resorts, However, if you want an authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place to stay. Check in was quick and easy, and being literally 5 minutes from the airport makes the transport time for airport to resort absolutely painless. We arrived at 6:40 pm and were seated at the bar, bags in our rooms, freshened up from travel by 8 pm. The rooms are spacious, beds comfy and overall, very adequate. However, this is an older resort so there's not much sound barrier so you can hear anything going on in the hall, out on the street or sometimes, even from the adjacent rooms. The staff are wonderful, the food delicious but if you expect anything other than Jamaican fare, you're out of luck. The beach area, (or lagoon as we called it), was beautiful, clean and absolutely serene. There is need for some updating in practically every aspect of this resort, (bathrooms, seating at the bars, lounge pads by the beach, flooring), but if you can look past all of that, this is a great bang-for-your-buck spot. My husband and I loved that we could walk down the Hip Street to Margaratiaville, about 20 minutes, safely during the day. Be forewarned that the local vendors are VERY pushy and it can be somewhat annoying but part of the experience too. A special shout-out to our West Jet Vacations Rep, Kevin, who hooked us up with some amazing excursions and for a lot less than through other tour operators. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Would we go back? Probably if it was just the two of us but if we were travelling with our kids, probably not.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay! We will be going back here again one day!

    Reviewed by Jaime on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Short and Sweet, SeaGarden Beach Resort was the best! It is a quiet, clean resort with great staff that caterer to your every need. Small, little beach with a great beach bar and snack grill. The food was amazing. Love jerk chicken and those coconut drop cookies! I can say the food was amazing because I got to taste it. You see, I have Celiac Disease and a lot of tourist places do not realize the severity of my disease. Upon arrival, I met with Head Chef Kernel and Chef David who looked after and catered specially to me making sure I would not be contaminated with gluten. Each night they would take me around the buffet explaining what I could eat and if there was nothing there, they would make me my own plate. Anyone with a food allergy will only understand and appreciate how wonderful this was. I cannot say enough good things about these two men, who took time out of their busy day to make sure I was being looked after. THANK YOU never seems enough. So, anyone with Celiac Disease, this is your place! Every morning we were fortunate to be greeted by Aneicia Smith and Daneake Faulkner. Two of the nicest ladies we had the privilege of meeting. By the end of our stay, they would call us by name and have our table set up especially for us – hot bacon and candied pineapple. Damn that pineapple was delicious! Romaine, who greeted us at the front door nearly every morning with the biggest and brightest smile you will ever see. Trex and Dimitre did an amazing job of entertaining us throughout the day and every night. The energy and charisma these two have is something you will never forget. The nightly entertainment at this resort was awesome! Lastly, venture out and walk down Hip Street. You will meet some wonder people who are trying to sell you their goods. Talk to the friendly ladies outside the shops and get to understand what it truly is like to Jamaican. We will never forget Shelley, Shedean, Dean and Suzette! It was an amazing!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 728 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The food lets it down.

    Reviewed by L.J. R() on Feb 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Having just returned from 10 days at the Seagarden, I shall endeavour to impart to you my thoughts on this resort. Our journey began in Grande Prairie, on to Calgary and the Westjet non stop flight to Mobay. A good flight aboard a good airline, premium seating was nice. Returning via Toronto, not so good, weather related delays. Arriving in Mobay we took a $20 taxi ride, the one mile to the Seagarden. Everyone says they had a wonderful check in with a smile and a cool drink. We saw none of that? Our room on the 10th floor (according to the elevator) really the 6th, pool view. Quite an austere place, basic but clean, the smoke detector was missing, one chair, shower with ever changing temperatures, everything old style, but OK. Very noisy at night with the enertainment sounding like they were in the room with us. Nothing earplugs could not dampen. The bed was firm, the pillows big and none to soft. We requested more, but they were the same. AC worked well, somewhat loud. Roosters awoke us around 4am each morning. The food! Breakfast was just about edible, omlette station being the best option, however around 8am the line up was horrific, one person working with 3 five inch pans.Slow, slow and dare I say SLOW. No scrambled eggs in the slop pans, ..... how about, braised liver?braised kidneys? chicken bone soup? boiled bananas? all readilly available, I never saw anybody eat such stuff for breakfast, especialy not local people. I'd have a few hard boiled eggs (not shelled) beans on toast, slop pan spuds, and ask for the hidden bacon from the server. Good coffee. It would'nt take a rocket scientist to stream line the omellet station I am sure. Lunch was the pool bar. Supper. Slop pan everything....... Curried goat, fish, pork chops, oxtails, veggies, stodgy mashed potatoes, ...... everything bubbling and stewing away in it's respective slop pan with the littles bunsen burner beneath. A few basic salads, never any cold cuts or cheese. The soup was always good though, no crackers however. Deserts the same slimey things you get everywhere. Nothing freshly cooked, nothing other than slop. We tried the a la carte one night, Italian, We did not care for it, cold food on hot plates? As said, traditional Jamacian, so they say. My wife did'nt mind it too much, we ate it because that's all there was. Not that it's so bad, just tedious and mush. The snack bar was great, paties, hot dogs, cheese sandwiches fries, the beach bar! Amazing french fries ( beware Brits! no vinegar!) I bought my own. Hamburgers, jerk chicken and pork, burgers and fries cooked right in front of you! What a concept. HOWEVER, 6pm and it's done, at the beach and pool, does reopen at 10pm though. You are forced to to the slop pans in the mean time. The bars are OK, cheap liquor, mixes in plastic containers that taste like it, blender stuff, and any kind of beer your heart desires, as long as it's Red Stripe. Actuly on tap it tasted pretty good, much better than can or bottles. That is until they run out of kegs. The beach is nice, placid and tranquil, great place to plane spot, perfect for toddlers, expect the towel game, but not as bad as some places. The beach boys will always come through for you, Kevin, Jerome, fantastic guys. We did tire somewhat of the claustrophobic nature of the beaches and pined for walks along the wide open 7 mile beach, the beach closing so early was baffling and anoying. One can see lots of fish and snorkling is very popular and safe to go out a ways past the breakwaters. We spent every day at the beach and enjoyed it, meeting all manor of people from everywhere and every staff member was a gem. The pool, big, deep and nice and was was rarely used by anyone. People lurk outside the gates, yet even though they bothered us a bit, we did not mind, they all seemed very nice. Everyone wants to sell you their weed and what other stuff you might want. Everyone working at the Seagarden is a splendid, courteous nice person. We loved them all, especialy Linden (aka Tucker) at the bar, Ashley the road crosser. Felt sorry for the parrots and doves, would have loved to let them go and fly free. We hiked down the Hip Strip a few time, even Wednesday with a few cruise ships in, quite the experience. Lots of noise and hustling for your vacation dollar. The same junk at the same price. Eventualy we bought some, but dealt with the nice fellow at the resort store and came away happy. Negatives notwithstanding, our time at the Seagarden came to an end all too soon, and we found ourselves disembarking an aeroplane in Edmonton into -34c. I did not care for the food, but you might?

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Seagarden Resort Montego Bay Jamaica

    Reviewed by Cindy047(Edmonton, AB Canada) on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort was very clean, friendly small resort. Good so so, pool clean and beach across the the street from resort. Drinks were great and the bartenders delivered right to your beach chair. The rooms are a little dated but clean. Bed was very comfortable and maid service adequate with two bottles of water each day. No pedlers allowed at resort and no bugs. Entertainment was good with live bands most nights. We would return to this resort.

    Below average

    Reviewed by Sammy W() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    So my friend and I stayed here for a few days while in Montego Bay. It needs updating and we stayed next to the pool so when they had live band you could hear everything in the room. The beds were hard as a rock. The food wa subpar. The only thing good was the omelet station in the morning. When walking back to my room I slipped and fell on a piece of fruit that was smashed on the ground from the tree in front of your room . An employee saw me fall came over and said oh you ok and went on with his business and didn’t even pick up the fruit so the next person didn’t fall. When I got up I thought my trip was going to be ruined as to the fact I need to be able to walk and climb for the excursions. I told the lady at the front who said oh your not bleeding see the nurse in the morning. I said do I fill out a paper or anything she said just see the nurse in the morning. I asked if there was a manager to contact she said no. I thought this was very unprofessional as to I am a nurse and so is my friend. My friend got me ice and I elevated my leg all night and took Advil. This could have absolutely ruined my trip luckily it felt better but was still sore the next day and we had already booked an exursion and the nurse doesn’t come until later. I obtained some decent bruising from the fall. The place needs to be updated. When taking a shower it was either burning hot or ice cold no in between. They said there was free WiFi but it would not work in our room we asked the front desk but the same one that told me well I wasn’t bleeding that maybe the IT guy could fix it but no one ever did. The only nice thing they did for us was hold our bags which were left out visible for anyone to take while we were on our excursion. Luckily they held my computer behind the counter in front of the camera but I couldn’t use it because the wifi was terrible. We had to venture out to get other food so the all inclusive wasn’t great. The beach across the street is super small and the food they serve at the bar was a burnt grill cheese that I received. The patties near the pool were good though. They had a “nightclub” area that needs to be remodeled as well it’s not worth going into. When we picked other people up at their hotels along the way to our excursions their hotels were much more updated and had better variety. We even payed almost $650 to stay here for 3 nights when we could’ve enjoyed ourselves at a better hotel and maybe my knee wouldn’t be hurting.

    Well worth considering

    Reviewed by AGMNS() on Feb 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Dates of stay: Jan 28 - Feb 3, 2019 This resort is a very nice place to spend a quiet week, we were specifically looking for a relaxing week and were not looking for the types of activities one would expect to find at the larger resorts. We booked a “standard room” these rooms are without balcony, and for the week we spent here this suited us just fine. The room was immaculate, without the usual peeling paint and mildue one would expect to find in high humidity. We found the rest of the resort to be the same. The website indicates “5-eateries”, this is a stretch to call the locations “eateries”, the main buffet restaurant is the only true restaurant we could find so meals get a bit repitiois after a few days but the food is good. There is a grill at the beach but it is only hamburgers & fries and some days jerk chicken and jerk pork. Don’t expect to get any other sides there or things like fruit or salads, for these you have to eat in the main restaurant. There is a poolside place that offers hotdogs and meat or veggie pockets and ice cream. But again if your looking to have sides with this, it’s back to the main buffet. We almost never left the restaurant or bars feeling like we didn’t have acceptable service, and we are not heavy tippers). We walked in the direction of the city center every morning. We never felt unsafe, we were of course offered every product and service as we walked but were never approached by anyone in an aggressive way. We always responded “just out for a walk” and were left alone ( we never did this walk at night). We liked this resort so much that it will be considered for a future visit to Montego Bay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Absolutely Brilliant

    Reviewed by ValRiyahTash(London, United Kingdom) on Feb 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went to this hotel not really sure what to expect. I had thought the the big All Inclusive chain would provide all you would need but was proved wrong. We went here to attend a wedding and decided to arrive a few days earlier. I had read that the hotel staff weren't the best at customer service and steeled myself to ignore this but every time I went to reception, the staff could not have been nicer. This hotel exceeded my expectations in the room, entertainment, beach and choice of food. The entertainment (live shows) was something I would go to see in a theater, the disco was very good however there were not many in attendance. I put this down to the evening entertainment being sufficient enough for most people. The private beach across the road again was really really good. The attendants couldn't do enough for you as you went over and the water albeit cold to start, was excellent. The bar over by the beach was really good with a variety of food that you could eat in one of many places, bar, beach or tables with comfortable chairs and fantastic views. The bar staff did everything they could to make sure you had the drink of your choice. I found a lot of the drinks quite sweet and when I mentioned this they told me to try another concoction which was absolutely excellent. The restaurant was as good as you could get with a buffet (having the beach bar meant you didn't have to go there every day). It would have been nice to have visited one of the speciality restaurants but during our week, the only one that opened whilst we were there was fully booked 48 hrs before (even though you had to book 24 hrs in advance). Only issue I had was a hair towel was not provided on day three and four. when the room was made up When I asked why this was missing on the 4th day. I was told by my room attendant that they had run out! I asked for another bath towel so I could dry my hair and gave a tip, a hair towel was then found within 30 mins and then turned up again daily for the rest of the stay! Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX